DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakashita et al (US# 2010/0163351) in view of Takahashi et al (US# 2011/0155520) and Leiber (US# 2021/0122349).
Regarding claim 14, Sakashita et al disclose a braking system, comprising: a braking apparatus 1, wherein the braking apparatus comprises a drive mechanism 37/38, a wheel cylinder 4 and a braking actuator mechanism 2, the wheel cylinder comprises a hydraulic cylinder body 10, a piston 12, a push block 18 or 304 or 304a, a transmission component 28/36/39 or 301/302/321, a first sealing component 40, and a second sealing component 11 or 16; the hydraulic cylinder body is in a hollow cylinder shape with a first opening and a second opening respectively at its two ends; and the piston 12 is disposed in the hydraulic cylinder body and is located at the first opening; the first sealing component 40 covers the second opening; the second sealing component 11 or 16 is disposed between the hydraulic cylinder body and the piston; the transmission component 28/36/39 or 301/302/321 is connected to the push block 18 or 304 or 304a and passes through the first sealing component 40; and the hydraulic cylinder body, the piston, and the transmission component, the first sealing component and the second sealing component are configured to form a hydraulic chamber; the drive mechanism comprises an output shaft 44, and the output shaft is connected to the transmission component (via 36); and the piston 12 is configured to be driven by the push assembly to move, and to act on the braking actuator mechanism to implement braking. Sakashita discloses a port, but fail to show its location and therefore fail to disclose the liquid flow opening being located between the first sealing component and the piston; and the liquid flow opening and the push assembly are located on a same side of the piston. Takashita et al disclose a similar brake device and further teach a port 64 located between a first sealing component 118 and a piston 77. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the port of Sakashita et al at the rear of the cylinder between the first sealing and the piston, as taught by Takahashi et al, to ensure fluid is provided to the hydraulic chamber regardless of the position of the piston, thereby ensuring proper operation. Sakashita et al further lack the disclosure of a braking boost assembly, a first oil line, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder, the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; and the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber; and the main boost cylinder has a first liquid flow opening, that communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; and the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line; one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder, and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening. Sakashita et al do not disclosure the particular details of the hydraulics upstream of the brake 1. Leiber disclose a similar hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake H-EMB and further teach a braking boost assembly DV1, a first oil line 1/5 or 1/4, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder (figure 6), the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston KB, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; and the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber DR; and the main boost cylinder is provided with a first liquid flow opening (connected to TV/1) that communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; and the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line 1/5 or 1/4; one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder (figure 3), and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the braking boosting assembly taught by Leiber with the hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake of Sakashita et al to provide a cost-effective and reliable brake system. Note [0009] of Leiber.
Regarding claim 15, Sakashita et al disclose a locking component 55/105/207a/326a, wherein the locking component is located outside the hydraulic cylinder body 10; and the locking component comprises a first working state and a second working state; when the locking component is in the first working state, the locking component and the transmission component 28/36/39 or 301/302/321 are coupled to lock the transmission component (figures 5a, 8a, 14a, 20a, 25d); and when the locking component is in the second working state, the locking component and the transmission component are decoupled (figures 2a, 13a, 16a, 18a, 25b).
Regarding claim 16, Sakashita et al disclose a braking control method, applied to a braking system, wherein the braking system comprises: a braking apparatus which comprises a drive mechanism 37/38, a wheel cylinder 4 and a braking actuator mechanism 2, the wheel cylinder comprises a hydraulic cylinder body 10, a piston 12, a push block 18 or 304 or 304a, a transmission component 28/36/39 or 301/302/321, a first sealing component 40, and a second sealing component 11 or 16; the hydraulic cylinder body is in a hollow cylinder shape with a first opening and a second opening respectively at two ends; and the piston 12 is disposed in the hydraulic cylinder body and is located at the first opening; the first sealing component 40 covers the second opening; the second sealing component 11 or 16 is disposed between the hydraulic cylinder body and the piston; the transmission component 28/36/39 or 301/302/321 is connected to the push block 18 or 304 or 304a and passes through the first sealing component 40; and the hydraulic cylinder body, the piston, and the transmission component, the first sealing component and the second sealing component are configured to form a hydraulic chamber; the drive mechanism comprises an output shaft 44 or 321, and the output shaft is connected to the transmission component (via 36); and the piston 12 is configured to be driven by the push assembly to move, and to act on the braking actuator mechanism to implement braking. Sakashita discloses a port, but fail to show its location and therefore fail to disclose the liquid flow opening being located between the first sealing component and the piston; and the liquid flow opening and the push assembly are located on a same side of the piston. Takashita et al disclose a similar brake device and further teach a port 64 located between a first sealing component 118 and a piston 77. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the port of Sakashita et al at the rear of the cylinder between the first sealing and the piston, as taught by Takahashi et al, to ensure fluid is provided to the hydraulic chamber regardless of the position of the piston, thereby ensuring proper operation. Sakashita et al further lack the disclosure of a braking boost assembly, a first oil line, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder, the main boost cylinder comprises a main boost cylinder, a boost motor; and a pressure control unit (6); the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber; the first piston moves in the main boost cylinder, driven by the boost motor, to change a volume of the first hydraulic chamber; the main boost cylinder is provided with a first liquid flow opening, and the first liquid flow opening communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line; and one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder, and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening; and the braking control method comprises: calculating target braking force required; sending a first instruction to the pressure control unit (6), wherein the first instruction instructs the pressure control unit (6) to control the boost motor to drive the first piston to reduce the volume of the first hydraulic chamber, so that a braking fluid in the first hydraulic chamber flows into the hydraulic chamber through the first oil line, after passing through the first liquid flow opening, to drive the piston to move, so as to act on the braking actuator mechanism to provide first braking force; and sending a second instruction to the drive mechanism, wherein the second instruction instructs the drive mechanism to drive the piston to move, by using the output shaft, the transmission component, and the push block, to provide second braking force on the braking actuator mechanism, wherein the first braking force and the second braking force are coupled to meet the target braking force. Sakashita et al do not disclosure the particular details of the hydraulics upstream of the brake 1. Leiber disclose a similar hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake H-EMB and further teach a braking boost assembly DV1, a first oil line 1/5 or 1/4, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder (figure 6), a boost motor M1; and a pressure control unit (DV-ECU); the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston KB, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber DR; the first piston moves in the main boost cylinder, driven by the boost motor, to change a volume of the first hydraulic chamber; the main boost cylinder is provided with a first liquid flow opening, and the first liquid flow opening communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line 1/5 or 1/4; and one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder, and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening; and the braking control method comprises: calculating target braking force required ([0060] characteristic map); sending a first instruction to the pressure control unit DV-ECU, wherein the first instruction instructs the pressure control unit to control the boost motor M1 to drive the first piston ([0060], figures 7a-7b) to reduce the volume of the first hydraulic chamber, so that a braking fluid in the first hydraulic chamber flows into the hydraulic chamber through the first oil line, after passing through the first liquid flow opening, to drive the piston to move, so as to act on the braking actuator mechanism to provide first braking force; and sending a second instruction to a mechanism ([0060], figures 7a-7b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the braking boosting assembly and H-EMB assistance method taught by Leiber with the hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake of Sakashita et al to provide a cost-effective and reliable brake system. Note [0009][0103] of Leiber.
Regarding claim 17, Leiber teaches wherein after the calculating target braking force required, the method further comprises: determining, based on the target braking force, that hydraulic braking and mechanical braking need to be coupled to meet the target braking force, wherein the hydraulic braking is corresponding to the first braking force, and the mechanical braking is corresponding to the second braking force. ([0060], figures 7a-7b)
Regarding claim 18, Sakashita et al further discloses: a locking component 55/105/207a/326a, wherein the locking component is located outside the hydraulic cylinder body 10; and the locking component comprises a first working state and a second working state; when the locking component is in the first working state, the locking component and the transmission component 28/36/39 or 301/302/321 are coupled to lock the transmission component (figures 5a, 8a, 14a, 20a, 25d); and when the locking component is in the second working state, the locking component and the transmission component are decoupled (figures 2a, 13a, 16a, 18a, 25b), the braking control method further comprises: detecting a parking braking requirement (ECU monitors switch 71 [0043]); sending a third instruction to the drive mechanism 38, wherein the third instruction instructs the drive mechanism to drive the piston to move, by using the output shaft 44 or 321, the transmission component 28/36/39, and the push block, to provide third braking force that meets the parking braking requirement by acting on the braking actuator mechanism; and sending a fourth instruction to the locking component, wherein the fourth instruction instructs the locking component to switch from the second working state to the first working state. [0045][0046] protrusion 51 sends a fourth “instruction”, as broadly recited, which switches the component 55 to the first state.
Claim 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (US# 2022/0388490) in view of Takahashi et al (US# 2011/0155520) and Leiber (US# 2021/0122349).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki et al disclose a braking system, comprising: a braking apparatus 1, wherein the braking apparatus comprises a drive mechanism 7, a wheel cylinder and a braking actuator mechanism 4b, the wheel cylinder comprises a hydraulic cylinder body 18, a piston 5a, a push block 30a or 38a, a transmission component 29a, and a second sealing component 24a; the hydraulic cylinder body is in a hollow cylinder shape with a first opening and a second opening respectively at its two ends; and the piston 5a is disposed in the hydraulic cylinder body and is located at the first opening; the second sealing component 24a is disposed between the hydraulic cylinder body and the piston; the transmission component 29a is connected to the push block 30a or 38a; and the hydraulic cylinder body, the piston, and the transmission component, and the second sealing component are configured to form a hydraulic chamber; the drive mechanism comprises an output shaft 72, and the output shaft is connected to the transmission component 29a; and the piston 5a is configured to be driven by the push assembly to move, and to act on the braking actuator mechanism to implement braking. Suzuki et al fail to disclose the liquid flow opening being located between the first sealing component and the piston; and the liquid flow opening and the push assembly are located on a same side of the piston. Takashita et al disclose a similar brake device and further teach a port 64 located between a first sealing component 118 and a piston 77. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a port in Suzuki et al at the rear of the cylinder between the first sealing and the piston, as taught by Takahashi et al, to ensure fluid is provided to the hydraulic chamber regardless of the position of the piston, thereby ensuring proper operation. Suzuki et al further lack the specific disclosure of and a first sealing component, the first sealing component covering the second opening 33a. Takahashi et al further teach a first sealing component 259, the first sealing component covering the second opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first sealing component, such as taught by Takahashi et al, in the brake of Suzuki et al to ensure proper brake pressure generation and prevent fluid contamination of the motor gear unit. Suzuki et al further lack the disclosure of a braking boost assembly, a first oil line, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder, the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; and the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber; and the main boost cylinder has a first liquid flow opening, that communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; and the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line; one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder, and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening. Suzuki et al do not disclosure the particular details of the hydraulics upstream of the brake 1. Leiber disclose a similar hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake H-EMB and further teach a braking boost assembly DV1, a first oil line 1/5 or 1/4, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder (figure 6), the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston KB, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; and the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber DR; and the main boost cylinder is provided with a first liquid flow opening (connected to TV/1) that communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; and the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line 1/5 or 1/4; one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder (figure 3), and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the braking boosting assembly taught by Leiber with the hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake of Suzuki et al to provide a cost-effective and reliable brake system. Note [0009] of Leiber.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki et al disclose a locking component 86, wherein the locking component is located outside the hydraulic cylinder body 18; and the locking component comprises a first working state and a second working state; when the locking component is in the first working state, the locking component and the transmission component 29a are coupled to lock the transmission component [0134]; and when the locking component is in the second working state, the locking component and the transmission component are decoupled [0133].
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki et al disclose a braking control method, applied to a braking system, wherein the braking system comprises: a braking apparatus which comprises a drive mechanism 7, a wheel cylinder 18 and a braking actuator mechanism 4b, the wheel cylinder comprises a hydraulic cylinder body 18, a piston 5a, a push block 30a or 38a, a transmission component 29a, and a second sealing component 24a; the hydraulic cylinder body is in a hollow cylinder shape with a first opening and a second opening respectively at two ends; and the piston 5a is disposed in the hydraulic cylinder body and is located at the first opening; the second sealing component 24a is disposed between the hydraulic cylinder body and the piston; the transmission component 29a is connected to the push block 30a or 38a; and the hydraulic cylinder body, the piston, and the transmission component and the second sealing component are configured to form a hydraulic chamber; the drive mechanism comprises an output shaft 72, and the output shaft is connected to the transmission component; and the piston 5a is configured to be driven by the push assembly to move, and to act on the braking actuator mechanism to implement braking. Suzuki et al fail to disclose the liquid flow opening being located between the first sealing component and the piston; and the liquid flow opening and the push assembly are located on a same side of the piston. Takashita et al disclose a similar brake device and further teach a port 64 located between a first sealing component 118 and a piston 77. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a port in Suzuki et al at the rear of the cylinder between the first sealing and the piston, as taught by Takahashi et al, to ensure fluid is provided to the hydraulic chamber regardless of the position of the piston, thereby ensuring proper operation. Suzuki et al further lack the specific disclosure of and a first sealing component, the first sealing component covering the second opening 33a. Takahashi et al further teach a first sealing component 259, the first sealing component covering the second opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a first sealing component, such as taught by Takahashi et al, in the brake of Suzuki et al to ensure proper brake pressure generation and prevent fluid contamination of the motor gear unit. Suzuki et al further lack the disclosure of a braking boost assembly, a first oil line, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder, the main boost cylinder comprises a main boost cylinder, a boost motor; and a pressure control unit (6); the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber; the first piston moves in the main boost cylinder, driven by the boost motor, to change a volume of the first hydraulic chamber; the main boost cylinder is provided with a first liquid flow opening, and the first liquid flow opening communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line; and one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder, and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening; and the braking control method comprises: calculating target braking force required; sending a first instruction to the pressure control unit (6), wherein the first instruction instructs the pressure control unit (6) to control the boost motor to drive the first piston to reduce the volume of the first hydraulic chamber, so that a braking fluid in the first hydraulic chamber flows into the hydraulic chamber through the first oil line, after passing through the first liquid flow opening, to drive the piston to move, so as to act on the braking actuator mechanism to provide first braking force; and sending a second instruction to the drive mechanism, wherein the second instruction instructs the drive mechanism to drive the piston to move, by using the output shaft, the transmission component, and the push block, to provide second braking force on the braking actuator mechanism, wherein the first braking force and the second braking force are coupled to meet the target braking force. Suzuki et al do not disclosure the particular details of the hydraulics upstream of the brake 1. Leiber disclose a similar hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake H-EMB and further teach a braking boost assembly DV1, a first oil line 1/5 or 1/4, and the braking boost assembly comprises a main boost cylinder (figure 6), a boost motor M1; and a pressure control unit (DV-ECU); the main boost cylinder comprises a first cylinder body and a first piston KB, and the first piston is disposed in the first cylinder body; the first piston and the first cylinder body form a first hydraulic chamber DR; the first piston moves in the main boost cylinder, driven by the boost motor, to change a volume of the first hydraulic chamber; the main boost cylinder is provided with a first liquid flow opening, and the first liquid flow opening communicates with the first hydraulic chamber; the first hydraulic chamber is connected to the hydraulic chamber of the wheel cylinder through the first oil line 1/5 or 1/4; and one end of the first oil line is connected to the liquid flow opening of the wheel cylinder, and the other end of the first oil line is connected to the first liquid flow opening; and the braking control method comprises: calculating target braking force required ([0060] characteristic map); sending a first instruction to the pressure control unit DV-ECU, wherein the first instruction instructs the pressure control unit to control the boost motor M1 to drive the first piston ([0060], figures 7a-7b) to reduce the volume of the first hydraulic chamber, so that a braking fluid in the first hydraulic chamber flows into the hydraulic chamber through the first oil line, after passing through the first liquid flow opening, to drive the piston to move, so as to act on the braking actuator mechanism to provide first braking force; and sending a second instruction to a mechanism ([0060], figures 7a-7b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the braking boosting assembly and H-EMB assistance method taught by Leiber with the hydraulically-electromechanically actuatable wheel brake of Suzuki et al to provide a cost-effective and reliable brake system. Note [0009][0103] of Leiber.
Regarding claim 17, Leiber teaches wherein after the calculating target braking force required, the method further comprises: determining, based on the target braking force, that hydraulic braking and mechanical braking need to be coupled to meet the target braking force, wherein the hydraulic braking is corresponding to the first braking force, and the mechanical braking is corresponding to the second braking force. ([0060], figures 7a-7b)
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki et al further discloses: a locking component 84/86 wherein the locking component is located outside the hydraulic cylinder body 18; and the locking component comprises a first working state and a second working state; when the locking component is in the first working state, the locking component and the transmission component 29a are coupled to lock the transmission component [0134]; and when the locking component is in the second working state, the locking component and the transmission component are decoupled [0133], the braking control method further comprises: detecting a parking braking requirement; sending a third instruction to the drive mechanism 7, wherein the third instruction instructs the drive mechanism to drive the piston to move, by using the output shaft 72, the transmission component 29a, and the push block 30a, to provide third braking force that meets the parking braking requirement by acting on the braking actuator mechanism [0136]; and sending a fourth instruction to the locking component, wherein the fourth instruction instructs the locking component to switch from the second working state to the first working state. [0137] Suzuki et al send a fourth instruction in the form of ceasing energization to switch the locking component 84/86 to the coupled state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-13 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-13, Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejections of record.
Regarding claims 14-18, Applicant argues that Leiber does not teach the specific structural arrangement and fluid connections recited in the claims and that the combination relies on impermissible hindsight reconstruction to piece together disparate elements from different references without a teaching or suggestion in the prior art that would lead one of ordinary skill to the claimed invention. This is not persuasive as Sakashita et al and Takahashi et al, or Suzuki et al and Takahashi et al are relied upon for the wheel brake portion of the claims and Leiber is relied upon for the boost assembly. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). It is also maintained that utilizing a boost assembly which supplies fluid pressure to wheel calipers such as taught by Leiber to supply wheel calipers such as disclosed by Sakashita et al or Suzuki et al is not piecing together disparate elements as argued by Applicant. With regards to Applicant’s argument of lack of a teaching or suggestion in the prior art, the rejections noted [0009] and [0103] of Leiber which are not addressed by Applicant’s arguments. [0009] of Leiber indicates that the invention provides a “cost-effective brake system for autonomous driving (AD) of level 3-5 with an integrated wheel brake module.” [0032] indicates further benefits of the brake system. It is maintained that the rejections are proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK