DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0126224 A1~ hereinafter “LEE”) in view of Zou et al. (US. Pat: 11,024,773 B2~ hereinafter “Zou”) of record.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, LEE discloses (in at least fig. 11) a display device (title) comprising: a pixel circuit layer ([0141]; i.e. the active matrix circuit layer) including a base layer (1010) and a pixel circuit (not shown; as evident by [0141]; i.e. the active matrix pixel circuit); a first electrode (1020) disposed on the pixel circuit layer on the base layer (1010); light emitting elements (1050) disposed on the first electrode (1020); a second electrode (1040) disposed on the light emitting elements; a first organic layer (1030) disposed between the light emitting elements (1050); and a contact layer (1152) disposed on a side surface of the light emitting elements (11050) in contacted the light emitting elements.
LEE does not expressly disclose a second organic layer disposed between the light emitting elements and spaced apart from the light emitting elements; and a contact layer disposed between the first organic layer and the second organic layer and contacting a side surface of the light emitting elements.
Zou in the same field of a display device discloses (in at least fig. 2) a first organic layer (203; col. 4, lines 21-22; i.e. the polymer such as PCB, PBO and polyimide) disposed between the light emitting elements (see at least fig. 2), a second organic layer (213; col. 5, lines 11-17; i.e. molding compound, curable paste, polymer or elastomer) disposed between the light emitting element and spaced apart from the light emitting elements; and a contact layer (211) disposed between the first organic layer (203) and the second organic layer (213) and contacting a side surface of the light emitting elements (see fig. 2) for the benefit of providing a display device with enhancing heat dissipation efficiency (col. 1, lines 55-59).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of LEE with the teaching of Zou for the benefit of providing a display device with enhancing heat dissipation efficiency (col. 1, lines 55-59).
Regarding claim 2, LEE discloses (in at least fig. 11) the contact layer (1152) extends along the side surface of the light emitting elements (1050) to contact the second electrode (1040).
Regarding claim 3, LEE as modified by Zou discloses (in at least fig. 11 LEE; fig. 2 Zou) the second electrode (1040) includes a light transmissive material (see at least fig. 11B), and the contact layer (211) includes a light reflective material (col. 4, lines 1-2 Zou).
Regarding claim 8, LEE discloses (in at least fig. 11) the second electrode (1040) extends along the side surface of the light emitting elements (150).
Regarding claim 9, LEE discloses (in at least fig. 11) the second electrode (1040) includes a light transmissive material (as evident by at least fig. 11B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest each of the light emitting elements comprises: a first semiconductor layer including a semiconductor of a first type; a second semiconductor layer including a semiconductor of a second type different from the first type; an active layer disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer; an electrode layer disposed on the second semiconductor layer; a reflective layer disposed on the electrode layer; a connection electrode layer disposed on the reflective layer and contacting the first electrode; and an insulating layer covering a side surface of the first semiconductor layer. Claims 5 and 6 are objected due to their dependency upon claim 4.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875