DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed Sept. 26, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-7, 12-13, 18-21, 24, 27-28, 30-32, 34, 38, 42-44, 46-48, 51-54 and 57 are pending. Claims 28 and 42 have been amended.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on0Sept. 26, 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,102,995 and U.S. Patent No. 11,751,586 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-7, 13, 24, 27-28, 31-32, 34, 47-48, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Putter et al. (US 2014/0004244 A1; Jan. 2, 2014).
Regarding claim 1, Putter discloses a sweetener composition comprising a non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]), trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples).
Regarding claim 5, the composition of Putter comprises the same ingredients as in claim 1 and therefore would necessarily be substantially free of any compounds having a molecular weight of greater than 500 daltons.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 6, Putter discloses a sweetener composition comprising a non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]) and a flavor-modifying composition comprising trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples).
Regarding claim 7, the composition of Putter comprises the same ingredients as in claim 1 and therefore would necessarily be substantially free of any compounds having a molecular weight of greater than 500 daltons.
As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. [citation omitted] Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products.
Regarding claim 13, Putter teaches that the non-nutritive sweetener can be one of the claimed sweeteners ([0071]).
Regarding claims 24 and 27, Putter discloses a ready to drink beverage comprising water and a sweetener composition as recited in claim 1 ([0117], [0120], [0505]-[0513]) as Putter discloses a sweetener composition comprising a non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]), trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples).
The acidulant and flavorant are optional and therefore not required.
Regarding claim 28, Putter teaches that the beverage further comprises caffeine ([0478]-[0480]).
Regarding claim 31, Putter teaches that the beverage can further comprise a nutritive sweetener ([0081]).
Regarding claim 32, Putter teaches that the consumable product comprising the sweetener of claim 1 can be a beverage concentrate ([0117], [0120], [0123], [0505]-[0513]).
Regarding claim 34, Putter discloses a method of making the sweetener composition of claim 1 comprising adding to the non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]), trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples).
Regarding claims 47-48, Putter teaches that the non-nutritive sweetener can be one of the claimed sweeteners ([0071]).
Regarding claim 57, Putter teaches that the sweetener can further comprise a nutritive sweetener ([0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12, 18-21, 30, 38, 42-44, 46, and 51-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Putter et al. (US 2014/0004244 A1; Jan. 2, 2014).
Regarding claim 12, Putter teaches a sweetener composition as described above, comprising a non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]), trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples).
With respect to the amount, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount depending on the desired sweetness of the composition.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 18, Putter teaches that the non-nutritive sweetener can be rebaudioside D and stevioside ([0071]). With respect to the rebaudioside D and stevioside being present as an aqueous glycoside composition, it would have been obvious to have the non-nutritive sweetener as an aqueous glycoside composition comprising rebaudioside D and stevioside depending on the desired use of the sweetener composition.
Regarding claims 19-20, With respect to the amount of rebaudioside D and stevioside, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount depending on the desired sweetness of the composition.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 21, Putter teaches that the at least one sweetener can be mixtures thereof and therefore it would have been obvious to have a second steviol glycoside selected from one of the claimed sweeteners as Putter teaches rebaudioside A, B and C ([0071]).
Regarding claim 30, Putter teaches that the sweetener can be non-caloric and teaches reduced calorie consumable products ([0082]), and therefore it would have been obvious for the ready to drink beverage to have fewer than 200 calories per 8 oz serving.
Regarding claim 38, Putter discloses a method of making the sweetener composition of claim 1 comprising adding to the non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]) a flavor-modifying composition comprising trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples).
With respect to the non-nutritive sweetener being an aqueous solution, it would have been obvious to add the flavor modifying agent to an aqueous solution comprising a non-nutritive sweetener depending on the desired use of the sweetener composition.
Regarding claims 42-44, as stated above, Putter teaches adding the flavor modifying agent to the non-nutritive sweetener thereby resulting in a sweetener comprising a non-nutritive sweetener ([0263]), trans-whiskey lactone [0063] (e.g. trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone), and delta-tetradecalactone ([0047]-[0071]; See Examples), which are the same components as claimed.
Putter fails to teach that the flavor modifying composition is comprised within an oak barrel or oak chips, however, the examiner notes that it would have been obvious to use any method for adding the flavor modifying composition to the non-nutritive sweetener as it would result in the same compound as taught by Putter, a sweetener comprising a non-nutritive sweetener, trans-4-methyl-5-butyldihydro-2(3H)-furanone, and delta-tetradecalactone.l
Regarding claim 46, With respect to the amount of non-nutritive sweetener, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount depending on the desired sweetness of the composition.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 51, Putter teaches that the non-nutritive sweetener can be rebaudioside D and stevioside ([0071]). With respect to the rebaudioside D and stevioside being present as an aqueous glycoside composition, it would have been obvious to have the non-nutritive sweetener as an aqueous glycoside composition comprising rebaudioside D and stevioside depending on the desired use of the sweetener composition.
Regarding claims 52-53, With respect to the amount of rebaudioside D and stevioside, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount depending on the desired sweetness of the composition.
As stated in MPEP 2144.05: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 54, Putter teaches that the at least one sweetener can be mixtures thereof and therefore it would have been obvious to have a second steviol glycoside selected from one of the claimed sweeteners as Putter teaches rebaudioside A, B and C ([0071]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments were found persuasive to overcome the 112 rejections from the previous Office Action and therefore they have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s filing of the Terminal Disclaimer has been approved and therefore the Double Patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Upon further review, 102 and 103 rejections have been made in view of Putter, which teaches a sweetener composition comprising the claimed components.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791