DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 12/18/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Rejection over Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-19, 63, and 93-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121.
Regarding claim 1, Farooq (figure 13) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 20 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component; the second substrate surface being configured to be attached to a second device component 30; and
the interposer substrate 20 being configured to support the second device component 24 on the first device component 30 and integrate the first device component 30 and the second device component 24 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate 20 (12 & 14 are made of SiC) comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 1.5 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 (12 & 14 are made of SiC) comprises a material having a Youngs Modulus greater than 200 GPa (Giga Pascals);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to transfer heat between the first device component and the second device component; and
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (title).
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result the thermal conductivity and Youngs Modulus limitations are met.
With respect to claim 2, Farooq (figure 13) teaches at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom).
As to claim 3, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) comprises at least one metal trace, at least one metal bond pad, at least one passive component, at least one metallic pillar, at least one solder bump, and/or at least one polyimide dielectric portion.
In re claim 6, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) comprises at least one first redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pads) arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and at least one second redistribution line (bottom of 28 are bond pads) arranged on the second substrate surface (bottom).
Concerning claim 7, Farooq (paragraph 0068) teaches the first device component 30 comprises at least one transistor.
Pertaining to claim 8, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the first device component 30 comprises at least one bond pad 34 configured to electrically connect to the at least one redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pad).
In claim 9, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the second device component 24 comprises at least one bond pad 26 configured to electrically connect to the at least one redistribution line (bottom of 28 are bond pads).
Regarding claim 10, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the first device component 30 comprises at least one bond pad 34 configured to electrically connect to the at least one first redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pads); and wherein the second device component 24 comprises at least one bond pad 26 configured to electrically connect to the at least one second redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pads).
With respect to claims 12-18, Farooq (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teach the use of SiC) teaches as the interposer substrate is mad of the same material as the invention, therefore the interposer substrate meets the claimed characteristics.
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result this limitation is met.
As to claim 19, Farooq (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teach the use of SiC) the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate.
In re claim 63, Farooq (figure 13) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 20 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component 30;
the second substrate surface (bottom) being configured to be attached to a second device component 24; and
the interposer substrate 20 being configured to support the second device component 24 on the first device component 30 and integrate the first device component 30 and the second device component 24 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate 20 comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teaches SiC);
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate (paragraphs 0055 & 0056);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to transfer heat between the first device component 30 and the second device component 24; and
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (title).
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result the thermal conductivity limitation is met.
Concerning claim 93, Farooq (figure 13) teaches a process of implementing a thermally conductive interposer, the process comprising:
configuring an interposer substrate 20 to comprise a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
configuring the first substrate surface (top) to be attached to a first device component 30;
configuring the second substrate surface (bottom) to be attached to a second device component 24; and
configuring the interposer substrate 20 to support the second device component 24 on the first device component 30 and integrate the first device component 30 and the second device component 24 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teaches SiC);
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teaches SiC);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to transfer heat between the first device component 30 and the second device component 24; and
wherein the interposer substrate is configured to be electrically nonconductive (title).
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result the thermal conductivity limitation is met.
Pertaining to claim 94, Farooq (figure 13) teaches arranging at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121, as applied to claim 1 above.
In claim 4, though Farooq fails to specifically teach the at least one redistribution line comprises at least one passive component comprising at least one capacitor, at least one inductor, and/or at least one resistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use at least one capacitor, at least one inductor, and/or at least one resistor in the invention of Farooq because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 5, though Farooq fails to specifically teach the at least one redistribution line is configured to connect to a surface mount device (SMD) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an SMD in the invention of Farooq because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 11, though Farooq fails to specifically teach the first device component is implemented as a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor in the invention of Farooq because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Rejection over Park et al., US 2015/0115467
Claim(s) 1-19, 63, and 93-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2015/0115467, in view of Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121.
As to claim 1, Park (figure 1) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 60 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component 30/40a/40b;
the second substrate surface (bottom) being configured to be attached to a second device component 1; and
the interposer substrate 60 being configured to support the second device component 1 on the first device component 30/40a/40b and integrate the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 1.5 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more);
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to transfer heat (paragraph 0003) between the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1; and
wherein the interposer substrate is configured to be electrically nonconductive (paragraph 0066 states insulating material).
Park, which teaches the use of an insulating ceramic (paragraph 0056), fails to teach the interposer substrate comprises a material having a Youngs Modulus greater than 200 GPa (Giga Pascals) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more).
Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC , which is a commonly used insulating ceramic, and meets the Young’s modulus limitation because the present specification states that SiC is the preferred material for the interposer substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use SiC and its Young’s modulus in the invention of Park because SiC is a conventionally known and used insulating ceramic. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 2, Park (figure 1) teaches at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom).
Concerning claim 3, Park (figure 1) teaches the at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) comprises at least one metal trace, at least one metal bond pad (paragraph 0056), at least one passive component, at least one metallic pillar, at least one solder bump, and/or at least one polyimide dielectric portion.
Pertaining to claim 4, though Park fails to teach the at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) comprises at least one passive component comprising at least one capacitor, at least one inductor, and/or at least one resistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these components in the invention of Park because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 5, though Park fails to teach the at least one redistribution line is configured to connect to a surface mount device (SMD), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an SMD in the invention of Park because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, Park (figure 1) teaches the at least one redistribution line comprises at least one first redistribution line 62 arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and at least one second redistribution line 64 arranged on the second substrate surface (bottom).
With respect to claim 7, Park (figure 1) teaches the first device component 30/40a/40b comprises at least one transistor (memory chips 40a & 40b:paragraph 0053).
As to claim 8, Park (figure 1) teaches the first device component 30/40a/40b comprises at least one bond pad (connects 30 to 39) configured to electrically connect (through 39) to the at least one redistribution line 62.
In re claim 9, Park (figure 1) teaches the second device component 1 comprises at least one bond pad 2 configured to electrically connect (through 38) to the at least one redistribution line 64 .
Concerning claim 10, Park (figure 1) teaches the first device component 30/40a/40b comprises at least one bond pad (connects 30 to 39) configured to electrically connect (through 39) to the at least one first redistribution line 62; and wherein the second device component 1 comprises at least one bond pad 2 configured to electrically connect (through 38) to the at least one second redistribution line 64.
Pertaining to claim 11, though Park (figure 1) fails to teach the first device component 30/40a/40b is implemented as a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor in the invention of Park because it is a conventionally known and used equivalent component. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
In claims 12-18, Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC, which is the preferred material of the present invention, therefore the claimed characteristics of these claims are met.
Regarding claim 19, Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate.
With respect to claim 63, Park (figure 1) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 60 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component 30/40a/40b;
the second substrate surface (bottom) being configured to be attached to a second device component 1; and
the interposer substrate 60 being configured to support the second device component 1 on the first device component 30//40a/40b and integrate the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more);
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to transfer heat (paragraph 0003) between the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1; and
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (paragraph 0066 teaches insulating material).
Park, which teaches the use of an insulating ceramic (paragraph 0056), fails to teach the interposer substrate comprises SiC.
Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC in an interposer substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use SiC in the invention of Park because SiC is a conventionally known and used insulating ceramic. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
As to claim 93, Park (figure 1) teaches a process of implementing a thermally conductive interposer, the process comprising:
configuring an interposer substrate 60 to comprise a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
configuring the first substrate surface (top) to be attached to a first device component 30/40a/40b;
configuring the second substrate surface (bottom) to be attached to a second device component 1; and
configuring the interposer substrate 60 to support the second device component 1 on the first device component 30/40a/40b and integrate the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate 60 comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more);
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to transfer heat (paragraph 0003) between the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1; and
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (paragraph 0066 teaches insulating material).
Park, which teaches the use of an insulating ceramic (paragraph 0056), fails to teach the interposer substrate comprises SiC.
Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC in an interposer substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use SiC in the invention of Park because SiC is a conventionally known and used insulating ceramic. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 94, Park (figure 1) teaches arranging at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 2/17/26