DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Farooq rejection, it is argued that Farooq does not teach the thermal sheet supports the first and second device components. Since Farooq calls it a sheet it is not a structural interposer providing support.
The thermal sheet of Farooq is positioned between, and attached to, the two device components therefore it must inherently provide at least some level of support.
It is also argued that Farooq fails to teach a filled interconnect extending through an interposer configured to transfer heat between the first and second substrate surfaces.
Note that the title of Farooq includes the phrase “highly thermal conductive sheet”. Therefore Farooq does in fact, inarguably, transfer heat throughout the substrate. The thermal sheet comprises SiC layers 12 & 16, the thermally conductive layer 14, and the electrically conductive layer 40 all transfer heat. Therefore Farooq does in fact, inarguably, transfer heat throughout the substrate.
Another argument is the amendment regarding heat transfer through filled interconnects on opposing first and second substrate surfaces is not taught in Farooq, therefore it can’t be argued that Farooq’s thermal sheet inherently supports the device components.
Note that Farooq does teach a filled interconnect 40 on first and second substrate surfaces (top and bottom surfaces). And as discussed above, the title includes the phrase “highly thermal conductive sheet”. The thermal sheet comprises SiC layers 12 & 16, the thermally conductive layer 14, and the electrically conductive layer 40 all transfer heat. Therefore Farooq does in fact, inarguably, transfer heat throughout the substrate.
With respect to the Park rejection, it is argued that the rejection does not account for the for the claim amendments, specifically it doesn’t teach filled interconnects configured to transfer heat. Park teaches heat transfer is performed by the heat dissipating member 70 and not by filled interconnects.
Note that Park does teach an electrically conductive filled interconnect 68 and though Park fails to disclose the materials used as the electrically conductive material, the material is almost always a metal that is also thermally conductive. For example, Farooq teaches using copper (paragraph 0074), which is a highly thermally and electrically conductive material.
Another argument is that the rejection does not explain how the replacing or supplementing the thermal architecture of Park with the thermal architecture of Farooq is achieved.
Note that the rejection does not allege replacing any part of Park’s thermal architecture with Farooq’s thermal architecture. The rejection relies upon using Farooq’s SiC as the insulating ceramic used for the interposer substrate of Park.
It is further argued that the rejection improperly relies upon Applicant’s disclosure to teach the claimed properties of SiC. The rejection must be grounded in the prior art and knowledge of ordinary skill and not Applicant’s disclosure. Even if SiC is a known insulating ceramic the rejection must explain how the combination as a whole would be obvious.
Note that the rejection is not improperly relying upon Applicant’s disclosure to formulate the rejection. The rejection is based upon what material Applicant’s disclosure teaches fits the claimed properties. First Applicant’s disclosure is used to support and clarify the claims. There is nothing improper about that. Second, claim 19 states the interposer substrate is made of SiC, therefore SiC must have the thermal conductivity and Young’s Modulus properties in claim 1.
Another argument is that the rejection fails to address the different thermal strategies between Park and Farooq and that neither teaches the filled interconnects of the claims.
Note that the Park and Farooq need not have the same thermal strategy. Farooq is merely relied upon to teach that SiC is a known insulating ceramic. It is unimportant to the combination that it may teach a different thermal strategy. As to the filled interconnect, both teach filled interconnects, Park’s 68 and Farooq’s 40 are filled interconnects, as detailed in the rejection below.
Rejection over Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-19, 63, and 93-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121.
Regarding claim 1, Farooq (figure 13) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 20 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component; the second substrate surface being configured to be attached to a second device component 30; and
the interposer substrate 20 being configured to support the second device component 24 on the first device component 30 and integrate the first device component 30 and the second device component 24 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate 20 (12 & 14 are made of SiC) comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 1.5 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 (12 & 14 are made of SiC) comprises a material having a Youngs Modulus greater than 200 GPa (Giga Pascals);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to transfer heat between the first device component and the second device component; and
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (title).
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result the thermal conductivity and Youngs Modulus limitations are met.
With respect to claim 2, Farooq (figure 13) teaches at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom).
As to claim 3, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) comprises at least one metal trace, at least one metal bond pad, at least one passive component, at least one metallic pillar, at least one solder bump, and/or at least one polyimide dielectric portion; and wherein the first device component and/or the second device component are attached by soldering (35 is solder), sintering, eutectic bonding, or ultrasonic welding..
In re claim 6, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) comprises at least one first redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pads) arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and at least one second redistribution line (bottom of 28 are bond pads) arranged on the second substrate surface (bottom).
Concerning claim 7, Farooq (figure 13) teaches wherein the interposer substrate includes at least one filled interconnect 40 extending from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom); and Farooq (paragraph 0068) teaches the first device component 30 comprises at least one transistor. It is configured to transfer heat because Farooq is a highly thermal conductive sheet (title), and the filled interconnect 40 is made of copper (paragraph 0074), which is a highly thermally and electrically conductive material.
Pertaining to claim 8, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the first device component 30 comprises at least one bond pad 34 configured to electrically connect to the at least one redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pad).
In claim 9, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the second device component 24 comprises at least one bond pad 26 configured to electrically connect to the at least one redistribution line (bottom of 28 are bond pads).
Regarding claim 10, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the first device component 30 comprises at least one bond pad 34 configured to electrically connect to the at least one first redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pads); and wherein the second device component 24 comprises at least one bond pad 26 configured to electrically connect to the at least one second redistribution line (top of 28 are bond pads).
With respect to claims 12-18, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the interposer substrate includes at least one filled interconnect 40 extending from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom), and Farooq (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teach the use of SiC) teaches as the interposer substrate is made of the same material as the invention, therefore the interposer substrate meets the claimed characteristics. Farooq’s filled interconnect 40 is configured to transfer heat because Farooq is a highly thermal conductive sheet (title), and the filled interconnect 40 is made of copper (paragraph 0074), which is a highly thermally and electrically conductive material.
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result this limitation is met.
As to claim 19, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the interposer substrate includes at least one filled interconnect 40 extending from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom), and Farooq (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teach the use of SiC) the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate. Farooq’s filled interconnect 40 is configured to transfer heat because Farooq is a highly thermal conductive sheet (title), and the filled interconnect 40 is made of copper (paragraph 0074), which is a highly thermally and electrically conductive material.
In re claim 63, Farooq (figure 13) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 20 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component 30;
the second substrate surface (bottom) being configured to be attached to a second device component 24; and
the interposer substrate 20 being configured to support the second device component 24 on the first device component 30 and integrate the first device component 30 and the second device component 24 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate 20 comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teaches SiC);
the interposer substrate includes at least one filled interconnect 40 configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom)
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate (paragraphs 0055 & 0056);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to transfer heat between the first device component 30 and the second device component 24; and
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (title).
Farooq’s filled interconnect 40 is configured to transfer heat because Farooq is a highly thermal conductive sheet (title), and the filled interconnect 40 is made of copper (paragraph 0074), which is a highly thermally and electrically conductive material.
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result the thermal conductivity limitation is met.
Concerning claim 93, Farooq (figure 13) teaches a process of implementing a thermally conductive interposer, the process comprising:
configuring an interposer substrate 20 to comprise a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
configuring the first substrate surface (top) to be attached to a first device component 30;
configuring the second substrate surface (bottom) to be attached to a second device component 24; and
configuring the interposer substrate 20 to support the second device component 24 on the first device component 30 and integrate the first device component 30 and the second device component 24 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teaches SiC);
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate (paragraphs 0055 & 0056 teaches SiC);
wherein the interposer substrate 20 is configured to transfer heat between the first device component 30 and the second device component 24; and
wherein the interposer substrate is configured to be electrically nonconductive (title).
Farooq teaches the interposer substrate 20 is made of layers 12/14/16 wherein 12 and 16 are made of SiC (paragraphs 0055 & 0056). The present application teaches the material that meets these limitations is SiC. The fact that layer 16 is not SiC doesn’t matter because the claim uses comprising language so the broadest reasonable interpretation would include substrates made of more than just SiC. As a result the thermal conductivity limitation is met.
Pertaining to claim 94, Farooq (figure 13) teaches arranging at least one redistribution line (top and bottom of 28 are bond pads) on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom); and configuring at least one filled interconnect 40 to extend from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom).
Farooq’s filled interconnect 40 is configured to transfer heat because Farooq is a highly thermal conductive sheet (title), and the filled interconnect 40 is made of copper (paragraph 0074), which is a highly thermally and electrically conductive material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121, as applied to claim 1 above.
In claim 4, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the interposer substrate 20 includes at least one filled interconnect 40, but though Farooq fails to specifically teach the at least one redistribution line comprises at least one passive component comprising at least one capacitor, at least one inductor, and/or at least one resistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use at least one capacitor, at least one inductor, and/or at least one resistor in the invention of Farooq because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 5, Farooq (figure 13) teaches the interposer substrate includes at least one filled interconnect 40, but though Farooq fails to specifically teach the at least one redistribution line is configured to connect to a surface mount device (SMD) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an SMD in the invention of Farooq because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 11, though Farooq fails to specifically teach the first device component is implemented as a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor, and wherein the flip configuration comprises at least one active device arranged on a surface of the second device component facing the interposer substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor and an active device on the second device component in the invention of Farooq because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Rejection over Park et al., US 2015/0115467
Claim(s) 1-19, 63, and 93-94 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2015/0115467, in view of Farooq et al., US 2024/0332121.
As to claim 1, Park (figure 1) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 60 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component 30/40a/40b;
the second substrate surface (bottom) being configured to be attached to a second device component 1; and
the interposer substrate 60 being configured to support the second device component 1 on the first device component 30/40a/40b and integrate the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 1.5 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more);
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to transfer heat (paragraph 0003) between the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1; and
wherein the interposer substrate is configured to be electrically nonconductive (paragraph 0066 states insulating material).
Park, which teaches the use of an insulating ceramic (paragraph 0056), fails to teach the interposer substrate comprises a material having a Youngs Modulus greater than 200 GPa (Giga Pascals) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more).
Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC , which is a commonly used insulating ceramic, and meets the Young’s modulus limitation because the present specification states that SiC is the preferred material for the interposer substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use SiC and its Young’s modulus in the invention of Park because SiC is a conventionally known and used insulating ceramic. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 2, Park (figure 1) teaches at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom).
Concerning claim 3, Park (figure 1) teaches the at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) comprises at least one metal trace, at least one metal bond pad (paragraph 0056), at least one passive component, at least one metallic pillar, at least one solder bump, and/or at least one polyimide dielectric portion; and wherein the first device component and/or the second device component are attached by soldering (solder balls 39 and/or 38), sintering, eutectic bonding, or ultrasonic welding.
Pertaining to claim 4, Park (figure 1) teaches the interposer substrate 60 includes at least one filled interconnect 68; and though Park fails to teach the at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) comprises at least one passive component comprising at least one capacitor, at least one inductor, and/or at least one resistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these components in the invention of Park because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 5, Park (figure 1) teaches the interposer substrate 60 includes at least one filled interconnect 68; and though Park fails to teach the at least one redistribution line is configured to connect to a surface mount device (SMD), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an SMD in the invention of Park because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 6, Park (figure 1) teaches the at least one redistribution line comprises at least one first redistribution line 62 arranged on the first substrate surface (top) and at least one second redistribution line 64 arranged on the second substrate surface (bottom).
With respect to claim 7, Park (figure 1) teaches the interposer substrate 60 includes at least one filled interconnect 68 extending from the first substrate surface to the second substrate surface and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom); and the first device component 30/40a/40b comprises at least one transistor (memory chips 40a & 40b:paragraph 0053). Though Park fails to specifically say the filled interconnect 68 is anything more than an electrically conductive material, Farooq (paragraph 0074) teaches the electrically conductive material is copper, which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, therefore it is configured to transfer heat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the copper of Farooq in the invention of Park because Park teaches copper is a conventionally known and used electrically conductive material used as a filled interconnect. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
As to claim 8, Park (figure 1) teaches the first device component 30/40a/40b comprises at least one bond pad (connects 30 to 39) configured to electrically connect (through 39) to the at least one redistribution line 62.
In re claim 9, Park (figure 1) teaches the second device component 1 comprises at least one bond pad 2 configured to electrically connect (through 38) to the at least one redistribution line 64 .
Concerning claim 10, Park (figure 1) teaches the first device component 30/40a/40b comprises at least one bond pad (connects 30 to 39) configured to electrically connect (through 39) to the at least one first redistribution line 62; and wherein the second device component 1 comprises at least one bond pad 2 configured to electrically connect (through 38) to the at least one second redistribution line 64.
Pertaining to claim 11, Park (figure 1) teaches the flip configuration comprises at least one active device 10 arranged on a surface of the second device component 1 facing the interposer substrate 60; and though Park (figure 1) fails to teach the first device component 30/40a/40b is implemented as a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a flip configuration comprising at least one transistor in the invention of Park because it is a conventionally known and used equivalent component. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
In claims 12-18, Park (figure 1) teaches the interposer substrate 60 includes at least one filled interconnect 68 extending from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface and the second substrate surface; and Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC, which is the preferred material of the present invention, therefore the claimed characteristics of these claims are met. Though Park fails to specifically say the filled interconnect 68 is anything more than an electrically conductive material, Farooq (paragraph 0074) teaches the electrically conductive material is copper, which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, therefore it is configured to transfer heat.
Regarding claim 19, Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the interposer substrate comprises a SiC (silicon carbide) substrate; and Park (figure 1) teaches the interposer substrate 60 includes at least one filled interconnect 68 extending from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface and the second substrate surface. Though Park fails to specifically say the filled interconnect 68 is anything more than an electrically conductive material, Farooq (paragraph 0074) teaches the electrically conductive material is copper, which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, therefore it is configured to transfer heat.
With respect to claim 63, Park (figure 1) teaches a thermally conductive interposer comprising:
an interposer substrate 60 having a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
the first substrate surface (top) being configured to be attached to a first device component 30/40a/40b;
the second substrate surface (bottom) being configured to be attached to a second device component 1; and
the interposer substrate 60 being configured to support the second device component 1 on the first device component 30//40a/40b and integrate the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more);
the interposer substrate 60 includes at least one filled interconnect 68 extending from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) and configured to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom);
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to transfer heat (paragraph 0003) between the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1; and
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (paragraph 0066 teaches insulating material).
Park, which teaches the use of an insulating ceramic (paragraph 0056), fails to teach the interposer substrate comprises SiC.
Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC in an interposer substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use SiC in the invention of Park because SiC is a conventionally known and used insulating ceramic. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Though Park fails to specifically say the filled interconnect 68 is anything more than an electrically conductive material, Farooq (paragraph 0074) teaches the electrically conductive material is copper, which is highly thermally and electrically conductive, therefore it is configured to transfer heat.
As to claim 93, Park (figure 1) teaches a process of implementing a thermally conductive interposer, the process comprising:
configuring an interposer substrate 60 to comprise a first substrate surface (top) and a second substrate surface (bottom);
configuring the first substrate surface (top) to be attached to a first device component 30/40a/40b;
configuring the second substrate surface (bottom) to be attached to a second device component 1; and
configuring the interposer substrate 60 to support the second device component 1 on the first device component 30/40a/40b and integrate the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1 within a microelectronic device,
wherein the interposer substrate 60 comprises a material having a thermal conductivity greater than 2 W/cm-K (watts per centimeter Kelvin) (paragraph 0058 teaches 10 W/mK or more);
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to transfer heat (paragraph 0003) between the first device component 30/40a/40b and the second device component 1; and
wherein the interposer substrate 60 is configured to be electrically nonconductive (paragraph 0066 teaches insulating material).
Park, which teaches the use of an insulating ceramic (paragraph 0056), fails to teach the interposer substrate comprises SiC.
Farooq (paragraph 0055) teaches the use of SiC in an interposer substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use SiC in the invention of Park because SiC is a conventionally known and used insulating ceramic. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 94, Park (figure 1) teaches arranging at least one redistribution line (62 & 64) on the first substrate surface (top) and/or the second substrate surface (bottom); configuring at least one filled interconnect 68 to extend from the first substrate surface (top) to the second substrate surface (bottom) to transfer heat between the first substrate surface (top) and the second substrate surface (bottom).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 8/24/26