DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “user detection unit” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claims 6 and 7, the phrase “the user detection signal” lacks antecedent basis; Examiner notes that the term is introduced in claim 5, but both claims depend from claim 3. With regard to claim 10, is appears that Applicant intends to set forth a Markush-type limitation, but does not properly set forth the group; Examiner notes, by contrast, the Markush group is correctly set forth in claim 16. With regard to claim 19, the phrase “the optical sensor system” (line 5) lacks antecedent basis; an earlier recitation refers to “a sensor system” and a later recitation refers to “an optical sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (USPGPub 2019/0282169 – cited by Applicant). Chen et al. teach an optical measurement device and method for measuring physiological information comprising a movable sensor including emitter and detector elements associated with a guiding rail (Figures 2 – 4 and the descriptions thereof) wherein the sensor is moved along the rail while collecting data to determine a measurement position and then measurements are performed at the designated position (Figure 13; paragraph [0062]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 – 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. as applied to claim 1 above. Chen et al. teaches an optical sensor system as described above. Further, Chen et al. disclose controlling the movements with a step motor (paragraphs [0027], [0028]), collection of PPG signals for computing oximetry information (paragraphs [0048], [0050], [0060]), which necessarily includes detection with emitters at plural wavelengths having controllable intensities, as well as other biological parameters. Chen et al. recognize the track may have a straight or curve orientation (paragraph [0031]). As such Chen et al. teach all of the features of the claimed invention except that data or alerts are transmitted (or wirelessly transmitted). However, the use of wireless telemetry in medical diagnostics, as well as issuing alerts when measured parameters meet threshold or other criteria, were well established at the time of the invention. As such, it would have been within the skill level of the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chen et al. to rely on known data transmission and alert schemes, absent a showing of unexpected results or criticality, since it has generally been held to be within the skill of the art to incorporate known elements for their intended purpose. Additionally, assessing a broadly defined user parameter and modifying operation of a device responsive thereto, to account for variations among people, was also well known at the time of the invention and absent a showing of unexpected results or criticality, it would have been within the skill level of the art to modify Chen et al. accordingly, to account for such information consistent with known practice.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morotomi (USPGPub 2022/0133238) in view of Chen et al. Morotomi teach a toilet seat that incorporates an optical biological sensor (Figures 2, 5, 6 and the descriptions thereof) having a transparent resin layer positioned to be between the user and the sensing elements during a measurement. While Morotomi recognize the usefulness of performing optical measurements on a person sitting on a toilet seat, they don’t particularly disclose that the sensing elements may move to find an appropriate measuring position. However, Chen et al. teach an optical physiological information sensor that relies on movable measurement components on a track/rail for determining correct target position, consistent with the details as discussed above. As such, it would have been within the skill level of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morotomi to substitute the optical sensor of Chen et al., since this provides a manner to assess and target a measurement location, which one would recognize would account for variability in positioning between measurements of a toilet user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Griffith et al. (USPN 6,088,605 – Figure 3) and Cheng et al. (USPN 6,516,209 – Figure 5) teach optical sensing systems that include movable/scanning elements for collecting the measurement data.
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791