DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks filed on 04/14/2026.
Currently, claims 1-24 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 7, 12, and 22-24 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 13-21 have been considered. Applicant argues that Fig. 8 of cited prior art of Li does not teach the new limitations of amended claims 1 and 13 because all of the second sub-pixels 2 appear to be located in the same column, and there is no column that include first, second, and third auxiliary subpixels in Li (see pg. 9 of Applicant’s Remarks filed 04/14/2026). However, the claims as written do not explicitly require the first, second, and third auxiliary sub-pixels to be aligned in the same columns with each other. Instead, the claims only explicitly require the first, second, and third auxiliary sub-pixels to be aligned in columns. In Fig. 8 of Li, Li’s first (Fig. 8, 2 in A2, ¶ [0091]) and third (Fig. 8, 3, ¶ [0091]) auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in vertical columns with other first and third auxiliary sub-pixels while second auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 1, ¶ [0091]) are aligned in vertical columns with other second auxiliary sub-pixels. Li’s sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) do alternate horizontally between at least some of Li’s vertical columns of auxiliary sub-pixels. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the cited prior art does teach the limitations of the amended independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to for the following informalities:
In claims 1 and 13, “a second direction orthogonal to first direction”, should read “a second direction orthogonal to the first direction”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BAE et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0098835) in view of LI et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0358379).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bae teaches a display panel comprising (Fig. 5):
a substrate (Fig. 2, 133, ¶ [0041]) comprising a first area (Fig. 1, 130b, ¶ [0032]) and a second area (Fig. 1, 130a, ¶ [0032]);
a plurality of main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 311 + 312, ¶ [0051]) in the first area;
a plurality of auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 511 + 512 + 513 + 514, ¶ [0067]) in the second area; and
the plurality of auxiliary sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1, ¶ [0067]) in a first auxiliary line (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1 are arranged in a line) that is a virtual line extending in the first direction, and a plurality of second auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4 Operation b, R1, ¶ [0068]) and a plurality of third auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4 Operation b, B1, ¶ [0068]) alternately arranged in a second auxiliary line (Fig. 5, R1 and B1 are arranged in a line parallel to G1) that is a virtual line parallel to the first auxiliary line.
However, Bae does not explicitly teach a plurality of sub sub-pixels adjacent to a first boundary of the second area in a first direction, each of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is between a second auxiliary sub-pixel and a third auxiliary sub-pixel neighboring each other in the first direction and wherein the first, second, and third auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in columns extending in a second direction orthogonal to first direction, with the sub sub-pixels alternating between the columns along the first direction.
However, Li is a pertinent art that teaches a plurality of sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) adjacent to a first boundary (Figs. 1a & 8, A3, ¶ [0091]) of the second area (Figs. 1a & 8, A3 + A2, ¶ [0072]) in a first direction (horizontal in Fig. 8, the Examiner notes that this would correspond to the straight line direction in Bae Fig. 4), each of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is between a second auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 8, 1, ¶ [0091]) and a third auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 8, 3, ¶ [0091]) neighboring each other in the first direction and wherein the first, second, and third auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in columns (Li’s first (Fig. 8, 2 in A2, ¶ [0091]) and third (Fig. 8, 3, ¶ [0091]) auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in vertical columns with other first and third auxiliary sub-pixels while second auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 1, ¶ [0091]) are aligned in vertical columns with other second auxiliary sub-pixels) extending in a second direction (vertical in Fig. 8) orthogonal to the first direction, with the sub sub-pixels alternating (Li’s sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) do alternate horizontally between at least some of Li’s vertical columns of auxiliary sub-pixels) between the columns along the first direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae’s device to further include a plurality of sub pixels in a display transition region according to the teaching of Li (Fig. 8) in order to increase screen-to-body ratio (Li ¶ [0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Bae modified by Li teaches that the first auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1, ¶ [0067]), the second auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1 are arranged in a line), the first auxiliary sub-pixel, and the third auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 4 Operation b, R1, ¶ [0068]) are repeatedly arranged in a third auxiliary line (Fig. 4 Operation b, B1, G1, and R1 are alternately arranged in a straight line orthogonal to the direction that subpixels R1 and B1 are alternating) that is a virtual line extending in the second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Bae modified by Li teaches that centers of the plurality of sub sub-pixels overlap with the second auxiliary line (Li Fig. 8 teaches that centers of Li’s green sub-pixels 2 in A3 overlap with the rest of Li’s green subpixels 2 in A2 (¶ [0134]), which would correspond to Bae’s green subpixels G1 and would therefore fulfill this limitation).
Regarding claim 4, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Bae modified by Li teaches the plurality of sub sub-pixels (Li Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0134] teaches that 2 can be green subpixels) and the first auxiliary sub-pixels (Bae Fig. 4 Operation b, G1, ¶ [0067] teaches green subpixels) are configured to emit light of a same color.
Regarding claim 8, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 1, and Bae teaches that the plurality of main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 311 + 312, ¶ [0051]) comprise a plurality of first main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, G2, ¶ [0059]) in a first main line that is a virtual line extending in the first direction, and a plurality of second main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, R2, ¶ [0059]) and a plurality of third main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, R2, ¶ [0049]) alternately arranged in a second main line that is a virtual line parallel to the first main line (see Figs. 4 & 5), and centers of the first main sub-pixels in the first main line and centers of the second main sub-pixels and the third main sub-pixels arranged in the second main line are arranged in a zig-zag manner (see Fig. 4).
However, the embodiment of Bae Fig. 4 does not explicitly teach that in a first main line that is a virtual line extending in the first direction.
However, the embodiment of Bae Fig. 5 teaches that a first main line that is a virtual line extending in the first direction (Fig. 5, extending directions of the subpixels in 103a and 103b are the same).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extending directions of the subpixels in embodiment of Bae Fig. 4 to align according to the teaching of the embodiment of Bae Fig. 5 in order to reduce the difference between areas 130 and 130b (¶¶ [0068]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 8, and Bae teaches that the second auxiliary line and a first main line neighbor each other with the first boundary therebetween (Fig. 1, 130a is surrounded by 130b. Therefore, it would be obvious that lines of the subpixels in 130a and 130b would neighbor each other near the boundary between 130a and 130b).
Regarding claim 10, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 8, and Bae modified by Li teaches that the plurality of sub sub-pixels (Li Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0134] teaches that 2 can be green subpixels) and the first main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, G2, ¶ [0059] teaches green subpixels) are configured to emit light of a same color.
Regarding claim 11, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 8, and Li teaches that an area of an emission area of each of the plurality of sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) is identical to an area of an emission area (Fig. 8, subpixel 2 in A3 is smaller than the subpixels 2 in A2 and are the same size as subpixels 2 in A1) of each of the first main sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A2, ¶ [0091]).
Regarding independent claim 13, Bae teaches a display device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 1, 130, ¶ [0030]), comprising a first area (Fig. 1, 130b, ¶ [0032]) having a plurality of main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 311 + 312, ¶ [0051]) and a second area (Fig. 1, 130a, ¶ [0032]) having a plurality of auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 511 + 512 + 513 + 514, ¶ [0067]); and
a component (Fig. 2, 160, ¶ [0029]) under the display panel to correspond to the second area, wherein the display panel comprises:
a substrate (Fig. 2, 133, ¶ [0041]) comprising a first area (Fig. 1, 130b, ¶ [0032]) and a second area (Fig. 1, 130a, ¶ [0032]);
a plurality of main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 311 + 312, ¶ [0051]) in the first area;
a plurality of auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 511 + 512 + 513 + 514, ¶ [0067]) in the second area; and
the plurality of auxiliary sub-pixels comprise a plurality of first auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1, ¶ [0067]) in a first auxiliary line (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1 are arranged in a line) that is a virtual line extending in the first direction, and a plurality of second auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4 Operation b, R1, ¶ [0068]) and a plurality of third auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 4 Operation b, B1, ¶ [0068]) alternately arranged in a second auxiliary line (Fig. 5, R1 and B1 are arranged in a line parallel to G1) that is a virtual line parallel to the first auxiliary line.
However, Bae does not explicitly teach a plurality of sub sub-pixels adjacent to a first boundary of the second area in a first direction, each of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is between the second auxiliary sub-pixel and the third auxiliary sub-pixel neighboring each other in the first direction and wherein the first, second, and third auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in columns extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, with the sub sub-pixels alternating between the columns along the first direction.
However, Li is a pertinent art that teaches a plurality of sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) adjacent to a first boundary (Figs. 1a & 8, A3, ¶ [0091]) of the second area (Figs. 1a & 8, A3 + A2, ¶ [0072]) in a first direction (horizontal in Fig. 8, the Examiner notes that this would correspond to the straight line direction in Bae Fig. 4), each of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is between a second auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 8, 1, ¶ [0091]) and a third auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 8, 3, ¶ [0091]) neighboring each other in the first direction and wherein the first, second, and third auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in columns (Li’s first (Fig. 8, 2 in A2, ¶ [0091]) and third (Fig. 8, 3, ¶ [0091]) auxiliary sub-pixels are aligned in vertical columns with other first and third auxiliary sub-pixels while second auxiliary sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 1, ¶ [0091]) are aligned in vertical columns with other second auxiliary sub-pixels) extending in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction, with the sub sub-pixels alternating between the columns along the first direction (Li’s sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) do alternate horizontally between at least some of Li’s vertical columns of auxiliary sub-pixels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae’s device to further include a plurality of sub sub pixels in a display transition region according to the teaching of Li (Fig. 8) in order to increase screen-to-body ratio (Li ¶ [0074]).
Regarding claim 14, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 13, and Bae modified by Li teaches that the first auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1, ¶ [0067]), the second auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 4 Operation b, G1 are arranged in a line), the first auxiliary sub-pixel, and the third auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 4 Operation b, R1, ¶ [0068]) are repeatedly arranged in a third auxiliary line (Fig. 4 Operation b, B1, G1, and R1 are alternately arranged in a straight line orthogonal to the direction that subpixels R1 and B1 are alternating) that is a virtual line extending in the second direction orthogonal to the first direction.
Regarding claim 15, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 13, and Bae modified by Li teaches that centers of the plurality of sub sub-pixels are in the second auxiliary line (Li Fig. 8 teaches that centers of Li’s green sub-pixels 2 in A3 overlap with the rest of Li’s green subpixels 2 in A2 (¶ [0134]), which would correspond to Bae’s green subpixels G1 and would therefore fulfill this limitation).
Regarding claim 16, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 13, and Bae modified by Li teaches the plurality of sub sub-pixels (Li Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0134] teaches that 2 can be green subpixels) and the first auxiliary sub-pixels (Bae Fig. 4 Operation b, G1, ¶ [0067] teaches green subpixels) are configured to emit light of a same color.
Regarding claim 18, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 13, and Bae modified by Li teaches that the plurality of main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, 311 + 312, ¶ [0051]) comprise a plurality of first main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, G2, ¶ [0059]) in a first main line that is a virtual line extending in the first direction, and a plurality of second main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, R2, ¶ [0059]) and a plurality of third main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, R2, ¶ [0049]) alternately arranged in a second main line that is a virtual line parallel to the first main line (see Figs. 4 & 5), and centers of the first main sub-pixels in the first main line and centers of the second main sub-pixels and the third main sub-pixels arranged in the second main line are arranged in a zig-zag configuration (see Fig. 4).
However, the embodiment of Bae Fig. 4 does not explicitly teach that a first main line that is a virtual line extending in the first direction.
However, the embodiment of Bae Fig. 5 teaches that a first main line that is a virtual line extending in the first direction (Fig. 5, extending directions of the subpixels in 103a and 103b are the same).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the extending directions of the subpixels in embodiment of Bae Fig. 4 to align according to the teaching of the embodiment of Bae Fig. 5 in order to reduce the difference between areas 130 and 130b (¶¶ [0068]-[0071]).
Regarding claim 19, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 18, and Bae teaches that the second auxiliary line and a first main line neighbor each other with the first boundary therebetween (Fig. 1, 130a is surrounded by 130b. Therefore, it would be obvious that lines of the subpixels in 130a and 130b would neighbor each other near the boundary between 130a and 130b).
Regarding claim 20, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 18, and Bae modified by Li teaches that the plurality of sub sub-pixels (Li Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0134] teaches that 2 can be green subpixels) and the first main sub-pixels (Fig. 4, G2, ¶ [0059] teaches green subpixels) are configured to emit light of a same color.
Regarding claim 21, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 18, and Li teaches that an area of an emission area of each of the plurality of sub sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A3, ¶ [0091]) is identical to an area of an emission area (Fig. 8, subpixel 2 in A3 is smaller than the subpixels 2 in A2 and are the same size as subpixels 2 in A1) of each of the first main sub-pixels (Fig. 8, 2 in A2, ¶ [0091]).
Claims 5, 6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over BAE et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0098835) in view of LI et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0358379) and further in view of LOU et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0036795)
Regarding claim 5, Bae modified by Li teaches the display panel of claim 1.
However, Bae modified by Li does not explicitly teach a pixel electrode of any one sub sub-pixel of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is electrically connected to a pixel electrode of a first auxiliary sub-pixel adjacent to the any one sub sub-pixel.
However, Lou is a pertinent art that teaches that a pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 112, ¶ [0032]) of any one sub sub-pixel (Fig. 2, bottom 102 in AA12, ¶ [0033]) of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is electrically connected to a pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 112, ¶ [0032]) a first auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 2, middle 102 in AA12) adjacent to the any one sub sub-pixel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae modified by Li subpixel interconnections according to the teaching of Lou (Fig. 2) in order to reduce wirings in the display area (Lou ¶ [0010]).
Regarding claim 6, Bae modified by Li modified by Lou teaches the display panel of claim 5, and Lou teaches that a transparent wiring connecting (Figs. 2 & 4, 201, ¶ [0048]) the pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 112, ¶ [0032]) of the any one sub sub-pixel (Fig. 2, bottom 102 in AA12, ¶ [0033]) and the pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 112, ¶ [0032]) of the first auxiliary sub-pixel adjacent (Fig. 2, middle 102 in AA12) to the any one sub sub-pixel.
Regarding claim 17, Bae modified by Li teaches the display device of claim 13.
However, Bae modified by Li does not explicitly teach a pixel electrode of any one sub sub-pixel of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is electrically connected to a pixel electrode of a first auxiliary sub-pixel adjacent to the any one sub sub-pixel.
However, Lou is a pertinent art that teaches that a pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 112, ¶ [0032]) of any one sub sub-pixel (Fig. 2, bottom 102 in AA12, ¶ [0033]) of the plurality of sub sub-pixels is electrically connected to a pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 112, ¶ [0032]) a first auxiliary sub-pixel (Fig. 2, middle 102 in AA12) adjacent to the any one sub sub-pixel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bae modified by Li subpixel interconnections according to the teaching of Lou (Fig. 2) in order to reduce wirings in the display area (Lou ¶ [0010]).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813