DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed on 2/25/2026.
Claims 1-10,12-14,19 and 21-26 are pending and have been examined.
All previous objections / rejections not mentioned in this Office Action have been withdrawn by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 14, and 19. Furthermore, applicant has added claims 21-26. Applicant has not made any remarks or explanation of the added limitations or claims. The added limitations and claims raise new grounds for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 10, 12-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narayanan et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20220417659).
Regarding claim 1, 14 and 19 Narayanan teaches:
(Claim 1) A method comprising: (P0003, Systems, methods, and devices relating to audio correction.)
(Claim 14) A computing system configured for performing a set of acts comprising: (P0003, Systems, methods, and devices relating to audio correction.)
(Claim 19) A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions that upon execution by a computing system, cause performance of a set of acts comprising: (P0124, computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-readable memory that may direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including computer-readable instructions for implementing the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks.)
obtaining media content; (P0022, The video distribution system may receive content from the content source.; P0020, The content source may comprise stored video content. … Content may comprise audio-only content.)
extracting from the obtained media content, audio content representing speech; providing to a speech-to-text (STT) model, the extracted audio content representing speech, and responsively receiving from the STT model, (i) generated corresponding speech text and (ii) generated corresponding speech metadata; (P0020, Content may comprise audio-only content, such as a radio broadcast, or content with both audio and video components.; P0042, The input audio content may be the audio component of audio/video content, such as a digital video stream or linear digital television programming.; P0053, Based on the speech recognized in the input audio content (e.g., the words indicated in spoken audio content in the input audio content) by the ASR and/or the voice profile associated with the spoken audio content in the input audio content (e.g., the speaker of the spoken audio content), a correction module may determine that a portion of the input audio content comprises spoken audio content that indicates an incorrect word (or multiple incorrect words) that should be corrected. For example, the correction module may determine that one of the words recognized by the ASR is an incorrect word. As indicated above, the start and stop times of the portion of the input audio content may generally coincide with the start and stop times in the input audio content of when the incorrect word was spoken, plus an optional short buffer on either side of the incorrect word.)
replacing the one or more words of the generated speech text with the received one or more corresponding replacement words, thereby generating modified speech text; (P0023, The audio correction module may generally determine that content comprises one or more incorrect words (e.g., spoken by a speaker) and automatically initiate steps to replace the incorrect(s) word in the content with corresponding correct word(s).)
providing to a text-to-speech (TTS) model, (i) the modified speech text and (ii) the generated corresponding speech metadata received from the SST model, and responsively receiving from the TTS model generated corresponding replacement audio content representing the modified speech; (P0026, The audio correction module may generate second spoken audio content indicating the correct word.; P0060, The start and end times, with respect to the input audio content, of the corrected spoken audio content may be determined. The start and end times may indicate where in the input audio content the corrected spoken audio content should be inserted.)
in the obtained media content, replacing the audio content representing speech with the generated replacement audio content representing speech, thereby generating modified media content; and (P0027, The audio correction module may replace the incorrect word in the portion of the content with the determined correct word by removing the spoken audio content indicating the incorrect word from the portion of the content. Based on the voice profile associated with the speaker, the audio correction module may generate second spoken audio content indicating the correct word. The audio correction module may mix (e.g., overlap and/or add) the second spoken audio content with the background audio content in the portion of the content. In this case, the background audio content may have not been isolated or separated out from the portion of the content. Mixing the second spoken audio content with the background audio content may restore the portion of the content, except that the incorrect word is replaced with the correct word.)
outputting for presentation the generated modified media content. (P0022, The video distribution system may generally effectuate video content delivery to the client devices.; P0031, A client device may be configured to receive video content and output the video content to a separate display device for consumer viewing.)
Regarding claim 2 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein the media content includes (i) a video content component and (ii) an audio content component, and wherein the audio content component includes (i) the audio content representing speech and (ii) non-speech related audio content. (P0033, FIG. 2 shows example content comprising video content and audio content (represented as an audio spectrogram). Although not distinguishable in the figure, the audio content comprises, to varying degrees, spoken audio content and background audio content. The spoken audio content may comprise speech from the person visible in the video content.)
Regarding claim 10 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein outputting for presentation, the generated modified media content comprises transmitting to a presentation device, media data representing the generated modified media content for display by the presentation device. (P0022, The video distribution system may generally effectuate video content delivery to the client devices.; P0031, A client device may be configured to receive video content and output the video content to a separate display device for consumer viewing.)
Regarding claim 12 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein outputting for presentation, the generated modified media content comprises displaying the generated modified media content. (P0031, A client device may comprise any one of numerous types of devices configured to effectuate video playback and/or viewing.)
Regarding claim 13 Narayanan teach claim 12.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein displaying the generated modified media content comprises a television displaying the generated modified media content. (P0020, The content source may comprise video content intended for immediate or near-immediate broadcast, such as a live television video feed.
P0031, A client device may be configured to receive video content and output the video content to a separate display device for consumer viewing. For example, a client device may comprise a set-top box, such as a cable set-top box, a digital media player, or a gaming device.)
Claims 3-6, 22, 23, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan in view of Cormack et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20120116773), hereinafter Cormack.
Regarding claim 3 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
determining user profile data associated with a viewer of the media content; and (P0023, The voice profile module may determine the voice profile.)
Narayanan does not specifically teach:
determining user profile data associated with a viewer of the media content; and
using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined user profile data as a basis to select the one or more replacement words.
Cormack, however, teaches:
determining user profile data associated with a viewer of the media content; and (P0029, Different lists of prohibited words are maintained for different viewers.)
using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined user profile data as a basis to select the one or more replacement words. (P0029, The list of prohibited words might depend on a rating. For example, a first list of words might be used for a show having a “TV-Y7” rating and a second list might be used for a show having a “TV-MA” rating as established by the National Association of Broadcasters, the National Cable Television Association, and the Motion Picture Association of America.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use user profile data as a basis to select one or more replacement words. It would have been obvious to combine the references because a parent might not wish their child to hear objectional words depending the age and appropriateness of the child. (Cormack P0029).
Regarding claim 4 Narayanan in view of Cormack teach claim 3.
Cormack further teaches:
wherein the user profile data specifies age-related information about the viewer. (P0029, Different lists of prohibited words are maintained for different viewers. … The list of prohibited words might depend on a rating. For example, a first list of words might be used for a show having a “TV-Y7” rating and a second list might be used for a show having a “TV-MA” rating as established by the National Association of Broadcasters, the National Cable Television Association, and the Motion Picture Association of America.)
Regarding claim 5 Narayanan in view of Cormack teach claim 3.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined user profile data as a basis to select the one or more replacement words comprises using mapping data to map at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined user profile data to the one or more replacement words. (P0025, A machine-readable dictionary may comprise listings of incorrect words and correct words that may be cross-referenced to determine what correct word(s), if any, are associated with a given incorrect word. … Determining the correct word may be further based on the voice profile.)
Regarding claim 6 Narayanan in view of Cormack teach claim 3.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined user profile data as a basis to select the one or more replacement words comprises using a trained model to map at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined user profile data to the one or more replacement words. (P0048, The voice profile module and/or the feedback loop may comprise a machine learning model configured to determine a voice profile.; P0025, The correct word may be determined using a machine learning model configured to receive an incorrect word as an input and output an associated correct word. … Determining the correct word may be further based on the voice profile.)
Regarding claim 22 Narayanan in view of Cormack teach claim 5.
Narayanan further teaches:
extracting from the obtained media content, audio content representing speech; (P0020, Content may comprise audio-only content, such as a radio broadcast, or content with both audio and video components.; P0042, The input audio content may be the audio component of audio/video content, such as a digital video stream or linear digital television programming.)
providing to a speech-to-text (STT) model, the extracted audio content representing speech, and responsively receiving from the STT model, (i) generated corresponding speech text and (ii) generated corresponding speech metadata; (P0053, Based on the speech recognized in the input audio content (e.g., the words indicated in spoken audio content in the input audio content) by the ASR and/or the voice profile associated with the spoken audio content in the input audio content (e.g., the speaker of the spoken audio content), a correction module may determine that a portion of the input audio content comprises spoken audio content that indicates an incorrect word (or multiple incorrect words) that should be corrected. For example, the correction module may determine that one of the words recognized by the ASR is an incorrect word. As indicated above, the start and stop times of the portion of the input audio content may generally coincide with the start and stop times in the input audio content of when the incorrect word was spoken, plus an optional short buffer on either side of the incorrect word.)
replacing the one or more words of the generated speech text with one or more corresponding replacement words, thereby generating modified speech text; (P0023, The audio correction module may generally determine that content comprises one or more incorrect words (e.g., spoken by a speaker) and automatically initiate steps to replace the incorrect(s) word in the content with corresponding correct word(s).)
providing to a text-to-speech (TTS) model, (i) the modified speech text and (ii) the generated corresponding speech metadata received from the SST model, and responsively receiving from the TTS model to generated corresponding replacement audio content representing the modified speech; (P0026, The audio correction module may generate second spoken audio content indicating the correct word.; P0060, The start and end times, with respect to the input audio content, of the corrected spoken audio content may be determined. The start and end times may indicate where in the input audio content the corrected spoken audio content should be inserted.)
in the obtained media content, replacing the audio content representing speech with the generated replacement audio content representing speech, thereby generating modified media content; and (P0027, The audio correction module may replace the incorrect word in the portion of the content with the determined correct word by removing the spoken audio content indicating the incorrect word from the portion of the content. Based on the voice profile associated with the speaker, the audio correction module may generate second spoken audio content indicating the correct word. The audio correction module may mix (e.g., overlap and/or add) the second spoken audio content with the background audio content in the portion of the content. In this case, the background audio content may have not been isolated or separated out from the portion of the content. Mixing the second spoken audio content with the background audio content may restore the portion of the content, except that the incorrect word is replaced with the correct word.)
outputting for presentation the generated modified media content. (P0022, The video distribution system may generally effectuate video content delivery to the client devices.; P0031, A client device may be configured to receive video content and output the video content to a separate display device for consumer viewing.)
Narayanan does not specifically teach:
determining that the obtained media content has a rating that is not permitted based on a selected rating mode; and responsive to determining that the obtained media content has the rating that is not permitted based on the selected rating mode, responsively:
Cormack, however, teaches:
determining that the obtained media content has a rating that is not permitted based on a selected rating mode; and responsive to determining that the obtained media content has the rating that is not permitted based on the selected rating mode, responsively: (P0028, A user might enter or remove a particular word, select a content category (e.g., indicating that violent words should be prohibited), and/or select a content level (e.g., indicating that even mildly objectionable words should be prohibited) via a Graphical User Interface (GUI) and/or a remote control device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a rating mode. It would have been obvious to combine the references because a parent might not wish their child to hear objectional words depending the age and appropriateness of the child. (Cormack P0029).
Regarding claim 23 Narayanan in view of Cormack teach claim 5.
Narayanan further teaches:
extracting from the obtained media content, audio content representing speech; (P0020, Content may comprise audio-only content, such as a radio broadcast, or content with both audio and video components.; P0042, The input audio content may be the audio component of audio/video content, such as a digital video stream or linear digital television programming.)
providing to a speech-to-text (STT) model, the extracted audio content representing speech, and responsively receiving from the STT model, (i) generated corresponding speech text and (ii) generated corresponding speech metadata; (P0053, Based on the speech recognized in the input audio content (e.g., the words indicated in spoken audio content in the input audio content) by the ASR and/or the voice profile associated with the spoken audio content in the input audio content (e.g., the speaker of the spoken audio content), a correction module may determine that a portion of the input audio content comprises spoken audio content that indicates an incorrect word (or multiple incorrect words) that should be corrected. For example, the correction module may determine that one of the words recognized by the ASR is an incorrect word. As indicated above, the start and stop times of the portion of the input audio content may generally coincide with the start and stop times in the input audio content of when the incorrect word was spoken, plus an optional short buffer on either side of the incorrect word.)
replacing the one or more words of the generated speech text with one or more corresponding replacement words, thereby generating modified speech text; (P0023, The audio correction module may generally determine that content comprises one or more incorrect words (e.g., spoken by a speaker) and automatically initiate steps to replace the incorrect(s) word in the content with corresponding correct word(s).)
providing to a text-to-speech (TTS) model, (i) the modified speech text and (ii) the generated corresponding speech metadata received from the SST model, and responsively receiving from the TTS model to generated corresponding replacement audio content representing the modified speech; (P0026, The audio correction module may generate second spoken audio content indicating the correct word.; P0060, The start and end times, with respect to the input audio content, of the corrected spoken audio content may be determined. The start and end times may indicate where in the input audio content the corrected spoken audio content should be inserted.)
in the obtained media content, replacing the audio content representing speech with the generated replacement audio content representing speech, thereby generating modified media content; and (P0027, The audio correction module may replace the incorrect word in the portion of the content with the determined correct word by removing the spoken audio content indicating the incorrect word from the portion of the content. Based on the voice profile associated with the speaker, the audio correction module may generate second spoken audio content indicating the correct word. The audio correction module may mix (e.g., overlap and/or add) the second spoken audio content with the background audio content in the portion of the content. In this case, the background audio content may have not been isolated or separated out from the portion of the content. Mixing the second spoken audio content with the background audio content may restore the portion of the content, except that the incorrect word is replaced with the correct word.)
outputting for presentation the generated modified media content. (P0022, The video distribution system may generally effectuate video content delivery to the client devices.; P0031, A client device may be configured to receive video content and output the video content to a separate display device for consumer viewing.)
Narayanan does not specifically teach:
determining that the obtained media content has a rating that is not permitted based on a selected rating mode associated with a user age-range; determining that a user who is not in the user age-range is watching the obtained media content; and responsive to (i) determining that the obtained media content has a rating that is not permitted based on a selected rating mode associated with a user age-range and (ii) determining that the user who is not in the user age-range is watching the obtained media content, responsively:
Cormack, however, teaches:
determining that the obtained media content has a rating that is not permitted based on a selected rating mode associated with a user age-range; determining that a user who is not in the user age-range is watching the obtained media content; and responsive to (i) determining that the obtained media content has a rating that is not permitted based on a selected rating mode associated with a user age-range and (ii) determining that the user who is not in the user age-range is watching the obtained media content, responsively: (P0029, Different lists of prohibited words are maintained for different viewers. … The list of prohibited words might depend on a rating. For example, a first list of words might be used for a show having a “TV-Y7” rating and a second list might be used for a show having a “TV-MA” rating as established by the National Association of Broadcasters, the National Cable Television Association, and the Motion Picture Association of America.; P0029, List of objectionable words that should be used when a child is viewing content (e.g., and the appropriate list might be selected based on a viewer access code).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine rating based on age-range. It would have been obvious to combine the references because a parent might not wish their child to hear objectional words depending the age and appropriateness of the child. (Cormack P0029).
Regarding claim 25 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein the generated corresponding speech metadata specifies a narration voice style of the extracted audio content representing speech. (P0096, The voice profile module may determine the voice profile based on the spoken audio content in the content portion that indicates the incorrect word (as opposed to background audio content in the content portion). The voice profile may be determined based on audio, vocal, and/or linguistic characteristics of the spoken audio content, such as audio spectral patterns, vocal frequency, vocal pitch, speaking speed, intonation, loudness, amplitude, speech patterns, speech cadence, the number and/or duration of utterances, the number and/or duration of breaks between utterances, etc.; P0097, The voice profile may have been identified or marked in the content, such as via a manifest file or metadata.)
Regarding claim 26 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
wherein the generated corresponding speech metadata specifies a pitch of the extracted audio content representing speech. (P0096, The voice profile module may determine the voice profile based on the spoken audio content in the content portion that indicates the incorrect word (as opposed to background audio content in the content portion). The voice profile may be determined based on audio, vocal, and/or linguistic characteristics of the spoken audio content, such as audio spectral patterns, vocal frequency, vocal pitch, speaking speed, intonation, loudness, amplitude, speech patterns, speech cadence, the number and/or duration of utterances, the number and/or duration of breaks between utterances, etc.; P0097, The voice profile may have been identified or marked in the content, such as via a manifest file or metadata.)
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan in view of Yanamandra et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20240404503), hereinafter Yanamandra.
Regarding claim 7 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan does not specifically teach:
determining a speaking duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text; and
using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined speaking duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text as a basis to select the one or more replacement words.
Yanamandra, however, teaches:
determining a speaking duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text; and (P0055, At block 514, the device may add the first speech signals into the dialogue using at least a portion of the time duration of the removed second speech signals.)
using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined speaking duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text as a basis to select the one or more replacement words. (P0052, At block 508, the device may select a second utterance (e.g., the replacement utterance(s), the replacement utterance(s)) to replace the first utterance in the portion of the audio data. The second utterance may be from a list of non-course replacement words, based on machine learning trained to replace utterances with similar meaning utterances that fit within a same time duration, or may represent a brand as an advertisement.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine a speaking duration of one or more words and use the speaking duration as a basis to select one or more replacement words. It would have been obvious to combine the references because finding replacement words that are similar in length as the replaced word avoids replacement audio being significantly shorter or longer in time than the audio that it replaces and thus avoids jarring or confusion. (Yanamandra P0001, P0020).
Regarding claim 8 Narayanan in view of Yanamandra teach claim 7.
Yanamandra further teaches:
wherein using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text as a basis to select the one or more replacement words comprises using mapping data to map at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text. (P0052, At block 508, the device may select a second utterance (e.g., the replacement utterance(s), the replacement utterance(s)) to replace the first utterance in the portion of the audio data. The second utterance may be from a list of non-course replacement words, based on machine learning trained to replace utterances with similar meaning utterances that fit within a same time duration, or may represent a brand as an advertisement.)
Regarding claim 9 Narayanan in view of Yanamandra teach claim 7.
Yanamandra further teaches:
wherein using at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text as a basis to select the one or more replacement words comprises using a trained model to map at least the one or more words of the generated speech text and the determined duration of the one or more words of the generated speech text. (P0052, At block 508, the device may select a second utterance (e.g., the replacement utterance(s), the replacement utterance(s)) to replace the first utterance in the portion of the audio data. The second utterance may be from a list of non-course replacement words, based on machine learning trained to replace utterances with similar meaning utterances that fit within a same time duration, or may represent a brand as an advertisement.)
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan in view of Cormack and further view of Kummer (U.S. PG Pub No. 20160042766).
Regarding claim 21 Narayanan in view of Cormack teach claim 5.
Narayanan in view of Cormack does not specifically teach:
wherein the mapping data maps at least the one or more words of the generated speech text in a first language to the one or more replacement words in a second language that is different from the first language, wherein the extracted audio content representing speech is in the first language, and wherein the generated corresponding replacement audio content representing the modified speech is in the second language.
Kummer, however, teaches:
wherein the mapping data maps at least the one or more words of the generated speech text in a first language to the one or more replacement words in a second language that is different from the first language, wherein the extracted audio content representing speech is in the first language, and wherein the generated corresponding replacement audio content representing the modified speech is in the second language. (P0006, The media data may be referred to as “original” media data because it is provided with an audio portion in a first or “original” language. … Generate a set of replacement media data that includes replacement audio data in a second or “replacement” language.; P0024, The server generates replacement audio data to be included in replacement media data. For example, using the sample data attributes, along with metadata from the original data, the translation data and translation metadata, the server may identify certain words or sets of words in audio data according to indices or the like in translation metadata. The server may then modify the identified words or sets of words according to sample data attributes for an actor or other participant in the media data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to map words with replacement words in a second language. It would have been obvious to combine the references because mapping words with replacement words in a second language yields a predictable result of performing audio dubbing to replace a soundtrack in a first language with a soundtrack in a second language. (Kummer P0001).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narayanan in view of Candelore et al. (U.S. PG Pub No. 20060130121), hereinafter Candelore.
Regarding claim 24 Narayanan teach claim 1.
Narayanan further teaches:
outputting for presentation the edited media content. (P0022, The video distribution system may generally effectuate video content delivery to the client devices.; P0031, A client device may be configured to receive video content and output the video content to a separate display device for consumer viewing.)
Narayanan does not specifically teach:
after generating the modified media content, editing the generated modified media content, based on user input of the temporal positioning of the audio content representing the modified speech within the obtained media content; and
Candelore, however, teaches:
after generating the modified media content, editing the generated modified media content, based on user input of the temporal positioning of the audio content representing the modified speech within the obtained media content; and (P0047, Dynamic nonlinear editing system receives information from content storage units, which are configured to store video and audio content. Dynamic nonlinear editing system is adapted to sequence video and audio retrieved from content storage units, and then to establish their temporal relationships. The temporal relationships involve the arrangement of adjacent sequences of the same content type.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to edit the media content based on temporal positioning. It would have been obvious to combine the references because editing allows content to be correctly located temporally within the transport stream so that primary and secondary audio can be contextually located adjacent to each other for synchronization of content. (Candelore P0054).
Conclusion
/DANIEL W CHUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2659
/PIERRE LOUIS DESIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2659