DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-10, 13-14, 19-23, and 25-26 are pending. Claims 2, 15, and 24 are canceled. Claims 13-14 and 19-20 remain withdrawn. Claims 25-26 are new.
In view of the amendment, filed 05/28/2026, the following rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 04/01/2026:
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 112(d)
Prior art rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
New grounds of rejection are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, 21, 23, 25-26 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims alternate between reciting “the height-adjusting means are configured” (claims 1, 7, 21, 23) and “the height-adjusting means is configured…” (claims 25-26). This language should be standardized across the claims for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim interpretation is consistent with the prior Office Actions.
In claim 1, “means for rotating the bed” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a rotational motor (p. 17, second paragraph) and equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the powder depositor” in lines 2-3. Amended claim 1 recites that the apparatus includes a plurality of powder depositors, such that the noted limitation is unclear as to whether it applies to one or all of the powder depositors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-9, 21-22, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al., US 20200346407 A1, in view of Corsmeier, US 20180345370 A1 (references of record).
Regarding claim 1, Goodwin discloses an apparatus for the additive manufacture of a component (Fig. 5, processing machine for forming three-dimensional part) comprising:
A bed (support surface 527E of support platform 527A, Fig. 5, [0138]-[0139]) for supporting the component (supports build chamber 527B containing powder/part, [0138]-[0139]), the bed rotatable about a rotational axis during the manufacture of the component (the support platform may be rotated about the rotation axis 526D along direction 525, Fig. 5, [0141]);
Means for rotating the bed (the platform is rotated at a substantially constant velocity by a mover, [0141]; the mover for rotational motion of the platform described as a rotary motor, [0059]-[0060]);
A recoating and writing unit comprising a powder depositor (powder depositor 518, Fig. 5, [0137]) and an energy beam source (irradiation device 522, Fig. 5, [0137]), the energy beam source configured to emit a beam of energy towards a beam target location of a plurality of beam target locations (an irradiation device irradiates a portion of the powder layer with an energy beam, [0004], [0143]); and
Control means (control system, [0137]) for adjusting the plurality of beam target locations (for controlling the components of the processing machine to build the three dimensional object from the model, [0076], which requires adjusting the beam target locations of a respective irradiation device for selective heating/melting, [0072]);
Wherein the rotation of the bed provides rotation of the plurality of beam target locations and the powder depositor relative to the bed (the platform is configured to rotate during the manufacturing process relative to the powder depositor and irradiation device of the top assembly, [0140]-[0141], Fig. 5); and
Height-adjusting means (the support surface functions as an annular elevator platform moved vertically relative to the chamber walls, [0140]) for continuously adjusting a relative axial position of the bed and the powder depositor during said rotation of the bed (the platform is moved vertically in a continuous fashion and the platform is rotated at a substantially constant velocity, [0140]-[0141]), wherein the height-adjusting means are configured to adjust the relative axial position by a distance of one layer thickness per recoating and writing unit per revolution of the bed (the elevator support surface being slowly lowered down by one layer thickness per revolution, [0140]).
In the applied embodiment, Goodwin does not specifically disclose a plurality of recoating and writing units, i.e., a plurality of powder depositors and a plurality of energy beam sources; however, Goodwin further teaches that in the case of a rotating support device, multiple spaced apart powder depositors may be utilized for deposition at multiple different locations ([0069]), and the number of irradiation devices may be one or plural ([0072]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of the applied embodiment of Goodwin to include a plurality of powder depositors and energy beam sources, i.e., a plurality of recoating and writing units, as opposed to one of each, in order to provide the capability of deposition and consolidation at multiple different locations, as taught by Goodwin.
Regarding the height-adjusting means, Goodwin as applied above discloses the configuration to adjust the relative axial position between the bed and a powder depositor during rotation by a distance of one layer thickness per revolution of the bed when using one recoating and writing unit, so that a next layer of powder may be distributed properly in a continuous fashion ([0140], see also [0095]). Goodwin further discloses that the bed can be lowered in a stepwise or continuous fashion (e.g., [0095]), indicating that a rate of the adjustment was capable of being modified.
Goodwin is silent as to the height-adjusting means being configured to adjust the relative axial position of the bed and the plurality of powder depositors by a distance of one layer thickness per recoating and writing unit of the plurality of recoating and writing units per revolution of the bed.
In the analogous art, Corsmeier discloses a rotary additive manufacturing apparatus (Abstract) including configurations featuring a plurality of recoating and writing units (e.g., Fig. 3, [0048], build units 308 including powder delivery mechanisms 314 and irradiation beam directing mechanisms 312) operating over a continuously lowering annular powder bed ([0046], [0049]). Corsmeier teaches that in the case of using multiple recoating and writing units, the build surface should descend at a rate of one layer thickness per recoating and writing unit per revolution of the bed relative to the build unit ([0049], using, e.g., three build units, the build surface descends a layer thickness every 1/3 revolution, i.e., 3 layer thicknesses for 3 build units per full revolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in the case of utilizing a plurality of recoating and writing units that the height-adjusting means of Goodwin was configured to adjust the relative axial position by a distance of one layer thickness per recoating and writing unit of the plurality of recoating and writing units per revolution of the bed in order to ensure a suitable relative distance was maintained between the build surface and the powder depositors for successfully performing continuous additive manufacturing as taught by Corsmeier. The descent rate is consistent with Goodwin’s teaching when using one build unit and accounts for the additional build units understandably contributing to a faster increase in applied material thickness.
Regarding claim 3, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1. Goodwin is silent as to a specific arrangement of the plurality of recoating and writing units and thus as to the units being arranged at different circumferential positions.
Analogous art Corsmeier further discloses that in the case of using a plurality of recoating and writing units working over an annular circular powder bed, the recoating and writing units are typically arranged at different circumferential positions (Figs. 3 and 5, see build units 308 and 508, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify for the annular circular arrangement of Goodwin that the plurality of recoating and writing units were arranged at different circumferential positions in order to set a suitable working position for the build units over the annular powder bed that was consistent with the relative rotation arrangement for building as taught by Corsmeier.
Regarding claim 4, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and Goodwin discloses the means for rotating the bed comprises a rotary motor (the platform is rotated at a substantially constant velocity by a mover, [0141]; the mover for rotational motion of the platform described as a rotary motor, [0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and Goodwin discloses the height-adjusting means are configured to adjust the relative axial position of the bed and the powder depositor by moving the bed substantially vertically downwards during manufacture of the component (the support surface functions as an annular elevator platform moved vertically relative to the chamber walls, is slowly lowered during fabrication, [0140]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and Goodwin discloses the bed is substantially annular (Fig. 5, annular, [0139]-[0140], [0142]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, and Goodwin discloses the substantially annular bed has an outer diameter (outer diameter defined by outer chamber wall 527D, Fig. 5) and an inner diameter (inner diameter defined by inner chamber wall 527C, Fig. 5), wherein the outer diameter is greater than the inner diameter (Fig. 5).
Goodwin is silent as to the outer diameter being greater than or equal to 3 times the inner diameter. However, Goodwin discloses the outer diameter being greater than at least 1 times the inner diameter (Fig. 5), as would necessarily be the case in order to define an area for a build space between the outer and inner walls (Fig. 5, [0139]). Goodwin describes the annular build chamber defined between the walls as “large” and suitable for building large parts that fit within the annular shape ([0142], [0144]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select at least the overlapping portion of the range in order to predictably ensure a large enough build space between the walls for building parts, e.g., a large annular component ([0142], [0144]), in the annular space.
Furthermore, it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In this case, the device of Goodwin including the outer and inner walls defining respective outer and inner diameters with a build area in between would not have performed differently if the relative diameters were sized as claimed.
Regarding claim 21, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, and Goodwin discloses the height-adjusting means are configured to adjust the relative axial position such that a working surface of the component defines a spiral or helix shape (the elevator support surface being slowly lowered in such a way to build the part(s) in a continuous helical layer that spirals on itself, [0140]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control means are configured to operate the plurality of powder depositors and the plurality of energy beam sources to form the component as a plurality of continuous layers extending helically throughout a height of the component (Goodwin: the elevator support surface being slowly lowered in such a way to build the part(s) in a continuous helical layer that spirals on itself, [0140]; per claim 1, the plurality of powder depositors and irradiation devices are utilized and thus the part being built in a continuous helical manner requires the controlled operation, via the control system [0076], of the powder depositors and irradiation devices to build respective continuous helical layers, the plurality of depositors and energy beam sources as set forth for claim 1 resulting in a plurality of corresponding layers).
Regarding new claim 25, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1. Goodwin discloses the control device (control system, [0076], [0137]) and that the powder deposition and irradiation are controlled to build an object ([0076]). As such, whether a given recoating and writing unit is operating is adjustable via the control device. Corsmeier as applied above to claim 1 teaches configuring the height-adjusting means to lower at a rate according to the number of recoating and writing units operating in the apparatus ([0049]). As such, the combination as set forth for claim 1 further reads on the height-adjusting means being configured to adjust a rate of the height adjustment depending on the number of recoating and writing units operating in the apparatus.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al., US 20200346407 A1, in view of Corsmeier, US 20180345370 A1, as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Thorson et al., US 20170190112 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 10, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, and Goodwin discloses the substantially annular bed has an outer diameter (outer diameter defined by outer chamber wall 527D, Fig. 5) and an inner diameter (inner diameter defined by inner chamber wall 527C, Fig. 5). Goodwin is silent as to the annular bed being adjustable to change the outer and/or inner diameter.
In the analogous art, Thorson discloses an additive manufacturing device including an annular bed for making annular parts (Figs. 1-2, Abstract, [0001]). Thorson teaches the outer and inner retaining walls (118, 120, Fig. 2) being removably disposed on the platform 102 ([0022]-[0023]) or being formed on the platform by selective laser fusing/printing ([0023]). Either case would result in the annular bed being adjustable to change the outer and/or inner diameter via changing the outer/inner wall(s).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the annular bed of Goodwin such that it was adjustable to change the outer and/or inner diameter as taught by Thorson in order to provide the capability of redefining the annular build space according to a given part shape.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al., US 20200346407 A1, in view of Corsmeier, US 20180345370 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Holford et al., US 20180345373 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 23, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1. Goodwin is silent as to a rotation sensor configured to determine a rate of the relative rotation, wherein the height-adjusting means are configured to adjust the relative axial position at a rate dependent upon the rate of the relative rotation determined by the rotation sensor.
In the analogous art, Holford discloses a rotating additive manufacturing device (Abstract, Figs. 2-3). Holford teaches the device includes a rotation sensor configured to determine a rate of the relative rotation (one or more rotary encoders, visual or sensor, to measure and determine the rotational speed of the rotating build platform, [0039]). Holford teaches the determination of the rotational speed can be used to calibrate other components of the apparatus for constant properties of the built part ([0011], [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Goodwin to include a rotation sensor configured to determine a rate of the relative rotation in order to provide the capability of calibrating operation of other components of the apparatus in accordance with the actual rotation speed, as taught by Holford. The height-adjusting means of the combination would then be configured to adjust the relative axial position (Goodwin: configured to move the elevator support surface vertically, [0140]) at a rate dependent upon the rate of the relative rotation determined by the rotation sensor (per claim 1, the support surface being lowered by one layer thickness per recoating and writing unit per revolution, i.e., at a rate dependent on the rotation rate of the platform).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goodwin et al., US 20200346407 A1, in view of Corsmeier, US 20180345370 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Spicer et al., US 20180311731 A1 (of record).
Regarding new claim 26, modified Goodwin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1. As set forth above, Goodwin indicates that a rate of the height adjustment can be varied ([0095]). Goodwin is silent as to the height-adjusting means being configured to adjust a rate of the height adjustment depending on a speed of writing in a given part of the component.
In the analogous art of additive manufacturing (Abstract), Spicer discloses annular rotary additive manufacturing systems ([0024]) having one or more recoating and writing units ([0027]-[0028], one or more lasers and powder delivery systems). Spicer teaches controlling the height adjustment of an annular build chamber to depend on the scanning speed of a laser so as to correspond to the workpiece complexity ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify the height-adjusting means of Goodwin was configured to adjust a rate of the height adjustment depending on a speed of writing in a given part of the component in order to ensure the capability of suitable position adjustment corresponding to a given workpiece complexity as taught by Spicer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp. 7-10, filed 05/28/2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are generally persuasive as to the features of new/amended limitations. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for amended claim 1 is made over Goodwin in view of Corsmeier, as applied above, to address the plurality of recoating and writing units and the corresponding height adjustment capability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20030205851 A1, Laschutza et al. disclose a rotary additive manufacturing device with relative rotation combined with descending movement of the build table to achieve a spiral motion with a pitch corresponding to layer thickness.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754