Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 3-4 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 states in part “….wherein a porosity in a part of the bonding layer on an inside of the first outer edge is higher than a porosity in a part of the bonding layer on an inside of the second outer edge and on an outside of the first outer edge.” Examiner is interpreting this to mean that there are metal particles outside the first outer edge. But the first outer edge extends on the outside of the bonding interface between the bonding layer and the conductive plate. Outside of this is the sealing member. Thus, Examiner is not able to determine the meaning of this limitation. The specification recites the same limitation [see Para. [0027]) without adding further clarification. For the purposes of this examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim to read “…….wherein a porosity in a part of the bonding layer on an inside of the first outer edge is higher than a porosity in a part of the bonding layer on an inside of the second outer edge
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US20190006265A1 (Yamada).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamada discloses a semiconductor device (Fig. 4, el. 10, Para. [0067]) comprising: a conductive plate (Fig. 4, el.1 , Para. [0064]) having a main surface (see annotated Fig. 4 below); a semiconductor chip (Fig. 4, el. 3, Para. [0063]) deposited to be opposed to the main surface of the conductive plate (see annotated Fig. 4 below); and a bonding layer (Fig. 4, el. 2, Para. [0065]) including porous sintered material (Para. [0065], sintered silver paste is inherently porous) and arranged between the conductive plate and the semiconductor chip (Fig. 4), wherein a first outer edge of a bonding interface between the bonding layer and the conductive plate is located on an inside of an outer circumference of the semiconductor chip (see annotated Fig. 4 below) and is located on an inside of a second outer edge of a bonding interface between the bonding layer and the semiconductor chip (see annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamada discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a surface of the bonding layer toward the conductive plate on an outside of the first outer edge is convex toward the conductive plate (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamada discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a stress-concentrated portion is provided in a part at the first outer edge (see annotated Fig. 4 above, and Para. [0070])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of US20220045027A1 (Ochi).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamada discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Yamada does not disclose that an outer edge of the bonding layer toward the semiconductor chip projects outward from the outer circumference of the semiconductor chip.
Ochi discloses a bonding layer (Fig. 1, el. 5, Para. [0048]) where an outer edge of the bonding layer projects outward fromm the outer circumference of the semiconductor chip (see annotated Fig. 1 below and Para. [0048])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to modify the bonding layer of Yamada to have an outer edge of the bonding layer project outward from the outer circumference of the semiconductor chip, as disclosed Ochi. As disclosed by Ochi, these kinds of configurations can enhance reliability (Para. [0048]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of US20180197833A1 (Sakakibara).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamada discloses the semiconductor of claim 1.
Yamada does not disclose that a porosity in a part of the bonding layer on an inside of the first outer edge is higher than a porosity in a part of the bonding layer on an inside of the second outer edge and on an outside of the first outer edge.
Sakakibara discloses a bonding layer that has a higher porosity portion and a lower porosity portion (Figs. 2 and 3, Para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to include a higher porosity material in the part of the bonding layer closer to the conductive plate, to reduce thermal stress (Sakakibara, Para. [0006]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada in view of US20150130085A1 (Hino).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamada discloses the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
Yamada does not disclose a sealing member provided to seal the semiconductor chip and the bonding layer wherein the first outer edge has a point at which three of the bonding layer, the conductive plate. and the sealing member overlap with each other.
Hino discloses a sealing member provided to seal a semiconductor chip and a bonding layer (Fig. 1, Paras. [0018-0021]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to use sealing as in Hino to seal the semiconductor device and bonding layer of Yamada. Doing so would necessarily create a point at which the bonding layer, sealing member, and conductive plate overlap. Adding a sealing layer has the benefit of protecting the device and bonding layer from environmental stress.
Conclusion
/ROHIT PARTHASARATHY/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899