CTNF 18/341,411 CTNF 99266 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims In the communication filed on 06/26/2023 claims 1-17 are pending. Claims 1 and 10 are independent. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because the applicant uses blank boxes and numbers to illustrate structural components in Figs. 1 and 3. These alone do not facilitate understanding of the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings) . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace “an” with --the-- so that it reads “the electrical short” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as “the electrical short”, however , appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace “a” with --the-- so that it reads “the short” in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes, this will be interpreted as “the short”, however , appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noppakunkajorn et al. (USPGPN 20180208079) and further in view of Jacobson (USPGPN 20180309285) . With respect to independent claims 1 and 10 , Noppakunkajorn teaches a protection system for a hybrid vehicle having an internal combustion engine and high voltage components including an electric drive motor (Figs. 1-2; a protection system for a hybrid vehicle 112 having an engine 118 and power electronics modules 126 including an electric machine 114 mechanically coupled to the gearbox 116, see ¶[10]) . Noppakunkajorn teaches a high voltage battery pack that powers the electric drive motor over a high voltage bus (Figs. 1-2; a traction battery 124 that powers the electric machine 114 over a high-voltage bus 152) . However, Prasad fails to explicitly teach short circuit protection system; a high speed reactive component configured to move between a normally open position and a closed position, wherein in the closed position, power from the high voltage battery pack is diverted away from the high voltage components and to the high speed reactive component; and a controller that receives operating conditions of the high voltage components and communicates a signal to the high speed reactive component to move to the closed position based on operating conditions consistent with an electrical short to drain power from the high voltage battery pack. Jacobson teaches a short circuit protection system (Figs. 3-4; a crowbar protection circuit. ¶[3-4]; protects against surges caused by faults which is understood by one of ordinary skill to be a short circuit protection mechanism) . Jacobson teaches a high speed reactive component configured to move between a normally open position and a closed position, wherein in the closed position, power from the high voltage battery pack is diverted away from the high voltage components and to the high speed reactive component (Figs. 3-4; the thyristor X1 of the crowbar circuit configured to move between a normally open position and a closed position, wherein in the closed position, power from the main power supply is diverted away from the load and to the crowbar circuit, see ¶[21-24]. The arrows in Fig. 3 illustrate power flow being diverted away from the load during a protection operation) . Jacobson teaches a controller that receives operating conditions of the high voltage components and communicates a signal to the high speed reactive component to move to the closed position based on operating conditions consistent with an electrical short to drain power from the high voltage battery pack (Fig. 4; a controller 410 receives operating conditions of the converters 412/416 (e.g., loads) via signal paths and consequently communicates a signal to the gate drivers of the crowbar circuit based on operating conditions consistent with a short, in which one of ordinary skill understands would drain the main power supply) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Jacobson’s crowbar protection circuit to Noppakunkajorn’s protection system for a hybrid vehicle in order to divert power from a shorted component thereby avoiding draining the vehicle’s traction battery. The advantage of this being that reliability is improved, stress on components is reduced, and dynamic control of the current is provided to keep components within safe operating areas (see ¶[19] of Jacobson). With respect to dependent claims 2 and 12 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 10, respectively. However, Noppakunkajorn fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to determine a voltage of the high voltage bus and discontinue routing of power back to the high voltage battery pack based on the voltage not being stabilized. However, Jacobson teaches wherein the controller is further configured to determine a voltage of the high voltage bus and discontinue routing of power back to the high voltage battery pack based on the voltage not being stabilized (¶[18, 30]; controller 410 monitors system voltage and maintains the crowbar circuit on as long as a fault condition is present) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Jacobson’s crowbar protection circuit to Noppakunkajorn’s protection system for a hybrid vehicle in order to divert power from a shorted component thereby avoiding draining the vehicle’s traction battery. The advantage of this being that reliability is improved, stress on components is reduced, and dynamic control of the current is provided to keep components within safe operating areas (see ¶[19] of Jacobson). With respect to dependent claims 3 and 13 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 12, respectively. Further, Noppakunkajorn teaches wherein the routing of power includes regenerative braking (¶[11, 19]; regenerative braking is used to provide power) . With respect to dependent claims 4 and 11 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 10, respectively. Further, Noppakunkajorn teaches wherein the operating conditions consistent with an electrical short include a determination whether a voltage of the high voltage bus is less than a threshold (¶[26-27]; a voltage is compared to a threshold to determine if a fault/short exists) . With respect to dependent claims 5 and 14 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 10, respectively. Further, Noppakunkajorn teaches wherein the controller is further configured to route power from the high voltage battery pack to alternate high voltage components not associated with the electrical short (Fig. 2; ¶[30]; contactor 208 is opened, rerouting power from the traction battery 124 away from the shorted component (e.g., power electronics module 126). Thus, one of ordinary skill understands power is routed towards components not associated with the electrical short (e.g., electrical load 146 and DC/DC converter module 128) . With respect to dependent claims 6 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2. Further, Noppakunkajorn teaches further comprising a contactor that selectively electrically connects the high voltage battery to the high voltage bus (Fig. 1; contactor module 142 selectively electrically connects the traction battery 124 to the high-voltage bus 152) . With respect to dependent claims 7 and 15 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 12, respectively. However, Noppakunkajorn fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller commands the contactor to move to an open position wherein the high voltage battery is disconnected from the high voltage bus based on the voltage of the high voltage bus being stabilized. Jacobson teaches wherein the controller commands the contactor to move to an open position wherein the high voltage battery is disconnected from the high voltage bus based on the voltage of the high voltage bus being stabilized (¶[18, 30]; the crowbar circuit is turned off once the system returns to normal operation) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Jacobson’s crowbar protection circuit to Noppakunkajorn’s protection system for a hybrid vehicle in order to divert power from a shorted component thereby avoiding draining the vehicle’s traction battery. The advantage of this being that reliability is improved, stress on components is reduced, and dynamic control of the current is provided to keep components within safe operating areas (see ¶[19] of Jacobson). With respect to dependent claims 8 and 16 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 12, respectively. Further, Noppakunkajorn teaches wherein the controller is configured to direct the internal combustion engine to provide sole propulsion power to the vehicle based on an electrical short detection (¶[30]; traction battery 124 power flow to the power electronics module 126 is stopped, thus, it is understood by one of ordinary skill that the engine 118 of the hybrid vehicle 112 provides propulsion power during a faulted power electronics module 126 situation) . With respect to dependent claims 9 and 17 , Noppakunkajorn teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 12, respectively. It would have been an obvious design choice to communicate a signal to an instrument cluster of the hybrid vehicle indicative of an electrical short detection, because it would keep a user informed and allows them to take action quickly. Therefore, preventing further issues and improving system restoration. Relevant Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li et al. (USPGPN 20210086620) teaches a method for controlling operation of an electric-drive vehicle includes a vehicle controller verifying initiation of a towing operation for the vehicle, and responsively determining if there is a drive system failure preventing the vehicle's traction motor from electrically connecting with its traction battery pack. If there is no drive system failure, the controller determines if the speed of the traction motor during towing exceeds a calibrated base speed; if so, the controller commands a power inverter to electrically connect the traction motor to the traction battery pack. If, however, the towed motor speed does not exceed the calibrated base speed, the controller responsively commands the power inverter to disconnect the traction motor from the battery pack. Vander Laan et al. (USPGPN 20150109707) teaches a vehicle high voltage system may include contactors/relays, wires, a traction battery, electrical components, and at least one controller. The at least one controller may open the contactors to interrupt current flow to the components if anyone of a plurality of amp-hour measurement associated with the traction battery exceeds a corresponding predetermined threshold value . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Frank A Silva whose telephone number is (703)756-1698. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 09:30 am -06:30 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,411 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859