CTNF 18/341,468 CTNF 99266 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims In the communication filed on 06/26/2023 claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 14, and 16 are independent. Priority 02-25 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People’s Republic of China on 02/21/2023 . It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202310188665.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. An attempt by the Office to electronically retrieve, under the priority document exchange program, the foreign application CN202310188665.9 to which priority is claimed has failed on 07/21/2024. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-4 contain blurred illustrations. Please submit replacement sheets with sharper images . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 13 replace the two instances of “a” with --the-- so that it reads “the power source” and “the charging source” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below, these limitations will be interpreted as “the power source” and “the charging source”, however , appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 8-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Choi (Korean Patent KR-20210158472-A; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the European Search Opinion) . With respect to independent claims 1 and 14 , Choi teaches a mobile charging apparatus (Figs. 1-2, wireless charging module 200) , used in cooperation with a wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2, body of smartwatch 1; ¶[01], “a wearable charging device for a smartwatch capable of charging a smartwatch while the smartwatch is worn on the wrist of a user”) . Choi teaches comprising a body structure (Fig. 1; cradle 100) and a charging source arranged on the body structure (Fig. 1; coil 211 arranged on cradle 100. One of ordinary skill understands a coil is a charging source) . Choi teaches wherein when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; the wireless charging module 200 is fitted to the smartwatch 1) . Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus is detachably assembled to the wearable apparatus body by means of the body structure (Fig. 2; the wireless charging module 200 is detachably assembled to the body of the smartwatch 1 by means of the cradle 100) . Choi teaches the charging source is electrically connected to a power source of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; coil 211 is electrically connected to a battery (not shown) of the smartwatch) . Choi teaches the body structure covers at least part of a middle frame and/or part of a screen of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; a watch holder part 110 covers part of the middle frame and part of the screen) . Choi teaches such that at least part of the screen exposed out of the body structure serves as a display control interaction region (Figs. 1-2; ¶[38]; part of the display is exposed out of the cradle 100 serves as a display control interaction region) . Choi teaches wherein the display control interaction region is at least configured to implement a preset display interaction function (¶[38]; “display element for outputting numbers, characters, images, etc.”) . With respect to claim 2 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Choi teaches wherein the body structure comprises a first portion and a second portion; and the first portion covers at least part of the middle frame circumferentially, and the second portion covers part of the screen (See annotated Fig. 1 below. The first portion covers part of the middle frame circumferentially, and the second portion covers part of the screen) . PNG media_image1.png 382 434 media_image1.png Greyscale With respect to claim 8 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Choi teaches wherein the charging source comprises a wireless charging coil arranged on the body structure (Fig. 1; coil 211 arranged on cradle 100. One of ordinary skill understands a coil can be a charging source as well) . Choi teaches the power source comprises a wireless power supply coil arranged on the wearable apparatus body, when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body, the wireless charging coil is fitted to the wireless power supply coil in an alignment manner (¶[55]; the smartwatch’s coil (i.e, arranged in the smartwatch) and wireless charging module 200 is assembled and fitted to the smartwatch, the coil 211 is aligned to the smartwatch’s coil) . With respect to claim 9 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 8. Further, Choi teaches wherein the wireless charging coil is arranged in a third portion of the body structure corresponding to a rear housing of the wearable apparatus body in position (See annotated Fig. 3 below) . PNG media_image2.png 332 498 media_image2.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and further in view of You et al. (USPGPN 20170201108; identified by the applicant in the IDS and cited in the European Search Opinion) . With respect to claim 3 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Choi teaches the charging source is arranged on an inner surface of the first portion, and the charging source is arranged corresponding to a connection arranged on the middle frame (Figs. 1-4; the charging coil 211 is arranged on an inner surface of the first portion, and the charging coil 211 transfers power to the smartwatch via the smartwatches coil (not shown) within the smartwatches middle frame) . However, Choi fails to explicitly teach a charging contact electrically connected to the charging source; and a connection contact. You teaches a charging contact electrically connected to the charging source (Fig. 11; a charging connection terminal 260 connected to external battery 235) . You teaches a connection contact (Fig. 11; charging terminal 360) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency. With respect to claim 4 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Choi teaches wherein the body structure comprises an accommodating structure protruding from an outer surface of the first portion; and the charging source is assembled in an accommodating cavity defined by the accommodating structure, the inner surface comprises an alignment region corresponding to the accommodating cavity in position, and the charging source is arranged in the alignment region (See annotated Figs. 3-4 below) . PNG media_image3.png 603 445 media_image3.png Greyscale Choi fails to explicitly teach the charging contact. You teaches a charging contact electrically connected to the charging source (Fig. 11; a charging connection terminal 260) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency. With respect to claim 5 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; ¶[01]; “a wearable charging device for a smartwatch capable of charging a smartwatch while the smartwatch is worn on the wrist of a user”) . However, Choi fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claim 5. You teaches wherein the body structure comprises a preset region adjacent to the charging contact, and the preset region is provided with a first magnetic attraction member (Fig. 11; magnet 266 within a region adjacent to the charging connection terminal 260) . You teaches the first magnetic attraction member is fixed to the wearable apparatus body in an attracted manner (Fig. 11; magnet 266 attracts to the mobile terminal 300) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency. With respect to claim 6 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 5. However, Choi fails to explicitly teach wherein the charging contact comprises a first contact and a second contact, and the preset region is arranged between the first contact and the second contact. You teaches wherein the charging contact comprises a first contact and a second contact, and the preset region is arranged between the first contact and the second contact (Fig. 5C; magnets 267 are arranged between contacts 260 in the preset region (e.g., a magnet is arranged between two contacts)) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency. With respect to claim 7 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 3. Further, Choi teaches wherein the preset region is provided with a first clamping portion; and when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body, the first clamping portion is fixed to the wearable apparatus body in a clamping manner (See annotated Figs. 3-4 below. Figs. 1-2; shows how the smartwatch is clamped to the charging device) . PNG media_image4.png 584 428 media_image4.png Greyscale With respect to claim 13 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. Further, Choi teaches the third portion, the rear housing, and the mobile charging apparatus is assembled to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-4 as cited above) . However, Choi fails to explicitly teach a third magnetic attraction member, a fourth magnetic attraction member corresponding to the third magnetic attraction member in position, and the third magnetic attraction member is fixed to the fourth magnetic attraction member in an attracted manner. You teaches a third magnetic attraction member, a fourth magnetic attraction member corresponding to the third magnetic attraction member in position, and the third magnetic attraction member is fixed to the fourth magnetic attraction member in an attracted manner (Fig. 12; magnetic element 250 in the charger 200 and metal member 375 in the mobile terminal 300 are magnetically attracted so that they are fixed to each other) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted You’s physical charging contacts to Choi’s charging device in order to have a charging device that transfers electrical power via physical contact. The benefit of using You being the mobile terminal can easily be placed on a charging position by magnetic force during charging the mobile terminal using a charger (see ¶[21] of You) thus improving charging efficiency . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (Korean Patent KR-20210158472-A; identified by the applicant in the IDS and cited in the European Search Opinion) . With respect to claim 10 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the third portion such that the side facing the wearable apparatus body is provided with a metal layer, while the opposite side includes a leather layer, with the wireless charging coil arranged between the metal layer and the leather layer, as this represents a straightforward and predictable design variation. This arrangement provides the benefit of supporting effective wireless charging performance via the metal layer while presenting a leather exterior that improves comfort and appearance. With respect to dependent claims 11 and 12 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 9. Further, Choi teaches wherein the body structure comprises a first portion fitted to the middle frame and a second portion fitted to the screen (See annotated Fig. 1 below. The first portion covers part of the middle frame circumferentially, and the second portion covers part of the screen) . PNG media_image1.png 382 434 media_image1.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the third portion to have a thickness less than or equal to that of each of the first portion and the second portion, as this reflects a routine and predictable dimensional design choice. This arrangement provides the benefit of reducing overall bulk while improving flexibility and comfort, especially in areas intended to be closest to the wearer . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and further in view of Kim et al. (USPGPN 20150348495) . With respect to independent claim 16 , Choi teaches an apparatus control method (Figs. 1-2; ¶[01]; “a wearable charging device for a smartwatch capable of charging a smartwatch while the smartwatch is worn on the wrist of a user”) , applied to a wearable apparatus comprising a wearable apparatus body (Fig. 1; body of smartwatch 1) and a mobile charging apparatus (Fig. 1; wireless charging module 200) . Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus comprising a body structure (Fig. 1; cradle 100) and a charging source arranged on the body structure (Fig. 1; coil 211 arranged on cradle 100) . Choi teaches wherein when the mobile charging apparatus is assembled and fitted to the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; the wireless charging module 200 is fitted to the smartwatch 1) . Choi teaches the mobile charging apparatus is detachably assembled to the wearable apparatus body by means of the body structure (Fig. 2; the wireless charging module 200 is detachably assembled to the body of the smartwatch 1 by means of the cradle 100) . Choi teaches the charging source is electrically connected to a power source of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; coil 211 is electrically connected to a battery (not shown) of the smartwatch) . Choi teaches the body structure covers at least part of a middle frame and/or part of a screen of the wearable apparatus body (Figs. 1-2; a watch holder part 110 covers part of the middle frame and part of the screen) . Choi teaches such that at least part of the screen exposed out of the body structure serves as a display control interaction region (Figs. 1-2; ¶[38]; part of the display is exposed out of the cradle 100 serves as a display control interaction region) . Choi teaches wherein the display control interaction region is at least configured to implement a preset display interaction function (¶[38]; “display element for outputting numbers, characters, images, etc.”) . Choi teaches wherein the apparatus control method comprises receiving a control signal that the power source is connected to or disconnected from the charging source (¶[55]; one of ordinary skill understands that upon connection or disconnection of the smartwatch’s battery to the charging modules coil, a corresponding control signal is generated, and that when the primary coil is energized, a magnetic field is produced that inductively couples with the coil of the smartwatch to transfer power for charging) . However, Choi fails to explicitly teach sending a mode switching instruction according to the control signal, wherein the mode switching instruction comprises switching of a display control region and/or switching of on and off of at least one function module of the wearable apparatus. Kim teaches sending a mode switching instruction according to the control signal, wherein the mode switching instruction comprises switching of a display control region and/or switching of on and off of at least one function module of the wearable apparatus (Fig. 7; the display unit 151 has regions 710/712/720/730/752 which are switched on/off based on a region control display instruction) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s adjustable display unit to Choi’s charging device in order for a user to be able to interact with the wearable device’s touchscreen while it is charging. The advantage of this being the wearable device provides a more suitable user interface depending on the state in which the display is covered and displays image information in a specific region (see ¶[07-09] of Kim). With respect to dependent claims 15 and 17 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 14 and 16, respectively. Further, Choi teaches the screen, the body structure, and the mobile charging apparatus (Figs. 1-4; as cited above) . However, Choi fails to explicitly teach a first display control region and a second display control region; and the body structure covers one of the first display control region and the second display control region, and the other one of the first display control region and the second display control region is exposed out of the mobile charging apparatus. Kim teaches a first display control region and a second display control region (Fig. 7; the display unit 151 has regions 710/712/720/730/752) . Kim teaches the body structure covers one of the first display control region and the second display control region, and the other one of the first display control region and the second display control region is exposed out of the mobile charging apparatus (Fig. 7; the display unit 151 has regions 710/712/720/730/752 which are switched off based on a body covering the region without direct line of sight with the user and the regions that have direct line of sight with the user are switched on) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s adjustable display unit to Choi’s charging device in order for a user to be able to interact with the wearable device’s touchscreen while it is charging. The advantage of this being the wearable device provides a more suitable user interface depending on the state in which the display is covered and displays image information in a specific region (see ¶[07-09] of Kim). With respect to dependent claims 18-19 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 16 and 17, respectively. However, Choi fails to explicitly teach the limitations of 18-19. Kim teaches adjusting display content according to the mode switching instruction, wherein the display content is associated with a display region and a started function module (Figs. 7-11; based on the instruction, the display unit 151 displays content within a region and a function) . Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Kim’s adjustable display unit to Choi’s charging device in order for a user to be able to interact with the wearable device’s touchscreen while it is charging. The advantage of this being the wearable device provides a more suitable user interface depending on the state in which the display is covered and displays image information in a specific region (see ¶[07-09] of Kim). With respect to claim 20 , Choi teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 16. Further, Choi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer instruction, wherein the computer instruction implements the apparatus control method when executed by a processor (One of ordinary skill understands the instructions implemented are stored in a memory and executed by a processor) . Relevant Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following were identified by the applicant in the IDS and/or were cited in Foreign Office Actions, however, for examination purposes were not cited by the examiner: US 20150326045 A1 KR 20150133575 A KR 20190097314 A KR 101548465 B1 Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Frank A Silva whose telephone number is (703)756-1698. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 09:30 am -06:30 pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 /DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 15 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 16 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 17 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 18 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 19 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/341,468 Page 20 Art Unit: 2859