Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2023 was filed after the mailing date of the Filing Receipt on 09/18/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 5, & 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, “wherein the first vehicle is tow vehicle” should read “wherein the first vehicle is a tow vehicle”.
In claim 5, “wherein the first vehicle is towed vehicle” should read “wherein the first vehicle is a towed vehicle”.
In claim 7, “is configured to monitor presence of” should read “is configured to monitor a presence of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Dependent claim 10 recites the limitation "the absence of power", without prior disclosure, resulting in lack of antecedent basis for this claim. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “the absence of power” as “an absence of power”.
Dependent claim 12 contains the trademark/trade name J560. Where a trademark or trade name (J560), which are subject to change by time, is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a connector and, accordingly, the identification/description renders the claim to be indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 6-7, 9, & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub.. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade).
Regarding independent claim 1, Slade, teaches:
A vehicle communication system comprising ([Abstract] & [0004]: “Disclosed is a cable system for a truck trailer that reduces the number and/or size of cables to reduce metal usage.”): an electrical connector coupled to a first vehicle ([0005] & [0036]: “A conventional trailer may receive input from the truck via a standard J-560 connector at a trailer connection point”, where the “trailer” is the “first vehicle”) and comprising a plurality of pins configured to carry signals between the first vehicle and a second vehicle ([0011]: “the cable system includes an adapter having an adapter plug with seven connection terminals of a truck tractor”, where the truck tractor is the “second vehicle”), the plurality of pins comprising a first pin configured to receive electrical power (Fig. 3; [0011] & [0041]: 129 six separate power cable connections, “The adapter plug includes at least two of the six separate power cable connections being combined to be electrically conductive with the metallic power cable”) and a second pin configured to act as a signal ground ([0011]: “the cable system includes an adapter having an adapter plug with seven connection terminals corresponding to trailer connection terminals of a truck tractor, the seven connection terminals including a ground cable connection…”); and
a communication circuit coupled to the first and second pins of the electrical
connector (Fig. 6; [0052]-[0053]: “multiple trailer components 115 may be electrically connected to a metallic power cable 120 designated in Fig. 6 as power cable 603…A metallic ground cable 131 is shows and designated in Fig. 6 as ground cable 605. Ground cable 605 is electrically connected to a circuit ground 607…”) and configured to transmit an identification signal on the first pin to the second vehicle (Fig. 6; [0053]-[0058]: “the control circuit sends control signals to the components on the power cable.”, “The signals may include addressing data indicating which trailer component (e.g. left vehicle turn signal lamp ) should respond”, and “These addresses may be maintained by microcontroller 708 such that each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually and separate from other trailer components”).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 ([Abstract] & [0004]), wherein the communication circuit ([0011], [0018], [0043] & [0046]: “A control circuit may be included that is configured to connect to at least one of the metallic power cable, metallic ground cable, and an optional communications cable, wherein the control circuit is configured to receive thereacross communications signals from a plurality of the multiple components of the truck trailer”) is within a housing of, and integrated within, the electrical connector (Fig. 1; [0011] & [0024]: “the cable system includes an adapter having an adapter plug with seven terminals…and a control circuit may be included that is configured to connect at least one of the metallic power cable”, Fig. 1 illustrates the components included in a cable system for a trailer, where control circuit 118 is inside the housing of adapter 109).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the first vehicle is tow vehicle (Fig. 1; [0035] & [0252]-[0253]: “A trailer 103 is configured for towing by a truck 105 such as by any suitable hitching or coupling system” and “”Truck” generally refers to a powered truck (also known as a tractor or cab) for pulling a trailer”, the truck/tractor/cab being the “first vehicle” and the trailer being the “second vehicle”, Fig. 1 depicts truck 105 towing trailer 103) and the second vehicle is a towed vehicle (Fig. 1; [0002], [0004], [0035] & [0252]-[0253]: “:”Vehicle” generally refers to a self-propelled or towed device for transportation, including without limitation, car, truck boat, tank or other military vehicle, airplane, truck trailer, truck cab, boat trailer, other trailer, emergency vehicle, and motorcycle”, where Fig. 1 depicts trailer 103 being towed by truck 105).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the first vehicle is towed vehicle ([0035] & [0252]-[0253]: “A trailer 103 is configured for towing by a truck 105 such as by any suitable hitching or coupling system” and “”Vehicle” generally refers to a self-propelled or towed device for transportation, including without limitation, car, truck boat, tank or other military vehicle, airplane, truck trailer, truck cab, boat trailer, other trailer, emergency vehicle, and motorcycle”, and title of patent is “Cable system for a truck trailer”, indicating the trailer as the towed vehicle, the “trailer 103” is the entity being towed by a truck, “configured for towing by a truck 105”) and the second vehicle is a tow vehicle ([0035] & [0252]-[0253]: “”Truck” generally refers to a powered truck (also known as a tractor or cab) for pulling a trailer”, where Fig. 1 depicts truck 105 connected to trailer 103 illustrating the truck as the “second vehicle” or “tow vehicle”).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the communication circuit is configured to transmit the identification signal ([0007] & [0043]-[0044]: details that the communication system can transmit various data types, including “device identifications”, and the “control circuit 118” is configured to “send/or receive communications signals” and “control messages or signals” to and from trailer components) via a power line communication (PLC) protocol ([0004], [0053], & [0239]: where the “Power Line Communication (PLC)” is a suitable protocol for communications, “any suitable transmission technique may be used such as any type of Power-line Communication (PLC) system”).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the plurality of pins further comprises a third pin configured to receive a brake light power signal from the second vehicle (Fig. 3; [0002], [0011], [0041]: “Adapter plug (127) with seven connection terminals corresponding to trailer connection terminals of a truck tractor, the seven connection terminals including a ground cable connection and six separate power cable connections”, and among the connections is a “stop lamps and ABS braking secondary power connection 307”, where the “second vehicle” refers to the truck/tractor (second vehicle), serving as the “third pin” receiving brake light power signal from the truck), and
wherein the communication circuit is further coupled to the third pin ([0005], [0011]-[0013], [0020], [0041], [0251], & [Claim 27]: “the master control circuit (118) is electrically connected to the ground cable connection and the multiple power cable connections”, where the “third pin” refers to the brake light power connection that would be one of the multiple power cable connections) and is configured to monitor presence of the brake light power signal at the third pin ([Claim 27]: “wherein the master control circuit is configured to determine the commands to send to the trailer components based on power received from the multiple connection terminals”).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the communication circuit is configured to be electrically powered through the first and second pins ([0035], [0041]-[0044], [0047], [0056], [0079], [0154], & [0238]: states that is communication circuits, such as “control circuit 118” and “component control circuit 403” are electrically connected and powered by the main power and ground cables, where the “adapter plug 127” has “multiple power cable connection terminals 129 and a ground connection 141”, where “electricity or electrical signals may be received from the truck”, the terminals/connections serve as the “first and second pins” through which power is received, control circuit 118” is also configured to connect to “metallic power cables 120, metallic ground cable 151” and the “component control circuit” is “electrically connected to at least the metallic power cable(s) 120 and the ground cable 131”).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the electrical connector is a 7-pin J560 socket or a 7-pin J560 plug ([0005], [0011], [0013], [0036], [0041], & [0156]: “A conventional trailer may receive input from the truck via a standard J-560 connector at a trailer connection point (sometimes colloquially referred to as the “nose box”), where “the adapter plug (J-560) with seven connection terminals corresponding to trailer connection terminals of a truck tractor, the seven connection terminals including a ground cable connection and six separate power cable connections” and refers to an “SAE J-560 7-wire trailer power connector on each end” of the power cable connecting the tractor and trailer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 8, & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub.. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade) and in view of Fackrell et al. (US 2007/0241868 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 18, 2007, hereinafter Fackrell).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]),
Slade, is silent in regard to:
wherein the identification signal is configured to identify the first vehicle to the second vehicle.
However, Fackrell, further teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0001], [0004]-[0005], [0014], & [0022]), wherein the identification signal is configured to identify the first vehicle to the second vehicle ([0004]-[0005], [0014], [0032], & [0034]: “Such systems enable remote tracking of both the tractor and trailer to provide real-time or near real-time information as to the position and identification of tractor and trailer units.”, and “The system includes, for example, a trailer control unit suitably positioned within a trailer, wherein the trailer control unit is configured to provide a trailer identifier and send data to a remote location; a processing unit suitably positioned within a tractor, wherein the processing unit is configured to provide a tractor identifier, send data to a remote location, and receive data from a remote location”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an identification signal configured to identify a first vehicle to the second vehicle, of Fackrell to Slade, in order to improve and integrate the real-time tracking and identification of Fackrell into the advanced and bidirectional communication system of Slade, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 7 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the communication circuit is further configured to transmit the identification signal ([0007], [0043], & [0056]: details that the vehicle communication system can transmit various data types, including “device identifications” for vehicles or devices within those vehicles) in response to presence of the brake light power signal ([0041], [0077], & [Claim 27]: details the adapter plug 127 with multiple connection terminals, including “stop lamps and ABS braking secondary power connection 307” from the truck tractor, teaches a communication circuit (microcontroller 1015 within control circuit 118) that monitors the presence of power on connection terminals, including the brake lights, and sends messages in response to power detected).
Slade, is silent in regard to:
in response to presence of the brake light power signal.
However, Fackrell, further teaches:
in response to presence of the brake light power signal ([0008], [0026]-[0027]: “The umbilical provides electrical current to the trailer to power, for example…brake lights…”, describes transmitting identification data over existing power lines, including those related to the braking system (ABS power lines), using the brake line as a carrier for data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a response to a presence of the brake light power signal, of Fackrell to Slade, in order to attain and improve the capability to monitor and transmit operational data for vehicle tracking and diagnostics, to include the identification signal as part of the messaging or identifying information in response to the brake light power signal, enhancing the management and diagnostic capabilities of a fleet of vehicles, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the communication circuit is configured to detect application of power to the first pin (Fig. 10; [0041], & [0076]-[0077]: “electricity or electrical signals may be received from the truck by the cable system 107” via “multiple power cable connection terminals 129 and a ground connection 141”, where the terminals are the pins, “The adapter plug includes at least two of the six separate power cable connections being combined to be electrically conductive with the metallic power cable”, where the “control and power inputs 1003 are electrically connected to microcontroller 1015. Any number of inputs may be included.”, and “Power on a given connection indicates the microcontroller 1015 that the brake pedal has been pressed causing the microcontroller to send a message…”) and to transmit the identification signal in response to detecting the application of power ([0007], [0056], & [0077]: “data communicated between the nose box and trailer devices…can include…device identifications”, ”each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually and separate from other trailer components”, where “power on a given connection indicates to the microcontroller 1015 that the brake pedal has been pressed causing the microcontroller to send a message…” and teaches communication circuits can detect power application on pins and send messages in response and that components have unique identifications that can be communicated).
Slade, is silent in regard to:
and to transmit the identification signal in response to detecting the application of power.
However, Fackrell, further teaches:
and to transmit the identification signal in response to detecting the application of power ([0005], [0032], & [0034]: where the “a “trailer present” signal to the tractor’s antenna 122” is an identification signal transmitted upon connection/power application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the transmittance of the identification in response to detecting the application of power, of Fackrell to Slade, in order to improve and integrate the vehicle communication system that provides identification and identifying information to a remote location upon the application of power to the connection pins, and instantly identify a newly connected vehicle, desired for logistical tracking and diagnostics, yielding predictable results (KSR).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade) and in view of ConWys AG (DE 202005017151 U1, Pub. Date Feb. 02, 2006, hereinafter ConWys).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]),
Slade, is silent in regard to:
wherein the communication circuit comprises an internal battery configured to power the communication circuit in the absence of power on the first pin.
However, ConWys, teaches:
wherein the communication circuit comprises an internal battery configured to power the communication circuit in the absence of power on the first pin ([0062]-[0063]: “a control device according to the invention therefore has a second, separately routed supply line…It is also possible to use a compact battery for emergency power supply of the control device according to the invention”, identifies the problem of the power supply failure to the control device (communication circuit) and provides a solution with the use of a “compact battery” for the control device to function (e.g. send error messages) when the primary power from a supply line is absent).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an internal battery for the configured to power the communication circuit in the absence of power on the first pin, of ConWys to Slade, in order to improve and attain the continuous operation of vehicle communication systems, enhancing the reliability of the communication circuit by providing a backup power source (internal battery) that can power the circuit when the primary power from the tow vehicle is absent, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade), in view of Huett et al. (US 2021/0347218 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 11, 2001, hereinafter Huett), and further in view of Patne et al.(US 11411766 B2, Filing Date Jan. 8, 2021, hereinafter Patne).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the identification signal is based on an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle ([0007] & [0056]: mentions “Data communicated between the nose box and trailer devices…can include, but is not limited to…device identifications…” and “each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually and separate from other trailer components”)
Slade, is silent in regard to:
wherein the identification signal is based on an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle and an encryption key, and comprises a code indicating whether the identifier is encrypted.
However, Huett, further teaches:
wherein the identification signal is based on an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle ([0053] & [0064]: discusses remote diagnostics, service updates, and manufacturer linking for caravans, that refer to unique vehicle-level identifiers like a VIN) and an encryption key ([0050], [0055], [0066], and [Claim 16]: “the system encoders/decoders are able to encrypt signals to ensure network products are embedded with security tokens and certificates to communicate with the network…), and comprises a code indicating whether the identifier is encrypted ([0050], [0055], [0066]: “the system encoders/decoders are able to encrypt signals to ensure network products are embedded with security tokens and certificates to communicate with the network…”, emphasizing verifying and legitimacy using encrypted tokens, to determine authorized/encrypted and unauthorized/unencrypted communications).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the identification signal based on an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle and an encryption key, comprising a code indicating the identifier is encrypted, of Huett to Slade, in order to improve and attain a secure vehicle identification tractor-trailer system for traceability and vehicle management, using an encryption key to protect the identification signals, including a code to indicate its encryption status and enable proper handling (decryption or rejection) of received signals, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the identifier comprises the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system ([0007] & [0056]: mentions “Data communicated between the nose box and trailer devices…can include, but is not limited to…device identifications…” and “each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually and separate from other trailer components”, where the component IDs are “unique values identifying the system” parts),
Slade, is silent in regard to:
wherein the identifier comprises the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system, the unique value being mapped to the VIN of the first vehicle.
However, Huett, further teaches:
wherein the identifier comprises the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system ([0053], [0057], & [0064]: discusses remote diagnostics, service updates, and manufacturer linking for caravans, that refer to unique vehicle-level identifiers like a VIN, “system enables remote diagnostics of problems associated with the caravan components…odometer readings to record the service status…” and “linking the systems to manufacturers of caravans, they are able to identify issues and take action to address issues as they occur…”) the unique value being mapped to the VIN of the first vehicle ([0053], [0057], & [0064]: discusses remote diagnostics, service updates, and manufacturer linking for caravans, that refer to unique vehicle-level identifiers like a VIN, describes recording “service status of the caravan” for “remote diagnostics” and “linking the systems to manufacturers of caravans” to “identify issues…if the vehicle is still under warranty”, mapping unique electronic identifiers (such as module serial numbers/addresses) to a vehicle’s VIN for diagnostics, service history, and warranty is standard practice).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the identifier mapped to the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system, of Huett to Slade, in order to improve and attain a fleet management, diagnostics, and warranty tracking system of vehicles using unique identifiers and mapping them to the VIN of the first vehicle, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 13 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]),
Slade, is silent in regard to
wherein the encryption key is based on a manufacturing date of the first vehicle, and the code comprises a binary bit.
However, Huett, further teaches:
wherein the encryption key is based on a manufacturing date of the first vehicle ([0050], [0053], [0055], [0064], [0066], and [Claim 16]: “the system encoders/decoders are able to encrypt signals to ensure network products are embedded with security tokens and certificates to communicate with the network…”, “by linking the systems to manufacturers of caravans, they are able to identify issues and take action to address issues as they occur, particularly if the vehicle is still under warranty”, discloses encryption and security elements based on manufacturer/warranty links for each vehicle),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encryption key based on the manufacturing date of the first vehicle, of Huett to Slade, in order to improve and attain a secure vehicle identification tractor-trailer system for traceability and vehicle management, using an encryption key based on the first vehicle manufacturing date to protect the identification signals, including a code to indicate its encryption status and enable proper handling (decryption or rejection) of received signals, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Huett, is silent in regard to:
and the code comprises a binary bit.
However, Patne, further teaches:
and the code comprises a binary bit ([Abstract], [Col. 1, ll. 15-26], [Col. 7, ll. 1-2], [Col. 39, ll. 16-20], & [Col. 40, ll. 1-4]: including a code such as a binary bit to indicate if a data field, such as an “identifier” is encrypted or authenticated, allowing receiving systems to process or reject a signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encryption key based on the code (binary bit), of Patne to Slade and Huett, in order to improve and attain a secure vehicle-specific identification data management system for traceability, service needs, and authentication using an encryption key to protect the identification signals, including a code (binary bit) to indicate its encryption status and enable proper handling (decryption or encrypted/authenticated) of received signals, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade), and in view of Huett et al. (US 2021/0347218 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 11, 2001, hereinafter Huett).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), wherein the communication circuit is configured to generate the identification signal ([0007], [0044], [0056]-[0057]: “Data communicated between the nose box and trailer devices (lights, actuators, sensors) can include…device identifications…”, “Control messages or signals may be sent from a control circuit 118”, and “…each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually and separate from other trailer components”)
Slade, is silent in regard to :
by encrypting an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle via an encryption key.
However, Huett, teaches:
by encrypting an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle ([0053], [0064], & [0066]: describes encryption of signals for product authorization/identification for vehicle management through remote diagnostics and manufacturer links that would require VIN information for vehicle management, service, and warranty tracking (which relies on unique vehicle identification)) via an encryption key ([0050]& [0066]: mentions “security certificates” and “security tokens and certificates” for verifying and encrypting signals, well-known forms of cryptographic key material to perform encryption and authentication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the encryption of an identifier associated with a VIN of the first vehicle via an encryption key, of Huett to Slade, in order to improve and attain a secure and authenticated vehicle identification in a communication system, configuring the communication circuit to generate identification signals by encrypting an identifier associated with the vehicle’s VIN for enhanced traceability and security in vehicle communications, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade), and in view of Verzun et al. (US 9998434 B2, Pat. Date Jun. 12, 2018, hereinafter Verzun).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Slade, teaches:
The vehicle communication system of claim 1 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), and an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle ([0007] & [0056]: “Data communicated between the nose box and trailer devices…can include…device identifications…” and “…each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually…”)
Slade, is silent in regard to:
wherein the communication circuit is configured to generate the identification signal by: generating a random seed number; intertwining bits of the random seed number and an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle to generate an intertwined value; encrypting the intertwined value via an encryption key to generate an encrypted identifier; and scrambling bits of the encrypted identifier to generate the identification signal.
However, Verzun, teaches:
wherein the communication circuit is configured to generate the identification signal by: generating a random seed number ([Col. 75, ll. 32-34] & [Col. 109, ll. 50-52]: describes the generation of random numbers or “seeds” for use in cryptographic operations using a “seed generator” based on “state” (e.g., time)); intertwining bits of the random seed number and an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the first vehicle to generate an intertwined value ([Col. 72, ll. 19-30] & [Col. 105, ll. 36-42]: teaches “scrambling” which is the “reordering” or “intertwining” of data segments and uses numerical “seed” values as an input in the process); encrypting the intertwined value via an encryption key to generate an encrypted identifier ([Abstract], [Col. 72, ll. 31-39] & [Col. 114, ll. 26-36]: describes encrypting data using an “encryption key” (E-key 2022) generated by an “encryption generator” 1021, and the “intertwined value” output from previous scrambling/intertwining step would serve as data input for the encryption, generating an “encrypted identifier”); and scrambling bits of the encrypted identifier to generate the identification signal ([Abstract], [Col. 104, ll. 32-40], & [Col. 105, ll. 36-42]: teaches the process of “scrambling” bits or data segments/bits to reorder them, making information incomprehensible, mentions scrambling before encryption, and dynamic scrambling occurs at different stages throughout data transport).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the generation of a random seed number, intertwining bits from this number and an identifier associated with a VIN of the first vehicle to generate an intertwined value, then encrypting the intertwined value via an encryption key to generate an encrypted identifier, and scrambling bits of the encrypted identifier to generate the identification signal, of Verzun to Slade, in order to improve and attain a secure vehicle identification signal, combining the capabilities of generating random seeds, encrypting data with keys, and scrambling data of device identification, applying the steps sequentially to generate the identification signal, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Claims 18 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade), in view of Huett et al. (US 2021/0347218 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 11, 2021, hereinafter Huett), and further in view of Verzun et al. (US 9998434 B2, Pat. Date Jun. 12, 2018, hereinafter Verzun).
Regarding independent claim 18, Slade, teaches:
A method of transmitting an identification signal by a vehicle communication system, the method comprising (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0007] [0035], & [0043]):
and transmitting the identification signal to a second vehicle coupled to the first vehicle ([0035] & [0044]: “trailer 103 is configured for towing by a truck 105…Trailer 103 includes a cable system 107 for carrying power, and optionally, electrical signals, from the truck to one or more trailer components 115”, discloses the transmission of signals and data between coupled vehicles (e.g., truck to trailer)).
Slade, is silent in regard to:
identifying an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of a first vehicle coupled to the vehicle communication system;
However, Huett, further teaches:
identifying an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of a first vehicle coupled to the vehicle communication system ([0053], [0057], & [0064]: discusses remote diagnostics, service updates, and manufacturer linking for caravans, that refer to unique vehicle-level identifiers like a VIN, “system enables remote diagnostics of problems associated with the caravan components…odometer readings to record the service status…” and “linking the systems to manufacturers of caravans, they are able to identify issues and take action to address issues as they occur…”);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate identifying the identifier associated to the VIN of the first vehicle coupled to the vehicle communication system, of Huett to Slade, in order to improve and attain a fleet management, diagnostics, and secure data tracking of vehicles using unique identifiers and mapping (via blockchain ledger/group) them to the VIN of the first vehicle, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Slade andHuett, are silent in regard to:
generating a random seed number;
intertwining bits of the random seed number and the identifier to generate an
intertwined value;
encrypting the intertwined value via an encryption key to generate an encrypted
identifier;
scrambling bits of the encrypted identifier to generate the identification signal; and transmitting the identification signal to a second vehicle coupled to the first vehicle.
However, Verzun, further teaches:
generating a random seed number ([Col. 75, ll. 32-34] & [Col. 109, ll. 50-52]: describes the generation of random numbers or “seeds” for use in cryptographic operations using a “seed generator” based on “state” (e.g., time));
intertwining bits of the random seed number and the identifier to generate an
intertwined value ([Col. 72, ll. 19-30] & [Col. 105, ll. 36-42]: teaches “scrambling” as “reordering” or “intertwining” of data segments and uses numerical “seed” values as an input in the process);
encrypting the intertwined value via an encryption key to generate an encrypted
identifier ([Abstract], [Col. 72, ll. 31-39] & [Col. 114, ll. 26-36]: describes encrypting data using an “encryption key” (E-key 2022), where the “intertwined value” (from a previous step) is the data that is encrypted and generating an “encrypted identifier”);
scrambling bits of the encrypted identifier to generate the identification signal ([Abstract], [Col. 104, ll. 32-40], & [Col. 105, ll. 36-42]: teaches the process of “scrambling” bits or data bits/segments to reorder them, making information incomprehensible, and scrambling and encryption are sequential operations); and transmitting the identification signal to a second vehicle coupled to the first vehicle ([Col. 100, ll. 13-18]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the generation of a random seed number, intertwining bits from the seed number and an identifier to generate an intertwined value, then encrypting the intertwined value via an encryption key to generate an encrypted identifier, and scrambling bits of the encrypted identifier to generate the identification signal, of Verzun to Slade and Huett, , in order to improve and attain a secure vehicle identification signal, combining the capabilities of generating random seeds, encrypting data with keys, and scrambling data of device identification, applying the steps sequentially to generate the identification signal, and yielding predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Slade, teaches:
The method of claim 18 (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0007] [0035], & [0043]),
Slade, is silent in regard to:
wherein the identifier comprises the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system, the unique value being mapped to the VIN of the first vehicle.
However, Huett, further teaches:
wherein the identifier comprises the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system ([0053], [0057], & [0064]: discusses remote diagnostics, service updates, and manufacturer linking for caravans, that refer to unique vehicle-level identifiers like a VIN, “system enables remote diagnostics of problems associated with the caravan components…odometer readings to record the service status…” and “linking the systems to manufacturers of caravans, they are able to identify issues and take action to address issues as they occur…”), the unique value being mapped to the VIN of the first vehicle ([0053], [0057], & [0064]: discusses remote diagnostics, service updates, and manufacturer linking for caravans, that refer to unique vehicle-level identifiers like a VIN, describes recording “service status of the caravan” for “remote diagnostics” and “linking the systems to manufacturers of caravans” to “identify issues…if the vehicle is still under warranty”, mapping unique electronic identifiers (such as module serial numbers/addresses) to a vehicle’s VIN for diagnostics, service history, and warranty is standard practice).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the identifier comprising the VIN of the first vehicle or a unique value identifying the vehicle communication system, where the unique value is mapped to the VIN of the first vehicle, of Huett to Slade, in order to improve and attain a fleet management, diagnostics, and warranty tracking system of vehicles using unique identifiers and mapping them to the VIN of the first vehicle, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slade et al. (US 2021/0354521 A1, Pub. Date Nov. 18, 2021, hereinafter Slade), and in view of Patne et al.(US 11411766 B2, Filing Date Jan. 8, 2021, hereinafter Patne)..
Regarding independent claim 20, Slade, teaches:
A method of vehicle identification (Fig. 1; [Abstract], [0004], [0035], & [0043]), the method comprising:
transmitting the identification signal to a second vehicle that is electrically coupled to the first vehicle (Fig. 6; [0035], [0044], & [0053]-[0058]: “the control circuit sends control signals to the components on the power cable.”, “The signals may include addressing data indicating which trailer component (e.g. left vehicle turn signal lamp ) should respond”, “These addresses may be maintained by microcontroller 708 such that each trailer component may have a different address so that each component can identify itself individually and separate from other trailer components”, “trailer 103 includes a cable system 107…from the truck to one or more trailer components 115”, describe transmitting signals or data between electrically coupled vehicles (e.g., truck to trailer));transmitting a transmission signal corresponding to the identification signal to a remote server ([0044]);
Slade, is silent in regard to:
identifying an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of a first vehicle; coding the identifier to generate an identification signal; and receiving, from the remote server, the VIN of the first vehicle at the second vehicle.
However, Patne, further teaches:
identifying an identifier associated with a vehicle identification number (VIN) of a first vehicle (Fig. 6A; [Col. 1, ll. 27-37], [Col. 5, ll. 21-36 & 53-64], [Col. 13, ll. 28-30], & [Claim 19, Col. 40, ll. 20-24]: “The vehicle may require service at certain intervals…may require authentication”, “Vehicle information…identified and stored in a transaction on a shared/distributed ledger…”, and “…determining that an identifier of an electronic control unit (ECU) that sent the received data frame is on a whitelist”, describes vehicle-specific management and authentication, Fig. 6A illustrates “Vehicle Event Data” including “Vehicle Statuses” and “Registered Recipients” linked to a “Blockchain Group” for vehicle features, where the blockchain is a secure auditable vehicle data management system, and linking “authentication” data to a “processor” which is a node/vehicle, and also mentions vehicle-specific data, service, and ECUs with identifiers);
coding the identifier to generate an identification signal ([Abstract];
and receiving, from the remote server ([Col. 12, ll. 38-40]), the VIN of the first vehicle (Fig. 6A; [Col. 1, ll. 27-37], [Col. 5, ll. 21-36 & 53-64], [Col. 13, ll. 28-30], & [Claim 19, Col. 40, ll. 20-24]: “The vehicle may require service at certain intervals…may require authentication”, “Vehicle information…identified and stored in a transaction on a shared/distributed ledger…”, and “…determining that an identifier of an electronic control unit (ECU) that sent the received data frame is on a whitelist”, describes vehicle-specific management and authentication, Fig. 6A illustrates “Vehicle Event Data” including “Vehicle Statuses” and “Registered Recipients” linked to a “Blockchain Group” for vehicle features, where the blockchain is a secure auditable vehicle data management system, and linking “authentication” data to a “processor” which is a node/vehicle, and also mentions vehicle-specific data, service, and ECUs with identifiers) at the second vehicle ([Col 2, ll. 58-65], [Col. 3, ll. 39-67], [Col. 5, ll. 21-32 & 53-64], [Col. 30, ll. 63-67], & [Col. 31, ll. 1-2]: describes remote server authorization and control based on vehicle profiles/data where “vehicle to vehicle communications” are enabled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate identifying the identifier associated to the VIN of the first vehicle coupled to the vehicle communication system, coding the identifier to generate an identification signal, and receiving from the remote server, the VIN of the first vehicle at the second vehicle, of Patne to Slade, in order to improve and attain a fleet management, diagnostics, and secure data tracking of vehicles using unique identifiers and mapping (via blockchain ledger/group) them to the VIN of the first vehicle, coding and encoding an identifier into a signal or data for transmission, generating an identification signal, and yielding continuous predictable results (KSR).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suda (US 2013/0148748 A1) teaches a method to identify tractor and trailers and the order of hook up. Suda (US 2011/0281522 A1) teaches tractor trailer data communication apparatus and method. Burlak (US 7932623 B2) teaches method and system for driving a vehicle trailer tow connector. Wedding (US 6967414 B1) teaches power line isolation. Gee (US 5397924 A) teaches truck tractor and trailer electrical communication system.