Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 02/16/2026.
Reply to Applicant’s arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, claim amendments and new drawings were fully considered, However upon further consideration of the claims and the prior art, claims 1-7, 10, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1), claims 8 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Thiemt and in view of Li (US 2019/0234723 A1) and claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Thiemt and in view of JIANG; HONGZHOU (US 2018/0172870 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
4. Claims 1-7, 10, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, A multifunctional metal detector, comprising a housing and a control circuit board and a wall detection circuit mounted in the housing (figure 1, paragraph [0120]), comprising: at least one coupling assembly capable of being connected to the control circuit board, the coupling assembly being constructed for detachably coupling and connecting at least one functional device to the control circuit board, and the functional device being used for proving other functions different from metal detection ([0113] FIG. 1 shows a system 10 according to the invention consisting of a handheld laser distance measuring device 100 for contactless distance measurement between the laser distance measuring device 100 and a remote object (not shown in more detail) and a plurality of attachment devices 200 in a schematic perspective illustration as an example. [0114] The handheld laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a device housing 102, a touch-sensitive screen as an input and output device 104, as well as an actuating element 106 for switching the laser distance measuring device 100 on and off and for starting and/or terminating a measurement operation. [0116] The laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a laser diode within the device housing 102 for generating the laser radiation 108, a detector device, a control device and an energy supply device (each not shown in more detail). [0117] A determined distance-measurement value—and/or data information provided by an arranged attachment device 200, for example, a measurement value—can be further processed by the control device of the laser distance measuring device 100 and/or be output to an operator of the laser distance measuring device 100 by means of the output device 104. [0118] Furthermore, in FIG. 1, a multitude of different attachment devices 200 for arrangement on a handheld laser distance measuring device 100 are shown. In the following, the different embodiments of attachment devices 200—if necessary for differentiation—are marked with the reference indexes “a” to “m”. Each of the attachment devices 200 (correspondingly thus 200a-200m) comprises an attachment housing 202 (correspondingly 202a-202m), which at least substantially encloses, surrounds and/or holds the essential functional components of the respective attachment device 200—for example electronic and/or optical components. The attachment housing 202 herein represents an essential component part of the attachment device 200.[0119] Each of the attachment devices 200 is set up for the reversible arrangement at least on the laser distance measuring device 100, wherein at least one additional functionality can be provided by means of the arrangement of the respective attachment device 200 on the laser distance measuring device 100. Thereby, the additional functionality can, in particular, provide an alternative or an additional functionality of the laser distance measuring device 100, which is not available without an attachment device 200).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 1.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) further teaches, wherein the coupling assembly is used for fixing the functional device to the housing and/or used for information transmission between the functional device and the multifunctional metal detector ([0009] The control device is used to control the laser distance measuring device and comprises an information input system, an information processing system as well as an information output system. In one embodiment, the control device can comprise a processor as well as operating programs stored in a memory of the control device and/or control routines and/or evaluation routines and/or calculation routines. The control device is intended to determine a distance from a distance measurement by means of the laser distance measuring unit. In particular, the control device may be intended to determine a light-travel time from a phase comparison carried out between the emitted laser radiation and the laser radiation returning from the surface of the target object and to calculate or to determine the sought-after spacing between the laser distance measuring device and the target object by way of the light speed. The control device is connected on a signal-engineering level with the other components of the laser distance measuring device, in particular the emitter device, the detector device, an output device, furthermore, for example, an input device, an energy supply device as well as a data communication interface. The control device is intended to communicate with these components during the operation of the laser distance measuring device and thus to enable an operation of the laser distance measuring device).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 2.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the coupling assembly comprises a first coupling assembly, the first coupling assembly comprising an insert portion, the insert portion being disposed on one of the multifunctional metal detector and the functional device; and an accommodating portion (paragraphs [0027]-[0029], [0033], [0034]), the accommodating portion being disposed on the other one of the multifunctional metal detector, being connected to the control circuit board and being capable of accommodating the insert portion (paragraphs [0027]-[0029], [0033], [0034]); when the insert portion is accommodated by the accommodating portion, the insert portion and the accommodating portion being limited to each other and electrically connected so that the functional device is connected to the control circuit board ([0027] In one embodiment of the handheld laser distance measuring device, the device-side coupling interface is set up to form an undercut when arranging the attachment device with an attachment-side coupling interface. Accordingly, the attachment-side coupling interface is also set up to form an undercut, in particular the same one when arranging the attachment device with the device-side coupling interface. [0028] In one embodiment of the handheld laser distance measuring device, the device-side coupling interface is implemented as a positive-locking connection element of a bayonet connection, in particular as a recess of a bayonet connection. Accordingly, the attachment-side coupling interface in a corresponding embodiment of the attachment device is implemented as a positive-locking connection element, preferably complementary to the positive-locking connection element of the device-side coupling interface, of a bayonet connection in particular as a bolt or pin of a bayonet connection. [0029] In this way, the attachment device can be attached and locked to the laser distance measuring device in a particularly easy and reliable manner via a bayonet connection. In one embodiment, the bayonet connection can be locked by a blocking element. In an exemplary embodiment, the device-side coupling interface can comprise a flange ring, wherein the flange ring is connected to the device housing in a rotationally rigid manner (or as an alternative to the attachment housing), while the corresponding (complementary) attachment-side coupling interface (or correspondingly the device-side coupling interface) comprises an attachment ring, which is engaged by a rotary and axial relative movement of the attachment ring with relation to the flange ring when arranging the attachment device in such a way that the attachment ring and the flange ring together form an undercut.[0033] It should be noted at this point that the descriptions of an embodiment where the device-side coupling interface is implemented as a recess and the attachment-side coupling interface is implemented as a detent hook, can also be naturally carried over to a symmetrically designed embodiment where the device-side coupling interface is implemented as a detent hook and the attachment-side coupling interface is implemented as a recess.[0034] For detaching the detent connection, and thus for removing the attachment device from the laser distance measuring device, the at least one positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element, in particular the detent tab or the detent hook, can be actuated by hand. The positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element can thereby be attached on the coupling interface in such a way that it can be manually actuated directly from the outside or indirectly via an unlocking element, for example an unlocking button in the form of a pushbutton, a slide or the like, by the operator of the laser distance measuring device. In the case of a spring-loaded detent connection, the operator of the manual machine tool must apply force against the spring force of the spring-loaded positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element in order to disengage the positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element with the corresponding means on the device housing (or vice versa) of the laser distance measuring device).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 3.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the housing comprises an intermediate frame, and the coupling assembly is disposed on the intermediate frame ([0114] The handheld laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a device housing 102, a touch-sensitive screen as an input and output device 104, as well as an actuating element 106 for switching the laser distance measuring device 100 on and off and for starting and/or terminating a measurement operation. [0117] A determined distance-measurement value—and/or data information provided by an arranged attachment device 200, for example, a measurement value—can be further processed by the control device of the laser distance measuring device 100 and/or be output to an operator of the laser distance measuring device 100 by means of the output device 104. [0118] Furthermore, in FIG. 1, a multitude of different attachment devices 200 for arrangement on a handheld laser distance measuring device 100 are shown. In the following, the different embodiments of attachment devices 200—if necessary for differentiation—are marked with the reference indexes “a” to “m”. Each of the attachment devices 200 (correspondingly thus 200a-200m) comprises an attachment housing 202 (correspondingly 202a-202m), which at least substantially encloses, surrounds and/or holds the essential functional components of the respective attachment device 200—for example electronic and/or optical components. The attachment housing 202 herein represents an essential component part of the attachment device 200).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 4.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, further comprising a laser distance measuring device integrated in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, the laser distance measuring device being located on the short edge side of the intermediate frame, and the intermediate frame being provided with a transmitting channel and a receiving channel for a light source of the laser distance measuring device to pass through at corresponding positions ([0114] The handheld laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a device housing 102, a touch-sensitive screen as an input and output device 104, as well as an actuating element 106 for switching the laser distance measuring device 100 on and off and for starting and/or terminating a measurement operation. The handheld laser distance measuring device 100 weighs less than 300 g in the embodiment shown, wherein the longest side of the device housing 102 measures less than 15 cm.[0115] For the measurement of the spacing of the laser distance measuring device 100 to a target object (not shown in more detail here), during the operation of the laser distance measuring device 100, parallel laser radiation 108 is sent in the direction of the target object via transmitting optics 110 (see FIG. 8c or 8d for example), which, for example, consists of a lens system (not shown in more detail). The laser radiation reflected from a surface of the target object (not shown in more detail here) is directed via receiving optics 112 to a detector device (not shown in more detail here) and detected there. A light-travel time can be determined from a phase comparison carried out between the emitted laser radiation 108 and the laser radiation reflected by the surface of the remote object and the sought-after distance can be determined between the laser distance measuring device 100 and the target object in the corresponding distance measurement direction 114 (direction of the emission of the laser radiation 108) via the light speed. The laser radiation 108 is implemented in this exemplary embodiment as red laser light. The emitted laser radiation 108 generates, on the target object, a projected laser point. [0116] The laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a laser diode within the device housing 102 for generating the laser radiation 108, a detector device, a control device and an energy supply device (each not shown in more detail). The energy supply device (not shown here in more detail) is used for the energy supply of the laser distance measuring device 100—as well as an attachment device 200 also arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100—wherein the energy supply device comprises a battery or an accumulator, preferably a lithium-ion accumulator, in an exemplary embodiment. In this exemplary embodiment, the detector device comprises at least one single-photon-avalanche diode (SPAD), preferably a SPAD array. The control device is intended to determine a light-travel time from a phase comparison carried out between the emitted laser radiation and the laser radiation returning from the surface of the target object and to determine the sought-after distance between the laser distance measuring device 100 and the target device via the light speed. Furthermore, the control device is intended to enable the operation of the laser distance measuring device 100, in particular, to control and/or to regulate the used components of the laser distance measuring device 100. [0117] A determined distance-measurement value—and/or data information provided by an arranged attachment device 200, for example, a measurement value—can be further processed by the control device of the laser distance measuring device 100 and/or be output to an operator of the laser distance measuring device 100 by means of the output device 104).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 5.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) further teaches, comprising a laser projection device integrated in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, the laser projection device and the laser distance measuring device being arranged side by side in the width direction of the intermediate frame or in the thickness direction of the intermediate frame, and the intermediate frame being provided with a marking channel for a light source of the laser projection device to pass through at a corresponding position ([0118] Furthermore, in FIG. 1, a multitude of different attachment devices 200 for arrangement on a handheld laser distance measuring device 100 are shown. In the following, the different embodiments of attachment devices 200—if necessary for differentiation— are marked with the reference indexes “a” to “m”. Each of the attachment devices 200 (correspondingly thus 200a-200m) comprises an attachment housing 202 (correspondingly 202a-202m), which at least substantially encloses, surrounds and/or holds the essential functional components of the respective attachment device 200—for example electronic and/or optical components. The attachment housing 202 herein represents an essential component part of the attachment device 200. [0120] The attachment devices 200 shown in FIG. 1, which can be used with the laser distance measuring device 100, comprise the following additional functionality in this exemplary embodiment: the attachment device 200a is set up to provide a distance-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100. The attachment device 200b is set up to provide a measuring-tape functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100. The attachment device 200c is set up to provide a level functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100. The attachment device 200d is set up to deflect the emitted laser beam 108 of the laser distance measuring device 100 in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100 using at least one optical element, in particular using a cylinder lens, in such a way that a laser line that can be projected on a remote object results (an emitted subject is indicated with dashes). The attachment device 200e is set up to deflect the emitted laser beam 108 of the laser distance measuring device 100 in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100 using at least two cylinder lenses in such a way that two laser lines that can be projected on a remote object and that intersect with one another at an angle of 90° result (two emitted subjects are indicated with dashes). The attachment device 200f is set up to deflect the emitted laser beam 108 in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100 using a mirror (not shown in more detail). The attachment device 200f is provided to deflect the laser beam 108 using a reflecting conical mirror in such a way that a laser line that can be projected on a remote object results, in particular a laser line that can be projected on a remote object across an angular range of 360° results (an subject emitted over the angular range of 360° is indicated with dashes). The attachment device 200g is set up to provide a temperature-measuring functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100. The attachment device 200h is set up to provide an air-pressure-measurement functionality as well as an air-humidity-measurement functionality, as well as an air-temperature-measurement functionality, as well as a carbon-dioxide-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100. The attachment device 200i comprises a communication interface for wireless communication with an external data device, wherein the communication interface is set up to transmit information to an external data device or from an external data device. In the exemplary embodiment of the attachment device 200i shown, the communication interface is implemented as a WLAN interface. The attachment device 200j is set up to provide a moisture-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100. The attachment device 200k comprises a light source in the form of a plurality of LEDs 204, so that the laser distance measuring device 100 can thereby be used as a flashlight. The attachment device 200l is set up to provide an air-pressure-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100, in particular, for measuring a tire air pressure. The attachment device 200m is set up to provide a profile-depth-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100.
Regarding dependent claim 7, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 5.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) further teaches, a lighting device integrated in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, the lighting device and the laser distance measuring device being disposed on the same side of the intermediate frame, and the intermediate frame being provided with a lighting channel for a light source of the lighting device to pass through at a corresponding position ([0007] The emitter device of the laser distance measuring device for emitting laser radiation has at least one light source, preferably in the form of a laser, a semiconductor laser or a laser diode, which, in particular, emits temporally modulated light, preferably laser radiation, in the direction of a remote object. In one embodiment, the laser radiation can be within a spectral wavelength range that is visible to the human eye, meaning, in particular, between 380 nm to 780 nm. Favorably, an operator of the laser distance measuring device can detect the laser radiation emitted by the laser distance measuring device without the aid of optical aids and, in particular, can perceive its projection onto the remote object as a projected laser marking. [0085] In one embodiment of the attachment device, the attachment device comprises a light source, in particular an LED. Favorably, the laser distance measuring device can thereby be used as an LED lamp or as a flashlight using the attachment device.[0120] The attachment device 200k comprises a light source in the form of a plurality of LEDs 204, so that the laser distance measuring device 100 can thereby be used as a flashlight. The attachment device 200l is set up to provide an air-pressure-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100, in particular, for measuring a tire air pressure. The attachment device 200m is set up to provide a profile-depth-measurement functionality in a state arranged on the laser distance measuring device 100).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 5.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the coupling assembly comprises a second coupling assembly, the functional device is constructed to be movably switched between a first position, a second position and a third position under the action of the second coupling assembly, and when the functional device is located at the first position, the functional device is integrally placed inside the housing (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]- [0135]); when the functional device is located at the second position, the functional device is integrally placed outside the housing (figure 5, paragraph [0135]); when the functional device is located at the third position, the functional device is placed inversely in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, and at least a part of the functional device extends out of the housing (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]- [0135]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 10.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the functional device comprises a first end side and a second end side, the first end side is provided with a conductive terminal (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]), the second end side is provided with an elastic conductive member protruding out of the second end side, the first end side is arranged opposite to the second end side and the conductive terminal is electrically connected to the elastic conductive member (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]); when the functional device is located at the first position, the conductive terminal on the first end side is located on the outer side of the housing (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]); when the functional device is located at the third position, the elastic conductive member on the second end side is located on the outer side of the housing. (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135])
Regarding dependent claim 12, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 10.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the second coupling assembly comprises: a support, the support being disposed on the housing, the support defining a hidden groove (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]), wherein the functional device is disposed in the hidden groove at the first position and the third position; and a control mechanism, the control mechanism being connected to the functional device to lock the functional device in the hidden groove at the first position and the third position, and to unlock the functional device at the second position (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 12.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the second coupling assembly further comprises a coupling interface formed in the control circuit board, and the coupling interface is connected to the conductive terminal when the functional device is located at the third position (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 12.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, wherein the support has a second through hole, the functional device has a first clamping groove and a second clamping groove capable of being opposite to the position of the second through hole, the first clamping groove and the second clamping groove are oppositely disposed on two opposite sides of the functional device (Figures 1, 5, paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]), and the control mechanism comprises: a lever, the lever being hinged to the support, one end of the lever forming a key portion and the other end of the lever forming a clamping block corresponding to the second through hole in position and shape (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]); and an elastic member, the elastic member being disposed between a push-button switch and a bracket so as to move the lever between a locked position for locking the functional device and an unlocked position for unlocking the functional device, wherein the elastic conductive member forms a telescopic conductive post (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]); when the lever is located at the locked position, the lever enables the clamping block to pass through the second through hole under the action of the elastic member to normally stop against the first clamping groove or the second clamping groove; when the lever is located at the unlocked position, the functional device is pushed out of the hidden groove under the action of the telescopic conductive post (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 1.
Thiemt et al (US 2020/0011993 A1) further teaches, wherein the functional device is at least one of an ambient temperature detection device, an ambient humidity detection device, a tape measure device, a lighting device, a thermal imaging device, a laser distance measuring device, a laser marking device, an endoscope device, a thickness measuring device, a moisture content detection device, a gas detection device, a roller distance measuring device or a brake fluid water content detection device (figure 1, paragraphs [0091], [0092] [0120]).
Regarding independent claim 17, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) teaches, A multifunctional metal detector, comprising a housing and a control circuit board and a wall detection circuit mounted in the housing (figure 1, paragraph [0120]), comprising: at least one first coupling assembly capable of being connected to the control circuit board, the first coupling assembly being constructed for detachably coupling and connecting at least one functional device to the control circuit board; and at least one second coupling assembly capable of being connected to the control circuit board, the second coupling assembly being disposed in the housing, at least another functional device being constructed to be movably switched between a first position (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]- [0135]), a second position and a third position under the action of the second coupling assembly, and when the functional device is located at the first position, the functional device being integrally placed inside the housing (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]- [0135]); when the functional device is located at the second position, the functional device being integrally placed outside the housing (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]- [0135]); when the functional device is located at the third position, the
functional device being placed reversely in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, and at least a part of the functional device extending out of the housing (figure 5, paragraphs [0132]- [0135]), wherein the functional device is used for providing other functions different from metal detection ([0113] FIG. 1 shows a system 10 according to the invention consisting of a handheld laser distance measuring device 100 for contactless distance measurement between the laser distance measuring device 100 and a remote object (not shown in more detail) and a plurality of attachment devices 200 in a schematic perspective illustration as an example. [0114] The handheld laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a device housing 102, a touch-sensitive screen as an input and output device 104, as well as an actuating element 106 for switching the laser distance measuring device 100 on and off and for starting and/or terminating a measurement operation. [0116] The laser distance measuring device 100 comprises a laser diode within the device housing 102 for generating the laser radiation 108, a detector device, a control device and an energy supply device (each not shown in more detail). [0117] A determined distance-measurement value—and/or data information provided by an arranged attachment device 200, for example, a measurement value—can be further processed by the control device of the laser distance measuring device 100 and/or be output to an operator of the laser distance measuring device 100 by means of the output device 104. [0118] Furthermore, in FIG. 1, a multitude of different attachment devices 200 for arrangement on a handheld laser distance measuring device 100 are shown. In the following, the different embodiments of attachment devices 200—if necessary for differentiation—are marked with the reference indexes “a” to “m”. Each of the attachment devices 200 (correspondingly thus 200a-200m) comprises an attachment housing 202 (correspondingly 202a-202m), which at least substantially encloses, surrounds and/or holds the essential functional components of the respective attachment device 200—for example electronic and/or optical components. The attachment housing 202 herein represents an essential component part of the attachment device 200.[0119] Each of the attachment devices 200 is set up for the reversible arrangement at least on the laser distance measuring device 100, wherein at least one additional functionality can be provided by means of the arrangement of the respective attachment device 200 on the laser distance measuring device 100. Thereby, the additional functionality can, in particular, provide an alternative or an additional functionality of the laser distance measuring device 100, which is not available without an attachment device 200).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 17.
Thiemt et al further teaches, wherein the first coupling assembly comprises: an insert portion, the insert portion being disposed on one of the multifunctional metal detector and the functional device (paragraphs [0027] –[0029] [0033], [0034]); and an accommodating portion, the accommodating portion being disposed on the other one of the multifunctional metal detector, being connected to the control circuit board and being capable of accommodating the insert portion (paragraphs [0027] –[0029] [0033], [0034]); when the insert portion is accommodated by the accommodating portion, the insert portion and the accommodating portion being limited to each other and electrically connected so that the functional device is connected to the control circuit board ([0027] In one embodiment of the handheld laser distance measuring device, the device-side coupling interface is set up to form an undercut when arranging the attachment device with an attachment-side coupling interface. Accordingly, the attachment-side coupling interface is also set up to form an undercut, in particular the same one when arranging the attachment device with the device-side coupling interface.[0028] In one embodiment of the handheld laser distance measuring device, the device-side coupling interface is implemented as a positive-locking connection element of a bayonet connection, in particular as a recess of a bayonet connection. Accordingly, the attachment-side coupling interface in a corresponding embodiment of the attachment device is implemented as a positive-locking connection element, preferably complementary to the positive-locking connection element of the device-side coupling interface, of a bayonet connection in particular as a bolt or pin of a bayonet connection. [0029] In this way, the attachment device can be attached and locked to the laser distance measuring device in a particularly easy and reliable manner via a bayonet connection. In one embodiment, the bayonet connection can be locked by a blocking element. In an exemplary embodiment, the device-side coupling interface can comprise a flange ring, wherein the flange ring is connected to the device housing in a rotationally rigid manner (or as an alternative to the attachment housing), while the corresponding (complementary) attachment-side coupling interface (or correspondingly the device-side coupling interface) comprises an attachment ring, which is engaged by a rotary and axial relative movement of the attachment ring with relation to the flange ring when arranging the attachment device in such a way that the attachment ring and the flange ring together form an undercut. [0033] It should be noted at this point that the descriptions of an embodiment where the device-side coupling interface is implemented as a recess and the attachment-side coupling interface is implemented as a detent hook, can also be naturally carried over to a symmetrically designed embodiment where the device-side coupling interface is implemented as a detent hook and the attachment-side coupling interface is implemented as a recess. [0034] For detaching the detent connection, and thus for removing the attachment device from the laser distance measuring device, the at least one positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element, in particular the detent tab or the detent hook, can be actuated by hand. The positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element can thereby be attached on the coupling interface in such a way that it can be manually actuated directly from the outside or indirectly via an unlocking element, for example an unlocking button in the form of a pushbutton, a slide or the like, by the operator of the laser distance measuring device. In the case of a spring-loaded detent connection, the operator of the manual machine tool must apply force against the spring force of the spring-loaded positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element in order to disengage the positive-locking and non-positive-locking connection element with the corresponding means on the device housing (or vice versa) of the laser distance measuring device. Also see figure 5, paragraphs [0132]-[0135]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) teaches the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 17.
Thiemt further teaches, wherein the second coupling assembly comprises: a support, the support being disposed on the housing, the support defining a hidden groove, wherein the functional device is disposed in the hidden groove at the first position and the third position (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]); and a control mechanism, the control mechanism being connected to the functional device to lock the functional device in the hidden groove at the first position and the third position, and to unlock the functional device at the second position (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) teaches the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 19.
Thiemt further teaches, wherein the support has a second through hole, the functional device has a first clamping groove and a second clamping groove capable of being opposite to the position of the second through hole, the first clamping groove and the second clamping groove are oppositely disposed on two opposite sides of the functional device (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]), and the control mechanism comprises: a lever, the lever being hinged to the support, one end of the lever forming a key portion and the other end of the lever forming a clamping block corresponding to the second through hole in position and shape; and an elastic member, the elastic member being disposed between a push-button switch and a bracket so as to move the lever between a locked position for locking the functional device and an unlocked position for unlocking the functional device (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]); when the lever is located at the locked position, the lever enables the clamping block to pass through the second through hole under the action of the elastic member to normally stop against the first clamping groove or the second clamping groove; when the lever is located at the unlocked position, the functional device is pushed out of the hidden groove under the action of the telescopic conductive post (Figures 1, 5 paragraphs [0056], [0061], [0132]-[0135]).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claims 8 and 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) and in view of Li (US 20190234723 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 5.
Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) is silent about further comprising a test pencil integrated in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, the intermediate frame being provided with a first through hole at the side corresponding to the test pencil, and the test pencil being slidably disposed in the housing between an extension position for extending out of the first through hole and a hidden position for retracting into the first through hole.
Li (US 20190234723 A1) teaches, a test pencil integrated in the housing and connected to the control circuit board, the intermediate frame being provided with a first through hole at the side corresponding to the test pencil, and the test pencil being slidably disposed in the housing between an extension position for extending out of the first through hole and a hidden position for retracting into the first through hole ([0080] Also, the tapeline structure 3 may be any tapeline in the prior art. The tapeline structure 3, in operation, uses the tapeline end portion 36 to pull the tape 32 out of the housing 1, for implementing the measurement. After the measurement, the lock key 35 needs to be pressed, and the press block 34 therein presses against the tape 32, such that the length of the tape 32 out of the casing 1 keeps constant, and thereby the length reading on the tape 32 is read. In the present embodiment, the lock key 35 is one key arranged at the bottom face 16 of the housing 1. After pressed for the first time, the press block 34 presses against the tape 32; after the length value is read, and the press block is pressed again, the press block 34 releases the tape 32, and after the length reading is read, the tape 32 is retracted into the housing 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Thiemt by providing retractable probe with a lock key as taught by Li.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the so that the probe can be extended or retracted as taught by Li (paragraph [0080]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) and Li (US 20190234723 A1) teach, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 8.
Thiemt is silent about, wherein the test pencil is provided with a toggle switch, and at least a part of the toggle switch projects out of the surface of the housing so that the test pencil extends or retracts into the housing under the action of the toggle switch.
Li (US 20190234723 A1) teaches, wherein the test pencil is provided with a toggle switch, and at least a part of the toggle switch projects out of the surface of the housing so that the test pencil extends or retracts into the housing under the action of the toggle switch ([0080] Also, the tapeline structure 3 may be any tapeline in the prior art. The tapeline structure 3, in operation, uses the tapeline end portion 36 to pull the tape 32 out of the housing 1, for implementing the measurement. After the measurement, the lock key 35 needs to be pressed, and the press block 34 therein presses against the tape 32, such that the length of the tape 32 out of the casing 1 keeps constant, and thereby the length reading on the tape 32 is read. In the present embodiment, the lock key 35 is one key arranged at the bottom face 16 of the housing 1. After pressed for the first time, the press block 34 presses against the tape 32; after the length value is read, and the press block is pressed again, the press block 34 releases the tape 32, and after the length reading is read, the tape 32 is retracted into the housing 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Thiemt by providing retractable probe with a lock key as taught by Li.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the so that the probe can be extended or retracted as taught by Li (paragraph [0080]).
6. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) and in view of Li (US 20190234723 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) teaches, the multifunctional metal detector according to claim 1.
Thiemt et al (US 20200011993 A1) is silent about wherein the wall detection circuit comprises: at least one transmitting coil; and at least one receiving coil system, the receiving coil system being inductively coupled to the transmitting coil, the receiving coil system comprising at least one first receiving coil and at least one second receiving coil located in the same plane of the control circuit board, wherein the transmitting coil forms a projection in the plane, the first receiving coil contains the projection in a region formed by the plane, the second receiving coil is arranged in an open shape in the region formed by the plane around the projection, and the first receiving coil and the second receiving coil are wound and arranged in the same direction and electrically connected to each other.
JIANG; HONGZHOU (US 20180172870 A1) teaches, wherein the wall detection circuit comprises: at least one transmitting coil; and at least one receiving coil system, the receiving coil system being inductively coupled to the transmitting coil (figures 2-6, paragraphs [0052]-[0056]), the receiving coil system comprising at least one first receiving coil and at least one second receiving coil located in the same plane of the control circuit board, wherein the transmitting coil forms a projection in the plane (figures 2-6, paragraphs [0052]-[0056]), the first receiving coil contains the projection in a region formed by the plane (figures 2-6, paragraphs [0052]-[0056]), the second receiving coil is arranged in an open shape in the region formed by the plane around the projection (figures 2-6, paragraphs [0052]-[0056]), and the first receiving coil and the second receiving coil are wound and arranged in the same direction and electrically connected to each other (A metal sensor, a method for analyzing a measurement signal of the sensor, and a method for detecting an object surrounded by a medium via the sensor. The metal sensor has at least one transmission coil and at least one receiving coil system inductively coupled to each other, wherein the receiving coil system comprises at least one first receiving coil and at least one second receiving coil located in a same plane; the transmission coil forms a projection on the plane; an area formed by the first receiving coil on the plane contains the projection; and an area formed by the second receiving coil on the plane is arranged around
the projection. The receiving coils are arranged to have a same winding direction, produce induction with a second magnetic field generated by a target metal object, and generate induced voltages superimposed on one another other on the receiving coils (abstract). [0052] As an embodiment of the present invention, as shown in FIG. 2, a greatly simplified principle diagram shows a first embodiment of a sensor geometrical structure of a sensor for locating a metal object in the present invention. A metal sensor has a transmission coil 100 and a receiving coil system 200 inductively coupled to each other. In this embodiment, one transmission coil 100 and one receiving coil system 200 are used as an example for description. However, the sensor in the present invention is not limited thereto. The receiving coil system 200 in the present invention includes one first receiving coil 201 and one second receiving coil 202 located in a same plane. The transmission coil 100 forms a projection on the plane. An area formed by the first receiving coil 201 on the plane completely contains the projection, or may also partially contain the projection. One area is formed by the second receiving coil 202 on the plane, and the area surrounds the projection with an opening. The first receiving coil 201 is electrically connected to the second receiving coil 202. Similarly, the receiving coil system 200 is not limited to including one first receiving coil 201 and one second receiving coil 202 located in a same plane, and may include two or more first and second receiving coils. Also see figures 2-5, paragraphs [0053]-[0056]. [0085] The sensor of the present invention can be advantageously integrated with a measurement device. Here, such a measurement device may be especially constructed as a handheld metal locating device, or include a metal locating capability of the sensor of the present invention as an additional function. Additionally and advantageously, the sensor of the present invention may be integrated with a machine tool, for example, integrated with a drilling tool, enabling safe operation of the machine by a user).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Thiemt by providing a coil arrangement for metal detection as taught by Jiang.
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the dual coils sensing metal detector can be integrated in to a handheld measurement device as taught by Jiang (paragraph [0085]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 6/1/2026