DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, covered by claim 1-10, in the reply filed on February 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-10 are ready for examination, with claim 11-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0359247, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches in Fig. 1A (shown below) and related text a display device comprising:
a first lower electrode (60, Fig. 1A and ¶[0039]);
a rib (20, Fig. 1A and ¶[0037]) including a first pixel aperture (A, Fig. 1A and ¶[0037]) overlapping with the first lower electrode (Fig. 1A);
a partition (30b, 40B, Fig. 1A and ¶¶[0037]-[0040]) arranged on the rib (20, Fig. 1A);
a first upper electrode (50, Fig. 1A and ¶[0037]) opposed to the first lower electrode (60, Fig. 1A); and
a first organic layer (70, Fig. 1A and ¶[0039]) which is located between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (Fig. 1A), which is in contact with the first lower electrode through the first pixel aperture, and which emits light in accordance with a potential difference between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (¶¶[0039]-[0043]), wherein
the partition (30b, 40b, Fig. 1A) includes a lower portion having a first side surface and an upper portion protruding from the first side surface (i.e. portion of 40b, protruding sideways, Fig. 1A), and
the first organic layer (70, Fig. 1A) is in contact with the first side surface (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 5 (1), Wang further teaches
a second lower electrode (e.g. 60 on the right side of Fig. 1A) overlapping with a second pixel aperture of the rib (20, Fig. 1A), a second upper electrode (e.g. 50 on the right side of Fig. 1A) opposed to the second lower electrode (60, Fig. 1A), and a second organic layer (e.g. 70 on the right side of Fig. 1A) which is located between the second lower electrode and the second upper electrode, which is in contact with the second lower electrode through the second pixel aperture, and which emits light in accordance with a potential difference between the second lower electrode and the second upper electrode (¶[0039]), wherein the lower portion has a second side surface, and the second organic layer is in contact with the second side surface (Fig. 1A).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US CN 113471384, hereinafter “Yuan”, relying on the provided English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches in Fig. 12 (shown below) and related text a display device comprising:
a first lower electrode (111, Fig. and ¶[0076]);
a rib (160, Fig. 12 and ¶[0081]) including a first pixel aperture (Fig. 12) overlapping with the first lower electrode (Fig. 12);
a partition (130, Fig. 12 and ¶[0082]) arranged on the rib (Fig. 12);
a first upper electrode (120, Fig. 12 and ¶[0076]) opposed to the first lower electrode (Fig. 12); and
a first organic layer (EL, Fig. 12 and ¶[0078]) which is located between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (Fig. 12), which is in contact with the first lower electrode through the first pixel aperture, and which emits light in accordance with a potential difference between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (¶[0078]), wherein
the partition (130, Fig. 12) includes a lower portion (132, Fig. 12) having a first side surface and an upper portion (131, Fig. 12) protruding from the first side surface (Fig. 12), and
the first organic layer (EL, Fig. 12) is in contact with the first side surface (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2 (1), Yuan teaches wherein the lower portion (132, Fig. 12) is conductive (¶[0094]), and
the first upper electrode (120, Fig. 12) is in contact with the first side surface (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 3 (1), Yuan further teaches:
a first sealing layer (140, Fig. 12 and ¶[0080]) continuously covering the partition and a first display element which includes the first lower electrode, the first upper electrode, and the first organic layer (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5 (1), Yuan further teaches
a second lower electrode (e.g. 111 on the right side of Fig. 12) overlapping with a second pixel aperture of the rib (160, Fig. 12), a second upper electrode (e.g. 120 on the right side of 12) opposed to the second lower electrode (111, Fig. 12), and a second organic layer (e.g. EL on the right side of Fig. 12) which is located between the second lower electrode and the second upper electrode, which is in contact with the second lower electrode through the second pixel aperture (Fig. 12), and which emits light in accordance with a potential difference between the second lower electrode and the second upper electrode (¶[0078]), wherein the lower portion has a second side surface, and the second organic layer is in contact with the second side surface (Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang or Yuan, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0102463, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 9 (5), teaching of Wang or Yuan, was discussed above in the rejection of claim 5. While neither Wang or Yuan teach that an area of the first pixel aperture is larger than an area of the second pixel aperture, changing the aperture of one pixel relative to another such that an area of the first pixel aperture is larger than an area of the second pixel aperture, would have been within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Park. Specifically, Park teaches in Fig. 1-5 that different pixels can have different aperture sizes, including wherein the area of the first pixel aperture (e.g. pixel B, Fig. 4) is larger than an area of the second pixel aperture (e.g. pixel R, Fig. 4) in order to meet specific design requirements for the device.
Accordingly, since the prior art teaches all of the claim element, using such elements would lead to predictable results and, as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first pixel aperture, disclosed by Wang or Yuan, so that its area is larger than the area of the second pixel aperture, as disclosed by Park in order to meet specific design requirements for the device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang or Yuan as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0237527, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 10 (5), teaching of Wang or Yuan was discussed above in the rejection of claim 5. While neither Wang or Yuan teach that a thickness of the first organic layer is smaller than a thickness of the second organic layer, changing thickness of the organic layers so that a thinness of the first layer is smaller than a thickness of the second organic layer would have been within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Lee. Specifically, Lee teaches that the organic layers for different pixels may have different thicknesses from one another depending on the type of light to be emitted from the organic layer (¶¶[0076] and [0091]-[0092]).
Accordingly, since the prior art teaches all of the claim element, using such elements would lead to predictable results and, as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first organic layer disclosed by Wang or Yuan, to a thickness that is smaller than a thickness of the second organic layer, as doing so would amount to nothing more than selecting organic layer thickness in order to emit desired light.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-7 and 8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach, disclose, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding a display device, particularly characterized by a first organic layer that includes a first layer including a hole-injection layer and a second layer covering the first layer, wherein the first layer is not in contact with the first side surface of a partition and the second layer is in contact with the first side surface of the partition, in combination with all other elements of the display device recited in the claim(s).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach, disclose, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding a display device, particularly characterized by an area where a first organic layer is in contact with a first side surface of a partition (e.g. A2a, Fig. 5) having a height that is different from a height of an area where a second organic layer is in contact with the second side surface of the partition (e.g. A1a, Fig. 5) in combination with all other elements of the display device recited in the claim(s). Claim(s) 7, which directly depends from claim(s) 6, and which include all of the limitations recited in claim(s) 6, is/are allowed for the similar reasons.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach, disclose, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding a display device, particularly characterized by a width in a height direction of a partition, of an area where a first upper electrode is in contact with the first side surface of the partition (e.g. A1b, Fig. 5) being smaller than a width in the height direction, of an area where a second upper electrode is in contact with the second side surface of the partition (e.g. A2b, Fig. 5 and ¶[0071]), in combination with all other elements of the display device recited in the claim(s).
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art is relevant to the invention but not relied upon in any of the rejections:
Lee et al. (US 2024/0049508) teaches in Fig. 3A and related text a display device a first lower electrode (310, Fig. 3A), a rib (115, Fig. 3A) including a first pixel aperture overlapping with the first lower electrode (Fig. 3A), a partition (400, Fig. 3A) arranged on the rib (Fig. 3A), a first upper electrode (330R1, Fig. 3A) opposed to the first lower electrode (Fig. 3A), and a first organic layer (320R1, Fig. 3A) which is located between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (Fig. 3A), which is in contact with the first lower electrode through the first pixel aperture, and which emits light in accordance with a potential difference between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode, wherein the partition (400, Fig. 3A) includes a lower portion (420, Fig. 3A) having a first side surface and an upper portion (410, Fig. 3A) protruding from the first side surface (Fig. 3A), and the first organic layer is in contact with the first side surface (Fig. 3A).
Shin et al. (US 2024/0081101) teaches in Fig. 7 and related text a display device comprising: a first lower electrode (210, Fig. 7 and ¶[0157]); a rib (400, Fig. 7 and ¶[0160]) including a first pixel aperture (Fig. 7) overlapping with the first lower electrode (Fig. 7); a partition (600, Fig. 7 and ¶[0162]) arranged on the rib (400, Fig. 7); a first upper electrode (230, Fig. 7 and ¶[0164]) opposed to the first lower electrode (210, Fig. 7); and a first organic layer (220, Fig. 7 and ¶[0168]) which is located between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (Fig. 7), which is in contact with the first lower electrode through the first pixel aperture, and which emits light in accordance with a potential difference between the first lower electrode and the first upper electrode (¶¶[0168]-[0171]), wherein the partition (600, Fig. 7) includes a lower portion (610, Fig. 7 and ¶[0162]) having a first side surface and an upper portion (620, Fig. 7 and ¶[0165]) protruding from the first side surface (Fig. 7 and ¶[0165]), and the first organic layer (230, Fig. 7) is in contact with the first side surface (Fig. 7).
Conclusion
/A.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893