DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto (US 20180021804) in view of Min (KR 20160149351; IDS, 01/06/2025).
Hashimoto discloses a coating treatment method and apparatus. Hashimoto discloses a wafer treatment process according to a flowchart illustrating examples of main steps of the wafer treatment according to this embodiment. (Para, 0070; Fig.6). Besides, FIG. 7 is a time chart illustrating the rotation speed of the wafer W and operations of devices in the resist coating performed in the resist coating apparatus 32.
Hashimoto discloses a resist coating treatment in the resist coating apparatus 32 in detail. (Para, 0074). Hashimoto discloses for the coating treatment of the resist, the wafer W is first suction-held on the upper surface of the spin chuck 140. (Para, 0074). Hashimoto discloses a solvent supply nozzle 158 is moved to a position above the center portion of the wafer W, and a solvent Q is supplied onto the wafer W, as illustrated in FIG. 8 (time t0 in FIG. 7). (Para, 0074; Fig.6-7). Hashimoto discloses while the solvent is being supplied onto the wafer W or after the solvent Q is supplied onto the wafer W, the wafer W is rotated at a predetermined rotation speed, whereby a liquid film of the solvent Q is formed on the entire surface of the wafer W. (Para, 0074; Fig. 6-7). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘A substrate treating method comprising: supplying a first liquid to a rotating substrate to treat a substrate…’ (Para, 0074; Fig. 6-7). Hashimoto disclose in this embodiment, the solvent Q is supplied for 2 seconds from the solvent supply nozzle 158 at a flow rate of 50 to 90 mL/min while the wafer W is being rotated, for example, at 30 rpm (time t1 in FIG. 7), and then the rotation speed of the wafer W is accelerated up to 2000 rpm, for example, at an acceleration of 10000 rpm/sec to diffuse the solvent Q over the entire surface of the wafer W. (Para, 0074; Fig. 6-7). Hashimoto discloses this forms a liquid film (first liquid film) with a film thickness of approximately more than 0 mm and less than 2 mm, approximately 4×10−5 mm in this embodiment, on the entire surface of the wafer W. (Para, 0074; Fig.6-7). Hashimoto explains the film thickness of the first liquid film is adjusted, for example, by changing the time for keeping the rotation speed at 2000 rpm, and the rotation speed is kept at 2000 rpm, for example, for 2 seconds in this embodiment. (Para, 0074). Hashimoto also discloses the pre-wetting solvent Q can be a cyclohexanone (Para, 0104-0105). These disclosures and illustrations teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: hydrophilizing a substrate by supplying a thinner to a rotating substrate…’
Hashimoto discloses next the solvent supply nozzle 158 is moved, for example, to a position above the outer peripheral portion of the wafer W, and the solvent Q is supplied onto the liquid film M1 from the solvent supply nozzle 158 while the wafer W is being rotated, for example, at a rotation speed of higher than 0 rpm and equal to or lower than a later-described first rotation speed, at 60 rpm the same as the first rotation speed in this embodiment (time t2 in FIG. 7). (Para, 0076; Fig.6-7, 10). Hashimoto discloses this forms the first liquid film 1 of the solvent Q at the middle portion of the wafer W and forms a ring-shaped second liquid film M2 having a film thickness larger than that of the first liquid film M1 at the outer peripheral portion of the wafer W. (Para, 0075; Fig. 6-7, 11). Hashimoto explains the outer peripheral portion of the wafer W means a position separated from the center of the wafer W by about 30 mm to 100 mm in a radial direction, for example, when the diameter of the wafer W is 300 mm. These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 2.
Hashimoto discloses next, the resist solution supply nozzle 154 is moved to a position above the center portion of the wafer W and the resist solution R is supplied from the resist solution supply nozzle 154 onto the wafer W (coating solution supply step, Step T2 in FIG. 6 and time t3 in FIG. 7). (Para, 0077; Fig. 6-7). Hashimoto discloses the rotation speed of the wafer W is the first rotation to speed, and 60 rpm as described above in this embodiment. (Para, 0077). Hashimoto discloses the supply of the resist solution R from the resist solution supply nozzle 154 is continued, and at the point in time when the supply amount of the resist solution R reaches, for example, 0.1 mL, the rotation speed of the wafer W is accelerated from the first rotation speed to the second rotation speed (time t4 in FIG. 7). (Para, 0078). Hashimoto discloses the second rotation speed is preferably 1500 rpm to 4000 rpm and is, for example, 2500 rpm in this embodiment. (Para, 0078). These disclosures and illustrations teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …supplying a second liquid which is different from the first liquid to the rotating substrate to coat the substrate with the second liquid…’ and the limitation of claim 11. Moreover, these disclosures and illustrations teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …coating the substrate with a photoresist liquid by supplying the photoresist liquid to the rotating substrate…’
Hashimoto discloses the acceleration of the wafer W at this time is about 10000 rpm/sec and the rotation speed of the wafer W reached the second rotation speed is kept at the second rotation speed for a predetermined time, for example, about 1 second in this embodiment (times t5 to t6 in FIG. 7). (Para, 0078). Hashimoto discloses during this time, the supply of the resist solution R from the resist solution supply nozzle 154 is also continued. (Para, 0078). Hashimoto explains accelerating the wafer W to the second rotation speed as described above diffuses the resist solution R supplied to the center portion of the wafer W toward the outer peripheral portion of the wafer W (coating solution diffusion step, Step T3 in FIG. 6). (Para, 0078). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …and post-treating the substrate, and wherein the post-treating the substrate includes: diffusing the photoresist liquid supplied onto the substrate by rotating the substrate; adjusting a thickness of the photoresist liquid supplied to the substrate by rotating the substrate…’
Hashimoto discloses, when the resist solution R comes into contact with an inner peripheral end portion of the ring-shaped second liquid film M2 , the second liquid film M2 functions as a kind of wall with respect to the resist solution R and can suppress the diffusion of the resist solution R. (Para, 0079; Fig.12). Hashimoto discloses this can minimize the resist solution R shaken off from the outer peripheral portion of the wafer W, and prevent decrease in film thickness of the resist film at the outer peripheral portion of the wafer W and occurrence of streak-shaped coating mottles. (Para, 0079). Hashimoto explains, as a result, the resist solution R can be diffused uniformly within the wafer W to form a resist film uniformly within a plane. (Para, 0079). These disclosures teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …and removing a photoresist liquid remaining on an edge region of the substrate by supplying the thinner on the rotating substrate; and removing the thinner from the substrate by rotating the substrate…’
Hashimoto discloses after the wafer W is rotated for the predetermined time (times t5 to t6 in FIG. 7) at the second rotation speed, the supply of the resist solution R from the resist solution supply nozzle 154 is stopped, and the rotation speed of the wafer W is decelerated down to a third rotation speed that is lower than the second rotation speed and higher than the first rotation speed concurrently with the stop of supply of the resist solution R. (Para, 0081). Hashimoto discloses the third rotation speed is preferably set to approximately 100 rpm to 800 rpm, for example, 100 rpm in this embodiment. (Para, 0081). Hashimoto discloses, next the wafer W is rotated at the third rotation speed for a predetermined time, for example, about 0.2 seconds, and then accelerated up to a fourth rotation speed that is higher than the third rotation speed and lower than the second rotation speed (time t7 in FIG. 7). (Para, 0082). Hashimoto discloses the fourth rotation speed is preferably set to approximately 1000 rpm to 2000 rpm, for example, 1700 rpm in this embodiment. (Para, 0082). Hashimoto discloses the resist film is dried by rotating the wafer W at the fourth rotation speed for a predetermined time, for example, about 20 seconds (Step T4 in FIG. 6). (Para, 0082). Then Hashimoto discloses a solvent is discharged as a rinse solution from a not-illustrated rinse nozzle to a rear surface of the wafer W to clean the rear surface of the wafer W (Step T5 in FIG. 6). (Para, 0083). These disclosures and illustrations teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: … and removing a photoresist liquid remaining on an edge region of the substrate by supplying the thinner on the rotating substrate; and removing the thinner from the substrate by rotating the substrate…’
Still, the disclosures of Hashimoto fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …wherein a rotation direction of the substrate is different at the supplying the first liquid and the sullying the second liquid…’ Moreover, the disclosures of Hashimoto as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘A substrate treating method comprising: …wherein a rotation direction of the substate is changed at any one of the hydrophilizing the substate or the post-treating the substate.’ However, the disclosures of Hashimoto in view of the disclosures of Min provide such teachings.
Min discloses process steps in a resist pattern forming method aimed at forming a flat photosensitive film on the substrate. Min discloses an embodiment of the invention provides a method comprising a liquid feeding step having the first feeding step of supplying the processing liquid to the method for forming the liquid film using the processing liquid on the substrate on the substrate while it rotates the substrate at the regular direction and the liquid diffusion step of diffusing the processing liquid supplied on the substrate while it rotates the substrate at the backward direction opposite to the regular direction are included. (Pg. 2). The disclosures of Hashimoto in view of these disclosures of Min teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 13, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …wherein a rotation direction of the substate is changed at any one of the hydrophilizing the substate or the post-treating the substate.’
Min discloses the process in greater detail. Min discloses a preprocessing nozzle (842) supplies the pre-processing liquid on the substrate (W) and the main-mozzle (844) supplies the processing liquid on the substrate (W). For example" it can be the liquid in which the pre-processing liquid diversifies the surface of the substrate (W) to the hydrophobicity. (PG. 7). Min also discloses the pre-processing liquid is the thinner and the processing liquid the kinds can be the property of the hydrophobicity the photoresist solution like the photoresist. (Pg. 7). Min discloses the pre-processing nozzle (842) is provided with the pre-processing liquid from the pre-processing liquid supply line. (Pg. 7). Min then discloses the fabrication process and liquid membrane formation process are progressed as the liquid processing method of the substrate (W). (Pg.8). Min discloses if the fabrication process is progressed " the substrate (W) is counterclockwise rotated and the preprocessing nozzle (842) is moved to the process position. (Pg. 8). Min discloses the preprocessing nozzle (842) supplies the pre-processing liquid to the center of the substrate (W) and then the pre-processing liquid is diffused to the whole-area of the substrate (W) and the surface property is diversified. (Pg. 8). Min discloses next the liquid membrane formation process is carried out which comprises the liquid feeding step (A) and the liquid diffusion step (B). (Pg. 8). Min discloses the controller (880) controls the liquid feeding step (A) and the rotation drive member (834,836) the substrate (W) is rotated according to the liquid diffusion step (B) to the regular direction or the backward direction. (Pg. 8). Min explains the regular direction is the clockwise direction and the backward direction counterclockwise. (Pg. 8). Min further explains, the first feeding step (a of the liquid feeding step (A) in this embodiment." A The second feeding step (a substrate (W) is clockwise rotated. (Pg. 9). Min then discloses the substrate (W) is counterclockwise rotated so the processing liquid supplied on the substrate (W) is not turned upon one side and the upper side can be flat maintained. (Pg. 9). Min also discloses a second preferred embodiment of the invention which includes a first feeding step (a" a Second diffusion step (b. the second feeding step (a the substrate (W) is clockwise rotated and during a first diffusion step (b. "b The substrate (W) is counterclockwise rotated. (Pg.9). Min explains that due to this in the liquid diffusion step (B)" it can prevent the processing liquid from being turned with one side two-way. (Pg. 9). The disclosures of Hashimoto in view of these disclosures of Min teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A substrate treating method comprising: …wherein a rotation direction of the substrate is different at the supplying the first liquid and the sullying the second liquid…’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Hashimoto in view of the disclosures of Min because both Hashimoto and Min are directed to analogous methods of photosensitive film formation related to semiconductor device fabrication and Min discloses a photoresist film formation process which improves the flatness of the resist layer formed; therefore, improving the semiconductor device fabrication process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10, 12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The disclosures of Hashimoto in view of Min as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 3, ‘ The substrate treating method of claim 2, wherein the substrate is rotated in a first direction at the firstly supplying the first liquid and the supplying the second liquid, and the substrate is rotated in a second direction which is different from the first direction at the secondly supplying the first liquid.’ The disclosures of Hashimoto in view of Min as discussed above also fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 6, ‘The substrate treating method of claim 1, wherein the supplying the first liquid is performed before and after the supplying the second liquid, and the supplying the first liquid which is performed after the supplying the second liquid is performed by supplying the first liquid on the rotating substate to remove a second liquid which is remaining on an edge region of the substrate.’ Moreover, the disclosures of Hashimoto in view of Min as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 12, ‘ The substrate treating method of claim 1, wherein an air void remaining between patterns formed on the substrate is removed by changing the rotation direction of the substrate.’ In addition, the disclosures of Hashimoto in view of Min as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 14, ‘ The substrate treating method of claim 13, wherein the substrate rotates in a first direction at each of the hydrophilizing the substrate, the coating the substrate, the diffusing the photoresist liquid, and the adjusting the thickness, and the substrate rotates in a second direction which is an opposite direction of the first direction at the removing the photoresist liquid and the removing the thinner.’ Lastly, the disclosures of Hashimoto in view of Min as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 15, ‘ The substrate treating method of claim 13, wherein the hydrophilizing the substrate includes: firstly supplying the thinner to the rotating substrate to form a liquid film on the substrate; firstly forming the liquid film on the substrate by rotating the substrate in a state in which a supply of the thinner is stopped; secondly supplying the thinner to a substate on which the liquid film is formed after the firstly supplying the liquid film; secondly forming the liquid film on the substrate by rotating the substate in a state in which the supply of the thinner is stopped, and wherein the substrate is rotated in a first direction at each of the firstly supplying the thinner, the firstly forming the liquid film, the coating the substrate, the diffusing the photoresist liquid, and the post-treating the substrate, and the substrate is rotated in a second direction which is an opposite direction from the first direction at each of the secondly supplying the thinner and the secondly forming the liquid film.’
The prior art fails to provide other relevant disclosures which are properly combinable with Hashimoto and/or Min to teach and/or suggest the limitations of claims 3, 6, 12 and 14-15. Claims 4-5 depend directly from claim 3 and claims 7-10 depend directly from claim 6. Therefore, claims 3-10, 12 and 14-15 include allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899