Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda (US Patent Application Publication no. 2013/0081939).
Regarding claim 23, Noda teaches an electroplating system (abstract) comprising:
a cathode terminal (30) configured to electrically connect with a workpiece (W; figures 1-2; paragraphs 55-59),
a first anode terminal (40A-1) configured to receive a first plating current of a current density for electroplating at least one first plateable surface of the workpiece (W; paragraphs 40, 59, 66-67, 77), and
a second anode terminal (40B-1) configured to receive a second plating current of the current density for electroplating at least one second plateable surface of the workpiece (W; paragraphs 16, 22, 40, 48-49, 59, 66-67 – the density of current supplied from the split anode to the workpiece can be increased to implement high-speed plating).
It has been held by the courts that apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Functional limitations do not serve to further limit apparatus claims beyond imparting the limitation that the device is capable of performing a claimed function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the system of Noda supplies a first plating current for electroplating a first surface of the workpiece and a second current for electroplating a second surface of the workpiece and thus, it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 25, Noda further discloses wherein the first plating current is based on an area of the at least one first plateable surface on a first side of the workpiece (W); and the second plating current is different than the first plating current and is based on an area of the at least one second plateable surface on a second side of the workpiece (W; figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes. Noda further teaches that the density of current supplied from the split anode to the workpiece can be increased to implement high-speed plating; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Regarding claim 26, Noda teaches wherein the first plating current is used for plating a first portion of the at least one first plateable surface on a first side of the workpiece, and the second plating current is used for plating a first portion of the at least one second plateable surface on a second side of the workpiece (a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59),
the electroplating system further comprising:
a third anode terminal (40A-2) submerged in an electrolytic plating solution (11) and configured to supply a third plating current for electroplating a second portion of the at least one first plateable surface on the first side of the workpiece (W); and a fourth anode terminal (40B-2) submerged in the electrolytic plating solution (11) and configured to supply a fourth plating current for electroplating a second portion of the at least one second plateable surface on the second side of the workpiece (W; a plurality of power supplies 50A-1 to 50A-4 and 50B-1 to 50B-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Regarding claim 27, Noda teaches wherein the third plating current is different than the first plating current; and the fourth plating current is different than the second plating current (a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Regarding claim 28, Noda discloses wherein the third plating current is equal to the first plating current; and the fourth plating current is equal to the second plating current (a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Regarding claim 29, Noda teaches wherein the third plating current is equal to the first plating current; and the fourth plating current is different than the second plating current (a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 11 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda (US Patent Application Publication no. 2013/0081939) in view of Weling (US Patent no. 6,193,860).
Regarding claim 1, Noda discloses an electroplating system (abstract), comprising:
a vessel (10; figures 1-2; paragraph 55),
an electrolytic plating solution (11) in the vessel (paragraph 56),
a cathode terminal configured to electrically connect with a workpiece (W) that is-disposed in the vessel (10) submerged in the electrolytic plating solution (11; paragraph 57),
a first anode terminal (40A-1) in the electrolytic plating solution (11) on a first side of the workpiece (W; figure 2; paragraph 19),
a second anode terminal (40B-1) in the electrolytic plating solution (11) on a second side of the workpiece (W) opposite the first side (paragraph 58),
a first power supply (50A-1) coupled between the cathode terminal and the first anode terminal and configured to provide a current density to the first side (40A; figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 40, 48-49, 59, 66-67), and
a second power supply (50B-1) coupled between the cathode terminal and the second anode terminal and configured to provide a current density to the second side (40B; figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided; paragraph 59).
Noda fails to teach that the power sources are variable power supplies.
Weling discloses a method and apparatus for improved plating uniformity comprising a primary anode (106; figure 2C) and secondary anodes (202, 204) that provide a variable current represented by current flux lines (203, 205) in order to provide a current that compensates for all the variables that alter and distort current from the primary anode. While figure 2C illustrates a specific number, location, and geometric shape of secondary anodes (202 and 204), the invention is well suited to alternative configurations, quantities, and placement of secondary anodes (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use variable power supplies as the power sources of Noda, as taught by Weling, in order to improve plating uniformity using optimized electrical currents that compensate for all the variables that alter and distort current from the primary anode.
Regarding claim 2, the plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Regarding claim 3, the plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Regarding claim 4, the electroplating system of Noda includes an electrolytic plating solution (11) in the vessel (10; figure 2; paragraphs 55, 58), and wherein the first anode terminal (40A) and the second anode terminal (40B) each includes a solid plating material that is soluble in the electrolytic plating solution (11; paragraphs 40, 66-67).
Regarding claim 6, Noda teaches a third anode terminal (40A-2) in the electrolytic plating solution (11) on the first side of the workpiece (W; figure 1); a fourth anode terminal (40B-2) in the electrolytic plating solution (11) on the second side of the workpiece (W); a third variable power supply (50A-2) coupled between the cathode terminal and the third anode terminal (40A-2); and a fourth variable power supply (50B-2) coupled between the cathode terminal and the fourth anode terminal (40B-2).
Regarding claim 7, the plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Regarding claim 8, Noda discloses wherein: the third variable power supply includes a first variable current power supply; and the fourth variable power supply includes a second variable current power supply (figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Regarding claim 10, Noda teaches wherein the first power supply (50A-1) is configured to provide a first plating current that is based on an area of at least one plateable surface on the first side of the workpiece (W); and the second power supply (50B-1) is configured to provide a second plating current that is based on an area of at least one plateable surface on the second side of the workpiece (W; figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59). The plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply in order to improve plating uniformity using optimized electrical currents that compensate for all the variables that alter and distort current from the primary anode (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Regarding claim 11, Noda discloses wherein: the first power supply (50A-1) is configured to provide a first plating current for plating at least one plateable surface on the first side of the workpiece (W); and the second power supply (50B-1) is configured to provide a second plating current for plating at least one plateable surface on the second side of the workpiece (figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59). The plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply in order to improve plating uniformity using optimized electrical currents that compensate for all the variables that alter and distort current from the primary anode (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Regarding claim 19, Noda discloses an electroplating system (abstract), comprising:
a vessel (10; figures 1-2),
a common cathode terminal (30) configured to electrically connect with a workpiece (W) that is disposed in the vessel (10; paragraph 57),
power supplies configured to provide a uniform current density across different sides of the workpiece (paragraphs 40, 66-67, 77), the power supplies comprising:
a first power supply (50A-1) coupled between the common cathode terminal (30) and a first anode terminal (40A-1) on a first side of the workpiece (W; figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59),
a second power supply (50B-1) coupled between the common cathode terminal (30) and a second anode terminal (40B-1) on the first side of the workpiece (W),
a third power supply (50A-2) coupled between the common cathode terminal (30) and a third anode terminal (50A-2) on a second side of the workpiece opposite the first side; and
a fourth power supply (50B-2) coupled between the common cathode terminal and a fourth anode terminal (50B-2) on the second side of the workpiece (W; figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Noda fails to teach that the power sources are variable power supplies.
Weling discloses a method and apparatus for improved plating uniformity comprising a primary anode (106; figure 2C) and secondary anodes (202, 204) that provide a variable current represented by current flux lines (203, 205) in order to provide a current that compensates for all the variables that alter and distort current from the primary anode. While figure 2C illustrates a specific number, location, and geometric shape of secondary anodes (202 and 204), the invention is well suited to alternative configurations, quantities, and placement of secondary anodes (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use variable power supplies as the power sources of Noda, as taught by Weling, in order to improve plating uniformity using optimized electrical currents that compensate for all the variables that alter and distort current from the primary anode.
Regarding claim 20, the plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Regarding claim 21, Noda teaches wherein: the first variable power supply(50A-1) includes a first variable current power supply; the second variable power supply (50B-1) includes a second variable current power supply; the third variable power supply (50A-2) includes a third variable current power supply; and the fourth variable power supply (50B-2) includes a fourth variable current power supply (figure 1 – a plurality of power supplies 50-1 to 50-4 are provided to independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes; paragraphs 16, 22, 48-49, 59).
Regarding claim 22, the plurality of power supplies (214a, 214b) of Weling provide variable current via any feasible means, such as variable volage supply (col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 20).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda and Weling as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Stahl et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2021/0017666)
Regarding claim 5, the modified Noda teaches all the features discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the electrolytic plating solution includes: methane sulfonic acid (MSA); and a liquid plating material.
Stahl discloses an electrochemical deposition system wherein the electrolyte may comprise an acid solution, i.e. methane sulfonic acid (MSA) is commonly utilized (paragraph 62). It is important to note that the electrolyte is the material worked upon by this apparatus, and as such, its composition does not serve to structurally define the apparatus, beyond imparting the limitation that the device should be capable of containing an electrolyte in contact with the electrodes.
One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to use an electrolyte comprising methane sulfonic acid in the electroplating system of the modified Noda because as taught by Stahl, MSA is commonly utilized in electrochemical deposition systems, and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda in view of Weling as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Hwang (KR-10-2015-0073641).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, the modified Noda discloses all the features discussed above, but fails to teach wherein the workpiece is a strip of block molded semiconductor device assemblies.
Hwang discloses an electrical plating device comprising variable voltage power supply units in order to control the voltage across the electrodes to enhance the plating performance and quality of the process (pages 3-4 under Tech Solution; pages 4-6 under Description of Embodiments). The workpiece of Hwang is a strip of block molded semiconductor device assemblies (page 2, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a strip block molded semiconductor as the workpiece of the modified Noda because as taught by Hwang, semiconductors are commonly utilized in electrochemical deposition systems, and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Hwang (KR-10-2015-0073641).
Regarding claim 24, Noda discloses all the features discussed above but fails to teach wherein the workpiece is a strip of block molded semiconductor device assemblies.
Hwang discloses an electrical plating device comprising variable voltage power supply units in order to control the voltage across the electrodes to enhance the plating performance and quality of the process (pages 3-4 under Tech Solution; pages 4-6 under Description of Embodiments). The workpiece of Hwang is a strip of block molded semiconductor device assemblies (page 2, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a strip block molded semiconductor as the workpiece of the modified Noda because as taught by Hwang, semiconductors are commonly utilized in electrochemical deposition systems, and one would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks filed on June 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, 19 and 21 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda have been fully considered and are persuasive. The applicant argues that Noda fails to teach variable power supplies. Therefore, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejections have been made in view of Weling.
Applicant's arguments filed on June 9, 2026 with respect to claim 23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Noda fails to disclose “a first anode terminal configured to receive a first plating current for electroplating at least one first surface of the workpiece and a second anode terminal configured to receive a second plating current for electroplating at least one second surface of the workpiece”.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Noda discloses an electroplating system comprising a first anode terminal (40A-1) configured to receive a first plating current electroplating at least one first surface of the workpiece (W; paragraphs 40, 59, 66-67, 77), and a second anode terminal (40B-1) configured to receive a second plating current for electroplating at least one second plateable surface of the workpiece (W; paragraphs 16, 22, 40, 48-49, 59, 66-67 – the density of current supplied from the split anode to the workpiece can be increased to implement high-speed plating). Noda further teaches that the plurality of power supplies (50-1 to 50-4) independently control current supplied to the corresponding split anodes.
It has been held by the courts that apparatus claims must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Functional limitations do not serve to further limit apparatus claims beyond imparting the limitation that the device is capable of performing a claimed function. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the system of Noda supplies a first plating current for electroplating a first surface of the workpiece and a second current for electroplating a second surface of the workpiece and thus, it meets the claim.
The Office notes that the new rejection grounds for claims 1-3, 6-8, 10, 11 and 19-21, were not necessitated by Applicant’s amendment. Therefore, this rejection is not being made final.
Conclusion
In view of the new grounds of rejection presented above, this Action is made Non-Final.
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794