CTNF 18/342,130 CTNF 89716 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-3, 5-14 and 16-20) in the reply filed on 10/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 7, 11-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Millet (Pub. No.: US 2020/0350278 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Millet discloses an integrated circuit (IC) device comprising: a first die comprising a first metal layer at a lower face of the first die, the first metal layer having a first interconnect extending along the lower face, wherein the first interconnect has a length along the lower face and a width along the lower face, the length at least three times the width ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – first die 12B (electronic circuit); first metal layer comprising first interconnect 32B; this prior art teaches that the length could be more than three times the width ); PNG media_image1.png 316 514 media_image1.png Greyscale a second die comprising a second metal layer at an upper face of the second die, the second metal layer having a second interconnect extending along the upper face of the second die ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – second die 12A (electronic circuit); second metal layer comprising second interconnect 32A ); and a bonding interface coupling the first die to the second die, wherein the bonding interface couples the first interconnect to the second interconnect ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 ). Regarding Claim 2, Jun et al. , as applied to claim 1, discloses the IC device, wherein the first interconnect is partially overlapping the second interconnect ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – at least partially overlaps ). 7. (Original) The IC device of claim 1, wherein the second interconnect has a second length along the upper face and a second width along the upper face, the second length at least three times the second width ( Par. 0017-0025; Figs. 1-2 – second interconnect 108; this prior art teaches that the second length could be more than three times the second width ). . 7 Regarding Claim 7, Jun et al. , as applied to claim 1, discloses the IC device, wherein the second interconnect has a second length along the upper face and a second width along the upper face, the second length at least three times the second width ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – second interconnect 32A; this prior art teaches that the length could be more than three times the width ). Regarding Claim 11, Jun et al. , as applied to claim 1, discloses the IC device, wherein the bonding interface further comprises a bonding material formed between a first dielectric material in the first die and a second dielectric material in the second die ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – first dielectric material 16B; second dielectric material 16A ) Regarding Claim 12, Millet discloses a device comprising: a wafer having an upper face, the upper face of the wafer comprising a first trench interconnect extending along the upper face of the wafer, wherein the first trench interconnect has a length along the upper face and a width along the upper face, the length at least three times the width ( Par. 0002, 0031-0042; Figs. 3-4 – first wafer comprising first electronic circuit 12A; first trench interconnect comprising interconnect 32A; this prior art teaches that the length could be more than three times the width ); and PNG media_image1.png 316 514 media_image1.png Greyscale a die comprising a metal layer at a lower face of the die, the metal layer having a second trench interconnect extending along the lower face of the wafer ( Par. 0002, 0031-0042; Figs. 3-4 – die comprising second trench interconnect 32B ); wherein the first trench interconnect is physically coupled to the second trench interconnect ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 ). Regarding Claim 13, Jun et al. , as applied to claim 12, discloses the device, wherein the first trench interconnect is partially overlapping the second trench interconnect ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – at least partially overlaps ). Regarding Claim 17, Millet discloses an electronics assembly comprising: a first device comprising a first metal layer at a lower face of the first device ( Par. 0002, 0031-0042; Figs. 3-4 – first device 12B (electronic circuit); first metal layer comprising track 32B) ; PNG media_image1.png 316 514 media_image1.png Greyscale a second device comprising a second metal layer at an upper face of the first device ( Par. 0002, 0031-0042; Figs. 3-4 – second device 12A (electronic circuit); second metal layer comprising track 32A) ; a bonding interface between the first metal layer and the second metal layer ( Par. 0002, 0031-0042; Figs. 3-4 ); and a passive circuit element comprising a first metal structure in the first metal layer and a second metal structure in the second metal layer, the first metal structure and the second metal structure bonded at the bonding interface ( Par. 0002, 0033-0042; Figs. 3-4 – this prior art teaches that the assembly comprising a track 32 A bonded to a track 32 B has a low resistance both in the plane of surfaces 14 A and 14 B and orthogonally to this plane, which is advantageous for the transmission of power supply currents and could be considered as a passive circuit element ) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 5-6, 8-10, 14, 16 and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Enquist et al. (Pub. No: US 2017/0179029 A1 ) - This prior art teaches an integrated circuit (IC) device comprising: a first die comprising a first metal layer at a lower face of the first die, the first metal layer having a first interconnect extending along the lower face, wherein the first interconnect has a length along the lower face and a width along the lower face, the length at least three times the width ( Par. 0155-0160; Fig. 11C – first die 101b; first metal layer comprising first interconnect 103b; this prior art teaches that the length could be more than three times the width ); a second die comprising a second metal layer at an upper face of the second die, the second metal layer having a second interconnect extending along the upper face of the second die ( Par. 0155-0160; Fig. 11C – second die 101a; second metal layer comprising second interconnect 103a ); and a bonding interface coupling the first die to the second die, wherein the bonding interface couples the first interconnect to the second interconnect ( Par. 0155-0160; Fig. 11C ). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED I GHEYAS whose telephone number is (571)272-0592. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Britt Hanley, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. 11/05/2026 /SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/342,130 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893