Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (PGPub No. 20210320049) in further view of Hama (US Patent No. 6930891).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a solid state drive (SSD) apparatus comprising: a case including an upper wall and a lower wall; a substrate in the case; a first semiconductor chip on the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 6 points to a semiconductor storage device 1 (SSD apparatus) comprising an upper housing 30U (upper wall), a lower housing 30D (lower wall), an insulating substrate 300, and a DRAM 25 (first semiconductor chip).).
Suzuki fails to teach a plurality of first connection pads in or on a first surface of the substrate facing the upper wall of the case; and a first shielding structure electrically connecting the upper wall of the case to the plurality of first connection pads, wherein the first shielding structure comprises a plurality of first unit shielding structures surrounding the first semiconductor chip and spaced apart from each other with air gaps therebetween, and wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures comprises an elastic body.
Hama teaches a plurality of first connection pads in or on a first surface of the substrate facing the upper wall of the case; and a first shielding structure electrically connecting the upper wall of the case to the plurality of first connection pads, wherein the first shielding structure comprises a plurality of first unit shielding structures surrounding the first semiconductor chip and spaced apart from each other with air gaps therebetween, and wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures comprises an elastic body (Figs. 5-6B point to a shielding structure comprising printed boards 200 (substrate) and 250 (upper wall), a ground pattern 201 (plurality of first connection pads), a shielding plate 300 (first shielding structure), and connecting strips 302/303 (first unit shielding structures).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the substrate and upper wall are electrically connected by a first shielding structure in order to obtain a high shielding effect that minimizes the radiation of unnecessary electromagnetic waves generated by internal equipment.
Regarding claim 2, Hama teaches wherein the upper wall of the case, the plurality of first unit shielding structures, and the plurality of first connection pads are electrically grounded (Fig. 5 points to the ground pattern 201.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the upper wall, first unit shielding structures, and first connection pads are all electrically grounded in order to reduce electromagnetic emissions by electrically shorting them through the ground conductive material.
Regarding claim 6, Hama teaches wherein the plurality of first unit shielding structures are physically and electrically coupled to the plurality of first connection pads, and wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures is in contact with the upper wall of the case by a restoring force of the elastic body (Col. 5, lines 34-44 point to the connecting strips 302/303 (first unit shielding structures) being brought into press contact (restoring force) with the ground pattern 201 (plurality of first connection pads) and the upper printed board 250 (upper wall).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the plurality of first unit shielding structures is physically and electrically coupled to the plurality of first connection pads and elastically connected to the upper wall in order to avoid gaps created by any warps or waviness in the components that may otherwise result in insufficient shielding.
Regarding claim 7, Hama teaches wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures further comprises a conductor in contact with the upper wall of the case by the restoring force of the elastic body (Figs. 5-6B and Col. 5, lines 12-24 point to the shielding plate 300 formed of a conductive material comprising a connecting strip 302 (conductor).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the conductive material of each of the first unit shielding structures is elastically connected to the upper wall in order to avoid gaps created by any warps or waviness in the components that may otherwise result in insufficient shielding.
Regarding claim 8, Hama teaches wherein the plurality of first unit shielding structures are physically and electrically coupled to the upper wall of the case, and wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures is in contact with a corresponding first connection pad among the plurality of first connection pads by a restoring force of the elastic body (Col. 5, lines 34-44 point to the connecting strips 302/303 (first unit shielding structures) being brought into press contact (restoring force) with the ground pattern 201 (plurality of first connection pads) and the upper printed board 250 (upper wall).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the plurality of first unit shielding structures is physically and electrically coupled to the plurality of first connection pads and elastically connected to the upper wall in order to avoid gaps created by any warps or waviness in the components that may otherwise result in insufficient shielding.
Regarding claim 9, Hama teaches wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures further comprises a conductor in contact with a corresponding first connection pad among the plurality of first connection pads by the restoring force of the elastic body (Figs. 5-6B and Col. 5, lines 12-24 point to the shielding plate 300 formed of a conductive material comprising a connecting strip 302 (conductor).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the conductive material of each of the first unit shielding structures is elastically connected to the upper wall in order to avoid gaps created by any warps or waviness in the components that may otherwise result in insufficient shielding.
Regarding claim 10, Hama teaches wherein the first shielding structure further comprises a single bracket on which the plurality of first unit shielding structures are mounted, and wherein the single bracket is coupled to the case (Fig. 5 points to the shielding plate further comprising a plate portion 301, foot portions 313/314, and holes 315/316.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the first shielding structure further comprises a single bracket in order to create a box-shaped member that covers the underlying surface and restrains electromagnetic radiation.
Regarding claim 11, Hama teaches wherein the plurality of first unit shielding structures are electrically connected to each other through the single bracket (Fig. 5 points to the plate portion 301.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the plurality of first unit shielding structures are electrically connected to each other through the single bracket in order to create a box-shaped member that covers the underlying surface and restrains electromagnetic radiation.
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki teaches a third semiconductor chip on a second surface of the substrate opposite to the first surface of the substrate (Fig. 5 points to an integrated circuit 10H (third semiconductor chip).).
Suzuki fails to teach a second shielding structure including a plurality of second unit shielding structures between the second surface of the substrate and the lower wall of the case, wherein the plurality of second unit shielding structures surround the third semiconductor chip and are spaced apart from each other with gaps therebetween, wherein the substrate further comprises a plurality of second connection pads that are electrically grounded and in or on the second surface of the substrate, wherein the plurality of second unit shielding structures electrically connect the lower wall of the case to the plurality of second connection pads, and wherein each of the plurality of second unit shielding structures comprises an elastic body.
Hama teaches a second shielding structure including a plurality of second unit shielding structures between the second surface of the substrate and the lower wall of the case, wherein the plurality of second unit shielding structures surround the third semiconductor chip and are spaced apart from each other with gaps therebetween, wherein the substrate further comprises a plurality of second connection pads that are electrically grounded and in or on the second surface of the substrate, wherein the plurality of second unit shielding structures electrically connect the lower wall of the case to the plurality of second connection pads, and wherein each of the plurality of second unit shielding structures comprises an elastic body (Figs. 5-6B point to a shielding structure comprising printed boards 200 (substrate) and 250 (lower wall), a ground pattern 201 (plurality of second connection pads), a shielding plate 300 (second shielding structure), and connecting strips 302/303 (second unit shielding structures). The court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki and Hama, such that the substrate and lower wall are electrically connected by a second shielding structure in order to obtain a high shielding effect that minimizes the radiation of unnecessary electromagnetic waves generated by internal equipment.
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki teaches an external connector connected to the substrate, wherein the external connector is exposed to outside of the case through an opening of the case (Fig. 6 and [0030] point to a connector 100 (external connector) comprising connectors 100U and 100D, which are connected to the insulating substrate 300 (the substrate) via a flexible substrate 200.).
Regarding claim 16, Hama teaches wherein the substrate further comprises conductive connection lines extending between neighboring ones of the plurality of first connection pads (Fig. 5 points to the ground pattern 201.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki et al. and Haji, such the substrate further comprises conductive connection lines extending between neighboring ones of the plurality of first connection pads in order to create an electrically grounding structure that protects the surrounding components against electromagnetic interference.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. in further view of Haji (PGPub No. 20180240759).
Regarding claim 3, Haji in combination with Hama teaches wherein a space between the substrate and the upper wall of the case comprises: a first accommodation space surrounded by the first shielding structure with the first semiconductor chip in the first accommodation space (Figs. 1 and 3 of Hama point to a first area (first accommodation space) defined by a first electronic component 20 (first semiconductor chip) surrounded by a number of the vertical shield contacts 24 and 26 (first shielding structure).); and a second accommodation space outside the first shielding structure, wherein the first accommodation space and the second accommodation space communicate with each other through the airgaps of the first shielding structure (Id. points to a second area (second accommodation space) best defined by a second electronic component 22 and the remaining vertical shield contacts 24 and 26. Fig. 5 of Hama points to the connection strips 302/303 (first shielding structure) being separated by a plurality of notches (air gaps).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki et al. and Haji, such that the first shielding structure is formed to create a first area around the first semiconductor chip while maintaining airgaps that connect to the surrounding outer area in order to create multiple, physically separated paths for electromagnetic emissions to follow, which would reduce/prevent any leakage that might damage said chip.
Regarding claim 4, Haji teaches a second semiconductor chip on the first surface of the substrate in the second accommodation space (Figs. 1 and 3 point to the second electronic component 22 (second semiconductor chip).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki et al. and Haji, such that a second semiconductor chip is formed in the second accommodation space in order to better regulate electromagnetic emissions and prevent overburdening of the first shielding structure.
Regarding claim 5, Haji teaches wherein each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures comprises a surface mounting gasket or a pogo-pin (Fig. 1 points to vertical shield contacts 24 and 26 (pogo-pin).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki et al. and Haji, such that each of the plurality of first unit shielding structures comprises a pogo-pin shape in order to create continuous, low-impedance ground connection(s) that tolerate gaps, misalignments, and/or vibration.
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki in combination with Haji teaches an electronic component on the first surface of the substrate between neighboring ones of the plurality of first unit shielding structures (Figs. 1-3 of Haji point to vertical shield contacts 24 and 26 (first unit shielding structures) surrounding a first electronic component 20 (first semiconductor chip). Figs. 5-6 of Suzuki point to an integrated circuit 10E (electronic component). It is considered obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would alter the preexisting gap(s) between the first unit shielding structures such that the electronic component was positioned between them in order to better optimize the provided area.) Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki et al. and Haji, such that an electronic component was further formed in order to in order to enable faster communication between the electronic component and the first semiconductor chip via shorter electrical pathways.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki in combination with Haji teaches wherein the substrate further comprises a signal transmission line extending across a region between neighboring ones of the plurality of first connection pads (Figs. 1-3 of Haji point to bond pads 16 and 18 (first connection pads) surrounding a first electronic component 20 (first semiconductor chip). Fig. 3B and [0104] of Suzuki point to a connection (signal transmission line) between the DRAM 25 (first semiconductor chip) and a memory controller 20 which allows for various reading/writing operations.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki et al. and Haji, such that a signal transmission line was formed in order to allow for further communication with the first semiconductor chip.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Suzuki in further view of Hama (US Patent No. 6930891) and/or Haji.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK CULLEN/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899