DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 6/24/2026 does not put the application in condition for allowance.
Examiner withdraws all rejections in the prior office action due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-7, 9-11, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP2019/164964, Machine Translation) in view of Kobayashi (US Pub No. 2020/0365942)
Regarding Claim 1-4 and 13-14, Tanaka et al. teaches a lithium secondary battery [Fig. 1, 0018], comprising a positive electrode [20, Fig. 1, 0018], and a negative electrode [32, Fig. 1, 0018] not having a negative electrode active material [Fig. 1, the negative electrode 32 and anode active material layer 34 are separate; therefore, the negative electrode does not have a negative electrode material since it is separate from the anode active material layer 34]; wherein the lithium secondary battery comprises a compound have a 1,3,5-triazine ring skeleton [0032-0033, 1,3,5-triazine-2,4,6-trithiol].
Tanaka et al. is silent on the compounds in claim 1.
Kobayashi et al. teaches a triazine compound for a lithium battery [2b, formula 5, page 7 top left of page, 0085-0086], the compound is used to provide a nonaqueous electrolyte capable of providing a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device with reduced direct current resistance and an increased capacity retention ratio after charge-discharge cycles [0007].
Since Tanaka et al. teaches the use of a triazine compound in a battery, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to replace the triazine compound of Tanka et al. with the triazine compound of Kobayashi et al. in order to provide reduced direct current resistance and an increased capacity retention ratio after charge-discharge cycles [0007].
Within the combination above, the following compound is taught:
Regarding Claim 5, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches further comprising a separator or a solid electrolyte which is placed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [separator 10, Fig. 1, 0058].
Regarding Claim 6, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches wherein at least a part of the compound is applied onto at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode facing the positive electrode [0032-0033].
Regarding Claim 7, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches further comprising electrolyte solution; wherein the electrolyte solution comprises the compound [0033].
Regarding Claim 9, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches wherein the lithium secondary battery is a lithium secondary battery in which charging and discharging are performed by depositing lithium metal on the surface of the negative electrode and electrolytically dissolving the deposited lithium [0070-0072].
Regarding Claim 10, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches wherein the negative electrode is an electrode consisting of at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu, Ni, Ti, Fe, and other metals that do not react with Li, alloys thereof, and stainless steel (SUS) [0021].
Regarding Claim 11, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches wherein the negative electrode does not have a lithium metal on a surface of the negative electrode before initial charge and/or at an end of discharge [0024-0025, 0070-0072, 0021].
Regarding Claim 12, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. is silent on wherein the lithium secondary battery has an energy density of 350 Wh/kg or more.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the battery, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the battery are changed, the precise parameters of the battery would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the lithium secondary battery has an energy density of 350 Wh/kg or more.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters in the battery of Tanaka et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP2019/164964, Machine Translation) in view of Kobayashi (US Pub No. 2020/0365942) as applied above in addressing claim 1, in further view of Xu (US Pub No. 2018/0090751)
Regarding Claim 8, within the combination above, modified Tanaka et al. teaches the use of an electrolyte [0059] but is silent on the electrolyte solution of the claim, comprising
Xu et al. teaches the use of HFE as an additive for an electrolyte [0053-0054], which results in better cycle performance of the battery [0074].
Since Tanaka et al. teaches the use of an electrolyte solution [0025, 0059], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention apply the electrolyte additive of Xu et al. with the electrolyte of Tanaka et al. in order to provide a battery with better cycle performance [0074].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, and 5-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728