DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-7, 9-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Tanaka (JP2019/164964, Machine Translation)
Regarding Claim 1-4 and 13-14, Tanaka et al. teaches a lithium secondary battery [Fig. 1, 0018], comprising a positive electrode [20, Fig. 1, 0018], and a negative electrode [32, Fig. 1, 0018] not having a negative electrode active material [Fig. 1, the negative electrode 32 and anode active material layer 34 are separate; therefore, the negative electrode does not have a negative electrode material since it is separate from the anode active material layer 34]; wherein the lithium secondary battery comprises a compound have a 1,3,5-triazine ring skeleton [0032-0033, 1,3,5-triazine-2,4,6-trithiol].
Regarding Claim 5, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches further comprising a separator or a solid electrolyte which is placed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode [separator 10, Fig. 1, 0058].
Regarding Claim 6, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches wherein at least a part of the compound is applied onto at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode facing the positive electrode [0032-0033].
Regarding Claim 7, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches further comprising electrolyte solution; wherein the electrolyte solution comprises the compound [0033].
Regarding Claim 9, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches wherein the lithium secondary battery is a lithium secondary battery in which charging and discharging are performed by depositing lithium metal on the surface of the negative electrode and electrolytically dissolving the deposited lithium [0070-0072].
Regarding Claim 10, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches wherein the negative electrode is an electrode consisting of at least one selected from the group consisting of Cu, Ni, Ti, Fe, and other metals that do not react with Li, alloys thereof, and stainless steel (SUS) [0021].
Regarding Claim 11, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches wherein the negative electrode does not have a lithium metal on a surface of the negative electrode before initial charge and/or at an end of discharge [0024-0025, 0070-0072, 0021].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP2019/164964, Machine Translation)
Regarding Claim 12, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. is silent on wherein the battery has an energy density of 350 Wh/kg or more.
As the cost of construction and efficiency of operation are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the parameters of the battery, with said construction cost and operating efficiency both changing as the parameters of the battery are changed, the precise parameters of the battery would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed “wherein the battery has an energy density of 350 Wh/kg or more.” cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the parameters in the battery of Tanaka et al. to obtain the desired balance between the construction cost and the operation efficiency (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP2019/164964, Machine Translation) in view of Xu (US Pub No. 2018/0090751)
Regarding Claim 8, Tanaka et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Tanaka et al. teaches the use of an electrolyte [0059] but is silent on the electrolyte solution of the claim, comprising
Xu et al. teaches the use of HFE as an additive for an electrolyte [0053-0054], which results in better cycle performance of the battery [0074].
Since Tanaka et al. teaches the use of an electrolyte solution [0025, 0059], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention apply the electrolyte additive of Xu et al. with the electrolyte of Tanaka et al. in order to provide a battery with better cycle performance [0074].
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728