DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 07/28/2026. Claims 1-10 and 21-22 are currently pending for examination on the merits, with claims 11-18 withdrawn from further consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 10/18/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202111212279.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: "22" representing a negative electrode sheet and "23" representing a separato. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842) (Ichinose).
Regarding claim 1, Ichinose discloses an electrode sheet (1+2+3), comprising: a current collector, a membrane layer (electrode active material layer) comprising an active substance ([0035]; [0040]), and an insulating protective layer (3), the insulating protective layer (3) covering the membrane layer (see Fig. 1; [0014]; [0029]; [0066]), wherein the insulating protective layer (3) comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance ([0029]; [0045]). Ichinose further teaches that the insulating protective layer (3) has a smoother outer surface (smaller roughness) than a surface of the membrane layer (electrode active material layer) ([0014]; [0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Ichinose discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ichinose further discloses that the insulating protective layer (3) comprises a polymer ([0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Ichinose discloses an electrode assembly (abstract), comprising the electrode sheet (1+2+3) according to claim 1 (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0029]; [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Ichinose discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 6. Ichinose further discloses that the electrode sheet comprises: a positive electrode sheet (1); a negative electrode sheet (2); and a separator (5) provided between the positive electrode sheet (1) and the negative electrode sheet (2) (see Fig. 3; [0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Ichinose discloses a battery cell (abstract), comprising a housing (4), the housing (4) comprising an accommodating cavity (see Figs. 1 and 3; [0029]); and the electrode assembly according to claim 6, the electrode assembly being located in the accommodating cavity (see Fig. 3; [0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Ichinose discloses a battery (40), comprising a box body (44+45+46)l and the battery cell (41) according to claim 8, the battery cell (41) being accommodated in the box body (44+45+46) (see Fig. 4; [0081]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 10, Ichinose discloses a power consuming device (hybrid electric vehicle), comprising the battery (40) according to claim 9; and a power consuming assembly (hybrid electric vehicle) being electrically coupled to the battery (40) ([0053]-[0182]; see also [0002]-[0003]).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Asai et al. (WO 2020/144732 with English Machine Translation) (Asai).
Regarding claim 21, Asai discloses an electrode assembly (2+3+4), comprising a positive electrode sheet (2); a negative electrode sheet (3); and a separator layer (110c) provided between the positive electrode sheet (2) and the negative electrode sheet (3), and comprising a hole (pores) for ion migration (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0023]-[0024]; [0043]-[0044]), wherein each of the positive electrode sheet (2) and the negative electrode sheet (3) comprises: a current collector and a membrane layer (active material filling portion) comprising an active substance ([0025]). Asai further discloses an insulating protective layer (110a, 110b) in contact with and covering the membrane layer (active material filling portion) of a respective positive electrode sheet (2) or negative electrode sheet (3) (see Fig. 1; [0023]), wherein the insulating protective layer (110a, 110b) comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance ([0023]; [0043]-[0044]). Asai further discloses that an aperture of the hole (pore size) of the separator layer (110c) is greater than an aperture of the hole (pore size) of the insulating protective layer (110a, 110b) ([0023]; [0043]-[0044]). Thus, Asai reads on all of the limitations in claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, Asai discloses all of the limitations in claim 22 present in claim 21, as set forth above. Asai further discloses that the different apertures of the holes (pore sizes) of the separator layer (110c) and the insulating protective layer (110a, 110b) are created by changing the fiber diameters of the glass fibers making up the respective layers ([0045]). Thus, given that Asai discloses that an aperture of the hole (pore size) of the separator layer (110c) is greater than an aperture of the hole (pore size) of the insulating protective layer (110a, 110b) ([0023]; [0043]-[0044]), Asai also necessarily discloses that a density of the separator layer (110c) is less than a density of the insulating protective layer (110a, 110b). Thus, Asai reads on all of the limitations in claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842) (Ichinose).
Regarding claim 4, Ichinose discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ichinose further discloses that a thickness of the insulating protective layer (3) is between 2 to 20 µm ([0050]), overlapping the claimed range of 1 to 10 µm. In the case where the claimed range overlaps the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05. Therefore, absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have chosen a thickness value for the insulating protective layer (3) disclosed by Ichinose within the claimed range based on routine experimentation of the overlapping range disclosed by Ichinose.
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842) (Ichinose) in view of Matsuda (EP 0834941) (of record).
Regarding claim 3, Ichinose discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ichinose fails to explicitly disclose, however, a specific size of an aperture of the hole (pores) in the insulating protective layer (3).
Matsuda teaches a similar electrode sheet (anode, cathode) (title; abstract), comprising: a current collector (8, 9); a membrane layer (1, 2), comprising an active substance; and an insulating protective layer (3), the insulating protective layer (3) covering the membrane layer (1, 2) (see Figs. 3 and 4; pg. 3, lines 40-55; pg. 12, lines 44-54; pg. 13, line 53-pg. 14, line 1), wherein the insulating protective layer (3) comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance (pg. 3, lines 9-10; pg. 4, lines 25-38), wherein an aperture of the hole (pore size) is between 100 and 1,500 nm (pg. 3, lines 9-10; pg. 5, lines 55-57). Matsuda further gives a specific example in which an aperture of the hole (pore size) is 890 nm (see Examples 1-3 and 14-26 in Table 3), which is equal to 0.89 µm, falling within the claimed range of 0.05 µm to 8 µm. Matsuda further teaches that configuring the aperture of the hole (pore size) in this way helps to balance the discharge current capacity ratio of the battery with an improvement in safety of the battery (pg. 5, lines 55-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the hole in the insulating protective layer disclosed by Ichinose to have an aperture within the claimed range, as taught by Matsuda, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would balance the discharge capacity ratio of the battery with an improvement in safety of the battery.
Regarding claim 5, Ichinose discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Ichinose further discloses that the insulating protective layer comprises a first insulating protective layer (3) covering a first surface of a positive electrode (1) and a second insulating protective layer covering a second surface of the positive electrode (1) (see Modified Figure 1 below; [0029]). While Ichinose discloses that the positive electrode (1) includes a current collector and a membrane layer (active material layer) disposed on the current collector ([0035]), Ichinose fails to explicitly disclose that the membrane layer (active material layer) comprises a first membrane layer and a second membrane layer located on opposite sides of the current collector.
Modified Figure 1, Ichinose
However, it is common in the art to place active material layers of electrodes on opposite sides of a current collector. For instance, Matsuda further teaches that the membrane layer (1, 2) comprises a first membrane layer and a second membrane layer located on opposite sides of the current collector (8, 9) (see Modified Figure 4 below); and the insulating protective layer (Matsuda: 3) comprises: a first insulating protective layer covering the first membrane layer, and a second insulating protective layer covering the second membrane layer (see Modified Figure 4 below). Matsuda further teaches that configuring the membrane layer (1, 2) in this way is an effective way of creating a battery electrode (pg. 7, line 58-pg. 8, line 30).
Modified Figure 4, Matsuda
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the positive electrode disclosed by Ichinose to have a first and second membrane layer disposed on opposite sides of the current collector, as taught by Matsuda, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would be an effective way of creating the positive electrode.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (EP 0834941) (of record) in view of Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842) (Ichinose).
Regarding claim 1, Matsuda discloses an electrode sheet (anode, cathode) (title; abstract), comprising: a current collector (8, 9); a membrane layer (1, 2), comprising an active substance; and an insulating protective layer (3), the insulating protective layer (3) covering the membrane layer (1, 2) (see Figs. 3 and 4; pg. 3, lines 40-55; pg. 12, lines 44-54; pg. 13, line 53-pg. 14, line 1), wherein the insulating protective layer (3) comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance (pg. 3, lines 9-10; pg. 4, lines 25-38). Matsuda fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the insulating protective layer (3) has a smoother outer surface than a surface of the membrane layer (1, 2).
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Ichinose teaches a similar electrode sheet (1+2+3), comprising: a current collector, a membrane layer (electrode active material layer) comprising an active substance ([0035]; [0040]), and an insulating protective layer (3), the insulating protective layer (3) covering the membrane layer (see Fig. 1; [0014]; [0029]; [0066]), wherein the insulating protective layer (3) comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance ([0029]; [0045]). Ichinose further teaches that the insulating protective layer (3) has a smoother outer surface (smaller roughness) than a surface of the membrane layer (electrode active material layer) ([0014]; [0066]). Ichinose further teaches that configuring the electrode sheet (1+2+3) in this way increases the anchor effect between the insulating protective layer (3) and the membrane layer, which improves battery durability ([0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulating protective layer disclosed by Matsuda to have a smoother outer surface than a surface of the membrane layer, as taught by Ichinose, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would increase the anchor effect between the insulating protective layer and the membrane layer and improve battery durability.
Regarding claim 2, modified Matsuda discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Matsuda further discloses that the insulating protective layer (Matsuda: 3) comprises a polymer (Matsuda: abstract; pg. 3, lines 1-5; pg. 5, lines 4-7).
Regarding claim 3, modified Matsuda discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Matsuda further discloses that an aperture of the hole (pore size) is between 100 and 1,500 nm (Matsuda: pg. 3, lines 9-10). Modified Matsuda further gives a specific example in which an aperture of the hole (pore size) is 890 nm (Matsuda: see Examples 1-3 and 14-26 in Table 3), which is equal to 0.89 µm, reading on the claimed range of 0.05 µm to 8 µm.
Regarding claim 4, modified Matsuda discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Matsuda further discloses that a thickness of the insulating protective layer (Matsuda: 3) can be about 10 µm (Matsuda: pg. 4, lines 25-38), reading on the claimed range of 1 µm to 10 µm.
Regarding claim 5, modified Matsuda discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Matsuda further discloses that the membrane layer (Matsuda: 1, 2) comprises a first membrane layer and a second membrane layer located on opposite sides of the current collector (Matsuda: 8, 9) (see Modified Figure 4 below); and the insulating protective layer (Matsuda: 3) comprises: a first insulating protective layer covering the first membrane layer, and a second insulating protective layer covering the second membrane layer (see Modified Figure 4 below).
Modified Figure 4, Matsuda
Regarding claim 6, modified Matsuda discloses an electrode assembly (title; abstract), comprising the electrode sheet (anode, cathode) according to claim 1 (Matsuda: see Figs. 3 and 4; pg. 10, lines 1-22).
Regarding claim 7, modified Matsuda discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 6. Modified Matsuda further discloses that the electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode sheet (cathode); a negative electrode sheet (anode); and a separator layer (Matsuda: 12) provided between the positive electrode sheet (cathode) and the negative electrode sheet (anode) (Matsuda: see Fig 4; pg. 3, lines 40-55; pg. 13, lines 26-33).
Regarding claim 8, modified Matsuda discloses a battery cell (Matsuda: see Figs. 1 and 2), comprising: a housing (Matsuda: 5), the housing comprising an accommodating cavity (Matsuda: see Figs. 1 and 2; pg. 3, lines 40-55); and the electrode assembly according to claim 6 (Matsuda: see reference numbers 1-3 and 8-9 in Figs. 1 and 2), the electrode assembly being located in the accommodating cavity (Matsuda: see Figs. 1 and 2; pg. 10, lines 1-22).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (EP 0834941) (of record) in view of Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842) (Ichinose) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Morishima (US 2012/0021264) (of record).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, modified Matsuda discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 8. Modified Matsuda further discloses that the battery cell is intended to be used in a power consumption device (electric motor vehicle) (Matsuda: pg. 8, lines 55-58). Modified Matsuda fails to explicitly disclose, however, a battery comprising a box body wherein the battery cell is accommodated. Modified Matsuda also fails to explicitly disclose that the power consumption device comprises this battery and a power consuming assembly which is electrically coupled to the battery.
However, this configuration is common in the art, especially for batteries used in electric vehicles. For instance, Morishima teaches a similar battery cell (10) comprising an electrode assembly (30) within a housing (11) (see Figs. 1 and 2; [0083]). Morishima further teaches that this battery cell (10) can be used within a battery (60) which comprises a box body (68+69+71), wherein the battery cell (10) is accommodated in the box body (68+69+71) (see Fig. 6; [0100]-[0101]). Furthermore, Morishima teaches that this battery (60) can be used within a power consumption device (automobile), the power consumption device (automobile) comprising a power consuming assembly (motor) that is electrically coupled to the battery (60) (see Fig. 9; [0131]; [0025]; [0042]; [0061]). Morishima further teaches that such a configuration is suitable for an electric motor vehicle ([0025]; [0042]; [0061]; [0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the battery cell disclosed by modified Matsuda within the claimed battery and power consumption device, as taught by Morishima, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would be a suitable configuration for an electric motor vehicle.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishima (US 2012/0021264) (of record) in view of Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842) (Ichinose).
Regarding claim 1, Morishima discloses an electrode sheet (34) (abstract), comprising: a current collector (342); a membrane layer (344), comprising an active substance; and an insulating protective layer (346), the insulating protective layer (346) covering the membrane layer (344) (see Fig. 3; [0051]), wherein the insulating protective layer comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance ([0051]-[0052]; [0015]). Morishima fails to explicitly disclose, however, that the insulating protective layer (346) has a smoother outer surface than a surface of the membrane layer (344).
However, this configuration is known in the art. For instance, Ichinose teaches a similar electrode sheet (1+2+3), comprising: a current collector, a membrane layer (electrode active material layer) comprising an active substance ([0035]; [0040]), and an insulating protective layer (3), the insulating protective layer (3) covering the membrane layer (see Fig. 1; [0014]; [0029]; [0066]), wherein the insulating protective layer (3) comprises a hole (pores) for ion migration in the active substance and preventing a separation of the active substance ([0029]; [0045]). Ichinose further teaches that the insulating protective layer (3) has a smoother outer surface (smaller roughness) than a surface of the membrane layer (electrode active material layer) ([0014]; [0066]). Ichinose further teaches that configuring the electrode sheet (1+2+3) in this way increases the anchor effect between the insulating protective layer (3) and the membrane layer, which improves battery durability ([0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the insulating protective layer disclosed by Morishima to have a smoother outer surface than a surface of the membrane layer, as taught by Ichinose, because they would have had a reasonable expectation that doing so would increase the anchor effect between the insulating protective layer and the membrane layer and improve battery durability.
Regarding claim 2, modified Morishima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Morishima further discloses that the insulating protective layer (Morishima: 346) comprises a polymer (Morishima: [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Morishima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Morishima further discloses that an aperture of the hole (pore size) is between 0.1 µm and 4 µm (Morishima: [0052]), reading on the claimed range of 0.05 µm to 8 µm.
Regarding claim 4, modified Morishima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Morishima further discloses that a thickness of the insulating protective layer (Morishima: 346) is between 1 µm and 6 µm (Morishima: [0065]), reading on the claimed range of 1 µm to 10 µm.
Regarding claim 5, modified Morishima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 1. Modified Morishima further discloses that the membrane layer (Morishima: 344) comprises a first membrane layer and a second membrane layer located on opposite sides of the current collector (Morishima: 342) (see Modified Figure 3 below; [0088]); and the insulating protective layer (Morishima: 346) comprises: a first insulating protective layer covering the first membrane layer; and a second insulating protective layer covering the second membrane layer (see Modified Figure 3 below; [0089]).
Modified Figure 3, Morishima
Regarding claim 6, modified Morishima discloses an electrode assembly (Morishima: 30) (Morishima: abstract), comprising: the electrode sheet (Morishima: 34) according to claim 1 (Morishima: see Fig. 3; abstract; [0011]-[0012]; [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Morishima discloses all of the limitations as set forth above for claim 6. Modified Morishima further discloses that the electrode assembly (Morishima: 30) comprises a positive electrode sheet (Morishima: 32); a negative electrode sheet (Morishima: 34); and a separator (Morishima: 35) provided between the positive electrode sheet (Morishima: 32) and the negative electrode sheet (Morishima: 34) (Morishima: see Fig. 3; abstract; [0011]-[0012]; [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Morishima discloses a battery cell (Morishima: 10), comprising: a housing (Morishima: 11), the housing comprising an accommodating cavity (Morishima: see Figs. 1 and 2; [0083]); and the electrode assembly (Morishima: 30) according to claim 6, the electrode assembly (Morishima: 30) being located in the accommodating cavity (Morishima: see Figs. 1 and 2; [0083]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Morishima discloses a battery (Morishima: 60), comprising: a box body (Morishima: 68+69+71); and the battery cell (Morishima: 10) according to claim 8, the battery cell (Morishima: 10) being accommodated in the box body (Morishima: 68+69+71) (Morishima: see Fig. 6; [0100]-[0101]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Morishima discloses a power consumption device (automobile), comprising: the battery (Morishima: 60) according to claim 9 (Morishima: see Fig. 9; [0131]); and a power consuming assembly (motor), the power consuming assembly (motor) being electrically coupled to the battery (Morishima: 60) (Morishima: see Fig. 9; [0131]; [0025]; [0042]; [0061]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the drawings and the specification have overcome some of the objections to the drawings previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/22/2026. However, in Fig. 3 of the Replacement Sheet of the Drawings filed 07/28/2026, reference characters “22” and “23” have been deleted instead of swapped, thus creating further objections to the drawings, as noted above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As such, claims 1-10 and 21-22 stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749