DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/342,744 filed on April 28, 2026.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Electronic Device Comprising Multiple Components with Driving Circuits and Connection Pads”.
Election/Restrictions
6. Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-17 w.r.t. species I (Fig. 1B) in the reply filed on 04/28/2026 is acknowledged.
7. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
8. Applicant’s remarks in page 6, have been considered, therefore, the restriction requirement dated on 03/04/2026 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 12-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 2021/0329782 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Li teaches an electronic device (1, para [0015]), comprising (Figs. 1A-1B, 2):
a plurality of electronic components (12, 13);
a first substrate (121, para [0017]) comprising a first driving circuit (12 driving member, para [0015]) and a first connection pad (124, see the annotated figure below);
a second substrate (13, para [0015] comprises the substrate) comprising a second driving circuit (13) and a second connection pad (131), and the first connection pad (124) is coupled to the second connection pad (131) (the electrode 131 of the working member 13 and the connection pad 124 of the driving member 12 are electrically connected to the corresponding conductive pad 113 through a conductive member C, and the circuit board 11 can drive the working member 13 through the driving member 12, see para [0022]); and
a third substrate (11 circuit board, para [0015]), wherein the first substrate (121), the second substrate (13), and the plurality of electronic components (12, 13) are disposed on the third substrate (11).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches wherein (see Fig. 2), the first driving circuit (12) is coupled to the first connection pad (124); and/or the second driving circuit (13) is coupled to the second connection pad (131).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches wherein (Fig. 2), the first substrate (121) further comprises a third connection pad (124, para [0017] see the annotated figure in claim 1), the second substrate (13) further comprises a fourth connection pad (131, see Fig. 1A), and the third connection pad is coupled to the fourth connection pad (131) (through the conductive substrate body 111, para [0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches wherein (see Fig 2), the first driving circuit (12) is coupled to the third connection pad (124); and/or the second driving circuit (13) is coupled to the fourth connection pad (131).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches wherein (see Fig 2), the first substrate (121) further comprises a third driving circuit (123a).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches wherein (see Fig 2), the first substrate (121) further comprises a fifth connection pad (124, see the annotated figure in claim 1), and the first driving circuit (12) and the third driving circuit (123b) are coupled to the fifth connection pad (124).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches wherein (see Fig 2), the first substrate (121) also comprises a fifth driving circuit (123a).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches wherein (see Fig 2), the second substrate (13 comprises a microLED, see para [0020]) also comprises a fourth driving circuit (LED wherein the LED runs by two transistors, driving and switching transistors).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches wherein (Figs. 1A-1B, 2), the plurality of electronic components (12, 13) comprise photoelectric components (para [0020]), pyroelectric components, piezoelectric components, sensing components, or antenna components.
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches wherein (Figs. 1A-1B, 2), the first connection pad (124) and the second connection pad (131) are coupled through a first connection line (112) disposed on the third substrate (11), and the first driving circuit (12) and the second driving circuit (13) are coupled in series through the first connection pad (112), the second connection pad (131), and the first connection line (112).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches wherein (Figs. 1A-1B, 2), the third connection pad (124 see the annotated figure in claim 1) and the fourth connection pad (131) are coupled through a second connection line (through conductive substrate body 111, para [0016] is considering as the connection line) disposed on the third substrate (11).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches wherein (Figs. 1A-1B, 2), a third connection line (113 left of 12) belongs to same layer as a signal line (113 right of 13).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches wherein (Figs. 1A-1B, 2), the fifth connection pad (see the annotated figure in claim 1) is coupled to the first driving circuit (12) and the third driving circuit (123b) through a fourth connection line (122) disposed on the third substrate (11).
Regarding independent claim 18, Li teaches an electronic device (1, para [0015]), comprising (Figs. 1A-1B, 2):
a plurality of electronic components (12, 13);
a first substrate (121), comprising:
a first driving circuit (12: 123a, see Fig. 2);
a second driving circuit (12: 123b, see Fig. 2);
a plurality of connection pads (124, see Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the plurality of connection pads (124) is coupled to the first driving circuit (123a) and the second driving circuit (123b); and
a second substrate (11), wherein the first substrate (121) and the plurality of electronic components (12, 13) are disposed on the second substrate (11).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches wherein (Figs. 1A-1B, 2), the plurality of electronic components (12, 13) comprise photoelectric components, pyroelectric components, piezoelectric components, sensing components, or antenna components (see para [0020])
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 6, 9, 11, 15, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the electronic device comprising:
…. the first substrate also comprises a first input connection pad, a second input connection pad, a first output connection pad, and a second output connection pad, wherein a terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to the first input connection pad, another terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to the first output connection pad, a terminal of the third driving circuit is connected to the second input connection pad, and another terminal of the third driving circuit is coupled to the second output connection pad.
Claim 9: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the electronic device comprising:
…. the first substrate also comprises a third input connection pad and a third output connection pad, wherein a terminal of the fifth driving circuit is coupled to the third input connection pad, another terminal of the fifth driving circuit is coupled to the third output connection pad.
Claim 11: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the electronic device comprising:
…. the second substrate also comprises a first input connection pad, a second input connection pad, a first output connection pad, and a second output connection pad, wherein a terminal of the second driving circuit is coupled to the first input connection pad, another terminal of the second driving circuit is coupled to the first output connection pad, a terminal of the fourth driving circuit is connected to the second input connection pad, and another terminal of the fourth driving circuit is coupled to the second output connection pad.
Claim 15: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the electronic device comprising:
…. a terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to an external circuit through a third connection line disposed on the third substrate, and another terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to a corresponding electronic component through a signal line disposed on the third substrate.
Claim 19: the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the electronic device comprising:
…. the first substrate further comprises a first input connection pad, a second input connection pad, a first output connection pad, and a second output connection pad, wherein a terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to the first input connection pad, another terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to the first output connection pad, a terminal of the second driving circuit is coupled to the second input connection pad, and another terminal of the second driving circuit is coupled to the second output connection pad.
The prior art, Li (US 2021/0329782 A1) does not disclose the first substrate comprises first input connection pad, second input connection pad, first output connection pad, and second output connection pad, wherein a terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to the first input connection pad, another terminal of the first driving circuit is coupled to the first output connection pad, a terminal of the third driving circuit is connected to the second input connection pad, and another terminal of the third driving circuit is coupled to the second output connection pad.
Examiner’s Note
13. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812