DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the election received August 29, 2018.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on August 29, 2018 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 29, 2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of SCHELER et al (5,306,595), WU et al (2015/0293449) and KAWATA et al (6,013,407)
The claimed invention recites the following:
SCHELER et al report a positive photosensitive resin composition comprising an alkali-soluble resin, a photoacid, a sensitizer and a surfactant.
Examples found in col. 7, lines 17-50 disclose the resin to be a cresol/xylenol novolak formulated with tetrahydroxy benzophenone esterified with 1,2-naphthoquinone 2-diazide sulfonic acid. Applicants are directed to col. 5, lines 18-23 for suitable non-ionic surfactants to include polyethylene glycol-mono-nonyl phenyl ether and mono-octyl phenyl ether.
SCHELER et al lacks the claimed sensitizer.
WU et al disclose a photosensitive composition comprising a quinone diazide sulfonic acid ester, a sensitizer in para. [0170] to [0176] and can further include surfactants, [0169].
Applicants are directed to page 9, para. [0173] which disclose a polynuclear branched compound as a sensitizer which meets the claimed sensitizer in claim 7, see below:
WU et al lacks the specific surfactant as recited in claim 1.
KAWATA et al disclose a positive resist composition comprising a quinone diazide sulfonate compound, an alkali-soluble phenolic resin and additional phenolic compounds (sensitizer) in col. 9, line 29- col. 10, line 6. These phenolic compounds are equivalents to those disclosed in WU et al such as the triphenols highlighted below:
The surfactant is reported col. 11, lines 16-36 such as polyoxyethylene lauryl ether and polyoxyethylene stearyl ether shown below:
Claims 2-4 and 10 are met by the disclosure in KAWATA et al in col. 5, line 54 for the quinone diazide content in the composition. The alkali-soluble resin content is reported in Table 1, Example 3 for the ratio of the resin to the quinone diazide. The solvent content is reported in page 13, Table 2 of WU et al.
Claim 5 is met by the disclosure in SCHELER et al col. 5, lines 18-23 wherein up to 10% by weight includes as low as 0.1%.
Claim 6 is met by KAWATA et al in col. 10, lines 54-55 for PGMEA.
Claim 7 is met by WU et al as disclosed above on page 5, line 7 of the office action.
Claim 8 is met by WU et al on page 9, para. [0177] for the amount of sensitizer in the composition at preferably 10 to 35 parts by weight of the resin, which meets the claimed 1 to 20 parts by weight of the100 parts by weight of the resin.
Claim 9 is met by KAWATA et al wherein the surfactants can be contained in one or more in the composition so two non-ionic surfactants meet this claim, see col.11, lines 12-15.
Claim 11 and 12 are met by Example 1, col. 15, lines 56- col. 16, line 17 in KAWATA et al wherein the photoresist is coated on a substrate (silicon wafer).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition having composition such as disclosed in SCHELER et al or KAWATA et al comprising a quinone diazide photosensitive compound, a phenolic resin, a sensitizer, wherein a sensitizer as reported in WU et al is used in the composition and the surfactants as reported in KAWATA et al in a composition for photoresist pattern formation with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for a resist composition which is excellent in sensitivity, film loss, resolution, thermal stability and storage stability.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP-0831370 A1 (equivalent to KAWATA et al. (6,013,407)) disclose the structures of formula (I) and (II) omitted in the U.S. patent.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
January 24, 2026