DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device claim(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse of Group II, claim(s) 12-21 in the reply filed on 2/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sunaga et al. (US publication 2023/0140856 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sunaga856.
Regarding claim 12, Sunaga856 teaches a method of fabricating a display panel (fig. 3a-5f and related text), comprising: adsorbing, by a transport member (20, [0161]), a transfer member (10, [0161]) by a chuck (26, [0176-00178]); picking up, by the transport member, light-emitting elements from a donor substrate by the transfer member (fig. 3a-3c); bonding, by the transport member, the light-emitting elements onto a circuit substrate by the transfer member by placing the light-emitting elements on the circuit substrate and applying laser light ([0161-0268], fig. 5a-5f); separating, by the transport member, the transfer member from the circuit substrate; and detaching, by the transport member, the transfer member by releasing the chuck ([0161-0268]).
Regarding claim 14, Sunaga856 teaches wherein the transfer member includes: a stamp layer that has adhesiveness or stickiness; and a base layer that is disposed on a surface of the stamp layer, and is formed of a material that transmits laser light ([0161-0268]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebbecke (US publication 2024/0322070 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ebbecke, in view of Sunaga et al. (US publication 2023/0140856 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sunaga856.
Regarding claim 12, Ebbecke teaches a method of fabricating a display panel (fig. 1-4 and related text), comprising: adsorbing, by a transport member (10/20, [0047]), a transfer member (30, [0048]); picking up, by the transport member, light-emitting elements from a donor substrate by the transfer member (fig. 1-2); bonding, by the transport member, the light-emitting elements onto a circuit substrate by the transfer member by placing the light-emitting elements on the circuit substrate and applying laser light (fig. 1-2); separating, by the transport member, the transfer member from the circuit substrate; and detaching, by the transport member, the transfer member (fig. 2).
Ebbecke does not explicitly teach adsorbing, by a transport member, a transfer member by a chuck and detaching, by the transport member, the transfer member by releasing the chuck.
Sunaga856 teaches adsorbing, by a transport member (20, [0161]), a transfer member (10, [0161]) by a chuck (26, [0176-00178]) and detaching, by the transport member, the transfer member by releasing the chuck ([0161-0268]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ebbecke with that of Sunaga856 so that adsorbing, by a transport member, a transfer member by a chuck and detaching, by the transport member, the transfer member by releasing the chuck for efficiently transferring a transport object element such as an element using the stamp tool (Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Ebbecke 6teaches wherein the transfer member includes: a stamp layer that has adhesiveness or stickiness (fig. 1-2); and a base layer that is disposed on a surface of the stamp layer, and is formed of a material that transmits laser light (fig. 1-2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunaga856, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US patent 6,150194), hereinafter referred to as Sakaguchi.
Regarding claim 13, Sunaga856 discloses all the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Sunaga856 does not explicitly teach further comprising: rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding of the light-emitting elements onto the circuit substrate is complete.
Sakaguchi teaches further comprising: rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding onto the circuit substrate is complete (line 20-27 of col. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sunaga856 with that of Sakaguchi so that further comprising: rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding of the light-emitting elements onto the circuit substrate is complete because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding of the light-emitting elements onto the circuit substrate is complete would have yield predictable results. The claimed limitation would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebbecke in view of Sunaga856, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US patent 6,150194), hereinafter referred to as Sakaguchi.
Regarding claim 13, Ebbecke and Sunaga856 disclose all the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Ebbecke and Sunaga856 do not explicitly teach further comprising: rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding of the light-emitting elements onto the circuit substrate is complete.
Sakaguchi teaches further comprising: rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding onto the circuit substrate is complete (line 20-27 of col. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sunaga856 with that of Ebbecke and Sakaguchi so that further comprising: rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding of the light-emitting elements onto the circuit substrate is complete because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that rinsing off a flux from the circuit substrate in case that the bonding of the light-emitting elements onto the circuit substrate is complete would have yield predictable results. The claimed limitation would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims contain limitations that none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897