DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: airflow regulation apparatus in claim 1; connecting rod mechanism in claim 4; and actuation mechanism in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the further housing" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Since claims 10-12depend upon an indefinite claim, those claims are construed to be indefinite by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kurie (US 5,395,029).
Kurie discloses an air nozzle 16, 16’ (Figs. 3, 7), comprising: a housing 18, 18’; and an airflow regulation apparatus 76, 76’,152; wherein the housing 18, 18’ comprises a target air outlet 74, 74’, 154 and an air inlet 64, 64’ (Figs. 3, 7), an air flow enters the housing through the air inlet 64, 64’ and leaves the housing 18, 18’ through the target air outlet 74, 74’, 154; wherein an airflow regulation apparatus 76, 78, 76’, 78’, 160, 162 is located at the target air outlet 74, 74’, 154 and capable of moving between a first position (Figs. 4, 7, slide baffle plates 76, 76’, 160 at full closed position) and a second position (Figs. 4, 7, slide baffle plates 76, 76’, 160 at full open position); and wherein the airflow regulation apparatus 76, 78, 76’, 78’, 160, 162 exerts a greater resistance against the air flow in the first position than the airflow regulation apparatus exerts against the air flow in the second position. Wherein the target air outlet 154 is located at both ends of the housing 18’ along a length direction Y of the housing 18’ (Fig. 8). Wherein the further housing comprises: two side plates 20a, 20b and two end plates 56, 58 (Figs. 2-3); wherein the two end plates 56, 58 are respectively located at two ends of the two side plates 20a, 20b, the two end plates 56, 58 are both connected to the two side plates 20a, 20b, and for each of the side plates 20a, 20b, two ends of the side plate are connected to different end plates 56, 58 (Figs. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-10, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (CN 217017273 U) in view of Kurie (US 5,395,029).
With regard to claim 1, Zhong et al. discloses an air nozzle 1, comprising: a housing 13; and an airflow regulation apparatus 2; wherein the housing 13 comprises a target air outlet 12, and an air inlet 11 (Fig. 1), an air flow enters the housing through the air inlet 11 and leaves the housing 13 through the target air outlet 12; wherein an airflow regulation apparatus 2 is capable of moving between a first position (Fig. 1, plate 22 at horizontal position) and a second position (Fig. 1, plate 22 rotates to a vertical position); and wherein the airflow regulation apparatus 2 exerts a greater resistance against the air flow in the first position than the airflow regulation apparatus 2 exerts against the air flow in the second position. Zhong et al. discloses all that is recited in claim 1 except for the airflow regulation apparatus is located at the target air outlet. Kurie discloses an air nozzle 16, 16’ comprising an airflow regulation apparatus 76, 78, 76’, 78’, 160, 162 located at the target air outlet 74, 74’, 154 (Figs. 4, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air nozzle of Zhong et al. to position the air regulation apparatus at the target air outlet as taught by Kurie in order to locate the air regulation apparatus closer to the target air outlet to efficiently regulate the airflow discharged from the nozzle outlet.
With regard to claim 2, Zhong et al. discloses wherein the airflow regulation apparatus 2 comprises: a rotating rod 21 rotatably connected to the housing (Figs. 4-5); and a blade 22, wherein the blade 22 is connected to the rotating rod 21, and the rotating rod 21 is able to drive the blade 22 to rotate. The air nozzle of Zhong et al. as modified by Kurie as above would show blade 22 located at the target air outlet.
With regard to claim 3, Zhong et al. discloses wherein the airflow regulation apparatus 2 further comprises at least two rotating rods 21 parallel to each other (Fig. 4), and each of the rotating rods 21 is connected to at least one blade 22 (Fig. 4).
With regard to claim 4, Zhong et al. discloses wherein the airflow regulation apparatus 2 further comprises two rotating rods 21, the two rotating rods 21 being arranged along a width direction X of the housing (Fig. 4); and wherein the air nozzle further comprises: a connecting rod mechanism 23, wherein two ends of the connecting rod mechanism 23 are each fixedly connected to one rotating rod 21 (Figs. 4-5).
With regard to claim 5, Zhong et al. discloses wherein the nozzle further comprises: an actuation mechanism 211 connected to the rotating rod 21 (Figs. 4-7).
With regard to claim 7, Kurie discloses a blade 160 is slidably connected to a rotating rod 88’, and a sliding direction of the blade is parallel to the length direction Y of the housing (Figs. 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the air nozzle of Zhong et al. to slidably connect the blade to the rotating rod and a sliding direction of the blade is parallel to the length direction Y of the housing as taught by Kurie in order to efficiently control the airflow.
With regard to claim 9, Zhong et al. discloses two side plates 13 (Fig. 1) and two end plates (Fig. 3, not numbered); wherein two end plates are both connected to the two side plates, and for each of the side plates, two ends of the side plate are connected to different end plates (Fig. 3). Kurie also discloses wherein the two end plates 56, 58 are respectively located at two ends of the two side plates 20a, 20b, the two end plates 56, 58 are both connected to the two side plates 20a, 20b, and for each of the side plates 20a, 20b, two ends of the side plate are connected to different end plates 56, 58 (Figs. 2-3).
With regard to claim 10, Kurie discloses the air nozzle 16, 16’ is in trapezoidal shape (Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the air nozzle of Zhong et al. to have a trapezoidal shape as taught by Kurie in order to obtain a desired airflow result of a trapezoidal shaped air nozzle.
With regard to claim 13, Zhong et al. discloses an oven (paragraph [0013]) comprising the air nozzle. Zhong et al. as modified by Kurie discloses an air nozzle as claimed in claim 1 (see above)
With regard to claim 14, Zhong et al. discloses a coating system (paragraph [0013]), comprising the oven according to claim 13.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (CN 217017273 U) in view of Kurie (US 5,395,029) as applied to claim 9 as above, and further in view of Krieger (US 4,837,947).
The air nozzle of Zhong et al. as modified by Kurie as above includes all that is recited in claim 11 except for the air inlet is located on the two side plates. Krieger discloses an air nozzle D comprising two side plates 10 and air inlet 14 located on the two side plates 10 (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the air nozzle of Zhong et al. to locate the air inlet on the two side plates as taught by Krieger in order to provide a uniform, stable and low-loss air flow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for allowance of claims 6, 7, 12 is the inclusion of the limitations “a second connecting rod extending in a second direction, wherein the second direction intersects with the first direction; a first steering gear connected to the first connecting rod and the second connecting rod; and a second steering gear connected to the second connecting rod and the rotating rod” in claim 6; “for each of the side plates, along an arrangement direction of the two end plate, the number of air inlets in a middle part of the side plate is larger than the number of air inlets at either end of the side plate” in claim 12 in combination with the remaining claimed elements.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY