DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Double Patenting rejection, this will be held in abeyance until they remain the sole remaining rejection in the application.
With respect to Claim 1, Applicants argue that the prior art combination of Seo and Vincent fails to teach wherein "first and second metal layer, the first metal layer position closer to the device side than the second metal layer and coupled to the second metal layer by way of a via". In order to make more clear the rejection, please see Figure 10 annotated below and note that the first and second metal layers are the entire layers of element 130 as indicated above and that the first layer 130 is closer to the device side than the second layer 130, and 130 are all metal layers (they contain metallization)
With respect to Claim 6, Applicants argue that the prior art does not teach wherein a distance between the first metal layer and the lateral surface is smaller than the distance between the via and the lateral surface. This is not found to be persuasive since the first metal layer adjoins the lateral surface and the via's do not and as such are farther away as illustrated in Figure 10.
With respect to Claim 7, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 of copending Application No. 18/459,174 (reference application) US Pub 2025/0079282. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Pertaining to claim 1: Claim 1 entirely overlaps in scope with claim 1 of the reference application. The only difference is the inclusion of additional limitations found in the reference application.
Pertaining to claim 3: Claim 3 is the same as claim 6 of the reference application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al US 2017/0148699 and further in view of Vincent et al US 2015/0380386.
Pertaining to claim 1, Seo teaches a semiconductor package, comprising:
a semiconductor die 120 having a device side including circuitry formed therein see Figure 10 marked up below;
a substrate facing and coupled to the device side see Figure 10 below, the substrate including:
first and second metal layers, the first metal layer positioned closer to the device side than the second metal layer and coupled to the second metal layer by way of a via see Figure 10 marked up below; and
a dielectric 130 contacting at least part of the first and second metal layers and the via; and
a mold compound 110 covering the semiconductor die 120 and the substrate (all elements 130 together see figure 10 marked up below),
wherein the package includes a lateral surface approximately perpendicular to the first and second metal layers of the substrate See Figure 10, and wherein the mold compound and the dielectric are exposed to the lateral surface, a segment (portion of dielectric immediately adjacent to metal elements) of the dielectric 130 positioned between the first metal layer and the lateral surface, the segment of the dielectric 130 contacting the mold compound at the lateral surface See Figure 10 marked up below.
Seo does not teach wherein the second metal layer is exposed to the lateral surface. Vincent teaches a device with an encapsulated chip mounted on a substrate with metal layers, the metal layers exposed to a lateral surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the teaching of Vincent into the invention of Seo for the purpose of providing lateral side contacts to external devices as taught by Vincent Figure 1 element 28 (provided below) note that what is being relied upon by Vincent is only the exposed metal layer in the substrate with external connection and nothing else. Providing lateral side contacts would be a design choice made by the ordinary artisan. When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR Int'l Co v. Teleflex Inc.
Pertaining to claim 3, Seo in view of Vincent teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the dielectric includes AJINOMOTO® Build-up Film (ABF). [0082] of Seo
Pertaining to claim 4, Seo in view of Vincent teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a second segment of the dielectric is positioned between the via and the lateral surface. See Seo Figure 10 marked up below
Pertaining to claim 6, Seo in view of Vincent teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a distance between the first metal layer and the lateral surface is smaller than a distance between the via and the lateral surface. See Figure 10 of Seo marked up above in the rejection of Claim 1
Pertaining to claim 7, Seo in view of Vincent teaches the semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein an entire boundary between the mold compound and the dielectric lacks delamination. There is no delamination mentioned by Seo or Vincent in their structures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 8-17 are allowed
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Pertaining to claim 5, the prior art does not teach nor suggest wherein a distance between the via and the lateral surface is at least 125 microns. The applicant’s specification teaches that this dimension is a critical dimension for inhibiting delamination.
Pertaining to claim 8, the prior art does not teach nor suggest wherein a conductive component between the second metal layer and a bottom surface of the substrate is exposed to the lateral surface. The prior art cited teaches only one exposed metal layer (Vincent) and would not suggest an additional exposed metal layer in the relationship as claimed.
Pertaining to claim 9, the prior art does not teach nor suggest a first metal layer of the stack closer to the device side than a second metal layer of the stack, the second metal layer closer to the device side than a third metal layer of the stack; and a dielectric contacting at least part of the at least three metal layers and the via; and a mold compound covering the semiconductor die and the substrate, wherein the package includes a lateral surface approximately perpendicular to the first metal layer, wherein the first and second metal layers are offset from the lateral surface by at least 100 microns, and wherein the dielectric contacts the mold compound at the lateral surface
Note: Prior art US Pub 2019/0221446 is an example of the state of the art for inhibiting delamination in edges of a separated semiconductor package.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817