DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 10, 14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liposky et al. (US 2019/0097204) as cited in IDS dated 4/26/24 in view of Harris (US 12,107,292).
Regarding claim 1, Liposky discloses a battery (multi-core lithium ion battery 100, Figs. 1-3, [0049]-[0051]), comprising: a battery cell(110, Fig. 1, [0053]); a support configured to support the battery cell(electrochemical units positioned within the cylindrical regions defined in the support structure 106, Fig. 1, [0052]); and a box configured to accommodate the support and the battery cell (casing 102 with top cover 120 and bottom cover, Fig. 1, [0051]); wherein the support separates the box into a first chamber (where only the battery cells extending from the support are arranged in Fig. 1), and a second chamber (where the support is arranged in the box in Fig. 1); the first chamber is configured to accommodate a first portion of the battery cell, and the first portion is provided with a pressure relief mechanism(the vent assembly 200 and the pressure disconnect device assembly (PDD) 300 generally communicated with the shared atmosphere region 123 to facilitate safe operation of lithium ion battery 100 and the shared atmosphere region 123 is defined “above” the electrochemical units, i.e., in a shared volume or region to which each of the electrochemical units is able to vent as/when appropriate based on internal conditions [0067], Fig. 1); and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when internal pressure of the battery cell reaches a threshold to release the internal pressure([0082]), the second chamber is configured to accommodate a second portion of the battery cell (portions of electrochemical units positioned within the cylindrical regions defined in the support structure 106, Fig. 1, [0052]) but does not explicitly disclose a binder, and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder.
Harris teaches a battery module (100, Fig. 1A) includes a thermal conductive housing(102, Fig. 1A); a plurality of cells arranged within the housing(104, Fig. 1A); and a non-conductive (electrically insulated) bottom cell holder(106, Fig. 1A), arranged between the plurality of cells and the housing(Fig. 1). Harris teaches the adhesive holds bottom of each cell to the housing, as well as a surface of the cell along a length of the cell, thereby providing additional holding strength of the plurality of cells to the housing, against lateral forces(Col. 5, lines 9-13). Harris teaches the second chamber is configured to accommodate a second portion of the battery cell (Fig. 2C) and a binder(adhesive 128, Fig. 3), and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Liposky with a binder, and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder as taught by Harris in order to provide additional holding strength of the plurality of cells to the housing against lateral forces.
Regarding claim 2, modified Liposky discloses the support is provided with a first opening(Harris, see channels 122 in Figs. 2A, 2B, Fig. 3), the first opening communicates with the second chamber, and the first opening is configured for injecting the binder into the second chamber(Harris, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Liposky discloses the support is provided with a binder damper structure, the binder damper structure is configured to prevent the binder in the second chamber from entering the first chamber(Harris, sidewalls 120, Figs. 2A-2C and 3).
Regarding claim 6, modified Liposky discloses the support comprises a first wall(Harris, see bottom of bottom cell holder 106 in Fig. 1A), a second opening is provided in the first wall(Harris, see cell holder positions 108 in Fig. 2A), and the battery cell passes through the second opening, with the first portion and the second portion being located on two sides of the second opening, receptively(Harris, Fig. 2C).
Regarding claim 9, modified Liposky does not explicitly disclose the first wall is perpendicular to a bottom wall of the box.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the first wall is perpendicular to a bottom wall of the box since the relocation would not impact the operation of the battery as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 10, modified Liposky discloses the first portion is further provided with an electrode terminal(Liposky, 404, Fig. 7 , [0061]), the electrode terminal is electrically connected to a busbar(Liposky, 116, Fig. 1, [0061]), and the first chamber is further configured to accommodate the busbar(Liposky, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Liposky discloses the battery cell is a cylindrical battery cell(Liposky, Fig. 7), the first portion comprises an end surface of the cylindrical battery cell(Liposky, Fig. 1), and the pressure relief mechanism is provided on the end surface of the cylindrical battery cell(Liposky [0067]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Liposky discloses an electric device, comprising the battery according to claim 1, wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy(Liposky [0005]-[0006], [0107]).
Regarding claim 17, Liposky discloses a method for manufacturing a battery(multi-core lithium ion battery 100, Figs. 1-3, [0039], [0049]-[0051]), comprising: providing a battery cell (110, Fig. 1, [0053]); providing a support, wherein the support is configured to support the battery cell (electrochemical units positioned within the cylindrical regions defined in the support structure 106, Fig. 1, [0052]); and providing a box, wherein the box is configured to accommodate the support and the battery cell (casing 102 with top cover 120 and bottom cover, Fig. 1, [0051]); wherein the support separates the box into a first chamber (where only the battery cells extending from the support are arranged in Fig. 1) and a second chamber (where the support is arranged in the box in Fig. 1); the first chamber is configured to accommodate a first portion of the battery cell, the first portion is provided with a pressure relief mechanism (the vent assembly 200 and the pressure disconnect device assembly (PDD) 300 generally communicated with the shared atmosphere region 123 to facilitate safe operation of lithium ion battery 100 and the shared atmosphere region 123 is defined “above” the electrochemical units, i.e., in a shared volume or region to which each of the electrochemical units is able to vent as/when appropriate based on internal conditions [0067], Fig. 1); and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when internal pressure of the battery cell reaches a threshold to release the internal pressure ([0082]), the second chamber is configured to accommodate a second portion of the battery cell (portions of electrochemical units positioned within the cylindrical regions defined in the support structure 106, Fig. 1, [0052]) but does not explicitly disclose a binder, and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder.
Harris teaches a battery module (100, Fig. 1A) includes a thermal conductive housing(102, Fig. 1A); a plurality of cells arranged within the housing(104, Fig. 1A); and a non-conductive (electrically insulated) bottom cell holder(106, Fig. 1A), arranged between the plurality of cells and the housing(Fig. 1). Harris teaches the adhesive holds bottom of each cell to the housing, as well as a surface of the cell along a length of the cell, thereby providing additional holding strength of the plurality of cells to the housing, against lateral forces(Col. 5, lines 9-13). Harris teaches the second chamber is configured to accommodate a second portion of the battery cell (Fig. 2C) and a binder(adhesive 128, Fig. 3), and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Liposky with a binder, and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder as taught by Harris in order to provide additional holding strength of the plurality of cells to the housing against lateral forces.
Regarding claim 18, Liposky discloses a device for manufacturing a battery(multi-core lithium ion battery 100, Figs. 1-3, [0039], [0049]-[0051]), comprising: a first provision module configured to provide a battery cell(110, Fig. 1, [0053]); a second provision module configured to provide a support, wherein the support is configured to support the battery cell (electrochemical units positioned within the cylindrical regions defined in the support structure 106, Fig. 1, [0052]); and a third provision module configured to provide a box(casing 102 with top cover 120 and bottom cover, Fig. 1, [0051]); wherein the box is configured to accommodate the support and the battery cell([0051]); wherein the support separates the box into a first chamber(where only the battery cells extending from the support are arranged in Fig. 1) and a second chamber(where the support is arranged in the box in Fig. 1); the first chamber is configured to accommodate a first portion of the battery cell, the first portion is provided with a pressure relief mechanism(the vent assembly 200 and the pressure disconnect device assembly (PDD) 300 generally communicated with the shared atmosphere region 123 to facilitate safe operation of lithium ion battery 100 and the shared atmosphere region 123 is defined “above” the electrochemical units, i.e., in a shared volume or region to which each of the electrochemical units is able to vent as/when appropriate based on internal conditions [0067], Fig. 1); and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when internal pressure of the battery cell reaches a threshold to release the internal pressure ([0082]), the second chamber is configured to accommodate a second portion of the battery cell (portions of electrochemical units positioned within the cylindrical regions defined in the support structure 106, Fig. 1, [0052]) but does not explicitly disclose a binder, and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder.
Harris teaches a battery module (100, Fig. 1A) includes a thermal conductive housing(102, Fig. 1A); a plurality of cells arranged within the housing(104, Fig. 1A); and a non-conductive (electrically insulated) bottom cell holder(106, Fig. 1A), arranged between the plurality of cells and the housing(Fig. 1). Harris teaches the adhesive holds bottom of each cell to the housing, as well as a surface of the cell along a length of the cell, thereby providing additional holding strength of the plurality of cells to the housing, against lateral forces(Col. 5, lines 9-13). Harris teaches the second chamber is configured to accommodate a second portion of the battery cell (Fig. 2C) and a binder(adhesive 128, Fig. 3), and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder (Fig. 3, Col. 4, lines 55-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Liposky with a binder, and in the second chamber, the second portion, the support, and the box are fixedly connected through the binder as taught by Harris in order to provide additional holding strength of the plurality of cells to the housing against lateral forces.
6. Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liposky et al. (US 2019/0097204) as cited in IDS dated 4/26/24 in view of Harris (US 12,107,292) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Zeiler et al. (US 2005/0055795).
Regarding claim 4, modified Liposky does not explicitly disclose the binder damper structure is a first limiting slot, a first limiting strip corresponding to the first limiting slot is provided on the inner surface of a wall of the box, and the first limiting strip is stuck into the first limiting slot, so as to prevent the binder in the second chamber from entering the first chamber.
Zeiler teaches an electrical component comprising: a housing defining a passageway; a motor supported by the housing, the motor being selectively electrically connectable with a power source; a fan connected to the motor and operable to generate an airflow through the passageway; a hose connected to the housing, the hose being in fluid communication with the passageway such that the airflow passes through the hose, the hose being manipulatable by a user; a battery connected to the housing, the battery being electrically connectable with the motor such that power is selectively transferred between the battery and the motor (claim 13). Zeiler teaches the housing includes a support portion having a housing projection and a housing groove, wherein the battery includes a battery support portion having a battery projection and a battery groove, the battery projection being engageable with the housing groove, and the housing projection being engageable with the battery groove to connect the battery to the housing(claim 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery of modified Liposky with the structure is a first limiting slot, a first limiting strip corresponding to the first limiting slot is provided on the inner surface of a wall of the box, and the first limiting strip is stuck into the first limiting slot as taught by Zeiler as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143. It is noted that the claim has “intended use” language such as “ to prevent the binder in the second chamber from entering the first chamber”, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding claim 5, modified Liposky discloses a second limiting strip corresponding to the first limiting strip is further provided on the inner surface of the wall of the box, the first limiting strip and the second limiting strip form a second limiting slot, and one of side walls of the first limiting slot is stuck into the second limiting slot (Zeiler, claim 15). It is noted that the claim has “intended use” language such as “ to prevent the binder in the second chamber from entering the first chamber”, and it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
7. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liposky et al. (US 2019/0097204) as cited in IDS dated 4/26/24 in view of Harris (US 12,107,292) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watanabe (US 2013/0209866).
Regarding claim 13, modified Liposky does not explicitly disclose a first buckle is provided on the support, and a second buckle is provided on a side wall of the box, the first buckle and the second buckle cooperate with each other to secure the support in the box.
Watanabe teaches a battery pack lock structure, and an electronic apparatus([0001]). Watanabe teaches a battery lock member (50) has a first inclined surface that permits sliding of the battery lock member (50) in such a way that an operation of housing the battery pack (12) in the battery pack housing (33) causes an engagement protrusion (32), which is formed to protrude from a side face of the battery pack (12), to slide in contact with the first inclined surface, thereby releasing the locking, and a second inclined surface that permits sliding of the battery lock member (50) in such a way that an operation of attaching a battery lid (11) to a battery lid holder (43) causes a depression protrusion (31), which is formed to protrude from the bottom face of the battery lid (11), to slide in contact with the second inclined surface, thereby achieving the locking(abstract, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the battery of modified Liposky with a first buckle is provided on the support, and a second buckle is provided on a side wall of the box, the first buckle and the second buckle cooperate with each other to secure the support in the box as taught by Watanabe as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
8. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liposky et al. (US 2019/0097204) as cited in IDS dated 4/26/24 in view of Harris (US 12,107,292) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kugino et al. (CN107210401A) with citations from machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding claim 15, modified Liposky does not explicitly disclose a profiling structure is provided on the inner surface of a bottom wall of the box, the profiling structure is located in the second chamber, a surface of the profiling structure facing toward the second portion is attached to the second portion, and the profiling structure is configured to fill a space between the second portion and the bottom wall of the box.
Kugino teaches a storage unit (10, Figs. 1 and 2) in which multiple individual batteries (12, Fig. 11) are packed into a unit box (11, Figs. 1-3) to form a storage system for storing electricity ([0002]). Kugino teaches a profiling structure is provided on the inner surface of a bottom wall of the box(see rectangular bottom cover 21, Fig. 3), the profiling structure is located in the second chamber (see middle frame 22 which supports batteries 12 in Figs. 3 and 13), a surface of the profiling structure facing toward the second portion is attached to the second portion, and the profiling structure is configured to fill a space between the second portion and the bottom wall of the box(middle frame 22 is installed on the bottom cover 21, Fig. 3, [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of modified Liposky with a profiling structure is provided on the inner surface of a bottom wall of the box, the profiling structure is located in the second chamber, a surface of the profiling structure facing toward the second portion is attached to the second portion, and the profiling structure is configured to fill a space between the second portion and the bottom wall of the box as taught by Kugino as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the battery cell comprises two first portions, and the support further comprises a second wall opposite the first wall; and a third opening is provided in the second wall, and the battery cell passes through the second opening and the third opening, with the second portion being located between the second opening and the third opening, and the two first portions being located on two sides of the second portion, receptively.
In the instant invention, the second opening and/or the third opening is provided with an enclosing structure, where the enclosing structure is perpendicular to the first wall or second wall and extends towards the outside of the support, and the enclosing structure is configured to support the battery cell([0019], Figs. 2 and 3, US 2023/0344059).
Liposky does not disclose, teach or render obvious the battery cell comprises two first portions, and the support further comprises a second wall opposite the first wall; and a third opening is provided in the second wall, and the battery cell passes through the second opening and the third opening, with the second portion being located between the second opening and the third opening, and the two first portions being located on two sides of the second portion, receptively.
10. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
11. Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In particular, the allowable limitation is further comprising: a circuit board assembly,
wherein the busbar is provided on the circuit board assembly, and the first chamber is further configured to accommodate the circuit board assembly; and wherein the circuit board assembly is provided with a through hole, the support is provided with a limiting post, and the limiting post cooperates with the through hole to limit the circuit board assembly.
In the instant invention, the battery further includes a circuit board assembly, where the busbar is disposed on the circuit board assembly, the first chamber is further configured to accommodate the circuit board assembly, the circuit board assembly is provided with a through hole, the support is provided with a limiting post, and the limiting post cooperates with the through hole to limit the circuit board assembly, so as to avoid deflection of the circuit board assembly within the first chamber([0023], Fig. 2).
Liposky discloses the busbar (116, Fig. 1) but does not disclose, teach or render obvious a circuit board assembly, wherein the busbar is provided on the circuit board assembly, and the first chamber is further configured to accommodate the circuit board assembly; and wherein the circuit board assembly is provided with a through hole, the support is provided with a limiting post, and the limiting post cooperates with the through hole to limit the circuit board assembly.
12. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724