DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US Pub. 2016/0049176).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, LEE teaches a wafer level chip scale package with a rhombus shape comprising:
a semiconductor chip 15-1 with a rhombus shape (Fig. 1-2 & Para [0049]); and
a solder ball array comprising a plurality of solder balls formed on one surface (e.g. bottom surface) of the semiconductor chip 15-1 (see unlabeled solder balls in Fig. 2),
Though LEE teaches a rhombus-shape chip, however, LEE is silent on wherein
among four interior angles (V1-V4) of the semiconductor chip 15-1, two of the four interior angles facing each other in a short diagonal direction are approximately 120°, and two of the four interior angles facing each other in a long diagonal direction are approximately 60°. LEE teaches in Para [0049] wherein the semiconductor chip 15-1 is of rhombus shape, and rhombus shape is widely known to have internal angles of 90° or other angular dimensions of approximately 120° and 60° that are among the most obvious rhombus angle dimensions. As such, one of the ordinary skill being one of the ordinary creativity would have found it obvious to employ the claim angle dimensions of 120° and 60° for a rhombus-shape chip to optimize the area of semiconductor chip). Notwithstanding, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, LEE teaches the wafer level chip scale package of claim 1, wherein separation distances between adjacent solder balls constituting the solder ball array are the same (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, LEE teaches the wafer level chip scale package of claim 2, wherein the semiconductor chip 15-1 has a planar shape formed by two equilateral triangles, and the plurality of solder balls constituting the solder ball array are symmetrically arranged on the one surface of the semiconductor chip with respect to a short diagonal and a long diagonal of the semiconductor chip (Fig. 1-2, also see Fig. 5-Fig. 7b).
Regarding claim 4, LEE teaches the wafer level chip scale package of claim 3, wherein a triangle formed by three line segments connecting three center points of three of the solder balls that are adjacent to each other is equilateral (LEE teaches solder balls on the bottom surface of chip 15-1, note solder balls 37 and the unlabeled solder balls under chip 15 toward the center of the bottom surface, in Fig. 1-2 (follow the trajectory of line A-A in Fig. 1). Given the rhombus shape of chip 15-1, a triangle is formed by three line segments connecting three center points of three of the solder balls that are adjacent to each other is equilateral). However, if it is determined that LEE does not teach solder balls.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that LEE teaches a rhombus-shaped chip that does not meet the claim angle dimensions of 120° for the two short diagonal direction and 60° for the two long diagonal direction. While LEE discloses that the rhombus-shaped chip can be a square or the internal angles of 90° (Para [0094]; however, Lee does not preclude the use of other rhombus shapes for the semiconductor chip (see Para [0095]). The Examiner would like to point out that the use of 120° for the two short diagonal direction and 60° for the two long diagonal direction would have required ordinary skill in view of LEE through routine experimentation as said angle dimensions are among the most widely known rhombus dimensions. Though not relied upon in the rejection; however, Li et al provide evidence of the widely known usage of the claim angle dimensions of 120° and 60° for a rhombus-shaped chip/die (see Fig. 1-2 and Para [0077 & 0090]). As such, the arguments is not found to be persuasive
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818