DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8 (line 4) and claim 16 (lines 3-4), “the ground assembly” lacks proper antecedent basis (note that a ground assembly is not recited in claim 1 or claim 11). Claims 8 and 16 have been interpreted so as to refer to a ground assembly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2013/0214738 A1) in view of Bonsch et al (US 2022/0161670 A1) and Pathipati (US 2022/0379760 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 19, Chen et al teaches (see Fig. 11) a modular infrastructure device and method (charger 70, components of the charger can be considered modules) for electric vehicle (EV) charging, the infrastructure device comprising: a common communications and control module (system controller 731 and data transmission device 72) (Note, for claim 19, the system controller 731 can be considered a common meter/power module, since the system controller 731 meters/controls power output to the charging modules) that can be connected to individual charging modules (couplers 711, 712, 713, 71n); one or more AC charging modules (coupler 711, using SAE J1772, see paras. 0016, 0046, 0100); one or more DC charging modules (coupler 713 or 71n, using Chinese GB or CHAdeMO, respectively, see paras. 0016, 0046, 0100); wherein the common communications and control module is individually coupled to the one or more AC charging modules (as shown in Fig. 11), the one or more DC charging modules (as shown in Fig. 11) such that the infrastructure device communicates with an EV using power line communications via a protocol or several protocols (at least the J1772 protocol uses power line carrier (PLC) technology to communicate with the EV, see para. 0016, and claim 3).
Chen et al does not specifically teach that the infrastructure device is field upgradable; and that the the AC and DC charging modules provided as internal or external pluggable devices.
Bonsch et al teaches a modular and field upgradable (see paras. 0012 and 0033) infrastructure device (see Figs. 1-4) for EV charging, including AC and DC (see paras. 0012 and 0033) charging modules (20) provided as internal or external pluggable devices (as shown in Figs. 2-4, module 20 plugs into base 10).
In view of the teachings of Bonsch et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al, that the infrastructure device is field upgradable; and that the the AC and DC charging modules provided as internal or external pluggable devices, since Bonsch et al teaches that this allows service personnel or even users who are not trained electricians to exchange the module (20) for the purposes of servicing, repair, or implementing a different charging technology (see paras. 0012 and 0033).
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al does not specifically teach one or more wireless charging modules as internal or external pluggable devices; and the common communications and control module is individually coupled to the one or more wireless charging modules.
Pathipati teaches (see Figs. 1A and 1B; paras. 0013-0017) an infrastructure device (100) for EV charging including a wireless charging module (wireless charging adapter 108) provided as an external pluggable device (the wireless charging adapter 108 plugs into DC fast charger plug 106), and the wireless charging module is in communication with a common communication and control module (the wireless charging adapter 108 may communicate with EV 102 and charger 104, see paras. 0013 and 0021).
In view of the teachings of Pathipati, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, one or more wireless charging modules as internal or external pluggable devices, and the common communications and control module is individually coupled to the one or more wireless charging modules; since this would provide compatibility with EVs using wireless charging (see paras. 0013-0014). Upon combining Pathipati with Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, would recognize that the wireless charging module could be made compatible with the modules of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, in a manner similar to the pluggable modules of Bonsch et al.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati teaches the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the one or more AC charging modules, the one or more DC charging modules and the one or more wireless charging modules can be added or replaced or can be upgraded by a customer in a field (see paras. 0012 and 0033 of Bonsch et al) without the need to replace a base chassis (base 10), a ground assembly (a ground assembly is necessarily present, for safety) and without the need to change a grid connectivity such that certain locations can benefit from future upgrades (see paras. 0012 and 0033 of Bonsch et al) from pure AC charging or pure DC charging to a combination of DC, AC and Wireless (as described above, the combination of Chen et al, Bonsch et al and Pathipati would result in user replaceable AC, DC and wireless charging modules, without the need to change any other electrical connections of the infrastructure device).
Regarding claim 6 and 15, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati teaches the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, as discussed above.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati does not specifically teach: wherein a wireless charging module of the one or more wireless charging modules comprises a DC/DC component.
However, it was old and well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to utilize a DC/DC component in order to provide an appropriate DC voltage level for control electronics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati, wherein a wireless charging module of the one or more wireless charging modules comprises a DC/DC component, in order to provide an appropriate DC voltage level for control electronics of the wireless charging module (for example, the control electronics included in the current adjuster 112 of the wireless charging module of Pathipati, see Fig. 1B).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati teaches the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 6 and method of claim 11, wherein the wireless charging module provides a power and communications from a wireless power transmitter (the wireless charging module provides a power and communications from the wireless power transmitter, in accordance with the specific wireless power standard used).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati teaches the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the one or more AC charging modules are connected to AC cables (the J1772 standard provides AC cables), the one or more DC charging modules are connected to either one or two DC cables (the Chinese GB or CHAdeMO standards provide DC cables), and the one or more wireless charging modules are connected to a ground assembly (a ground assembly is necessarily present in the electrical system, for safety and code compliance).
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati teaches the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, wherein the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device is an Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) (see paras. 0045 and 0046 of Chen et al).
5. Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2013/0214738 A1) in view of Bonsch et al (US 2022/0161670 A1), and Pathipati (US 2022/0379760 A1), further in view of Tremblay et al (US 2013/0169227 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the teachings of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati as applied to the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 1, and method of claim 11, have been discussed above.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati does not specifically teach: wherein an AC charging module of the one or more AC charging modules comprises a safety controller, an AC relay and a first meter, wherein the AC charging module provides an AC output including a power and communications.
Tremblay et al teaches (see Figs. 6B and 15B) a modular and field upgradable infrastructure device for EV charging, including an AC charging module (Fig 15B shows module 30 including a J1772 connector, which can provide AC charging), wherein an AC charging module (30) of the one or more AC charging modules comprises a safety controller (control card 30b), an AC relay (switch 31) and a first meter (GFCI coil and meter coil), wherein the AC charging module provides an AC output including a power and communications (the J1772 standard provides AC output including power and communications) (see paras. 0111, 0114, and 0115).
In view of the teachings of Tremblay et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the AC charging module of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati, wherein an AC charging module of the one or more AC charging modules comprises a safety controller, an AC relay and a first meter, wherein the AC charging module provides an AC output including a power and communications, in order to provide increased safety and reduce the chance of electric shock.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 9, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2013/0214738 A1) in view of Bonsch et al (US 2022/0161670 A1), and Pathipati (US 2022/0379760 A1), further in view of Grabl (US 2021/0094429 A1).
The teachings of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati as applied to the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 1 and method of claim 11, have been discussed above.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati does not specifically teach: wherein a DC charging module of the one or more DC charging modules comprises an AC/DC component controlled by a digital signal processor (DSP) and a second meter.
Grabl teaches a modular infrastructure device (10) for EV charging, including a DC charging module comprising an AC/DC component (AC/DC converter 16, see Fig. 3).
In view of the teachings of Grabl, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the DC charging module of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati, wherein a DC charging module of the one or more DC charging modules comprises an AC/DC component, since AC/DC components are commonly used to provide a desired DC voltage output.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, and Grabl does not specifically teach: the AC/DC component is controlled by a digital signal processor (DSP) and a second meter.
However, it was old and well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to control an AC/DC component using a digital signal processor and a meter, in order to provide efficient and safe operation of the AC/DC component at the desired voltage and current levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, and Grabl, the AC/DC component is controlled by a digital signal processor (DSP) and a second meter, in order to provide efficient and safe operation of the AC/DC component at the desired voltage and current levels.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, and Grabl teaches the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 4 and method of claim 11, wherein the DC charging module provides a DC output including a power and communications (the connector of the DC charging module provides a DC output including a power and communications, in accordance with the specific charging standard used).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati does not specifically teach: wherein multiple DC modules of the one or more DC charging modules are in place, a matrix allows sharing power between DC blocks.
Grabl teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein multiple DC modules (Fig. 3 shows multiple AC/DC 16 converters and multiple charging interfaces 13a-13c) of the one or more DC charging modules are in place, a matrix (switching unit 17) allows sharing power between DC blocks (see paras. 0041-0044).
In view of the teachings of Grabl, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati, wherein multiple DC modules of the one or more DC charging modules are in place, a matrix allows sharing power between DC blocks, in order to allow sequential charging of EVs connected to the charging interfaces.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2013/0214738 A1) in view of Bonsch et al (US 2022/0161670 A1), and Pathipati (US 2022/0379760 A1), further in view of Tremblay et al (US 2013/0169227 A1) and Grabl (US 2021/0094429 A1).
Regarding claim 20, the teachings of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati as applied to the modular and field upgradable infrastructure device of claim 19, have been discussed above.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati does not specifically teach: wherein an AC charging module of the one or more AC charging modules comprises a safety controller, an AC relay and a first meter, wherein the AC charging module provides an AC output including a power and communications.
Tremblay et al teaches (see Figs. 6B and 15B) a modular and field upgradable infrastructure device for EV charging, including an AC charging module (Fig 15B shows module 30 including a J1772 connector, which can provide AC charging), wherein an AC charging module (30) of the one or more AC charging modules comprises a safety controller (control card 30b), an AC relay (switch 31) and a first meter (GFCI coil and meter coil), wherein the AC charging module provides an AC output including a power and communications (the J1772 standard provides AC output including power and communications) (see paras. 0111, 0114, and 0115).
In view of the teachings of Tremblay et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the AC charging module of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al and Pathipati, wherein an AC charging module of the one or more AC charging modules comprises a safety controller, an AC relay and a first meter, wherein the AC charging module provides an AC output including a power and communications, in order to provide increased safety and reduce the chance of electric shock.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati and Tremblay et al does not specifically teach: wherein a DC charging module of the one or more DC charging modules comprises an AC/DC component controlled by a digital signal processor (DSP) and a second meter.
Grabl teaches a modular infrastructure device (10) for EV charging, including a DC charging module comprising an AC/DC component (AC/DC converter 16, see Fig. 3).
In view of the teachings of Grabl, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the DC charging module of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati and Tremblay et al, wherein a DC charging module of the one or more DC charging modules comprises an AC/DC component, since AC/DC components are commonly used to provide a desired DC voltage output.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, Tremblay et al, and Grabl does not specifically teach: the AC/DC component is controlled by a digital signal processor (DSP) and a second meter.
However, it was old and well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to control an AC/DC component using a digital signal processor and a meter, in order to provide efficient and safe operation of the AC/DC component at the desired voltage and current levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, Tremblay et al, and Grabl, the AC/DC component is controlled by a digital signal processor (DSP) and a second meter, in order to provide efficient and safe operation of the AC/DC component at the desired voltage and current levels.
Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, Tremblay et al, and Grabl does not specifically teach: wherein a wireless charging module of the one or more wireless charging modules comprises a DC/DC component.
However, it was old and well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to utilize a DC/DC component in order to provide an appropriate DC voltage level for control electronics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the device of Chen et al as modified by Bonsch et al, Pathipati, Tremblay et al, and Grabl, wherein a wireless charging module of the one or more wireless charging modules comprises a DC/DC component, in order to provide an appropriate DC voltage level for control electronics of the wireless charging module (for example, the control electronics included in the current adjuster 112 of the wireless charging module of Pathipati, see Fig. 1B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are directed to infrastructure devices for EV charging and/or modular EV chargers.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859