DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
1. This office action is in response to applicant's Arguments/ Remarks filed on 03/04/2026. Claims 1-9 and new claim 10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 03/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Kenington does not teach “…" a first signal generator for generating a first transposition signal;" a second signal generator for generating a second transposition signal, the second transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal; " a bandpass filter in communication with the input mixer and configured to receive the frequency-converted RF input, the bandpass filter producing a filter output based on applying a filter characteristic to the frequency converted RF input; and " the output mixer configured to produce an RF output based on frequency-converting the filter output to a second frequency band based on mixing with the second transposition signal” as recited in claim 1. In support of argument, applicant states “…Kenington discloses mixers, oscillators, and filters used in a transmission chain to upconvert or downconvert signals for delivery to antenna elements. Kenington applies these elements in a transmit/receive architecture, which Applicant submits differs from the band select filter architecture recited in the claims of the present application”, but “Kenington does not teach or suggest a band select filter in which different first and second signal generators provide different first and second transposition signals to input and output mixers, respectively, such that a bandpass filter is reused to translate signals between different RF frequency bands. As applicant’s disclosure of paragraphs 0040-0041”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation of "… transposition signals …” as recited in claim does not specify/define what is meant by “transposition signals”, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claims in accordance to MPEP 211 without reading limitation from the specification into the claim, “transposition signals” can interpreted as “signals of a first local oscillator 35a and a second local oscillator 55a” of Kenington and the first local oscillator 35a and the second local oscillator 55a are generated different signals. Thus, as indicated in previous office action, Kenington clearly discloses a first signal generator for generating a first transposition signal (figure 2, a first local oscillator 35a; paragraphs 0007, 0016, 0022 and 0033); a second signal generator for generating a second transposition signal (figure 2, a second local oscillator 55a; paragraphs 0008, 0019, 0022 and 0033), the second transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal (see figure 2, signals of a first local oscillator 35a and a second local oscillator 55a are different; paragraphs 0033-0034 and 0036); a bandpass filter in communication with the input mixer and configured to receive the frequency-converted RF input (figure 2, a bandpass filter 40a; paragraphs 0007-008 and 0033, a bandpass filter (i.e., a bandpass filter 40a) in communication with the input mixer (i.e., the first mixer 30a) and configured to receive the frequency-converted RF input *(i.e., the first mixer 30a), the bandpass filter producing a filter output based on applying a filter characteristic to the frequency-converted RF input(paragraphs 0007-0008 and 00033); and the output mixer configured to produce an RF output based on frequency-converting the filter output to a second frequency band based on mixing with the second transposition signal (( figure 2, mixer 50a; paragraphs 0009, 0019, and 0033-0034, " the output mixer(i.e., mixer 50a) configured to produce an RF output based on frequency-converting the filter (i.e., the bandpass filter 40a) output to a second frequency band based on mixing with the second transposition signal (i.e., signal of the second local oscillator 55a)). Thus, Kenington clearly discloses the argued claim limitation.
Regarding claim 2, applicant argues that “Kenington also fails to teach or suggest at least "a set of bandpass filters in communication with the set of input mixers and configured to receive the first set of frequency-converted RF inputs, the set of bandpass filters producing a set of filter outputs based on applying filter characteristics to the set of frequency-converted RF inputs as applicant’s in figures 8- 9 and paragraph 0061 discerption. In accordance with MPEP, “USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted “in view of the specification” without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily). In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550- 551 (CCPA 1969).”(Emphasis is added). In instant case, as indicated the below claim 2, rejection, teach or suggest at least "a set of bandpass filters in communication with the set of input mixers and configured to receive the first set of frequency-converted RF inputs, the set of bandpass filters producing a set of filter outputs based on applying filter characteristics to the set of frequency-converted RF inputs (figure 2, a first local oscillators 35a to 35n; paragraphs 0007, 0016, 0022 and 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenington (U.S. Patent Pub. # 2011/0159809 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kenington discloses a band select filter (figure 2, a filter 25a; paragraphs 0007 and 0033, “…a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band.”) comprising: a first signal generator for generating a first transposition signal (figure 2, a first local oscillator 35a; paragraphs 0007, 0016, 0022 and 0033, “…generating a plurality of first oscillator signals from a single reference clock signal”); an input mixer in communication with the first signal generator and configured to receive the first transposition signal and a radio frequency (RF) input at a first frequency within an first RF band (figure 2, mixer 30a; paragraphs 0007, 0010, 0016 and 0033, “…the analogue signals through a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band. The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. The first oscillator 35a is clocked by a signal from a first reference clock 100a……A plurality of first mixers is present in the plurality of the signal paths which convert the frequencies of the radio signals between the first frequency band and a second frequency band. A plurality of first local oscillators are connected to the plurality of first mixers and a single reference clock is connected to different ones of the plurality of first local oscillators through a plurality of first oscillator signal paths and also to a digital signal processor.”) , the input mixer configured to output a frequency-converted RF input based on mixing the RF input with the first transposition signal (paragraphs 0007, 0010 and 0033, “… The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. ”); a bandpass filter in communication with the input mixer and configured to receive the frequency-converted RF input (figure 2, a bandpass filter 40a; paragraphs 0007-008 and 0033, “…output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a.”) , the bandpass filter producing a filter output based on applying a filter characteristic to the frequency-converted RF input (paragraphs 0007-0008 and 00033, “…the analogue radio signals from the first filter 25 are modulated with a first local oscillator signal supplied by the first local oscillator 35 which is clocked by the single reference clock 110. This generates analogue signals at an intermediate frequency. The individual radio signals at the intermediate frequency band are filtered in the second filter 40 to remove out-of-band signals”) ; a second signal generator for generating a second transposition signal (figure 2, a second local oscillator 55a; paragraphs 0008, 0019, 0022 and 0033), the second transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal (paragraphs 0033-0034); and an output mixer in communication with the bandpass filter and the second signal generator and configured to receive the filter output and the second transposition signal (figure 2, mixer 50a; paragraphs 0008, 0033, “…The output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a. The output of the intermediate frequency amplifier 45a is passed to a second mixer 50a at which it is upconverted with an oscillator signal from the second local oscillator 55a. “), the output mixer configured to produce an RF output based on frequency-converting the filter output to a second frequency band based on mixing with the second transposition signal (paragraphs 0009, 0019, and 0033-0034). Although Kenington does not explicitly disclose the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band, Kenington discloses “…The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band.”( paragraphs 0007 and 0033); and “….The transmission signals from the first mixer 50a are now at a transmission frequency band (the radio frequency) “(paragraphs 0009 and 33-0034). Since Kenington teaches first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band (i.e., the first frequency band ) and transmission signals from the first mixer 50a are now at a transmission frequency band (i.e., the second frequency band), it understood that the second frequency band (i.e., the transmission frequency band (the radio frequency)) being different from the first frequency band (i.e., the intermediate frequency band) since it is known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band in order to improve efficiency of the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Kenington discloses a band select filter (figure 2, a filter 25a; paragraphs 0007 and 0033, “…a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band.”) comprising: a first set of signal generators (figure 2, a first local oscillators 35a to 35n) for generating a first set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0007, 0016, 0022 and 0033, “…generating a plurality of first oscillator signals from a single reference clock signal”); a set of input mixers (figure 2, mixers 30a to 30n) in communication with the first set of signal generators (paragraphs 0007, 0010, 0016 and 0033, “…The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. The first oscillator 35a is clocked by a signal from a first reference clock 100a.”)) and configured to receive the first set of transposition signals and a radio frequency (RF) input at a first frequency within a first RF band (paragraphs 0007, 0010, 0016 and 0033, “…the analogue signals through a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band. The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. The first oscillator 35a is clocked by a signal from a first reference clock 100a……A plurality of first mixers is present in the plurality of the signal paths which convert the frequencies of the radio signals between the first frequency band and a second frequency band. A plurality of first local oscillators are connected to the plurality of first mixers and a single reference clock is connected to different ones of the plurality of first local oscillators through a plurality of first oscillator signal paths and also to a digital signal processor.”), the set of input mixers configured to output a first set of frequency-converted RF inputs based on mixing the RF input with the first set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0007, 0010 and 0033, “… The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. ”); a set of bandpass filters (figure 2, a bandpass filters 40a to 40n) in communication with the set of input mixers and configured to receive the first set of frequency-converted RF inputs (paragraphs 0007-008 and 0033, “…output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a.”), the set of bandpass filters producing a set of filter outputs based on applying filter characteristics to the set of frequency-converted RF inputs (paragraphs 0007-0008 and 00033, “…the analogue radio signals from the first filter 25 are modulated with a first local oscillator signal supplied by the first local oscillator 35 which is clocked by the single reference clock 110. This generates analogue signals at an intermediate frequency. The individual radio signals at the intermediate frequency band are filtered in the second filter 40 to remove out-of-band signals”); a second set of signal generators (figure 2, a second local oscillator 55a to 55n) for generating a second set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0008, 0019, 0022 and 0033), the second set of transpositions signal being different from the first set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0033-0034); and a set of output mixers (figure 2, mixers 50a to 50n) in communication with the set of bandpass filters and the set of second signal generators and configured to receive the set of filter outputs and the second set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0008, 0033, “…The output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a. The output of the intermediate frequency amplifier 45a is passed to a second mixer 50a at which it is upconverted with an oscillator signal from the second local oscillator 55a.”), the set of output mixers configured to produce a set of RF outputs based on frequency-converting the filter outputs to a second frequency band based on mixing with the set of second transposition signals (paragraphs 0009, 0019, and 0033-0034). Although Kenington does not explicitly disclose the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band, Kenington discloses “…The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band.”( paragraphs 0007 and 0033); and “….The transmission signals from the first mixer 50a are now at a transmission frequency band (the radio frequency) “(paragraphs 0009 and 33-0034). Since Kenington teaches first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band (i.e., the first frequency band ) and transmission signals from the first mixer 50a are now at a transmission frequency band (i.e., the second frequency band), it understood that the second frequency band (i.e., the transmission frequency band (the radio frequency)) being different from the first frequency band (i.e., the intermediate frequency band) since it is known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band in order to improve efficiency of the communication system.
Regarding claim 3, and as applied to the claim 2 above, Kenington discloses the band select filter further comprising: one or more preselect filters configured to receive the RF input and to provide a filtered version of the RF input to the set of input mixers (figure 2, filter 25a to filter 25n; paragraphs 0007, 0033 and 0039, “…the analogue radio signals from the first filter 25 are upconverted with the first local oscillator signal supplied by the single first local oscillator 35 through the first dispersion elements 37 or 38”).
Regarding claim 6, Kenington discloses a band select filter (figure 2, a filter 25a; paragraphs 0007 and 0033, “…a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band.”) comprising: a first set of signal generators (figure 2, a first local oscillators 35a to 35n) for generating a first set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0007, 0016, 0022 and 0033, “…generating a plurality of first oscillator signals from a single reference clock signal”); a set of input mixers (figure 2, mixers 30a to 30n) in communication with the first set of signal generators(paragraphs 0007, 0010, 0016 and 0033, “…The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. The first oscillator 35a is clocked by a signal from a first reference clock 100a.”) and configured to receive the first set of transposition signals and a radio frequency (RF) input at a first frequency within a first RF band (paragraphs 0007, 0010, 0016 and 0033, “…the analogue signals through a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band. The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. The first oscillator 35a is clocked by a signal from a first reference clock 100a……A plurality of first mixers is present in the plurality of the signal paths which convert the frequencies of the radio signals between the first frequency band and a second frequency band. A plurality of first local oscillators are connected to the plurality of first mixers and a single reference clock is connected to different ones of the plurality of first local oscillators through a plurality of first oscillator signal paths and also to a digital signal processor.”), the set of input mixers configured to output a first set of frequency-converted RF inputs based on mixing the RF input with the first set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0007, 0010 and 0033, “… The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. ”); a set of bandpass filters (figure 2, a bandpass filters 40a to 40n) in communication with the set of input mixers and configured to receive the first set of frequency-converted RF inputs (paragraphs 0007-008 and 0033, “…output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a.”), the set of bandpass filters producing a set of filter outputs based on applying filter characteristics to the set of frequency-converted RF inputs (paragraphs 0007-0008 and 00033, “…the analogue radio signals from the first filter 25 are modulated with a first local oscillator signal supplied by the first local oscillator 35 which is clocked by the single reference clock 110. This generates analogue signals at an intermediate frequency. The individual radio signals at the intermediate frequency band are filtered in the second filter 40 to remove out-of-band signals”); a second set of signal generators (figure 2, a second local oscillator 55a to 55n) for generating a second set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0008, 0019, 0022 and 0033), the second set of transpositions signal being different from the first set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0033-0034); and a set of output mixers (figure 2, mixers 50a to 50n) in communication with the set of bandpass filters and the set of second signal generators and configured to receive the set of filter outputs and the second set of transposition signals (paragraphs 0008, 0033, “…The output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a. The output of the intermediate frequency amplifier 45a is passed to a second mixer 50a at which it is upconverted with an oscillator signal from the second local oscillator 55a.”), the set of output mixers configured to produce a set of RF outputs based on frequency-converting the filter outputs to a second frequency band based on mixing with the set of second transposition signals (paragraphs 0009, 0019, and 0033-0034). Although Kenington silent to the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band, Kenington discloses “…The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band.”( paragraphs 0007 and 0033); and “….The transmission signals from the first mixer 50a are now at a transmission frequency band (the radio frequency) “(paragraphs 0009 and 33-0034). Since Kenington teaches first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band (i.e., the first frequency band ) and transmission signals from the first mixer 50a are now at a transmission frequency band (i.e., the second frequency band), it understood that the second frequency band (i.e., the transmission frequency band (the radio frequency)) being different from the first frequency band (i.e., the intermediate frequency band) since it is known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the second frequency band being different from the first frequency band in order to improve efficiency of the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 is similar in scope to the claim 1 except in method form and thus the rejection to claim 1 hereinabove is also applicable to claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, and as applied to the claim 7 above, Kenington discloses a system for implementing a band select filter comprising: a non-transient computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions embodied thereon; and one or more hardware processors configured to execute the instructions to perform the method (paragraphs 0021-0022 and 0037).
Regarding claim 9, and as applied to the claim 7 above, Kenington discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform the method of claim (paragraphs 0021-0022 and 0037).
4. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenington (U.S. Patent Pub. # 2011/0159809 A1) in view of Kenington (U.S. Patent Pub. # 2011/0159833 A1) (hereinafter referenced as Peter).
Regarding claim 4, and as applied to the claim 2 above, Kenington does not disclose the band select filter further comprising: a set of lowpass roofing filters configured to receive and process the set of RF outputs for transmission on a plurality of frequency channels.
Peter discloses a set of lowpass roofing filters configured to receive and process the set of RF outputs for transmission on a plurality of frequency channels (figure 4, low pass filters 230, 235a to 235n; paragraph 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Peter in to the apparatus of Kenington such that the band select filter could be included a set of lowpass roofing filters configured to receive and process the set of RF outputs for transmission on a plurality of frequency channels in order to remove unwanted high frequency signals as taught by Peter (paragraph 0026).
5. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenington (U.S. Patent Pub. # 2011/0159809 A1) in view of Woo et al (U.S. Patent # 6,445,039 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Kenington discloses a band select filter (figure 2, a filter 25a; paragraphs 0007 and 0033, “…a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band.”) comprising: a first signal generator (figure 2, a first local oscillator 35a) for generating a first transposition signal (paragraphs 0007, 0016, 0022 and 0033, “…generating a plurality of first oscillator signals from a single reference clock signal”); an input mixer in communication with the first signal generator and configured to receive the first transposition signal and a radio frequency (RF) input at a first frequency within an first RF band (figure 2, mixer 30a; paragraphs 0007, 0010, 0016 and 0033, “…the analogue signals through a first filter 25a to obtain those filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band. The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. The first oscillator 35a is clocked by a signal from a first reference clock 100a……A plurality of first mixers is present in the plurality of the signal paths which convert the frequencies of the radio signals between the first frequency band and a second frequency band. A plurality of first local oscillators are connected to the plurality of first mixers and a single reference clock is connected to different ones of the plurality of first local oscillators through a plurality of first oscillator signal paths and also to a digital signal processor.”), the input mixer configured to output a frequency-converted RF input based on mixing the RF input with the first transposition signal (paragraphs 0007, 0010 and 0033, “… The filtered transmission signals in the desired frequency band are forwarded to a first mixer 30a. The first mixer 30a upconverts the filtered transmission signals by means of a first oscillator 35a to an analogue intermediate frequency band. ”); a first bandpass filter in communication with the input mixer and configured to receive the frequency-converted RF input, the bandpass filter producing a first filter output based on applying a first filter characteristic based on a first passband to the frequency-converted RF input (figure 2, a bandpass filter 40a; paragraphs 0007-008 and 0033, “…output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a.”); a second signal generator for generating a second transposition signal(figure 2, a second local oscillator 55a; paragraphs 0008, 0019, 0022 and 0033), the second transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal (paragraphs 0033-0034); an intermediate mixer in communication with the second signal generator and configured to receive the second transposition signal and the first filter output, the input mixer configured to output a frequency-converted first filter output based on mixing the first filter output with the second transposition signal (figure 2, mixer 50a; paragraphs 0008, 0033, “…The output of the first mixer 30a is filtered in a second filter 40a and passed to an intermediate frequency amplifier 45a. The output of the intermediate frequency amplifier 45a is passed to a second mixer 50a at which it is upconverted with an oscillator signal from the second local oscillator 55a. “); a second bandpass filter in communication with the intermediate mixer and configured to receive the frequency-converted first filter output (figure 2, a third filter 60a; paragraphs 0009 and 0034), the bandpass filter producing a second filter output based on applying a second filter characteristic based on a second passband to the frequency-converted first filter output(paragraphs 0009 and 0034), the second passband being different from and having a different center frequency compared to the first passband (paragraphs 0033-0034).
Kenington does not disclose a third signal generator for generating a third transposition signal, the third transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal and the second transposition signal; and an output mixer in communication with the second bandpass filter and the third signal generator and configured to receive the second filter output and the third transposition signal, the output mixer configured to produce an RF output based on frequency-converting the second filter output to a third frequency band based on mixing with the third transposition signal, the third frequency band being different from the first frequency band, the RF output having a third passband based on an overlap of the first passband of the first bandpass filter and the second passband of the second bandpass filter.
Woo discloses a first signal generator(figure 19, a first LO, a second signal generator (figure 19, a second LO; and a third signal generator for generating a third transposition signal (figure 19, a third LO; column 47, lines 38-43), the third transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal and the second transposition signal (column 47, lines 20-51); and an output mixer in communication with the second bandpass filter and the third signal generator and configured to receive the second filter output and the third transposition signal (column 47, lines 38-51), the output mixer configured to produce an RF output based on frequency-converting the second filter output to a third frequency band based on mixing with the third transposition signal, the third frequency band being different from the first frequency band, the RF output having a third passband based on an overlap of the first passband of the first bandpass filter and the second passband of the second bandpass filter (column 47, lines 20-51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Woo in to the apparatus of Kenington such that, a third signal generator could be included for generating a third transposition signal, the third transposition signal being different from the first transposition signal and the second transposition signal; and an output mixer in communication with the second bandpass filter and the third signal generator and configured to receive the second filter output and the third transposition signal in order to provide stable frequency.
6. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kenington (U.S. Patent Pub. # 2011/0159809 A1) in view of Uchida et al (U.S. Patent Pub. # 2002/0022464 A1).
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to the claim 2 above, Kenington does not disclose the band select filter further comprising a temperature sensor configured to provide a control signal to adjust one or more of the first signal generator and the second signal generator to account for a shift in passbands associated with the filter characteristics.
Uchida et al discloses a band select comprising a temperature sensor configured to provide a control signal to adjust a signal generator to account for a shift in passbands associated with the filter characteristics (paragraph 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Uchida et al in to the apparatus of Kenington such that, the band select filter could be comprised a temperature sensor configured to provide a control signal to adjust one or more of the first signal generator and the second signal generator to account for a shift in passbands associated with the filter characteristics in order to provide to provide apparatus arranged to select the pass band, which has corrected the shift of the filter transmission characteristic due to a change in the temperature and can stably amplify a high-frequency signal, and can be made small in size and low in cost as taught by Uchida et al (paragraph 0017).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FATUMA G SHERIF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649