DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harris et al. US2006/0109626.
Per claim 1 Harris et al. teaches an apparatus (700, see fig.7) comprising: a first printed circuit board (730B, see fig.7); a second printed circuit board (730A, see fig.7) coupled to the first printed circuit board (see fig.7), the second printed circuit board having a first side (see fig.7, “bottom portion”) and a second side (see fig.7, “top side”) opposite the first side, the second side facing the first printed circuit board (see fig.7); and a cold plate (720B; [0037], [0023]) coupled to the second side of the second printed circuit board (see fig.7).
Per claim 5 Harris et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cold plate (720B) is a first cold plate (see fig.7), further including a second cold plate (720A) disposed on the first side of the second printed circuit board (see fig.7).
Per claim 8 Harris et al. teaches a system (700, see fig.7) comprising: a first printed circuit board (730A); a second printed circuit board (730B) coupled to the first printed circuit board (see fig.7); a third printed circuit board (704) coupled to the first printed circuit board (730A); a first cold plate (720B; [0023], [0037]) disposed between the first printed circuit board and the second printed circuit board (see fig.7); and a second cold plate (720A) disposed between the first printed circuit board and the third printed circuit board (see fig.7).
Per claim 12 Harris et al. teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the first cold plate (720B; [0023], [0037]) is coupled to a first side of the second printed circuit board (730A, “bottom portion of 730A”) and including a third cold plate, the third cold plate coupled to a second side of the second printed circuit board opposite the first side (see fig.7).
Claim(s) 15-18, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iyengar et al. US2021/0378106.
Per claim 15 Iyengar et al. teaches an apparatus (100) comprising: a printed circuit board (110 and/or 120, see fig.1) having a primary side and a secondary side (see fig.1); a stiffener plate (130) coupled to the secondary side; and a cold plate (150) carried by the stiffener plate (see fig.1).
Per claim 16 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the stiffener plate (130) includes an opening (136; [0136]) defined in a surface of the stiffener plate (see fig.1), the surface adjacent the printed circuit board, and the printed circuit board includes a heat-generating component at least partially disposed in the opening (see fig.1).
Per claim 17 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the surface is a first surface and the opening extends through the stiffener plate to a second surface of the stiffener plate, the second surface opposite the first surface (see fig.1).
Per claim 18 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the cold plate (150, see fig.2) includes: an inlet (176A); an outlet (176B); a housing (160) defining a cavity (see fig.2), the inlet and the outlet defining a coolant pathway in through the cavity ([0132]-[0134]); and a plate (166, see fig.2, “vertical plate”) coupled to the housing (160) and proximate to the stiffener (130, see fig.1).
Per claim 20 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the housing (160) includes a groove defined therein and further including a seal (168) disposed in the groove ([0134], see fig.1).
Per claim 21 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the plate includes a plurality of fins extending into the cavity (see fig.1, “the fins are the plates”).
Per claim 22 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the housing includes a plurality of walls segmenting the cavity into a first section and a second section, the coolant pathway extending through the first section and the second section (see fig.1, “each fin is a section”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. US2006/0109626 in view of Brodsky et al. US2010/0020505.
Per claim 2 Harris et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further including a cold plate coupled to the second side of the second printed circuit board (see fig.7).
Harris et al. does not explicitly teach a stiffener
Brodsky et al. however discloses a stiffener that is a cold plate ([0014], claim 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a stiffener that is a cold plate because it ensures that the cold plate is rigid which reduces bending /warping while ensuring effective thermal dissipation of heat.
Per claim 3 Harris et al. in view of Brodsky et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the stiffener includes the cold plate ([0014], claim 5).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. US2006/0109626 in view of Brodsky et al. US2010/0020505 as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Iyengar et al. US2021/0378106.
Per claim 4 Harris et al. in view of Brodsky et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 2,
Harris et al. in view of Brodsky et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the stiffener includes an opening defined therein and wherein the second printed circuit board includes a heat-producing component at least partially disposed in the opening.
Iyengar et al. however discloses wherein a stiffener (130) includes an opening defined therein (see fig.1) and wherein a printed circuit board (120) includes a heat-producing component (140ABC) at least partially disposed in the opening (see fig.1; [0131]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an opening as taught by Iyengar et al. in the apparatus of Harris et al. in view of Brodsky et al., because it ensures a well secured and rigid enclosure of the heat producing component.
Claim(s) 6 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris et al. US2006/0109626 in view of Katsumata et al. US2016/0183407.
Per claim 6 Harris et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 5,
Harris et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first cold plate includes a first inlet and the second cold plate includes: a second inlet to be fluidly coupled to a coolant source; a first outlet to be fluidly coupled to the coolant source; and a second outlet fluidly coupled to the first inlet.
Katsumata et al. however teaches wherein the first cold plate (13b) includes a first inlet (see fig.1) and the second cold plate (13a) includes: a second inlet (see fig.1) to be fluidly coupled to a coolant source; a first outlet to be fluidly coupled to the coolant source; and a second outlet fluidly coupled to the first inlet ([0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second cold plate with the inlet and outlet as taught by Katsumata et al. in the apparatus of Harris et al., because it ensures effective cooling of the heat generating component.
Per claim 9 Harris et al. teaches the system of claim 8,
Harris et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first cold plate includes a first inlet and a first outlet, the second cold plate includes a second inlet and a second outlet, and the first outlet is fluidly coupled to the second outlet.
Katsumata et al. however teaches wherein the first cold plate (13b) includes a first inlet (see fig.1) and a first outlet (see fig.1), the second cold plate (13a) includes a second inlet (see fig.1) and a second outlet (see fig.1), and the first outlet is fluidly coupled to the second outlet ([0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second cold plate with the inlet and outlet as taught by Katsumata et al. in the apparatus of Harris et al., because it ensures effective cooling of the heat generating component.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyengar et al. US2021/0378106 in view of Sikka et al. US2019/0267332.
Per claim 23 Iyengar et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15,
Iyengar et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the stiffener plate includes: a core composed of a first material; and a shell partially encompassing the core, the shell abutting the printed circuit board and the cold plate, the shell composed of a second material more thermally conductive the first material.
Sikka et al. however discloses wherein a stiffener plate (110, see fig.1A) includes: a core (114; [0030]) composed of a first material ([0031], “same as laminate materials in the substrate 102”); and a shell (152 & 162) partially encompassing the core ([0024], [0028]), the shell composed of a second material more thermally conductive the first material ([0034]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a stiffener plate with a core and first and second material as taught by Sikka et al. in the apparatus of Iyengar et al., because it effective thermal dissipation of heat from the heat generating component.
Allowable Subject matter
3. Claims 10-11, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10, includes allowable subject matter because of the system of claim 9, further including: a fourth printed circuit board coupled to the first printed circuit board; and a third cold plate disposed between the first printed circuit board and the fourth printed circuit board, the third cold plate including a third inlet fluidly coupled to the second outlet, wherein the first inlet is fluidly coupled to a liquid coolant source.
Claim 11 depends on claim 10, therefore allowable for the same reason.
Claim 13, includes allowable subject matter because of the system of claim 12, wherein the first cold plate includes a first inlet and a first outlet, the third cold plate a second inlet and a second outlet, and the first outlet is fluidly coupled to the second outlet.
Email Communication
4. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Damaraju et al. US2022/0264741 discloses a top cover, the top cover comprises a first vapor chamber; a bottom cover, the bottom cover comprises a second vapor chamber, wherein the top cover and the bottom cover form at least a portion of a casing of the sensor; a coldplate having a top side and a bottom side; a first printed circuit board having a top side and a bottom side, wherein the top side of the first printed circuit board is coupled to the top cover and the bottom side of the first printed circuit board is coupled to the top side of the coldplate.
Belady et al. US2006/0133041 discloses an electronic module removably connectable to a system board, the electronic module comprising: a first portion connected to the system board and including a thermal dissipation device and a printed circuit board (PCB) with a processor connected to a first side of the PCB.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841