Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species CC in the reply filed on 11/20/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/25.
Priority
The instant application contains additional disclosure not presented in the previous applications in the family and therefore the claims have different priority dates based on when the subject matter was disclosed. It is noted that figures 26B-86 were not included in application 16/849600 and figures 41-86 were not included in application 17/090420, and Figures 63-86 were not included in application 17/543987, figures 69-86 are not included in application 18/145275 and figures 80-86 are not included in application 18/154286 .
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8-10 of copending Application No. 18/154286 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the same subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US PGPub 2020/0388686) in view of Choi et al. (US PGPub 2021/0388686).
Claim 1: Eom teaches a method of forming a memory device, comprising: forming an alternating stack of disposable material layers (13) and silicon nitride layers (12) over a substrate (Fig. 10A); forming a memory opening (14) through the alternating stack (Fig. 10B); forming a memory film (15, 16) in the memory opening; forming a vertical semiconductor channel (17) over the memory film in the memory opening ((Fig. 10C); forming a backside trench (21) through the alternating stack (Fig. 10D); forming laterally-extending cavities (22) by removing the disposable material layers selective to the silicon nitride layers through the backside trench (Fig. 10E); and replacing remaining portions of the silicon nitride layers with electrically conductive layer (28A) (Fig. 10H-10I). Eom does not teach oxidizing portions of the silicon nitride layers exposed in the laterally-extending cavities to form insulating layers. Choi teaches oxidizing portions of the remaining alternating insulating layer (Fig. 12K) [0134] to prevent cell interference due to charge diffusion between cells [0004].Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method taught by Eom to have included oxidizing the SiN layer and creating a discrete charge storage pattern to improve device performance as taught by Choi [0004].
Claim 2: Choi teaches (Fig. 12D) forming an in-process dielectric liner layer in the memory opening prior to the forming the memory film in the memory opening.
Claim 3: Choi teaches (Fig. 12D-E) thinning the in-process dielectric liner layer to form a dielectric liner layer having a lesser thickness than the in-process dielectric liner layer.
Claim 4: Choi teaches [0130] wherein the dielectric liner layer comprises a silicon nitride dielectric liner layer.
Claim 5: Choi teaches (Fig. 12J-K) oxidizing annular portions of the silicon nitride dielectric liner layer exposed in the laterally-extending cavities at a same time as oxidizing portions of the silicon nitride layers to form the insulating layers.
Claim 6: Choi teaches (Fig. 12J-K) the oxidizing converts the annular portions of the silicon nitride dielectric liner layer into vertical portions of the insulating layers; and the oxidizing converts portions of the silicon nitride layers exposed in the laterally-extending cavities into the horizontal portions of the insulating layers.
Claim 8: Choi teaches (Fig. 4B, 7, 9) wherein an air gap (AG1/2/3) is formed in each of the insulating layers during the oxidizing.
Claim 9: Choi teaches (Fig. 12I) the laterally-extending cavities are formed by removing the disposable material layers selective to the silicon nitride layers and selective to the silicon nitride dielectric liner layer to leave the annular portions of the silicon nitride dielectric liner layer exposed in the laterally-extending cavities.
Claim 10: Choi teaches (Fig. 12D-E) the silicon nitride layers comprise cylindrical sidewalls that are exposed to the memory opening after formation of the memory opening; a local cavity within one of the silicon nitride layers is formed during formation of the memory opening, the local cavity laterally extending outward from a cylindrical vertical plane including the cylindrical sidewalls; and a silicon nitride fill material portion of the in-process dielectric liner layer fills the local cavity.
Claim 11: Choi teaches (Fig. 12C) comprising laterally recessing the silicon nitride layers in the memory opening relative to the disposable material layers.
Claim 12: Choi teaches (Fig. 12J-K) the step of replacing the remaining portions of the silicon nitride layers with the electrically conductive layers comprises: removing the remaining portions of the silicon nitride layers and remaining portions of the silicon nitride dielectric liner layer through the backside trench selective to the insulating layers and to the memory film to form backside recesses; and forming the electrically conductive layers in the backside recesses through the backside trench.
Claim 14: Choi teaches [0045] the insulating layers comprise silicon oxide insulating layers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814