DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Remarks filed on 05/22/2026.
Currently, claims 1-2 and 4-20 are pending in the application. Currently, claims 15 and 18 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 5-15, 16-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 03/02/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WU et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0045968) in view of YOO et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0182302).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wu teaches a display device (Fig. 6A) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 6A, 74, ¶ [0085]);
a transistor (Fig. 6A, 412T, ¶ [0090]) above the substrate;
a pixel electrode (Fig. 6A, 4111, ¶ [0084]) connected to the transistor;
an extension electrode (Fig. 6A, 110, ¶ [0084]) connected between the transistor and the pixel electrode;
a light-emitting layer (Fig. 6A, 4112, ¶ [0084]) above the pixel electrode; and
a common electrode (Fig. 6A, 4113, ¶ [0084]) above the light-emitting layer.
However, Wu does not explicitly teach a transistor above the substrate and configured to receive a driving voltage from a driving voltage line; an additional capacitor electrode at a same layer as the extension electrode, overlapping the pixel electrode, and directly connected to the driving voltage line.
However, Yoo is a pertinent art that teaches a transistor (Figs. 2 & 4, Td, ¶ [0036]) above the substrate (Fig. 4, 110, ¶ [0040]) and configured to receive a driving voltage from a driving voltage line (Figs. 2 & 4, VDD/144, ¶¶ [0032] & [0037]); an additional capacitor electrode (Fig. 4, 160, ¶ [0044]) at a same layer as the extension electrode (Yoo’s additional capacitor electrode is on a layer directly above Yoo’s transistor Td (Yoo Fig. 4, 140, ¶ [0039]), which corresponds to the location of Wu’s connection line 110. Further, it would be obvious to have Wu modified by Yoo’s connection line and additional capacitor electrode be on a same a layer in order to simplify manufacturing), overlapping the pixel electrode (Fig. 4, 180, ¶ [0047]), and directly connected to the driving voltage line (Figs. 2 & 4, ¶ [0044] teaches that 160, which is part of Cst2, is directly connected to VDD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s device to further comprise additional capacitors and capacitor electrodes according to the teaching of Yoo (Figs. 2 & 4) in order to improve driving properties of the display device (Yoo ¶ [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu modified by Yoo teaches that the display device of claim 1, and Wu teaches that the substrate (Fig. 6A, 74, ¶ [0085]) comprises a display area (Fig. 1, 10, ¶ [0062]), and a peripheral area (¶ [0062]) adjacent to the display area, and wherein the display area comprises a first display area (Fig. 1, 12, ¶ [0062]), a second display area (Fig. 1, 13, ¶ [0062]) outside the first display area, and a third display area (Fig. 1, 11, ¶ [0062]) inside the first display area.
Regarding claim 14, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 1, and Wu teaches that the pixel electrode comprises: a pixel electrode of a red pixel; a pixel electrode of a green pixel; and a pixel electrode of a blue pixel (¶ [0068] teaches that Wu’s device can include red, green, and blue light emitting elements 411. It would be obvious that each light emitting element 411 would include an anode 4111).
Regarding claim 19, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 1, and Wu teaches that each of a plurality of pixels comprises the extension electrode (Figs. 6A & 7A, 110/120, ¶ [0076]), and wherein an extension electrode of a first pixel and an extension electrode of a second pixel are at different respective layers (Figs. 6A & 7A, ¶ [0076]).
Regarding claim 20, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 19, and Wu modified by Yoo teaches that each of the pixels comprises the additional capacitor electrode (Wu modified by Yoo would have each of their pixels modified to include additional capacitor electrodes and would therefore fulfill this limitation), and wherein an additional capacitor electrode of the first pixel and an additional capacitor electrode of the second pixel are at different respective layers (It would be obvious to adjust the location of Wu modified byYoo’s additional capacitor electrode depending on the layer of Wu’s extension electrodes in order to simplify manufacturing).
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WU et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0045968) in view of YOO et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0182302) and further in view of PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0235183).
Regarding claim 2, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 1, and Wu modified by Yoo teaches that the extension electrode (Wu Fig. 6A, 110, ¶ [0135] teaches that 110 can be a transparent conductive material such as ITO (Indium tin oxide)).
However, Wu modified by Yoo does not explicitly teach that the additional capacitor electrode comprise a transparent conductive oxide.
However, Park is a pertinent art that teaches that the additional capacitor electrode (Park Fig. 3, 190p, ¶¶ [0100] & [0102] teaches that 190p can be a conductive metal oxide such as ITO) comprise a transparent conductive oxide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu modified by Yoo’s capacitor electrode to be a transparent conductive oxide such as ITO according to the teaching of Park (Fig. 3) in order to reduce manufacturing costs. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 4, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 1, and Wu teaches that the transistor (Fig. 6A, 412T, ¶ [0090]) comprises:
a semiconductor (Fig. 6A, 4121, ¶ [0098]) that comprises a first area (Fig. 6A, portion of 4121 to the left of the central portion of 4121 that overlaps 4122), a channel (Fig. 6A, portion of 4121 overlapping 4122), and a second area (Fig. 6A, portion of 4121 to the right of the central portion of 4121 that overlaps 4122);
a second gate electrode (Fig. 6A, 4122, ¶ [0091]) overlapping the channel;
a source electrode (Fig. 6A, 4123, ¶ [0090]) connected to the first area; and
a drain electrode (Fig. 6A, 4124, ¶ [0090]) connected to the second area, and connected to the pixel electrode (Fig. 6A, 4111, ¶ [0084]).
However, Wu modified by Yoo does not explicitly teach a first gate electrode above the substrate
However, Park teaches a first gate electrode (Fig. 3, 111a, ¶ [0050]) above the substrate (Fig. 3, 110, ¶ [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wu modified by Yoo’s transistor to include a second gate electrode below the channel according to the teaching of Park (Fig. 3) in order to enhance transistor characteristics (Park ¶ [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Park teaches the display device of claim 4, and Park teaches that the drain electrode is connected to the second gate electrode (Fig. 3, 111a, ¶ [0050] teaches that 111a is electrically connected to the drain electrode of T1. Also, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Park teaches the display device of claim 4, and Yoo teaches that the driving voltage line (Figs. 2 & 4, VDD/144, ¶¶ [0032] & [0037]) is at a same layer as the source electrode (Fig. 4, 140, ¶ [0039]) and the drain electrode (Although not shown in Fig. 4, it would be obvious that Yoo’s drain terminal would be on a same layer as their source terminal in a similar manner to Park (Park Fig. 3, 172a + 175a, ¶¶ [0083] & [0086]) in order to simplify manufacturing).
Regarding claim 9, Wu modified by Park teaches the display device of claim 4, and Wu teaches that the semiconductor (Fig. 6A, 4121, ¶ [0098]) comprises an oxide semiconductor material (¶ [0098]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 14.
However, Wu modified by Park does not explicitly teach that teaches that the additional capacitor electrode does not overlap at least some of the pixel electrode of the red pixel, the pixel electrode of the green pixel, or the pixel electrode of the blue pixel.
However, Park is a pertinent art that teaches that the additional capacitor electrode (Fig. 2, 190p, ¶ [0060] teaches a capacitor electrode with a similar relative position and structure to Yoo’s capacitor electrode) does not overlap (Fig. 2) at least some of the pixel electrode of the red pixel (Fig. 2, 191a, ¶ [0109]), the pixel electrode of the green pixel (Fig. 2, 191b, ¶ [0109]), or the pixel electrode of the blue pixel (Fig. 2, 191c, ¶ [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu modified by Yoo’s capacitor electrode according to the teaching of Park (Fig. 2) in order to ensure sufficient storage capacity during device operation (Park ¶ [0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Park teaches the display device of claim 16, and Park teaches that an overlapping ratio of the additional capacitor electrode (Fig. 2, 190p, ¶ [0060]) and the pixel electrode of the red pixel (Fig. 2, 191a, ¶ [0109]), an overlapping ratio of the additional capacitor electrode and the pixel electrode of the green pixel (Fig. 2, 191b, ¶ [0109]), and an overlapping ratio of the additional capacitor electrode and the pixel electrode of the blue pixel (Fig. 2, 191c, ¶ [0109]) are different (Fig. 2, overlapping ratio of 190p and the anodes of PX1, PX2, and PX3 appear to be different due to a difference in the size of 191a, 191b, and 191c, ¶ [0109]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WU et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0045968) in view of YOO et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0182302) and further in view of PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0235183) and further in view of CHANG et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0329047).
Regarding claim 7, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Park teaches the display device of claim 4.
However, Wu modified by Yoo does not explicitly teach a first storage electrode at a same layer as the semiconductor.
However, Park teaches a first storage electrode (Fig. 3, CST, ¶ [0054]) at a same layer as the semiconductor (Fig. 3, at least a portion of CST is in a same layer as Park’s semiconductor layer, ¶ [0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Wu modified by Yoo’s device to include an additional capacitor according to the teaching of Park (Fig. 2) in order to ensure sufficient storage capacity during device operation (Park ¶ [0059]).
However, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Park does not explicitly teach a second storage electrode at a same layer as the first gate electrode, and overlapping the first storage electrode.
However, Chang is a pertinent art that teaches a second storage electrode (Fig. 3, C12, ¶ [0093]) at a same layer as the first gate electrode (Fig. 3, SL, ¶ [0098]), and overlapping the first storage electrode (Fig. 3, C11, ¶ [0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu modified by Park’s device to further include another capacitor electrode below Park’s storage capacitor electrodes according to the teaching of Chang (Fig. 3) in order to increase storage capacity.
Regarding claim 8, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Park modified by Chang teaches the display device of claim 7, and Park teaches that the first storage electrode (Fig. 3, CST, ¶ [0054]) overlaps the driving voltage line (Fig. 3, 155, ¶ [0057]) .
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over WU et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0045968) in view of YOO et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0182302) and further in view of YU et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0165110).
Regarding claim 11, Wu modified by Yoo teaches the display device of claim 10, and Wu teaches that in the first display area (Figs. 1 & 6, 12, ¶ [0062]), the transistor (Fig. 6A, 412T, ¶ [0090]) is connected to the pixel electrode (Fig. 6A, 4111, ¶ [0084]) through the extension electrode (Fig. 6A, 110, ¶ [0084]), and
wherein, in the third display area (Fig. 1, 11, ¶ [0062]), respective transistors are connected to respective pixel electrodes through respective extension electrodes (Fig. 6A, In display region 11, anodes 4111 are connected to a respective connection line 110 which is connected to a respective transistor).
However, Wu does not explicitly teach that in the second display area, respective transistors are connected to respective pixel electrodes through respective extension electrodes.
However, Yu is a pertinent art that teaches that in the second display area (Fig. 1, 102, ¶ [0070]), respective transistors (Fig. 3, TFT, ¶ [0073]) are connected to respective pixel electrodes (Fig. 3, 25, ¶ [0078]) through respective extension electrodes (Fig. 3, 24, ¶ [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu modified by Yoo’s device to have anodes be connected to transistors through connection electrodes in the main device area according to the teaching of Yu (Fig. 3) in order to simplify manufacturing (Wu modified by Yoo modified by Yu would require less manufacturing templates to produce pixels in Wu’s multiple display areas).
Regarding claim 12, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 11, and Yu teaches a driving circuit part (Fig. 3, 3012, ¶ [0144]) in the second display area (Fig. 1, 102, ¶ [0070]), wherein at least some of the pixel electrodes in the second display area overlap the driving circuit part (Fig. 3, at least a portion of anode 25 overlaps with a portion of pixel circuits 3012).
Regarding claim 13, Wu modified by Yoo modified by Yu teaches the display device of claim 12, and Wu teaches an electronic module (Fig. 15, 220, ¶ [0160]) in the third display area (Fig. 15, 11, ¶ [0160]), wherein at least some of the pixel electrodes in the third display area overlap the electronic module (¶¶ [0161]-[0162]).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813