DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 2/27/2026, with respect to the all rejection(s) of claim have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
However, upon further consideration, a modified ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the previously applied Anderson (US 6412641 B1) reference for the new limitations, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-30 and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive" in line 9 and "one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 27, line 4, has now been amended to recite “a plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” and it is unclear how “one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” relates to line 4. The context of claim 27, lines 9 and 16 and the history of the claim amendments, suggest that the limitations of “one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” are references back to claim 27, line 4, which recites “a plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive”, and the examiner suggests amending these sections to use consistent language. Therefore, the examiner suggests using the language “the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” in both line 9 and 16.
Claims 28-30 and 32-34 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 27.
Similarly, Claim 28 also recites the limitation "one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive " in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The context of claim 28, as well as claim 27, lines 9 and 16 and the history of the claim amendments, suggest that the limitations of “one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” are references back to claim 27, line 4, which recites “a plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” and the examiner suggests amending these sections to use consistent language. Therefore, the examiner suggests using the language “the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” in line 1-2.
Similarly, Claim 33 also recites the limitation "the one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive " in lines 1-2 and again in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The context of claim 33, as well as claim 27, lines 9 and 16 and the history of the claim amendments, suggest that the limitations of “one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” are references back to claim 27, line 4, which recites “a plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” and the examiner suggests amending these sections to use consistent language. Therefore, the examiner suggests using the language “the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” in claim 33 in both lines 1-2 and 3-4.
Similarly, Claim 34 also recites the limitation "the respective adhesive portions of the plurality of adhesive portions" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The context of claim 34, as well as claim 27 and the history of the claim amendments, suggest that the limitations of “the respective adhesive portions of the plurality of adhesive portions” are references back to claim 27, line 5-6, which recites “respective preformed pieces of reversible adhesive of the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” and the examiner suggests amending these sections to use consistent language. Therefore, the examiner suggests using the language “the respective preformed pieces of reversible adhesive of the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive” in lines 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8 and 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20150158649 A1) and Anderson (US 6412641 B1).
As to claim 1, Huang discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device carrier system comprising:
providing a carrier tape including a plurality of pockets (such as in paragraph 0028, disclosing “Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets”), each respective pocket including:
a surface (bottom wall 106) upon which a semiconductor device (components 1000; see paragraph 0002, disclosing “Components, such as, e.g., integrated circuit (IC) chips or surface mount technology (SMT) components” IC chips would read on the term semiconductor device) is supported when a semiconductor device is placed in the respective pocket; and
a sidewall that extends transversely from the surface (side walls 108);
pre-forming a plurality of respective portions of a reversible adhesive (see paragraph 0029, disclosing “when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed from the pocket.” See also paragraph 0031, “While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104”);
after pre-forming the plurality of respective portions of reversible adhesive (see especially paragraph 0039, disclosing “Adhesive layer 110 may be applied to carrier tape 100 during the process of forming carrier tape 100, or may be applied in a later, separate process, as long as that process occurs before components are placed in pockets 104.”), positioning an array of the plurality of respective portions of the reversible adhesive (see paragraph 0029 “exposure of the adhesive to UV radiation allows the component to be quickly and easily removed from the pocket, e.g., by robotic placement equipment, without the presence of adhesive residue on the component”) on each of the surfaces of each of the respective pockets of the plurality of pockets (see Figure 1A below; each pocket receives a portion of the reversible adhesive, with an array of portions going into each pocket, one by one).
See Figure 1A and 1B below:
See Huang, paragraphs 0029-32 and 0038, disclosing:
[0028] Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets. Adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when a component 1000 is placed in a pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets, adhesive layer 110 in the pocket permanently bonds to the component. This means that adhesive layer 110 in the pocket bonds to the component such that the component cannot be removed from the pocket without damage to the component, the pocket, or both. Advantageously, this permanent bond facilitates secure storage and transportation of components by the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, this permanent bond eliminates the need for a cover tape used to seal the components in the pockets and the associated sealing process, which significantly reduces the overall cost of the component storage and transportation.
[0029] In addition, adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed from the pocket. Advantageously, exposure of the adhesive to UV radiation allows the component to be quickly and easily removed from the pocket, e.g., by robotic placement equipment, without the presence of adhesive residue on the component. In at least one aspect, this method eliminates need for removal of a cover tape used to seal the components in the pockets and the associated cover tape removal equipment, which increases the speed of component pickup and placement. In at least one aspect, elimination of the cover tape removal process also reduces vibrations to the carrier tape during component pickup and placement, which increases the effectiveness (rate) of component pickup and placement.
[0030] In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is reduced to zero. In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed without damage to the component or the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, sufficient bond strength remains to facilitate transportation of the component, e.g., from the UV radiation location to the pick and place location in the SMT process, without displacement of the component.
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
…
[0038] Adhesive layer 110 may be applied to carrier tape 100 during the process of forming carrier tape 100, or may be applied in a later, separate process, as long as that process occurs before components are placed in pockets 104.
Huang does not disclose wherein each respective portion of the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective portions of the reversible adhesive within a corresponding pocket of the plurality of pockets.
Huang, however, does explicitly teaches that “The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured” and teaches “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104”.
Additionally, Anderson teaches that an array of reversible adhesive dots may be used, which would read on the limitation of “each respective portion of the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective portions of the reversible adhesive”. Anderson is intended to be used with a wide variety of carrier tapes, including those with pockets. See claim 1, reciting “a strip portion having a plurality of aligned pockets” and column 2, line 32-35, reciting the same. Anderson discloses in column 4, lines 26-29 that “Alternatively, adhesive 246 may comprise dots, crosses or X's of adhesive applied through a stencil or by a printing head, or sprayed, onto segments 242.” In column 4, lines 47-52, Anderson discloses “An EMR-sensitive adhesive may be applied to encapsulated die support strip 262 in the manner described with respect to FIG. 2A, or, as depicted, may comprise a single continuous adhesive strip 264 or two mutually parallel adhesive strips 266 (shown in broken lines).” In column 5, lines 4-6, Anderson discloses that “Packaged dice 206 are carried on adhesive material 284, protected within the confines of channel-shaped member 280. Longitudinally-spaced dots or segments or a continuous strip or strips of EMR-sensitive adhesive material 284 are applied to bottom 282 inside channel shaped member 280.” Anderson discloses in column 1, lines 63-67 that “A need exists for packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination:.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each respective portion of the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective portions of the reversible adhesive within a corresponding pocket of the plurality of pockets because such arrays are taught by Anderson in order to achieve packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination and because Huang contemplates that the amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured.
As to claim 2, both Huang discloses wherein the positioning the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive on the bottom surfaces of the respective pockets of the plurality of pockets includes placing preformed portions of reversible adhesive on the respective surfaces of the respective pockets. See Huang, Figure 1A, and paragraph 0028, disclosing “Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets.” See also Anderson, Figures 3 and 4, and column 5, line 1, disclosing “Longitudinally-spaced dots or segments or a continuous strip or strips of EMR-sensitive adhesive material 284 are applied to bottom 282 inside channel shaped member 280.”
As to claim 3, both Huang and Anderson discloses wherein the positioning the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive on each of the surfaces of each respective pocket of the plurality of pockets includes positioning one or more layers of the reversible adhesive on the respective surfaces of the respective pockets of the plurality pockets and patterning the one or more layers of reversible adhesive when on the carrier tape. See, for example, Huang, paragraph 0033, disclosing “Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.” and paragraph 0077, disclosing “[0077] Step 2: The adhesive composition was coated onto a substrate such as to form an adhesive layer having a thickness of about 25 µm.” See also Figure 1A, and paragraph 0028, disclosing “Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets.” See also Anderson, Figures 3 and 4, and column 5, line 1, disclosing “Longitudinally-spaced dots or segments or a continuous strip or strips of EMR-sensitive adhesive material 284 are applied to bottom 282 inside channel shaped member 280.”
As to claim 6, Huang discloses wherein the layer of the reversible adhesive has a first shape that is the same as a second shape of the bottom surface of the pocket. See especially paragraph 0031, disclosing:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the layer of the reversible adhesive has a first shape that is the same as a second shape of the bottom surface of the pocket as a change in size in shape of the adhesive of Huang.
As to claim 8, Huang discloses wherein the layer of reversible adhesive positioned on the bottom surface of the pocket has a rectangular shape. See especially paragraph 0031, disclosing:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
Additionally, Figure 1A shows a rectangular shape for adhesive layer 110.
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the layer of reversible adhesive positioned on the bottom surface of the pocket has a rectangular shape as a change in size in shape of the adhesive of Huang.
As to claim 35, Huang discloses a method comprising:
providing a carrier tape including
a surface (top surface 102a),
a plurality of pockets (pockets 104) that extend downward from the surface (see especially Figures 1A and 1B) each respective pocket including:
an end surface spaced downward relative to the surface (seen paragraph 0028, disclosing “Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets”),
a plurality of sidewalls (four sidewalls 108) that extend from the surface (top surface 104) to the end surface (bottom wall 106);
pre-forming a plurality of respective strips (paragraph 0031, disclosing “Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another.”) of a reversible adhesive (see paragraph 0029, disclosing “when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed from the pocket.” See also paragraph 0031, “While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104”);
after pre-forming the plurality of respective strips of reversible adhesive (see especially paragraph 0039, disclosing “Adhesive layer 110 may be applied to carrier tape 100 during the process of forming carrier tape 100, or may be applied in a later, separate process, as long as that process occurs before components are placed in pockets 104.”), positioning an array of the plurality of respective strips of the reversible adhesive (see paragraph 0029 “exposure of the adhesive to UV radiation allows the component to be quickly and easily removed from the pocket, e.g., by robotic placement equipment, without the presence of adhesive residue on the component”) on each of the surfaces of each of the respective pockets of the plurality of pockets (see Figure 1A below; each pocket receives a portion of the reversible adhesive, with an array of portions going into each pocket, one by one).
See Figure 1A and 1B below:
See Huang, paragraphs 0029-32 and 0038, disclosing:
[0028] Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets. Adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when a component 1000 is placed in a pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets, adhesive layer 110 in the pocket permanently bonds to the component. This means that adhesive layer 110 in the pocket bonds to the component such that the component cannot be removed from the pocket without damage to the component, the pocket, or both. Advantageously, this permanent bond facilitates secure storage and transportation of components by the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, this permanent bond eliminates the need for a cover tape used to seal the components in the pockets and the associated sealing process, which significantly reduces the overall cost of the component storage and transportation.
[0029] In addition, adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed from the pocket. Advantageously, exposure of the adhesive to UV radiation allows the component to be quickly and easily removed from the pocket, e.g., by robotic placement equipment, without the presence of adhesive residue on the component. In at least one aspect, this method eliminates need for removal of a cover tape used to seal the components in the pockets and the associated cover tape removal equipment, which increases the speed of component pickup and placement. In at least one aspect, elimination of the cover tape removal process also reduces vibrations to the carrier tape during component pickup and placement, which increases the effectiveness (rate) of component pickup and placement.
[0030] In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is reduced to zero. In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed without damage to the component or the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, sufficient bond strength remains to facilitate transportation of the component, e.g., from the UV radiation location to the pick and place location in the SMT process, without displacement of the component.
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
…
[0038] Adhesive layer 110 may be applied to carrier tape 100 during the process of forming carrier tape 100, or may be applied in a later, separate process, as long as that process occurs before components are placed in pockets 104.
Huang does not disclose wherein each respective strip of the array of respective strips of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective strips of the reversible adhesive within a corresponding pocket of the plurality of pockets.
Huang, however, does explicitly teaches that “The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured” and teaches “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104”.
Additionally, Anderson teaches that an array of reversible adhesive dots may be used, which would read on the limitation of “each respective portion of the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective portions of the reversible adhesive”. Anderson is intended to be used with a wide variety of carrier tapes, including those with pockets. See claim 1, reciting “a strip portion having a plurality of aligned pockets” and column 2, line 32-35, reciting the same. Anderson discloses in column 4, lines 26-29 that “Alternatively, adhesive 246 may comprise dots, crosses or X's of adhesive applied through a stencil or by a printing head, or sprayed, onto segments 242.” In column 4, lines 47-52, Anderson discloses “An EMR-sensitive adhesive may be applied to encapsulated die support strip 262 in the manner described with respect to FIG. 2A, or, as depicted, may comprise a single continuous adhesive strip 264 or two mutually parallel adhesive strips 266 (shown in broken lines).” In column 5, lines 4-6, Anderson discloses that “Packaged dice 206 are carried on adhesive material 284, protected within the confines of channel-shaped member 280. Longitudinally-spaced dots or segments or a continuous strip or strips of EMR-sensitive adhesive material 284 are applied to bottom 282 inside channel shaped member 280.” Anderson discloses in column 1, lines 63-67 that “A need exists for packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination:.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each respective strip of the array of respective strips of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective strips of the reversible adhesive within a corresponding pocket of the plurality of pockets because such arrays of strips are taught by Anderson in order to achieve packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination and because Huang contemplates that the amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured.
As to claim 36, Huang discloses wherein the layer of reversible adhesive positioned on the bottom surface of the pocket has a rectangular shape. See especially paragraph 0031, disclosing:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
Additionally, Figure 1A shows a rectangular shape for adhesive layer 110.
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the layer of reversible adhesive positioned on the bottom surface of the pocket has a rectangular shape as a change in size in shape of the adhesive of Huang.
As to claim 37, Huang discloses wherein each respective strip of the array are parallel with each other. See especially paragraph 0031, disclosing “multiple strips of tape spaced from one another”:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein each respective strip of the array are parallel with each other as a change in size in shape of the adhesive tape strips of Huang.
As to claim 38, Huang discloses wherein the array of the plurality of stirps of the reversible adhesive includes at least three strips. See especially paragraph 0031, disclosing “multiple strips of tape spaced from one another”:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the array of the plurality of stirps of the reversible adhesive includes at least three strips as a change in size in shape of the adhesive tape strips of Huang.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20150158649 A1) and Anderson (US 6412641 B1) as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 8 and 35-38 above, and further in view of Extrand (US 20050274455 A1).
As to claim 4, Huang does not disclose wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin.
However, Extrand discloses wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin. See paragraph 0052, disclosing:
[0052] Many conventional non-curable adhesives known in the art may be used as an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive 22 of this invention. Non-limiting examples of suitable non-curable adhesive materials include natural rubber, polychloroprene, nitrile rubber-phenolic resins, nitrile rubber-epoxy resins, nylon-epoxy resins, hot melt adhesives, anaerobic adhesives, silicone adhesives, hypalon toughened acrylate adhesives, bismaleimide-based adhesives, polyacrylates, polyvinylether adhesives, silicone rubber adhesives, polyisoprene adhesives, polybutadiene adhesives, styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymers, polybutylene terephthalate, polyolefins, polyethylene terephthalate, styrenic block co-polymers, styrene-butadiene rubbers, polyether block polyamides, polypropylene/crosslinked EDPM rubbers, and water-based adhesives such as animal glues and latex-based adhesives. The number average molecular weight of the polymeric adhesive materials may vary from 1000 to 10,000,000 daltons.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin as taught in Extrand in order to achieve a reversible adhesive that is an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive of Extrand.
As to claim 5, Huang does not wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyvinylchloride based adhesive.
As noted above Extrand discloses wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin. See paragraph 0052, disclosing:
[0052] Many conventional non-curable adhesives known in the art may be used as an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive 22 of this invention. Non-limiting examples of suitable non-curable adhesive materials include natural rubber, polychloroprene, nitrile rubber-phenolic resins, nitrile rubber-epoxy resins, nylon-epoxy resins, hot melt adhesives, anaerobic adhesives, silicone adhesives, hypalon toughened acrylate adhesives, bismaleimide-based adhesives, polyacrylates, polyvinylether adhesives, silicone rubber adhesives, polyisoprene adhesives, polybutadiene adhesives, styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymers, polybutylene terephthalate, polyolefins, polyethylene terephthalate, styrenic block co-polymers, styrene-butadiene rubbers, polyether block polyamides, polypropylene/crosslinked EDPM rubbers, and water-based adhesives such as animal glues and latex-based adhesives. The number average molecular weight of the polymeric adhesive materials may vary from 1000 to 10,000,000 daltons.
Additionally, it would have obvious to consider utilizing other polyolefin based adhesives, such as polyvinylchloride based adhesives. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin as taught in Extrand and further to select wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyvinylchloride based adhesive in order to achieve a reversible adhesive that is an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive of Extrand.
As to claim 7, Huang does not disclose wherein the reversible adhesive provides an adhesive strength of about 30 mN/mm prior to being exposed to one or more of electromagnetic energy, thermal energy, infrared radiation, ultraviolet radiation or a magnetic field.
However, Huang does disclose in paragraph 0028 that “Adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when a component 1000 is placed in a pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets, adhesive layer 110 in the pocket permanently bonds to the component. This means that adhesive layer 110 in the pocket bonds to the component such that the component cannot be removed from the pocket without damage to the component, the pocket, or both. Advantageously, this permanent bond facilitates secure storage and transportation of components by the carrier tape.” and in paragraph 0030 that “when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is reduced to zero.”
Additionally, Extrand teaches in paragraph 0088 that “The electro-active adhesive 22 for bonding the semiconductor and/or microelectronic components to the transporting and/or storing device may have a surface energy between 20 dyne/cm and 100 dyne/cm, more preferably between about 30 dyne/centimeter to 45 dyne/centimeter, and most preferably about 40 dyne/centimeter.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the reversible adhesive provides an adhesive strength of about 30 mN/mm prior to being exposed to one or more of electromagnetic energy, thermal energy, infrared radiation, ultraviolet radiation or a magnetic field because Huang discloses that the adhesive strength is such that the component cannot be removed from the pocket without damage to the component, the pocket, or both prior to UV treatment and that when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is reduced to zero.
As to claim 39, Huang does not disclose wherein the reversible adhesive is at last one of a polyolefin or a polyvinylchloride based adhesive.
However, Extrand discloses wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin. See paragraph 0052, disclosing:
[0052] Many conventional non-curable adhesives known in the art may be used as an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive 22 of this invention. Non-limiting examples of suitable non-curable adhesive materials include natural rubber, polychloroprene, nitrile rubber-phenolic resins, nitrile rubber-epoxy resins, nylon-epoxy resins, hot melt adhesives, anaerobic adhesives, silicone adhesives, hypalon toughened acrylate adhesives, bismaleimide-based adhesives, polyacrylates, polyvinylether adhesives, silicone rubber adhesives, polyisoprene adhesives, polybutadiene adhesives, styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymers, polybutylene terephthalate, polyolefins, polyethylene terephthalate, styrenic block co-polymers, styrene-butadiene rubbers, polyether block polyamides, polypropylene/crosslinked EDPM rubbers, and water-based adhesives such as animal glues and latex-based adhesives. The number average molecular weight of the polymeric adhesive materials may vary from 1000 to 10,000,000 daltons.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin as taught in Extrand in order to achieve a reversible adhesive that is an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive of Extrand.
Additionally, it would have obvious to consider utilizing other polyolefin based adhesives, such as polyvinylchloride based adhesives. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyolefin as taught in Extrand and further to select wherein the reversible adhesive is a polyvinylchloride based adhesive in order to achieve a reversible adhesive that is an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive of Extrand.
Claim(s) 27-29 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20150158649 A1) and Anderson (US 6412641 B1) and Yamada (CN 104277728 A).
As to claim 27, Huang discloses a method of forming a semiconductor device carrier system, comprising:
forming a pocket (pocket 104) in a carrier tape (such as in paragraph 0028, disclosing “Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets”), the pocket including a bottom surface (bottom wall 106) and a sidewall (side walls 108);
patterning a plurality of preformed pieces (paragraph 0031, “While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104”) of reversible adhesive (see paragraph 0029 “exposure of the adhesive to UV radiation allows the component to be quickly and easily removed from the pocket, e.g., by robotic placement equipment, without the presence of adhesive residue on the component”) and placing a preformed piece of adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket;
and placing a semiconductor device into the pocket during formation of the carrier system (see paragraph 0003, disclosing “placing the IC chips individually in designated sites on the carrier tape”) to adhere the semiconductor device to one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive retaining the semiconductor device in a position such that the semiconductor device is spaced apart from the sidewall of the pocket.
See Figures 1A and 1B below.
See Huang, paragraphs 0028-32, disclosing:
[0028] Carrier tape 100 further includes an adhesive layer 110 disposed on bottom wall 106 of each pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets. Adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when a component 1000 is placed in a pocket 104 in the plurality of pockets, adhesive layer 110 in the pocket permanently bonds to the component. This means that adhesive layer 110 in the pocket bonds to the component such that the component cannot be removed from the pocket without damage to the component, the pocket, or both. Advantageously, this permanent bond facilitates secure storage and transportation of components by the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, this permanent bond eliminates the need for a cover tape used to seal the components in the pockets and the associated sealing process, which significantly reduces the overall cost of the component storage and transportation.
[0029] In addition, adhesive layer 110 is disposed on bottom wall 106 such that when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed from the pocket. Advantageously, exposure of the adhesive to UV radiation allows the component to be quickly and easily removed from the pocket, e.g., by robotic placement equipment, without the presence of adhesive residue on the component. In at least one aspect, this method eliminates need for removal of a cover tape used to seal the components in the pockets and the associated cover tape removal equipment, which increases the speed of component pickup and placement. In at least one aspect, elimination of the cover tape removal process also reduces vibrations to the carrier tape during component pickup and placement, which increases the effectiveness (rate) of component pickup and placement.
[0030] In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is reduced to zero. In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed without damage to the component or the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, sufficient bond strength remains to facilitate transportation of the component, e.g., from the UV radiation location to the pick and place location in the SMT process, without displacement of the component.
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
Huang does not disclose either placing the one or more plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket in an array format within the pocket such that respective preformed pieces of reversible adhesive of the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive are spaced apart from each other within the pocket or after patterning the one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive, recycling a remaining portion of the reversible adhesive to form additional preformed pieces of reversible adhesive to be placed on in an additional pocket in an additional carrier tape or in another pocket in the carrier tape spaced apart from the pocket in the carrier tape.
Huang, however, does explicitly teaches that “The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured” and teaches “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104”.
Additionally, Anderson teaches that an array of reversible adhesive dots may be used, which would read on the limitation of “placing the one or more plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket in an array format within the pocket such that respective preformed pieces of reversible adhesive of the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive are spaced apart from each other within the pocket”. Anderson is intended to be used with a wide variety of carrier tapes, including those with pockets. See claim 1, reciting “a strip portion having a plurality of aligned pockets” and column 2, line 32-35, reciting the same. Anderson discloses in column 4, lines 26-29 that “Alternatively, adhesive 246 may comprise dots, crosses or X's of adhesive applied through a stencil or by a printing head, or sprayed, onto segments 242.” In column 4, lines 47-52, Anderson discloses “An EMR-sensitive adhesive may be applied to encapsulated die support strip 262 in the manner described with respect to FIG. 2A, or, as depicted, may comprise a single continuous adhesive strip 264 or two mutually parallel adhesive strips 266 (shown in broken lines).” In column 5, lines 4-6, Anderson discloses that “Packaged dice 206 are carried on adhesive material 284, protected within the confines of channel-shaped member 280. Longitudinally-spaced dots or segments or a continuous strip or strips of EMR-sensitive adhesive material 284 are applied to bottom 282 inside channel shaped member 280.” Anderson discloses in column 1, lines 63-67 that “A need exists for packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination:.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized placing the one or more plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket in an array format within the pocket such that respective preformed pieces of reversible adhesive of the plurality of preformed pieces of reversible adhesive are spaced apart from each other within the pocket by using the dots or segments or strips as taught by Anderson in order to achieve packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination and because Huang contemplates that the amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured.
Additionally, Yamada (CN 104277728 A) makes obvious after patterning the one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive, recycling a remaining portion of the reversible adhesive to form additional preformed pieces of reversible adhesive to be placed on in an additional pocket in an additional carrier tape or in another pocket in the carrier tape spaced apart from the pocket in the carrier tape. Yamada discloses recycling of the cut and/or remainder adhesive tape for effective use of the resource in the context of taping electronic components such as a frame display or flat panel display. See especially paragraphs 0020-21 and 0034-36:
[0020] The invention is accomplished in view of the above problems, the aim is to make the adhesive tape even into a narrow frame width is below 0.7 mm, it can easily contact with the joint surface, and it can ensure sufficient joint strength and water resistance.
[0021] Moreover, under the precondition of to solve the above problem, so the adhesive tape of the adhesive tape than before can be completely and easily for rework into a frame shape, and the cut adhesive tape produced when cutting the excess material can be recycled, so it can effectively use the resource.
…
[0034] invention of the fifth aspect is such that, in the invention of the first aspect, the composition of the adhesive layer is the weight ratio of the elastomer and the tackifier 1/0. 3 of the composition of less than 1/1 nm in the elastomer is styrene series elastomer and has reversibility.
[0035] According to this structure, because the elastomer is a styrene elastomer, so good solvent solubility and coating workability is improved. Because the ratio of tackifier in general than before glue with low range, it can sufficiently maintain the elasticity of the elastomer.
[0036] Since the adhesive layer not like crosslinked adhesive generally irreversible, but has reversibility, so as to make the adhesive layer is dissolved in a solvent, can be mass produced in the cutting when cutting the remainder again into the tape adhesive layer for reuse.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the limitation of after patterning the one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive, recycling a remaining portion of the reversible adhesive to form additional preformed pieces of reversible adhesive to be placed on in an additional pocket in an additional carrier tape or in another pocket in the carrier tape spaced apart from the pocket in the carrier tape as suggested by Yamada in order that the excess material can be recycled, so it can effectively use the resource and the remainder of the adhesive layer can be reused.
As to claim 28, Huang discloses wherein one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive are rectangular (paragraph 0031, disclosing “a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket”, and Figures 1A and 1B, showing a rectangular shape) onto a bottom of the pocket (see Figure 1A and 1B, showing that adhesive 110 is placed on bottom wall 106). See especially paragraph 0031, disclosing “multiple strips of tape spaced from one another”:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive are rectangular as a change in size in shape of the adhesive tape strips of Huang.
As to claim 29, Huang discloses further comprising treating the reversible adhesive during carrier system fabrication to reduce an initial adhesion strength of the reversible adhesive. See paragraph 0030, disclosing:
[0030] In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is reduced to zero. In at least one aspect, when the adhesive is exposed to UV radiation the adhesive bond strength is sufficiently reduced so that the component can be removed without damage to the component or the carrier tape. In at least one aspect, sufficient bond strength remains to facilitate transportation of the component, e.g., from the UV radiation location to the pick and place location in the SMT process, without displacement of the component.
As to claim 33, Huang does not disclose wherein placing the one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket further includes placing at least a first preformed piece and a second preformed piece of the one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket, and the first preformed piece being spaced apart from the second preformed piece.
Huang, however, does explicitly teach in paragraph 0031 that “Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution.” and in paragraph 0032 that “The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured” and teaches “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104”.
Additionally, Anderson teaches that an array of reversible adhesive dots may be used, which would read on the limitation of “each respective portion of the array of respective portions of the reversible adhesive is spaced apart from corresponding respective portions of the reversible adhesive”. Anderson is intended to be used with a wide variety of carrier tapes, including those with pockets. See claim 1, reciting “a strip portion having a plurality of aligned pockets” and column 2, line 32-35, reciting the same. Anderson discloses in column 4, lines 26-29 that “Alternatively, adhesive 246 may comprise dots, crosses or X's of adhesive applied through a stencil or by a printing head, or sprayed, onto segments 242.” In column 4, lines 47-52, Anderson discloses “An EMR-sensitive adhesive may be applied to encapsulated die support strip 262 in the manner described with respect to FIG. 2A, or, as depicted, may comprise a single continuous adhesive strip 264 or two mutually parallel adhesive strips 266 (shown in broken lines).” In column 5, lines 4-6, Anderson discloses that “Packaged dice 206 are carried on adhesive material 284, protected within the confines of channel-shaped member 280. Longitudinally-spaced dots or segments or a continuous strip or strips of EMR-sensitive adhesive material 284 are applied to bottom 282 inside channel shaped member 280.” Anderson discloses in column 1, lines 63-67 that “A need exists for packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination:.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein placing the one or more preformed pieces of the reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket further includes placing at least a first preformed piece and a second preformed piece of the one or more preformed pieces of reversible adhesive on the bottom surface of the pocket, and the first preformed piece being spaced apart from the second preformed piece because such arrays are taught by Anderson in order to achieve packaging and methods for inexpensively protecting encapsulated dice during shipping from contamination and damage, as well as facilitating removal of the encapsulated dice from packaging upon reaching their destination and because Huang contemplates that the amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured.
As to claim 34, Huang discloses wherein respective adhesive portions of the plurality of adhesive portions have a polygonal shape. The figures show a rectangular shape, which reads on the a polygonal shape. See also paragraph 0031, disclosing:
[0031] While FIG. 1A shows adhesive layer 110 as a discrete segment of tape applied within each pocket 104, other configurations of adhesive layer 110 are contemplated. For example, adhesive layer 110 may include a single adhesive strip applied along the length of the carrier tape. It may be as wide as the width of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the width. It may be as long as the length of pocket 104 or it may cover only a portion of the length. Adhesive layer 110 may include multiple strips of tape spaced from one another. Adhesive layer 110 may also include a ring or bead of adhesive, or a series of spaced dots of adhesive in a circular, triangular, or other shaped distribution. Adhesive layer 110 may be a continuous or non-continuous strip of adhesive screen printed on bottom wall 106 of pocket 104.
[0032] The amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range, depending on the size and shape of the component to be secured. In general, neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets 104. Because adhesive layer 110 provides the principle means for retaining components 1000 in pockets 104, a single pocket 104 having a generic design may be used to accommodate various shapes and sizes of components. In other words, pockets 104 need not be closely shaped or sized to receive particular components as long as adhesive layer 110 has the capacity to permanently bond the components to carrier tape 100. The amount of adhesive layer 110 used on carrier tape 100 may vary over a wide range and may be influenced by the size and weight of the component to be permanently bonded in pockets 104 (i.e., larger, heavier components may require more adhesive than smaller, lighter components).
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Huang discloses that the “amount, type, and configuration of adhesive layer 110 applied to a carrier tape may vary over a wide range” and “neither the shape nor the placement of adhesive layer 110 is crucial, as long as the adhesive has sufficient adhesion to permanently bond components 1000 within pockets”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein respective adhesive portions of the plurality of adhesive portions have a polygonal shape as a change in size in shape of the adhesive tape strips of Huang.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20150158649 A1) and Anderson (US 6412641 B1) and Yamada (CN 104277728 A) as applied to claims 27-29 and 33-34 above, and further in view of Extrand (US 20050274455 A1).
As to claim 30, Huang does not disclose wherein the reversible adhesive comprises a polyolefin-based adhesive or a polyethylene-based adhesive.
However, Extrand discloses wherein the reversible adhesive comprises a polyolefin-based adhesive or a polyethylene-based adhesive. See paragraph 0052, disclosing:
[0052] Many conventional non-curable adhesives known in the art may be used as an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive 22 of this invention. Non-limiting examples of suitable non-curable adhesive materials include natural rubber, polychloroprene, nitrile rubber-phenolic resins, nitrile rubber-epoxy resins, nylon-epoxy resins, hot melt adhesives, anaerobic adhesives, silicone adhesives, hypalon toughened acrylate adhesives, bismaleimide-based adhesives, polyacrylates, polyvinylether adhesives, silicone rubber adhesives, polyisoprene adhesives, polybutadiene adhesives, styrene-isoprene-styrene block copolymers, polybutylene terephthalate, polyolefins, polyethylene terephthalate, styrenic block co-polymers, styrene-butadiene rubbers, polyether block polyamides, polypropylene/crosslinked EDPM rubbers, and water-based adhesives such as animal glues and latex-based adhesives. The number average molecular weight of the polymeric adhesive materials may vary from 1000 to 10,000,000 daltons.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the reversible adhesive comprises a polyolefin-based adhesive or a polyethylene-based adhesive as taught in Extrand in order to achieve a reversible adhesive that is an adhesive binder in the ER-based electro-active adhesive of Extrand.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 20150158649 A1) and Anderson (US 6412641 B1) and Yamada (CN 104277728 A) as applied to claims 27-29 and 33-34 above, and further in view of Althouse (US 5769237 A).
As to claim 32, Huang does not disclose wherein the semiconductor device includes solder balls on a lower surface, and the solder balls contact the reversible adhesive.
However, Althouse discloses wherein the semiconductor device includes solder balls on a lower surface, and the solder balls contact the reversible adhesive. Althouse teaches a tape carrier similar to that in Huang and Extrand, which also uses pockets and adhesives. Additionally, Althouse teaches that these tape carrier systems are “particularly useful for handling small electronic devices”. See column 3, line 66 to column 4, line 15, disclosing:
The invention is particularly useful for handling small electronic devices, particularly flat devices such as semiconductor chips, both bare and packaged; other suitable devices include flip chips, ball grid arrays (BGAs) and some chip scale packages (CSPs) which use solder bumped technology. Fine pitch lead devices and other non-planar devices can also be handled, if the pockets in the carrier tape are suitably formed. Other electrical and non-electrical components can also be used. The thickness of the device is preferably less than 0.25 inch. The area of the device is preferably less than 3 inch. The size of the pocket can be substantially larger than the device, e.g. up to 4 inch, for example 0.5 to 2.25 inch.sup.2, preferably 0.8 to 1.2 inch.sup.2, making it possible to use the same tape carrier for a wide variety of different devices. The device should be placed on the fastening member so that at least part of it lies on the release portion. In many cases, part of the device lies on the fixed portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein the semiconductor device includes solder balls on a lower surface, and the solder balls contact the reversible adhesive as taught by Althouse because carrier tape technologies are particularly useful for handling small electronic devices, particularly flat devices such as semiconductor chips, both bare and packaged; other suitable devices include flip chips, ball grid arrays (BGAs) and some chip scale packages (CSPs) which use solder bumped technology.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK