CTNF 18/344,769 CTNF 75758 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, Species 1, as shown in FIG. 1L , in the reply filed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claim does not recite any specific techniques for effecting such formation . This is not found persuasive because the linking claims reciting the specific methods to incorporate the atomic percent nitrogen into the dopped field relief dielectric layer. Further, regarding the Species, Applicant asserts that the statement is completely silent with respect to what, if any, features of the figures are mutually exclusive. However, the Figures 1L and 3 show abundant differences from one another such as the field relief dielectric layer being formed by LOCOS or STI. These two are very distinct . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Applicant identified claims 11-20 are readable on the Elected Group II, Species 1. However, Claim 13 recites: The method of claim 11, wherein a field relief dielectric layer is formed by shallow trench isolation (STI) . The STI is not the elected species 1, as shown in FIG. 1L. Claim 16 recites: The method of claim 11, wherein a doped field relief dielectric layer (122) is formed by a dielectric deposition process including at least one nitrogen containing precursor. The “a doped field relief dielectric layer is formed by a dielectric deposition process ” is not the elected species 1, as shown in FIG. 1L. Note that LOCOS is formed by “thermal oxidation of substrate, not deposition process. Therefore, claims 13 and 16 is effectively withdrawn from consideration. Action on merits of claims 11-12, 14, 15 and 17-20 follows. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 08, 2024 has been considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: METHOD FOR FORMING A MIROELECTRONIC DEVICE HAVING A FIELD RELIEF DIELECTRIC LAYER WITH GREATER THAN 5 ATOMIC PERCENT NITROGEN BY INCORPORATING NITROGEN SPECIES Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. 07-31-02 Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 18 recites: The method of claim 11, wherein a portion of an atomic percent nitrogen in the doped field relief dielectric layer is formed by a nitrogen containing plasma as silicon nitride . The incorporation of nitrogen species into a silicon oxide ( locos ) is at best silicon oxynitride (SiON) not SiN. Therefore, claim 18 fail to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. 07-36 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim s 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 14 recites: The method of claim 11, wherein a doped field relief dielectric layer is formed by a nitrogen containing plasma including dinitrogen (N2) which incorporates an atomic percent nitrogen into a field relief dielectric layer . However, the independent claim 11 recites: “the doped field relief dielectric layer having greater than 5 atomic percent nitrogen ”. The term “ which incorporates an atomic percent nitrogen into a field relief dielectric layer ” of claim 14 is broader than “having greater than 5 atomic percent nitrogen ” of claim 11. Similarly, claim 15 recites: The method of claim 11, wherein a dope field relief dielectric layer is formed by a nitrogen containing plasma including ammonia (NH3) which incorporates an atomic percent nitrogen into a field relief dielectric layer. Therefore, claims 14 and 15 fail to further limit the independent claim 1 . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDWARDS et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0213893) in view of SU et al. (US. Pub. No. 2010/0096697) . With respect to claim 11, teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device, substantially as claimed including: forming a body region (120) and a drain drift region (116) in a semiconductor material (106) of a substrate, the body region (120) having a first conductivity type (P) and the drain drift region (116) having a second conductivity type (N); forming a doped field relief dielectric layer (122) over the drain drift region (116), the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) having atomic percent nitrogen and a thickness greater than a gate dielectric layer (126); forming the gate dielectric layer (126) over the body region (120), the gate dielectric layer (126) extending over an intersection between the body region (120) and the drain drift region (116); forming a gate electrode (130) over the gate dielectric layer (126); forming a source region (128) having the second conductivity type (N) contacting the body region (120), the source region (128) having an average dopant density greater than the average dopant density of the body region (120); and forming a drain region (118) having the second conductivity type (N) contacting the drain drift region (116), the drain region (128) having an average dopant density greater than an average dopant density of the drain drift region (116). (See FIG. 1). Thus, EDWARDS is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the doped field relief dielectric layer having greater than 5 atomic percent nitrogen. However, SU teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device including: forming a doped field relief dielectric layer (122) over the drain drift region (112), the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) having greater than 5 atomic percent nitrogen and a thickness greater than a gate dielectric layer (126). (See FIG. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the doped field relief dielectric layer of EDWARDS having greater than 5 atomic percent nitrogen as taught by SU for the same intended purpose of releasing electric field under the gate electrode. Note that, the material of the doped field relief dielectric layer 122 of SU comprises silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride, hence having greater than 5 atomic percent nitrogen. With respect to claim 12, a (sic) field relief dielectric layer (122) of EDWARDS or SU is formed by local oxidation of silicon (LOCOS). With respect to claim 17, As best understood by the Examiner, the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) and a doped field oxide layer (126) are formed concurrently. With respect to claim 18, As best understood by the Examiner, a portion of an atomic percent nitrogen in the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) of EDWARS is formed by a nitrogen containing plasma as silicon nitride . With respect to claim 19, a portion of an atomic percent nitrogen in the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) of EDWARDS is formed by a nitrogen containing plasma as silicon oxynitride. With respect to claim 20, an (sic) atomic percent nitrogen of the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) of EDWARDS is formed with a higher concentration of nitrogen at a top surface of the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) than at an interface between the doped field relief dielectric layer (122) and the substrate . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EDWARS ‘893 and SU ‘697 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of FERNADES et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0161414) . As best understood by the Examiner, a (sic) doped field relief dielectric layer (122) of EDWARDS is formed by a nitrogen containing plasma including dinitrogen (N 2 ) (claim 14) or ammonia (NH- 3 ) (claim 15) which incorporates an atomic percent nitrogen into a field relief dielectric layer (122). Thus, EDWARDS, in view of SU, is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a nitrogen containing plasma including dinitrogen (N- 2 ) or ammonia (NH 3 ). However, FERNANDES teaches a method of forming a microelectronic device including: utilizing nitrogen species from dinitrogen (N 2 ) or ammonia (NH 3 ) in a plasma process. (See ¶ [0021]). Note that, using a nitrogen species from dinitrogen (N 2 ) or ammonia (NH 3 ) are well-known and within the ability of one skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the doped field relief dielectric layer of EDWARDS utilizing the nitrogen containing plasma including dinitrogen (N 2 ) or ammonia (NH- 3 ) as taught by FERNANADES to incorporates an atomic percent nitrogen into a field relief dielectric layer, without altering the scope of EDWARDS. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANH D MAI whose telephone number is (571)272-1710 (Email: Anh.Mai2@uspto.gov) . The examiner can normally be reached 10:00-4:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sue A Purvis can be reached at 571-272-1236. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/344,769 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893