Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiota et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014-0231729 A1), hereinafter Shiota.
4. Regarding Claims 1-11 and 13-15, Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0150]) a resin comprising an alkali-soluble resin. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0150]) a styrene-based resin. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0141 and 0148]) wherein a weight average molecular weight of the alkali-soluble resin is 2,000 to 20,000. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053 and 0236]) the alkali-soluble resin comprises a structural unit having a fluorene ring and two or more ethylenic polymerizable groups. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053, 0064, and 0076]) a polymerizable monomer comprising a polyurethane acrylate oligomer. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0052-0053]) a photopolymerization initiator. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0156-0176]) a photoacid generator. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0092-0100]) a black colorant. Shiota teaches (Paragraph [0109]) a solvent. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053, 0057-0068, and 0322]) the structural unit having a fluorene ring and two or more ethylenic polymerizable groups comprises a structural unit represented by Formula (A1) of the present application. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0150]) wherein the styrene-based resin (A-2) comprises a structural unit represented by Formula (A2) of the present application. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053, 0064, and 0076]) wherein the polyurethane acrylate oligomer comprises a structural unit represented by Formula (B1) of the present application. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053, 0079, 0157, and 0172]) wherein the polymerizable monomer further comprises a triazine-based monomer. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053, 0079, 0157, and 0172]) wherein the polymerizable monomer further comprises a triazine-based monomer represented by Formula (B3) of the present application. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0053, 0079, 0157, and 0164]) wherein the photopolymerization initiator comprises an oxime ester-based compound. Shiota teaches (Paragraph [0451]) wherein the photoacid generator comprises a propanesulfonic acid-based compound. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0092-0100]) wherein the black colorant comprises a carbon black, a titanium black, or a combination thereof. Shiota teaches (Paragraph [0099]) wherein, based on a usage amount of 100 parts by weight of the resin composition, a usage amount of the carbon black is 10 parts by weight to 40 parts by weight, and a usage amount of the titanium black is 30 parts by weight to 70 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0102-0105]) wherein the solvent includes propylene glycol monomethyl ether, propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, dipropylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate, propylene glycol monoethyl ether, propylene glycol monopropyl ether, or a combination thereof. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0105 and 0150]) based on a usage amount of 100 parts by weight of the resin composition, a usage amount of the resin is 6 parts by weight to 40 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0077 and 0105]) based on a usage amount of 100 parts by weight of the resin composition a usage amount of the polymerizable monomer is 2 parts by weight to 40 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0080 and 0105]) a usage amount of the photopolymerization initiator is 0.01 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0105 and 0174]) a usage amount of the photoacid generator is 0.01 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0099 and 0105]) a usage amount of the black colorant is 40 parts by weight to 88 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraph [0105]) a usage amount of the solvent is 0.1 parts by weight to 20 parts by weight. Shiota teaches (Paragraph [0281]) a cured film formed by curing the resin composition. Shiota teaches (Paragraphs [0092-0100 and 0281]) a color filter comprising a black matrix formed by curing the resin composition.
5. However, Shiota fails to explicitly teach all components of the composition limited by the present application with a single experimental example. That said, all components of the composition are described with sufficient detail by the prior art. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Shiota would have found it obvious to try the combinations of components herein limited with a reasonable expectation of success. Furthermore, Shiota teaches that the disclosure therein is not limited by given examples (Paragraph [0052]) the basic components are taught, i.e. an alkali-soluble resin, a photopolymerization initiator, an organic solvent, a photopolymerable monomer, etc. and those teachings are not limited to one single embodiment. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the teaching of Shiota includes combinations of compounds given for the different embodiments taught therein with a reasonable expectation of success.
6. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiota et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014-0231729 A1), hereinafter Shiota, in view of Abe et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2018-060136 A), hereinafter Abe.
7. Shiota teaches all limitations of Claim 1 above. Furthemore, Shiota teaches (Paragraph [0106]) a surfactant. However, Shiota fails to explicitly teach wherein the surfactant comprises a fluorine-based surfactant, a siloxane-based surfactant, a nonionic surfactant, or a combination thereof.
8. Abe teaches (Paragraph [0232]) a (non-limited) surfactant as well as the surfactant may comprise a nonionic surfactant.
9. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that Shiota in view of Abe teaches the surfactant may comprise a nonionic surfactant. Doing so would involve only the simple substitution of one know element, i.e. a non-limited surfactant taught by both Shiota and Abe, with the nonionic surfactant taught by Abe and that said simple substitution would lead to predictable results given that both the non-limited surfactant and the nonionic surfactant serve the same function.
Conclusion
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737