Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al., US 2005/0104162.
Xu et al. shows the invention as claimed including a group III element nitride semiconductor substrate, comprising:
A first and second surface (see upper and lower surface of wafer in figs. 10A-10B), wherein the Group-III element nitride semiconductor substrate has a c-plane tilted with respect to a direction of the first surface (see paragraphs 0046 and 0051 and upper surface of wafer in figs. 10A-10B), and wherein a direction of the tilt falls between a <1-100> direction and a <11-20> direction (see paragraph 0074 and 0052). Note that the direction <1-100> includes the direction <10-10> as discussed in paragraph 0052.
Concerning dependent claims 2-4, note that Xu et al. discloses that the direction of the tilt falls within a range of plus or minus fifteen degrees, plus or minus twelve and a half degrees, or plus or minus seven and a half degrees (see, for example, paragraph 0015).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al., US 2005/0104162 in view of Yamasaki, US 2002/0105986.
Xu et al. is applied as above with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4 under 35 USC 102 (a)(1) but does not expressly disclose wherein the Group-III element nitride semiconductor substrate has an orientation flat parallel to a <11-20> direction. However, Yamasaki discloses a gallium nitride-based semiconductor substrate that has an orientation flat parallel to a <11-20> direction (see paragraph 0088). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Xu et al. so as to perform the orientation flat as suggested by Yamasaki because the <11-20> is shown to be a suitable direction to be used for an orientation flat in a gallium nitride substrate.
Regarding dependent claims 8-9, note that in Xu et al. the direction of the tilt falls within the claimed range (see, for example, paragraph 0015).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al., US 2005/0104162.
Xu et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose the specific area of the region occupied by the tilt or the specific tilt angle. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine through routine experimentation the optimum tilt angle and specific area occupied by the tilt based upon a variety of factors and such limitation would not lend patentability to the instant application absent a showing of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art, either singly or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious, the combination of limitations of: wherein the tilt has an angle of from 0.2° to 0.8°, wherein the Group-III element nitride semiconductor substrate has a diameter of 75 mm or more, and has a thickness of 300 pm to 1,000 pm, and wherein the surface roughness (Ra) of at least one of the first surface and the second surface measured in a 90 pm square with an AFM is 1.0 nm or less, as required by independent claim 10. Note that the Xu et al. reference used in the above rejections fails to disclose the combination of these limitations.
Conclusion
/RICHARD A BOOTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
November 16, 2025