Detailed Action1
Election/Restriction
Claims 2-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claim 1, in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
America Invents Act Status
Rejections under 35 USC 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites which is used to remove swarf that has been generated during processing of a workpiece by use of the cutting blade and that is present in a processed region processed by the cutting blade of the workpiece, from the processed region. This limitation is confusingly written. The examiner is interpreting this limitation as: which is used to remove swarf from a processed region of a workpiece that has been generated during processing of the workpiece by use of the cutting blade.
Rejections under 35 USC 102
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas Caserta, The Benefits of Rubber Washers, YouTube, Published May 9, 2019, available at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3RNpdzv3bXc (“Caserta”).
Claim 1 recites a cleaning tool, wherein the cleaning tool has in its central part an opening to be used at a time of mounting to the spindle, and the cleaning tool is formed in an annular shape from an elastic material softer than the workpiece and does not contain abrasive grains, or the cleaning tool is formed in an annular shape from an elastic material having a Vickers hardness of less than 10.6 GPa and does not contain abrasive grains. Caserta teaches rubber washers, which come in a variety of shapes and sizes including flat, annular pieces that are relatively thin and have central openings of various sizes (see pages 1-3, wherein all references to Caserta refer to the document submitted herewith). Further, since the rubber washers are configured to seal mechanical elements (page 2), one of skill in the art appreciates that they are elastic. As detailed below, since the workpiece is not a positively recited element, the cleaning tool merely has to be softer than a hypothetical workpiece. Since the tool of Caserta is made of rubber, there are many materials capable of being cut that are harder than rubber (including higher hardness rubbers or elastic materials, hard plastics, metals, etc.).
Claim 1 also recites the tool which is used in a state of being mounted to a spindle configured such that an annular cutting blade containing abrasive grains is mountable thereto, and which is used to remove swarf that has been generated during processing of a workpiece by use of the cutting blade and that is present in a processed region processed by the cutting blade of the workpiece, from the processed region. This is an intended used limitation (wherein neither the spindle, cutting blade, nor workpiece are positively recited elements), thus the structure of Caserta merely has to be capable of this intended use. Since at least some of the rubber washers illustrated in Caserta are capable of being removably attached to a spindle (that can also have a cutting blade removably attached thereto) in order to remove swarf generated during cutting of a workpiece, at least some of the washers illustrated in Caserta are capable of this intended use.
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-2015126022-A (“Misaizu”).
Regarding claim 1, Misaizu teaches a cleaning tool (18) which is used in a state of being mounted to a spindle (16), and which is used to remove swarf that has been generated during processing of a workpiece by use of the cutting blade and that is present in a processed region processed by the cutting blade of the workpiece, from the processed region (fig. 3, ¶ [0030]-[0035], wherein all references to the Misaizu specification refer to the machine translation submitted herewith), wherein the cleaning tool has in its central part an opening to be used at a time of mounting to the spindle (fig. 3, ¶ [0031], wherein since the tool 18 is annular it has an opening in a central portion thereof), and the cleaning tool is formed in an annular shape from an elastic material softer than the workpiece and does not contain abrasive grains (¶ [0031]). Since the workpiece is not a postively recited element, the tool 18 merely has to be capable of being softer than a hypothetical workpiece. Since the tool is made out of relatively soft materials like silicone rubber, urethane, or sponge, the device of Misaizu is capable of being used with a workpiece harder than the material of the tool 18.
Claim 1 also recites the spindle configured such that an annular cutting blade containing abrasive grains is mountable thereto. Given the illustration of the spindle 16 of figs. 2-3, and the description of the spindles (i.e. the cutting blade and tool 18 mounted to the end of the spindle in ¶ [0022]-[0023] & [0031]-[0032]), one of skill in the art will appreciate that the tool 18 is capable of being demounted from spindle 16 so that an annular cutting tool to cut the workpiece is mountable thereon.
Rejections under 35 USC 1032
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaizu in view of USPGPub No. 2022/0040878 (“Terada”).
Regarding claim 1, Misaizu teaches all the limitations as detailed in the 102 rejection above. Assuming arguendo that Misaizu fails to explicitly teach the spindle configured such that an annular cutting blade containing abrasive grains is mountable thereto, this would be obvious in view of Terada.
Terada is also directed to a device for cutting semiconductor wafers comprising a spindle configured to have an annular cutting blade or other element mounted thereto (fig. 3, ¶ [0001]-[0002], [0048] & [0066]). Terada teaches the annular cutting blade 52 being removably mounted to the spindle via mounts and a screw (fig. 3, ¶ [0066]-[0074]).
In this case, each of Misaizu and Terada are directed to a device for cutting semiconductor wafers comprising a spindle configured to have an annular cutting blade or other annular element mounted thereto. While Terada fails to explicitly state that the annular cutting blade or deburring blade can be demounted from the spindle, Terada teaches that it is known and predictable to attach annular inserts in a removable manner via mounts and screws. Being able to remove the annular inserts will allow inserts to be replaced after they are worn down and reached the end of their useful life. Thus, in order to replace worn down annular inserts, it would be obvious to modify the spindles of Misaizu so that the cutting blade and annular deburring blade are removable.
Given the above modification, the tool 18 is capable of being demounted from spindle 16 so that an annular cutting tool to cut the workpiece is mountable thereon
Conclusion
/KYLE A COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct quotations from claims are presented in italics. All information within non-italicized parentheses and presented with claim language are from or refer to the cited prior art reference unless explicitly stated otherwise.
2 In 103 rejections, when the primary reference is followed by “et al.”, “et al.” refers to the secondary references. For example, if Jones was modified by Smith and Johnson, subsequent recitations of “Jones et al.” mean “Jones in view of Smith and Johnson”.
3 Hereafter all uses of the word “obvious” should be construed to mean “obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.”