DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Claims 14-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/17/25.
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/17/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups have common features. The examiner has considered the arguments of rejoining Group II with Group I and has withdrawn the restriction between these two groups. The restriction of Groups I combined with Group II versus Group III, the arguments are not found persuasive because Group III, independent claim 22, can materially make a different device, such as an LED that has the pads on major surfaces of the n-type layer and the p-type layer and not on the edge. Also, the method could make a device where each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips comprising an active layer that extends in a parallel direction between a first face of the encapsulation layer and a second face of the encapsulation layer. These alternatives would make a materially different device; hence the restriction is made final. Claims 1-21 will be examined and claims 22-29 are withdrawn.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0052229 Min et al.
3. Referring to claim 1, Min et al. teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) array, comprising: an encapsulation layer, (Figures 1 & 2 #400); and a plurality of LED chips, (Figures 1 & 2 #210), in the encapsulation layer, (Figures 1 & 2 #400), and between a first face of the encapsulation layer, (Figures 1 & 2 surface of #400 where #500 is attached and where face is read to mean the larger surface area of all the surfaces), and a second face of the encapsulation layer, (Figures 1 & 2 surface of #400 where #300 is attached and where face is read to mean the larger surface area of all the surfaces), but is silent to each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips comprising an active layer that extends in a perpendicular direction between a first face of the encapsulation layer and a second face of the encapsulation layer.
Min et al. teaches in Paragraph 0047 that the LED faces the X direction to output light as shown in Figures 1 & 2. The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to know that each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips, (Figures 1 & 2 #210), comprising an active layer that extends in a perpendicular direction between a first face of the encapsulation layer, (Figures 1 & 2 surface of #400 where #500 is attached and where face is read to mean the larger surface area of all the surfaces), and a second face of the encapsulation layer, (Figures 1 & 2 surface of #400 where #300 is attached and where face is read to mean the larger surface area of all the surfaces), because it is well known in the art that the direction of light output for a light emitting device would be emitted from a direction that is perpendicular from the largest surface, being the maximum output and efficient surface of the LED, hence making the edge of the active layer perpendicular from the first face, (Figures 1 & 2 surface of #400 where #500 is attached and where face is read to mean the larger surface area of all the surfaces), and second face, (Figures 1 & 2 surface of #400 where #300 is attached and where face is read to mean the larger surface area of all the surfaces) of the encapsulation layer as shown in Figures 1 & 2.
4. Referring to claim 2, Min et al. teaches a LED array of claim 1, but is silent to wherein a first edge of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips is proximate the first face of the encapsulation layer relative to the second face of the encapsulation layer.
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a first edge of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips is proximate the first face of the encapsulation layer relative to the second face of the encapsulation layer, because it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for various reasons, such as (1) because both species were known functional equivalents from a very limited number of (two) possible options such as the LED is centered between the two faces or being positioned closer to a single face of the two faces; and/or since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent No. CN 104143598 Yuan.
5. Referring to claim 14, Yuan teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) device, comprising: a first active LED structure comprising a first n-type layer, (Figure 1 #2), a first active layer, (Figure 1 #3), and a first p-type layer, (Figure 1 #4), the first active LED structure forming a first edge that includes portions of the first n-type layer, (Figure 1 #2), and the first p-type layer, (Figure 1 #4); a first n-contact pad, (Figure 1 #5), electrically coupled to the first n-type layer, (Figure 1 #2), at the first edge; and a first p-contact pad, (Figure 1 #6), electrically coupled to the first p-type layer, (Figure 1 #4), at the first edge.
6. Referring to claim 15, Yuan teaches a LED device of claim 14, wherein the first active LED structure forms a second edge, (Figure 1 edge where #5 & 6 is located the opposite side of), that is opposite the first edge, (Figure 1 edge where #5 & 6 is located), and the first active layer, (Figure 1 #2), extends between the first edge, (Figure 1 edge where #5 & 6 is located), and the second edge, (Figure 1 edge where #5 & 6 is located the opposite side of).
7. Referring to claim 16, Yuan teaches a LED device of claim 14, further comprising: a first n-contact layer, (Figure 1 #21), on the first n-type layer, (Figure 1 #2); and a first p-contact layer, (Figure 1 #41), on the first p-type layer, (Figure 1 #4), the first n-contact layer, (Figure 1 #21), and the first p- contact layer, (Figure 1 #41), both extending to the first edge, (Figure 1 edge where #5 & 6 is located), on opposing sides of the first active LED structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
8. Claims 3-13 and 17-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The prior art teaches the claimed matter in the rejections above, but is silent with respect to the above teachings in combination with the LED array of claim 2, wherein: electrical connections for the plurality of LED chips are electrically coupled to the first edge of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips; and a second edge of each LED chip of the plurality of LED chips is positioned proximate the second face of the encapsulation layer relative to the first face of the encapsulation layer; the LED array of claim 1, wherein a pitch between adjacent LED chips of the plurality of LED chips is in a range from 10 nanometers (nm) to 1000 nm; the LED array of claim 1, wherein the plurality of LED chips comprises subgroupings of LED chips bonded together to form LED devices that are spaced apart within the encapsulation layer; the LED device of claim 16, further comprising a second active LED structure with a second n-type layer, a second active layer, and a second p-type layer, the second active LED structure being arranged relative to the first active LED structure such that the first edge includes portions of the second n-type layer and the second p-type layer; and/or the LED device of claim 16, further comprising a wavelength conversion element between the first n-contact layer and the first p-contact layer.
Conclusion
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 1/14/26