DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment to the claims, filed on November 20th, 2022, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species G of Invention II directed to Fig. 5 (claims 15-34) in the reply filed on November 20th, 2022 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all the structural differences among Species are minor and would not impose a serious burden on the Office. This is not found persuasive because these structural differences among all Species as stated in the restriction would require different field of search including different keyword search and different search queries and also the prior art applicable to one Species would not likely be applicable to another Species which would create burden on the Examiner.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Regarding claim selection, claim 16 recites “a second pedestal” which belongs to embodiment of Fig. 7. Claims 21 and 31 recites “a non-conductive material separating the areas of thermally conductive material” which belongs to embodiment of Fig. 8A. Therefore, claims 16, 21-23, and 31-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Species H and I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 15, 18, 24-28, 30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fig. 5 of Deppisch et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0017975 A1), hereinafter as Embodiment 5 of Deppisch in view of Fig. 1 of Deppisch et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0017975 A1), hereinafter as Embodiment 1.
Regarding claim 15, Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses a semiconductor
assembly in Fig. 5 comprising: a substrate (substrate 535) (see [0031]); a die (semiconductor device 525 on the left) coupled to the substrate (see [0032]); a lid (integrated heat spreader IHS 545 being metal as same material as IHS 101) coupled to the substrate and enclosing the die (see Fig. 5 and [0017], [0031]), the lid including: a first area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the top surface of HIS 545) (see annotated Fig. 5 above); a second area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the inner sidewall of concavity 575) (see annotated Fig. 5 above and [0031]); and a pedestal (the protrusion of IHS 545 and portions of solder material 555 as shown by the box in annotated Fig. 5 above) with a surface (defined by the bottom surface of the protrusion of IHS 545 having portions of solder material 555 in the box as shown in annotated Fig. 5 above), the surface of the pedestal including an area of thermally conductive material (an area of solder material 555 contacting semiconductor device 525 in the box of annotated Fig. 5 above) and contacting a surface of the die (top surface of semiconductor device 525 on the left) (see [0031-0032]).
Embodiment 5 of Deppisch fails to disclose wherein the first area of exposed metal has a roughness different from the roughness of the second area of exposed metal.
Embodiment 1 of Deppisch discloses a semiconductor a lid (an IHS including body portion 101) including a first area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the top surface of body portion 101) and a second area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the inner sidewall of concavity 104) (see Fig. 1 and [0017], [0020]), wherein the first area of exposed metal (the top surface of body portion 101 not being grinded and has a first roughness) has a roughness different from the roughness of the second area of exposed metal (the concavity 104 formed by grinding and the exposed area of the inner sidewall of concavity 104 have a second roughness) (the second roughness is greater than the first roughness due to grinding process to form the concavity 104) (see [0020-0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the grinding method of forming the concavity 104 of Embodiment 1 of Deppisch into the method of forming the concavity 575 of Embodiment 5 as the result for making the first area of exposed metal has a roughness different from the roughness of the second area of exposed metal. This is because having the grinding method for forming the concavity of the lid would provide a conventional and reliable method of cutting with low manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 15, wherein: the area of the thermally conductive material of the surface of the pedestal is less than a total area of the surface of the pedestal (area of portions of solder material 555 does not cover the entire surface area of the protrusion of IHS 545 as shown by the box in annotated Fig. 5 above); and the first area of exposed metal is on the surface of the pedestal external to the area of the thermally conductive material (the exposed area of the top surface of IHS 545 is outside of the enclosure of IHS 545) (see annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 15, wherein the thermally conductive material comprises a plated metal layer (solder material 555 has same material as solder material 210 as indium formed by electroplating) disposed on the surface of the pedestal (see Deppisch, Figs. 2, 5 and [0025], [0031]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 24, wherein the plated metal layer extends over both a top surface and one or more side surfaces of the pedestal (solder material 555 over the bottom surfaces and side surfaces of the protrusion of IHS 545 in annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 15, wherein the surface of the pedestal includes a plurality of discrete plated portions (two discrete solder material 555) configured to contact a corresponding plurality of dies (contacting two semiconductor dies 525) (see Fig. 5 and [0031]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 15, wherein the lid is coupled to the substrate by an adhesive layer (IHS 545 attached to substrate 535 using an adhesive being unlabeled) (see Fig. 5 and [0017]).
Regarding claim 28, Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses a lid (integrated heat spreader IHS 545 being metal as same material as HIS 101) configured to couple to a substrate (substrate 535) and enclosed a die (semiconductor device 525 on the left) (see Fig. 5, [0017] and [0031-0031]), the lid including: a first area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the top surface of IHS 545) (see annotated Fig. 5 above); a second area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the inner sidewall of concavity 575) (see annotated Fig. 5 above and [0017], [0031]); and a pedestal (the protrusion of IHS 545 and portions of solder material 555 as shown by the box in annotated Fig. 5 above) with a surface (defined by the bottom surface of the protrusion of IHS 545 having portions of solder material 555 in the box as shown in annotated Fig. 5 above), the surface of the pedestal including an area of thermally conductive material (an area of solder material 555 contacting semiconductor device 525 in the box of annotated Fig. 5 above) and contacting a surface of the die (top surface of semiconductor device 525 on the left) (see [0031-0032]).
Embodiment 5 of Deppisch fails to disclose wherein the first area of exposed metal has a roughness different from the roughness of the second area of exposed metal.
Embodiment 1 of Deppisch discloses a semiconductor a lid (an IHS including body portion 101) including a first area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the top surface of body portion 101) and a second area of exposed metal (an exposed area of the inner sidewall of concavity 104) (see Fig. 1 and [0017], [0020]), wherein the first area of exposed metal (the top surface of body portion 101 not being grinded and has a first roughness) has a roughness different from the roughness of the second area of exposed metal (the concavity 104 formed by grinding and the exposed area of the inner sidewall of concavity 104 have a second roughness) (the second roughness is greater than the first roughness due to grinding process to form the concavity 104) (see [0020-0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the grinding method of forming the concavity 104 of Embodiment 1 of Deppisch into the method of forming the concavity 575 of Embodiment 5 as the result for making the first area of exposed metal has a roughness different from the roughness of the second area of exposed metal. This is because having the grinding method for forming the concavity of the lid would provide a conventional and reliable method of cutting with low manufacturing cost.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the lid of claim 28, wherein: the area of the thermally conductive material of the surface of the pedestal is less than a total area of the surface of the pedestal (area of portions of solder material 555 does not cover the entire surface area of the protrusion of IHS 545 as shown by the box in annotated Fig. 5 above); and the first area of exposed metal is on the surface of the pedestal external to the area of the thermally conductive material (the exposed area of the top surface of IHS 545 is outside of the enclosure of IHS 545) (see annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Embodiment 1 and Embodiment 5 of Deppisch discloses the lid of claim 28, wherein the thermally conductive material comprises a plated metal layer (solder material 555 has same material as solder material 210 as indium formed by electroplating) disposed on the surface of the pedestal (see Deppisch, Figs. 2, 5 and [0025], [0031]).
Claim 17, 19-20 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fig. 5 of Deppisch et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0017975 A1), hereinafter as Embodiment 5 of Deppisch in view of Fig. 1 of Deppisch et al. (Pub. No.: US 2008/0017975 A1), hereinafter as Embodiment 1, as applied to claims 15 and 28 above and further in view of Kelly et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0134804 A1), hereinafter as Kelly.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Embodiment 5 and Embodiment 1 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 15, wherein the pedestal further sides (slanted sides of the protrusion of IHS 545 and portions of solder material 555) and at least one side comprises thermally conductive material (portions of solder material 555) (see annotated Fig. 5 above and [0031]). However, the combination of Embodiment 5 and Embodiment 1 of Deppisch fails to disclose the sides substantially perpendicular to the surface of the pedestal.
Kelly discloses a semiconductor assembly in Fig. 1A comprising: a substrate (substrate 103) (see [0023]); a die (one die 101) coupled to the substrate (coupled through interposer 107) (see [0025]); a lid (lid 113) coupled to the substrate and enclosing the die (see [0026]), the lid including a pedestal (the protrusion of lid 113 above dies 101 and thermal interface material 118) with a surface (the bottom surface of the protrusion of lid 113 having thermal interface material 118 formed thereon) and sides (sides of the protrusion of lid 113) substantially perpendicular to the surface of the pedestal (the sides of the protrusion is perpendicular to the bottom surface of the protrusion of the lid 113) (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sides of the pedestal of Embodiment 5 of Deppisch to be perpendicular to the surface of the pedestal as same as the pedestal of Kelly because the dimension and shape of pedestal can be modified through manufacturing for meeting certain standard of the manufacturing desire and requirement.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Embodiment 5 and Embodiment 1 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 15, but fails to disclose the semiconductor assembly further comprising: a chip capacitor coupled to the substrate and enclosed by the lid, the chip capacitor coupled to the die via one or more connections in the substrate.
Kelly discloses a semiconductor assembly in Fig. 1A comprising: a substrate (substrate 103) (see [0023]); a die (one die 101) coupled to the substrate (coupled through interposer 107) (see [0025]); a lid (lid 113) coupled to the substrate and enclosing the die (see [0026]); a chip capacitor (passive device 105 on the left) coupled to the substrate and enclosed by the lid (see [0026-0027]); an additional chip capacitor (passive device 105 on the right) coupled to the substrate and enclosed by the lid, and the chip capacitor and the additional capacitor coupled to the die via one or more connections (conductive trace) in the substrate (see [0026-0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the chip capacitor and the additional capacitor of Kelly into the semiconductor assembly of Embodiment 5 of Deppisch for coupling to the die via one or more connections in the substrate because the modified structure would provide more compact IC package and more functionality for semiconductor assembly with lower manufacturing.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Embodiment 5, Embodiment 1 of Deppisch and Kelly discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 19, further comprising: an additional chip capacitor (passive device 105 on the right) coupled to the substrate and enclosed by the lid, the additional chip capacitor coupled to the die via one or more connections (conductive trace) in the substrate (see Kelly, Fig. 1A and [0026-0027]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Embodiment 5 and Embodiment 1 of Deppisch discloses the semiconductor assembly of claim 28, wherein the pedestal further sides (slanted sides of the protrusion of IHS 545 and portions of solder material 555) and at least one side comprises thermally conductive material (portions of solder material 555) (see annotated Fig. 5 above and [0031]). However, the combination of Embodiment 5 and Embodiment 1 of Deppisch fails to disclose the sides substantially perpendicular to the surface of the pedestal.
Kelly discloses a semiconductor assembly in Fig. 1A comprising: a substrate (substrate 103) (see [0023]); a die (one die 101) coupled to the substrate (coupled through interposer 107) (see [0025]); a lid (lid 113) coupled to the substrate and enclosing the die (see [0026]), the lid including a pedestal (the protrusion of lid 113 above dies 101 and thermal interface material 118) with a surface (the bottom surface of the protrusion of lid 113 having thermal interface material 118 formed thereon) and sides (sides of the protrusion of lid 113) substantially perpendicular to the surface of the pedestal (the sides of the protrusion is perpendicular to the bottom surface of the protrusion of the lid 113) (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sides of the pedestal of Embodiment 5 of Deppisch to be perpendicular to the surface of the pedestal as same as the pedestal of Kelly because the dimension and shape of pedestal can be modified through manufacturing for meeting certain standard of the manufacturing desire and requirement.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818