DETAILED ACTIONS
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 04/30/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 3-4,7-9, 11,13-14 and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102:
Applicant’s arguments see remarks pages 1-3, filed 04/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered, and are moot because the amendment has necessitated a new ground of rejections. The new rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jimmie Paul Partee, (US 2014/0187172 A1), hereinafter Partee, previously cited), and in view of KO et al. (KR 10-1496991 B1, hereinafter Ko, an original copy with translation is uploaded by the examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Partee teaches,
An inspection device for a display apparatus (Partee, Figure 1, 100, [0004] “testing station for testing wireless network devices”), comprising:
a stage (Partee, Figure 5, base 510, see [0077], “base plate 510” reads on “stage”) comprising:
a seating surface configured to contact a target seated on the stage (Partee, Figure 5, nested platform 502, [0075] “The nested platform is a testing platform for securing the set-top box 500”. “Nested platform 502” reads on the “seat” and “set-top box 500” reads on “the target”); and
an opening portion defined in the seating surface ((Partee, Figure 1, “racks 106” [0047], reads on “the opening” to insert the testing device on the nested platform / seating 108 [0049] In one embodiment, the nested platforms 108 may be slidably mounted to the racks 106 for more easily accessing the residential gateways 102”);
an opening/closing module (Partee, Figure 5, Handle 506), configured to open or close the opening portion such that the opening/closing module moves into the opening portion to close the opening portion (Partee, Figure 5-7, [0075], Figure 6-7, shows top view and front view of the handle 506 position. See [0075] “The nested platform 502 may include a handle 506 for sliding a portion of the nested platform 502 and set-top box 500 out for easy access by a user. In one embodiment, the handle 506 may be pivotally attached to the nested platform 502 and may be folded back during insertion and removal and positioned down in a lock position during testing”).
such that a surface of the target contacts the opening/closing module and the seating surface in response to the target being seated on the stage and the opening portion being closed by the opening/closing module. see, (Partee, [0135]. “FIG. 17 illustrates the handle 506 in an unlocked or disengaged position (positioned vertically) which may change once the set-top box 500 is connected to the nested platform 402 (horizontal position) by the adapter module 514. Various portions of the nested platform 502 may be biased utilizing springs, elastomers, hydraulics or other components for connecting and disconnecting the set-top box 500 from the nested platform 502 and moving the handle 506.” The close open position of the handle with cover also disclosed in figures 22-23.)
; and
an inspection module that configured to inspect electrical characteristics of the target (Partee, Figure 1, [0045],” Functional testing of one or more residential gateways 102 may include measuring wireless signal strength and quality including electrical characteristics (voltage, current, response time, propagation delay, jitter, etc.)”, “residential gateway 102” reads on the target).
Partee teaches robotics arm “A robotic arm” which may position each of the residential gateways utilizing x-y navigation and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots. (see [0053], and [0153]).
Partee is silent on the opening portion extends through the seating surface in a first direction transverse to the seating surface;
However, Ko teaches opening portion extends through the seating surface in a first direction transverse to the seating surface (Ko, Figure 2-5, see figure 4-5,below: mobile phone 10, placed on 121 sitting surface, and it moves in the transverse direction by feed 110: Feed conveyor. Figure 4 shows a plan view showing the reader unit in Fig. 1,Ko teaches an inspection device. See Page 5, bottom paragraph, “the present invention provides an apparatus for inspecting a front surface of a mobile phone component, (…)In order to accomplish the above object, the present invention provides a method for controlling a supply of a mobile phone, comprising a device cabinet, a supply conveyor arranged to pass through the device cabinet from one side of the device cabinet, A first picker for picking up a front surface of a mobile phone component conveyed by the supply conveyor and transferring the front side of the mobile phone component from one side to the side”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Partee’s system to incorporate conveyer in the transverse direction for continuous testing of devices as taught by Ko with the benefit of testing devices efficiently. (Ko, figure 1-5, and page 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known device testing/ mobile phone display testing set up. It is a design choice in order to yield the predicted results of testing mass amount of devices quickly in an efficient manner.(KSR
Figure 4, Ko et al.
Figure 5, Ko et al.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 1,
Partee further teaches wherein the opening/closing module comprises: a switch (Partee, Figure 5, adapter module 514) configured to contact the target in response to the target being seated on the seating surface and the opening portion being closed by the switch; and a switch moving part configured to move the switch. (Partee, Figure 17, [0135], “FIG. 17 illustrates the handle 506 in an unlocked or disengaged position (positioned vertically) which may change once the set-top box 500 is connected to the nested platform 402 (horizontal position) by the adapter module 514. Various portions of the nested platforn1 502 may be biased utilizing springs, elastomers, hydraulics or other components for connecting and disconnecting the set-top box 500 from the nested platform 502 and moving the handle 506”). Once the target 502 is connected to seat 402 by the “adaptor 514” reads on the switch, which electrically connect the target set-top box and the handle to move).
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 2,
Partee further teaches wherein the switch moving part comprises a first moving part configured to move the switch in a second direction such that the switch overlaps the opening portion in a plan view. (Partee, [00153], “In one embodiment,
the handle of the test lot may be positioned in an up or unlocked position prior to engaging the residential gateway. The user may slowly and gently push or pull the handle down to engage the ports of the residential gateway with the adapters
of the test lot of the test fixture. The handle may be in a down or locked position once engaged by the user. In another embodiment a robotic arm may position each of the residential gateways and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots”. “A robotic arm” reads on a switch moving part in X-Y direction, which can move the “target” (residential gateway) in different direction. It is a design choice).
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 3,Partee further teaches wherein the switch moving part further comprises a second moving part is configured to move the switch in a first direction intersecting the second direction such that at least part of the switch is located in the opening portion (Partee, [0053] In one embodiment, the test fixture l 00 may include one or more mechanical arms operable to press buttons, tum knobs, or otherwise physically interface with the residential gateways 102 during automatic testing. The mechanical arm may utilize x-y navigation similar to those utilized by printing
and plotting devices to select the buttons. The mechanical arm may be programmed based on user interaction or based on information or coordinates entered into the test fixture. For example, a program executed by the test fixture 100 may ensure that physical testing of exterior features of the residential
gateways 102 is performed”).
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 2,
Partee further teaches wherein the switch moving part comprises a hinge configured to rotate the switch about a rotational axis so that a surface of the switch is coplanar with the seating surface of the stage. (Partee, [00153], In another embodiment a robotic arm may position each of the residential gateways and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots”. “A robotic arm” reads on a switch moving part, and “levers or other engagement components” reads on hinge).
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 2,
Partee further teaches wherein each of the seating surface of the stage and the switch comprises a metal material. (Partee, [0048], the racks 106 are metal supports that may be expanded as needed to receive additional nested platforms 108 for testing the residential gateways 102”).
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 1,
Partee further teaches wherein the opening portion comprises a first opening portion comprising a first portion extending in a second direction parallel to a seating direction in which the target is seated. (Partee, Figure 1, 106 racks, [0053] “The mechanical arm may utilize x-y navigation” [0067], “the set-top box being placed into a first slot or nested platform”. “X-Y navigation”, the X-direction reads on first direction).
Regarding claim 8, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 7,
Partee further teaches wherein the first opening portion further comprises a second portion extending from an end of the first portion in a third direction intersecting the seating direction. (Partee, Figure 1, 106 racks, [0053] “The mechanical arm may utilize x-y navigation” [0067], “the set-top box being placed into a first slot or nested platform”. “X-Y navigation”, the Y-direction reads on second direction).
Regarding claim 9, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 7,
Partee further teaches wherein the opening portion further comprises a second opening portion extending in the second direction parallel to the seating direction, and the second opening portion comprises (Figure 1, testing station 100): a 2-1th opening portion; and a 2-2thopening portion substantially symmetric to the 2-1th opening portion with the first portion disposed between the 2-2th opening portion and the 2-1th opening portion. (Partee, Figure 1, close and open position. Figure 22, 23. [0167] FIG. 22 shows the test chamber 2202 with the cover 2206 closed and with the handle 2204 in a locked position for performing testing. FIG. 23 shows the test chamber 2202 in an open position with the handle 2204 raised up for inserting or removing network device(s) 2208.” 2-1 reads on cover closed position and 2-2 reads on cover open position).
Regarding claim 10, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection device of claim 1,
Partee further teaches wherein the inspection module further comprises: an inspector comprising a probe configured to apply voltage to the target and detect an electrical signal generated by the target (Partee, [0089] In one embodiment, the adapter module 514 may be connected to an interface 516. Ibe interface 516 may be utilized as a generic connector to the test fixture. The interface 516 is similarly an electrical and mechanical hardware connector to the test fixture. As a result, even if a different adapter module 514 is attached to the plate 504 or base plate 510, the interface 516 may still be utilized to connect to the test fixture. For example, a number of cables and wires may connect the computing device and testing instrumentation of the test fixture to the interface 516. The adapter module 514 and interface 516 may be collected through fixed, flexible, integrated,
or independent connections. ln one embodiment, the adapter
module 514 and interface 516 are integrated; and an inspector moving part configured to move the inspector so that the probe contacts the target. (Partee, [0153], In another embodiment a robotic arm may position each of the residential gateways and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots”)
Regarding claim 11, Partee teaches,
An inspection method for a display apparatus (Partee, Abstract, method, and testing station for testing wireless network devices”), comprising:
seating a target on a seating surface of a stage (Partee, Figure 5, nested platform 502, [0075] “The nested platform is a testing platform for securing the set-top box 500” , base 510,. “Nested platform 502” reads on the “seat” and “set-top box 500” reads on “the target” , and “base plate 510” reads on “stage”)); and ;
closing an opening portion (Partee, Figure 6-7) defined in the seating surface of the by moving an opening/closing module (handle 506) into the opening portion to form a closed opening portion (Partee, [0075] “The nested platform 502 may include a handle 506 for sliding a portion of the nested platform 502 and set-top box 500 out for easy access by a user. In one embodiment, the handle 506 may be pivotally attached to the nested platform 502 and may be folded back during insertion and removal and positioned down in a lock position during testing”). such that a surface of the target contacts the opening/closing module and the seating surface in response to the target being seated on the stage and the opening portion being closed by the opening/closing module see, (Partee, [0135]. “FIG. 17 illustrates the handle 506 in an unlocked or disengaged position (positioned vertically) which may change once the set-top box 500 is connected to the nested platform 402 (horizontal position) by the adapter module 514. Various portions of the nested platform 502 may be biased utilizing springs, elastomers, hydraulics or other components for connecting and disconnecting the set-top box 500 from the nested platform 502 and moving the handle 506.” The close open position of the handle with cover also disclosed in figures 22-23.);
inspecting electrical characteristics of the target (Partee, Figure 1, [0045],” Functional testing of one or more residential gateways 102 may include measuring wireless signal strength and quality including electrical characteristics (voltage, current, response time, propagation delay, jitter, etc.)”, “residential gateway 102” reads on the target); and
opening the closed opening portion, by moving the opening/closing module out of the opening portion. (Partee, Figure 23, [0167], “FIG. 23 shows the test chamber 2202 in an open position with the handle 2204 raised up for inserting or removing network device(s) 2208.”).
Partee teaches robotics arm “A robotic arm” which may position each of the residential gateways utilizing x-y navigation and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots. (see [0053], and [0153]).
Partee is silent on the opening portion extends through the seating surface in a first direction transverse to the seating surface;
However, Ko teaches opening portion extends through the seating surface in a first direction transverse to the seating surface (Ko, Figure 2-5, see figure 4-5,below: mobile phone 10, placed on 121 sitting surface, and it moves in the transverse direction by feed 110: Feed conveyor. Figure 4 shows a plan view showing the reader unit in Fig. 1,Ko teaches an inspection device. See Page 5, bottom paragraph, “the present invention provides an apparatus for inspecting a front surface of a mobile phone component, (…)In order to accomplish the above object, the present invention provides a method for controlling a supply of a mobile phone, comprising a device cabinet, a supply conveyor arranged to pass through the device cabinet from one side of the device cabinet, A first picker for picking up a front surface of a mobile phone component conveyed by the supply conveyor and transferring the front side of the mobile phone component from one side to the side”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Partee’s system to incorporate conveyer in the transverse direction for continuous testing of devices as taught by Ko with the benefit of testing devices efficiently. (Ko, figure 1-5, and page 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known device testing/ mobile phone display testing set up. It is a design choice in order to yield the predicted results of testing mass amount of devices quickly in an efficient manner.(KSR)
Regarding claim 12, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 11,
Partee further teaches, wherein the closing the opening portion closing of the opening portion comprises moving a switch so that the switch contacts the target (Partee, Figure 17, [0135], “FIG. 17 illustrates the handle 506 in an unlocked or disengaged position (positioned vertically) which may change once the set-top box 500 is connected to the nested platform 402 (horizontal position) by the adapter module 514. Various portions of the nested platforn1 502 may be biased utilizing springs, elastomers, hydraulics or other components for connecting and disconnecting the set-top box 500 from the nested platform 502 and moving the handle 506”). Once the target 502 is connected to seat 402 by the “adaptor 514” reads on the switch, which electrically connect the target set-top box and the handle to move).
Regarding claim 13, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 12,
Partee further teaches wherein the moving of the switch moving the switch comprises moving the switch in a first direction so that the switch overlaps the opening portion in a plan view. (Partee, [00153], “In one embodiment, the handle of the test lot may be positioned in an up or unlocked position prior to engaging the residential gateway. The user may slowly and gently push or pull the handle down to engage the ports of the residential gateway with the adapters of the test lot of the test fixture. The handle may be in a down or locked position once engaged by the user. In another embodiment a robotic arm may position each of the residential gateways and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots”. “A robotic arm” reads on a switch moving part, which can move the “target” (residential gateway) in different direction. It is a design choice).
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 13,
Partee further teaches wherein the moving of the switch the moving the switch comprises moving the switch in the first direction intersecting the second direction so that at least part of the switch is located in the opening portion. (Partee, [0053] In one embodiment, the test fixture l 00 may include one or more mechanical arms operable to press buttons, tum knobs, or otherwise physically interface with the residential gateways 102 during automatic testing. The mechanical arm may utilize x-y navigation similar to those utilized by printing and plotting devices to select the buttons. The mechanical arm may be programmed based on user interaction or based on information or coordinates entered into the test fixture. For example, a program executed by the test fixture 100 may ensure that physical testing of exterior features of the residential gateways 102 is performed”).
Regarding claim 15, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 12,
Partee further teaches wherein the closing of the opening the opening portion comprises rotating the switch about a rotational axis so that a surface of the switch is coplanar with the seating surface portion of the stage. (Partee, [00153], In another embodiment a robotic arm may position each of the residential gateways and the handles may include motors, levers or other engagement components for securing the residential gateways within the corresponding test slots”. “A robotic arm” reads on a switch moving part, and “levers or other engagement components” reads on hinge. The robotic arm can rotate the target on the base plate surface plan 510. “base plate 510” reads on “stage”);
Regarding claim 16, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 11,
Partee further teaches wherein the inspecting of the electrical the electrical characteristics of the target comprises: moving a probe to contact the target; and applying a voltage to the target by the probe to detect an electrical signal generated by the target (Partee, [0089] In one embodiment, the adapter module 514 may be connected to an interface 516. Ibe interface 516 may be utilized as a generic connector to the test fixture. The interface 516 is similarly an electrical and mechanical hardware connector to the test fixture. As a result, even if a different adapter module 514 is attached to the plate 504 or base plate 510, the
interface 516 may still be utilized to connect to the test fixture. For example, a number of cables and wires may connect the computing device and testing instrumentation of the test fixture to the interface 516. The adapter module 514 and interface 516 may be collected through fixed, flexible, integrated,
or independent connections. ln one embodiment, the adapter module 514 and interface 516 are integrated”).
Regarding claim 17, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 12,
Partee further teaches wherein each of the seating surface portion of the stage and the switch comprises a metal material. (Partee, [0048], the racks 106 are metal supports that may be expanded as needed to receive additional nested platforms 108 for testing the residential gateways 102”).
Regarding claim 18, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 11,
Partee further teaches, wherein the opening portion comprises a first opening portion comprising a first portion extending in a direction parallel to a seating direction in which the target is seated (Partee, Figure 1, 106 racks, [0053] “The mechanical arm may utilize x-y navigation” [0067], “the set-top box being placed into a first slot or nested platform”. “X-Y navigation”, the X-direction reads on first direction).
Regarding claim 19, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 18,
Partee further teaches, wherein the first opening portion further comprises a second portion extending from an end of the first portion in a direction intersecting the seating direction. (Partee, Figure 1, 106 racks, [0053] “The mechanical arm may utilize x-y navigation” [0067], “the set-top box being placed into a first slot or nested platform”. “X-Y navigation”, the Y-direction reads on second direction).
Regarding claim 20, Combination of Partee and Ko teaches, the inspection method of claim 18,
Partee further teaches wherein the opening portion further comprises a second opening portion extending in the second direction parallel to the seating direction, and the second opening portion comprises (Figure 1, testing station 100): a 2-1th opening portion; and a 2-2thopening portion substantially symmetric to the 2-1th opening portion with the first portion disposed between the 2-2th opening portion and the 2-1th opening portion. (Partee, Figure 1, close and open position. Figure 22, 23. [0167] FIG. 22 shows the test chamber 2202 with the cover 2206 closed and with the handle 2204 in a locked position for performing testing. FIG. 23 shows the test chamber 2202 in an open position with the handle 2204 raised up for inserting or removing network device(s) 2208.” 2-1 reads on cover closed position and 2-2 reads on cover open position).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TOYAMA TAKANORI (JP 2014-183342 A) recites “An object of the present invention is to facilitate a test when a test is performed by electrically connecting a portable electronic device to be tested. A loading unit 14 loaded with a mobile phone 12 to be tested is provided with a CCD camera 120 for photographing the loaded mobile phone. When the mobile phone is loaded, the loading unit takes a picture of the mobile phone, compares the photographed image with the reference image of the mobile phone of the model set as the test target, and the loaded mobile phone is the test target model. It is determined whether or not there is. As a result, when it is determined that the loaded mobile phone is a model to be tested, the mobile phone is instructed to start the test processing of the mobile phone and starts transporting to the test processing unit” (Abstract)
FITZGERALD et al.. (US 2021/0116392 A1) discloses “There is presented a system and method for detecting mobile device fault conditions, particularly detecting defects in a display or housing of a mobile device. One or more cameras included within the mobile device are used with a reflecting
surface in a test fixture to obtain properly aligned and formatted images of the external housing and display of the mobile device, and interactive guidance assists with placement and execution of diagnostics. A remote server conducts
further analysis of the captured images, and then defect status may be returned to and displayed upon the mobile device screen.” (Abstract).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
06/13/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 6/17/2026