DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2006/0076485 A1 [Stoermer].
Regarding Claim 1:
Stoermer discloses a multipole section-based ion funnel comprising:
an ion funnel section (para 42) formed by at least one pair of adjacently disposed members (Fig. 1 (1) and (2)),
wherein a first member of the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members includes a symmetrical configuration about a central axis of the first member (Fig. 2 (1) and (2) are both symmetrical about the central axis) and a pole structure (the indented aperture shapes are the pole structures.), and
wherein a second member of the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members (Fig. 2) includes a pole structure that is engageable with the pole structure of the first member to form a multipole structure (As described in para 35, the indented aperture shapes engage with each other via their respective fields to create pseudopotential surfaces. Further, the indented aperture shapes engage with each other through the circuit boards of Fig. 1 and their interleaved arrangement.).
Regarding Claim 2:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein the pole structure of the first member and the pole structure of the second member form at least two poles. Each indented surface creates a pole, and each member includes two indented surfaces. So each member has two poles.
Regarding Claim 3:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 2, wherein the at least two poles are symmetrically disposed along a circumference of a circular opening formed by the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members. As shown in Figs. 1, 2, 4.
Regarding Claim 5:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 2, wherein radio frequency (RF) field distribution areas at the at least two poles are greater than RF field distribution areas at another ion funnel section of the multipole section-based ion funnel that does not include the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members. Para 35 – the RF field creates a pseudopotential in the vicinity of the indented portion, but not in other areas of the funnel that are not indented.
Regarding Claim 6:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the pole structure of the first member or the pole structure of the second member includes at least one of a concave, a convex, a generally flat, or a round profile. See Fig. 1 (1, 2) indented section.
Regarding Claim 7:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members forms an electrode pair that includes at least two poles of opposite polarities. As shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding Claim 8:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein the ion funnel section formed by the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members is tapered or profiled to form a reduced diameter exit for ions traversing through the multipole section-based ion funnel. As shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding Claim 9:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 8, wherein the exit is disposed along a central axis of the multipole section-based ion funnel. As shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding Claim 14:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein the multipole structure permits operation of the multipole section-based ion funnel for a pressure range of approximately 1 mTorr to approximately 10 Torr. Para 47.
Regarding Claim 15:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first member or the second member of the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members is at least partially formed as a plate. As shown in Figs. 1 and 2.
Regarding Claim 16:
Stoermer discloses the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, further comprising:
an ion funnel transition section (Fig. 4) formed by:
at least one generally flat plate including a first enclosed opening (Fig. 1 (1) – opening) ; and
the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members including a second opening that is disposed along a same axis as the first enclosed opening (Fig. 1 (2) – opening).
Regarding Claim 17:
Stoermer discloses a multipole structure comprising:
a first member of a pair of members, wherein the first member includes a pole structure a symmetrical configuration about a central axis of the first member (Fig. 1 (1) and (2) are both symmetrical about the central axis) and a pole structure (the indented aperture shapes are the pole structures.); and
a second member of the pair of members (Fig. 1 (1) and (2)), wherein the second member includes a pole structure that is engageable with the pole structure of the first member to form the multipole structure (As described in para 35, the indented aperture shapes engage with each other via their respective fields to create pseudopotential surfaces. Further, the indented aperture shapes engage with each other through the circuit boards of Fig. 1.) for a multipole section-based ion funnel (Fig. 4, para 42).
Regarding Claim 18:
Stoermer discloses the multipole structure according to claim 17, wherein at least one of the pole structure of the first member or the pole structure of the second member is transverse relative to a central axis of the multipole section-based ion funnel. As shown in Figs. 1 and 2, the indented portions extend across the central axis, i.e., they are transverse thereto.
Regarding Claim 19:
Stoermer discloses a multipole section-based ion funnel (para 42, Fig. 4) comprising:
a tapered ion funnel section formed by a plurality of pairs of adjacently disposed members (Fig. 4, para 42),
wherein a first member of a pair of members of the plurality of pairs of adjacently disposed members includes symmetrical configuration about a central axis of the first member (Fig. 1 (1) and (2) are both symmetrical about the central axis) and a pole structure (the indented aperture shapes are the pole structures.);,
wherein a second member of the pair of members of the plurality of pairs of adjacently disposed members (Fig. 1 (1) and (2)) includes a pole structure (Figs. 1 (1, 2)) that is engageable with the pole structure of the first member to form a multipole structure (As described in para 35, the indented aperture shapes engage with each other via their respective fields to create pseudopotential surfaces. Further, the indented aperture shapes engage with each other through the circuit boards of Fig. 1.), and
wherein at least two pairs of the plurality of pairs of the adjacently disposed members include successively reduced diameter openings (As shown in Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoermer in view of US 7,514,673 B2 [Senko].
Regarding Claim 11:
Stoermer teaches the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, but fails to teach that the ion funnel section formed by the at least one pair of adjacently disposed members includes a linear funnel progression from a dipole structure to the multipole structure that includes greater than two poles.
Senko teaches an ion guide forming a tapered RF field (claim 1) and leading into a quadrupole ion guide (see Fig. 1 (155). In Senko, the ion guide is defined by a series of adjacently disposed and axially offset members (see Fig. 6) that are oppositely polarized (claim 14), thus forming dipoles. Adding the ion guide of Senko to Stoermer would entail guiding ions through the guide to Senko to the guide of Stoermer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the offset dipole guides of Senko Fig. 6 immediately upstream of the multipole guides of Stoermer. One would have been motivated to do so since the addition of the offset guide of Senko would reduce the streaming of neutral gas molecules into any downstream analytical device. Senko 6:11-27.
Regarding Claim 13:
Stoermer teaches the multipole section-based ion funnel according to claim 1, wherein the ion funnel section includes a plurality of further members, wherein each member of the plurality of further members includes an opening that is offset from a central axis of the multipole section-based ion funnel, and wherein the plurality of further members forms a non-direct flight path for ions traversing through the multipole section-based ion funnel.
Senko teaches an ion guide forming a tapered RF field (claim 1) and leading into a quadrupole ion guide (see Fig. 1 (155). In Senko, the ion guide is defined by a series of adjacently disposed and axially offset members (see Fig. 6) that are oppositely polarized (claim 14), thus forming dipoles. Adding the ion guide of Senko to Stoermer would entail guiding ions through the guide to Senko to the guide of Stoermer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the offset dipole guides of Senko Fig. 6 immediately upstream of the multipole guides of Stoermer. One would have been motivated to do so since the addition of the offset guide of Senko would reduce the streaming of neutral gas molecules into any downstream analytical device. Senko 6:11-27.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Drawings
Drawing objections of record are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the Slater reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The indefiniteness rejection of claim 5 in withdrawn in light of applicant’s arguments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881