DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “energy distribution device” in claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Scheidiger et al. (DE102019122064), see US202200407895 for English translation and paragraph references. Regarding claim 1, Scheidiger et al. discloses a laser machining head 100 for machining a workpiece 12 by a laser beam 15, comprising: a scanning device 24 for deflecting the laser beam 15 on the workpiece 12 (para. [0062]); a housing 37 in which the scanning device 24 is arranged; and at least one overheat protection device 28, configured to protect the housing 37 from overheating fig. 3, (para. [0057]), wherein the overheat protection device comprises an energy distribution device for distributing incident radiation energy and/or a heat sink for dissipating heat (paragraphs [0058] and [0059]).
Regarding claim 2, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the at least one overheat protection device 28 comprises an active overheat protection device with a cooling channel for conducting a coolant (water), and the cooling channel is formed in a wall of the housing (paragraphs [0058] and [0059]).
Regarding claim 3, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 28 is arranged in the housing 37 and/or outside a beam path of the laser beam and/or on an inner surface of the housing 37 and/or on at least one element arranged in the housing 37, and/or the overheat protection device 28 forms part of the housing 37 and/or is formed so as to be integrated with the housing 37.
Regarding claim 4, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 28 is arranged at a predetermined critical position in the housing 37, at which back reflections of the laser beam and/or laser radiation propagating outside of a beam path of the laser beam are incident.
Regarding claim 5, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 28 is arranged next to an optical element (40a,40b,40c,40d) arranged in the housing 37 and/or formed on a holder of an optical element arranged in the housing 37 and/or forms a part of a holder of an optical element (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 28 is arranged in the housing 37 in such a way that back reflections of the laser beam from at least one optical element (40a,40b,40c,40d) arranged in the housing 37, in particular from an aperture stop, an optical element, an F-theta optics, a mirror, a beam splitter, and/or a protective glass, hit the overheat protection device (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the housing 37 includes an entry port (Fig. 3) for coupling the laser beam 15 into the laser machining head and a collimating optics (Fig. 3), and the overheat protection device 28 is arranged between the entry port and the collimating optics (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 11, Scheidiger et al. discloses that the overheat protection device comprises a heat sink for dissipating absorbed heat; and the heat sink comprises a cooling element which has both a first surface arranged in the housing for absorbing heat and a second surface arranged on an outside of the housing for dissipating the absorbed heat.
Regarding claim 14, Scheidiger et al. discloses that at least part of an inner surface of the housing and/or at least part of a surface of an element arranged in the housing is configured to be partially reflective (paragraph [0054] and [0056]).
Claims 1-7, 11, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gesuita et al. (20150144607) Regarding claims 1 and 15, Gesuita et al. discloses a laser machining head for machining a workpiece by a laser beam, comprising: a housing 4 defining an optics space; and at least one passive overheat protection device 12,13, configured to protect the housing 4 and/or elements arranged in the housing from overheating, wherein the overheat protection device 12,13 comprises an energy distribution device 6,11 for distributing incident radiation energy and/or a heat sink for dissipating heat. See paragraphs [0038], [0044], [0049], and [0057])
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Gesuita et al. discloses an active overheat protection device 10 with a cooling channel 14 for conducting a coolant (air), said cooling channel 14 being formed in a wall of the housing (cooling unit 10 fill opening 17 to become a wall of the housing 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Gesuita et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 12,13 is arranged in the housing 4 and/or outside a beam path of the laser beam and/or on an inner surface of the housing 4 and/or on at least one element arranged in the housing 4, and/or the overheat protection device 12,13 forms part of the housing 4 and/or is formed so as to be integrated with the housing 4.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Gesuita et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 12,13 is arranged at a predetermined critical position in the housing 4, at which back reflections of the laser beam and/or laser radiation propagating outside of a beam path of the laser beam are incident.
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Gesuita et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 12,13 is arranged next to an optical element 5 arranged in the housing 4 and/or formed on a holder of an optical element 5 arranged in the housing 4 and/or forms a part of a holder of an optical element 5.
Regarding claims 6 and 20, Gesuita et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 12,13 is arranged in the housing in such a way that back reflections of the laser beam from at least one optical element 5 arranged in the housing 4, in particular from an aperture stop, an optical element 5, an F-theta optics, a mirror, a beam splitter, and/or a protective glass, hit the overheat protection device 12,13.
Regarding claim 7, Gesuita et al. discloses that the housing 4 includes an entry port (Fig. 1) for coupling the laser beam into the laser machining head and a collimating optics (Fig. 1), and the overheat protection device 12,13 is arranged between the entry port and the collimating optics (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Gesuita et al. discloses that the overheat protection device 12,13 comprises a heat sink for dissipating absorbed heat; and the heat sink comprises a cooling element which has both a first surface 16 arranged in the housing for absorbing heat and a second surface 12b arranged on an outside of the housing 4 for dissipating the absorbed heat.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gesuita et al., as applied to claim 1 above. Gesuita et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter further including that (claim 12) the overheat protection device comprises a heat sink for dissipating absorbed heat; the heat sink comprises a solid piece of metal 12,16 attached to the housing 4 and covering a part of the inner surface thereof or forming part of the housing 4, wherein (claim 13) the solid piece of metal 16,12 consists of copper and/or aluminum and/or copper alloys and/or aluminum alloys and/or a material with a thermal conductivity greater than 50 W/m*K , in particular greater than 100 W/m*K (paragraphs [0053] - [0057]). Gesuita et al. does not disclose the thickness of the solid piece of metal being more than 5mm, preferably more than 10mm.
Since the applicant has not disclosed that having thickness of more than 5mm, preferably more than 10mm solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose above the fact that it matches the thickness of the housing and it appears that the solid piece of metal of Gesuita et al. would perform equally well with a thickness of more than 5mm, preferably more than 10mm as claimed by applicant, it would have been an obvious matter of engineering expedience to further modify solid piece of metal of Gesuita et al. to have by a thickness of more than 5mm, preferably more than 10mm as claimed for the purposes of matching the thickness of the housing.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other laser machining heads for machining workpieces by a laser beam with scanning devices, housings, and overheat protection devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvements comprise that (claim 8) the overheat protection device comprises an energy distribution device for distributing incident radiation energy; and the energy distribution device comprises a convex structure and (claim 10) the overheat protection device comprises an energy distribution device for distributing incident radiation energy; and the energy distribution device comprises a dispersion element for attenuating laser pulses and/or laser radiation with a broadband spectrum.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
August 21, 2026