DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendment filed 6/16/2026.
Claim 19, stand canceled.
Response to Amendment/Remarks
Applicant's remarks in an amendment filed June 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant remarks Shimomura fails to disclose “transmitting and receiving, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor” as recited in claim 17. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim recites apparatus comprising a sensor; “non-contact communication devices that transmit and receive, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor”. Earlier in the claim Osaka discloses semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising: non-contact communication devices that transmit and receive, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor (see Figs. 15, 31; col. 8, line 64 to col. 9, lines 3; col. 11, lines 35-48). Osaka however does not expressly disclose transmitting and receiving, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor.
Shimomura relied upon as a secondary art show transmitting and receiving, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor (see para. 0028) as recited per claim 17. Examiner believes Osaka Shimomura combined disclosure reads on the claim limitation expressed above and finds Applicant’s attempt to overcome the rejection not persuasive, maintains rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Osaka et al (U.S. Pat. 6,368,049) hereinafter Osaka in view of Shimomura et al (US 2024/0017752) hereinafter Shimomura, Shinozaki et al (US 2006/0169208) hereinafter Shinozaki.
Regarding claim 17, Osaka discloses semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising: non-contact communication devices that transmit and receive, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor (see Figs. 15, 31; col. 8, line 64 to col. 9, lines 3; col. 11, lines 35-48). Osaka fails to explicitly disclose transmitting and receiving, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor.
Shimomura discloses transmitting and receiving, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor (see [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to transmit and receive, in a non-contact manner, information obtained by the sensor as taught by Osaka in order to performs transmission and reception of various signals between the power supply unit 40E and the traveling vehicle controller 35 in a non-contact manner. Osaka and Shimomura fail to explicitly disclose a wafer conveyance robot; and a chamber.
Shinozaki discloses a sensor (see [0183], [0187]); a wafer conveyance robot; and a chamber (see Abstract, [0007], [0015], [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to include a wafer conveyance robot, and a chamber in the semiconductor manufacturing apparatus taught by Shinozaki into teachings of Osaka in order to prevent the size of the reduced pressure atmosphere conveyance chamber 70 from increasing.
Regarding claim 18, Shinozaki discloses a box including an electrical device (see Figs. 1 and 2), and a conveyance module including a wafer conveyance robot (see [275]) and a chamber (see Abstract, [0004], [0007], wherein the non-contact communication devices are arranged to transmit and receive data in a non-contact manner between the box and the conveyance module (see Abstract, [0011], [0015]).
Regarding claim 20, Osaka discloses wherein the electrical device is a module controller or a programmable logic controller (see Fig. 2, [0133], [0135]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16, are allowable.
Claim 21, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.