BATTERY, ELECTRIC DEVICE, AND MANUFACTURING METHOD AND MANUFACTURING DEVICE OF BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/346,762 Art Unit: 1727 January 23, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 03, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urano et al. (US 2021/0384592 A1).
As to Claims 1-2 and 13-15, Urano discloses a battery for an electric vehicle/machine, manufacturing method and manufacturing device thereof, comprising: a battery cell having an electrode terminal 1n; a voltage detection wire (sampling terminal) 2y; a busbar 2a; wherein the voltage detection wire is disposed between the busbar and electrode terminal and they are all welded to connect to each other (Abstract, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0038, 0045 and 0061-0062]).
As to Claim 11, Urano discloses wherein the busbar comprises a through hole (the gap between 2f1 and 2f2) wherein the electrode terminal is exposed through the through-hole and the through-hole is staggered with the sampling terminal in a thickness direction (Fig. 3-4).
As to Claim 12, Urano discloses wherein the busbar and electrode terminal are made of copper (metal), and a voltage detection wire also reads on a metal (therefore the metals read on a same material) (Abstract and paragraphs [0106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (US 2021/0384592 A1) in view of Yanagida (US 2020/0106075 A1).
As to Claim 3, Urano does not specifically disclose the claimed groove.
However, Yanagida teaches of a battery module, comprising: a busbar 20 having a groove 28a that projects over and accommodates a detection wire 50 (sampling terminal) (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0041]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the busbar of Urano to comprise a groove to accommodate a portion of the detection wire (sampling terminal) of Urano because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claim 4, the groove of Yanagida extends from an edge of the busbar in a direction orthogonal to a central axis of the electrode terminal (Fig. 1 and 6). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the busbar of Urano to read on the claim because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claim 5, Yanagida teaches wherein a projection of the groove on the electrode terminal does not exceed a central axis of the electrode terminal (Fig. 1). In addition, the courts have held that the claimed configuration or shape is a matter of design choice which a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed configuration was significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the busbar and electrode terminal arrangement of Urano to read on the claim because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claims 6-7, Yanagida does not specifically disclose the depth of the groove or the thickness of the sampling terminal or busbar. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the groove, busbar and electrode terminal arrangement of Urano to read on the claim because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claim 8, Yanagida teaches wherein the exposed end 52 of the detection wire (sampling terminal) is welded (which reads on an annular weld that encompasses the exposed end of the sampling terminal) (Fig. 6 and paragraph [0049]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the weld of the sampling terminal of Urano to read on the claim because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claim 9, Yanagida does not specifically disclose the claimed relative dimensions. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the groove, busbar and electrode terminal arrangement of Urano to read on the claim because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
As to Claim 10, Yanagida teaches wherein an end of the detection wire (sampling terminal) does not exceed the central axis of the electrode terminal (Fig. 6). Yanagida does not specifically disclose the claimed relative dimensions. However, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the groove, busbar and electrode terminal arrangement of Urano to read on the claim because Yanagida teaches that the components can be easily positioned relative to each other (paragraph [0020]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727