DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (3 US Provisional Applications the earliest of which 63/358,257 was filed on July 5th, 2022).
The Examiner to expedite prosecution affords the date of July 5th, 2022 for search and consideration purposes.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1 – 2, 4, and 10 – 12) in the reply filed on September 22nd, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 5 – 9, and 13 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions II – IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 22nd, 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 – 2, and 10.
Claims 3, 5 – 9, and 13 – 20 are withdrawn currently.
The pending claims are 1 – 2, 4, and 10 – 12 [Page 10 lines 1 – 11].
Applicant amended the Drawings to address Examiner’s Drawing Objection [Page 10 lines 12 – 15]. Drawing Objection b) is maintain as the minus sign is on the output (the prediction residual) instead on the prediction block input as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art and consistent with Specification Paragraph 43.
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s 112(b) Rejections [Page 10 lines 16 – 22]. The Examiner reconsiders the Rejections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant's arguments filed July 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the Applicant recites the references against the claims [Page 10 line 23 – Page 11 line 5].
Second, the Applicant contends the references do not render obvious features of amended independent claim 1 [Page 11 lines 6 – 12] and recites features of amended independent claim 1 [Page 11 lines 13 – 22].
Third, the Applicant provides their summaries of the references by citing Wang Paragraph 80, Li Paragraph 230, and Kang Paragraph 230 [Page 11 line 23 – Page 12 line 4].
Fourth, the Applicant broadly alleges features of amended claim 1 are not rendered obvious in the previous citations made [Page 12 lines 5 – 21]. The Examiner disagrees since at least considering Kang Paragraphs 225 – 230 (previously cited) and Li as a whole in 250 – 256 renders obvious the fixing of a MV to tune affine parameters to and search for MV offsets / changes to make to refine the prediction.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Fifth, the Applicant cites Specification Paragraphs 121 and 155 for support for features of amended independent claim 1 [Page 12 line 22 – Page 13 line 6] and contends claim 1 is allowable [Page 13 lines 7 – 9].
Sixth, the Applicant contends dependent claims 2, 4, 10, and 12 are allowable for at least the reasons given [Page 13 lines 10 – 17].
Seventh, the Applicant contends claim 11 additionally rejected by Li 72 is allowable for at least the reasons given for claim 1 [Page 14 lines 1 – 14].
While the Applicant’s points may be understood, the Examiner respectfully disagrees; however in view of the amended claims amends the Rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 16th, 2026 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 22nd, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (mailed November 4th, 2025). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
There is no “-“ sign on an input going into the subtractor in Figure 1A reference character 110 [The amended drawings has the “-“ sign on the output instead of the prediction block to generate the residual].
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 10 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim has Indefinite metes and points regarding the outputs of the search and the requirements to use refined affine model parameters or not. The affine model parameters are refined, but they are not further used coding or part of the search output. Further, there is no stopping criteria for the search or number of iterations to conclude the search or refinement process claimed.
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 10 – 12, the dependent claims do cure the deficiencies of independent claim 1 and thus are similarly Rejected.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an MV" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “output by the search" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a plurality of searches" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a plurality of searches " in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (WO 2020/243100 A1 referred to as “Wang” throughout) [First Cited in the Office Action mailed November 4th, 2025], and further in view of Li, et al. (US PG PUB 2023/0328225 A1 referred to as “Li” throughout in which citations will come from the US PG PUB in lieu of enabling US Provisional Applications where the Examiner notes Li was later patented as US Patent #12,160,564 B2) and Kang, et al. (US PG PUB 2024/0364904 A1 referred to a “Kang” throughout where the Examiner observes the Application has been Patented and thus affords the Foreign Priority dates).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a search for MVs (motion vectors) for affine control points based on neighboring blocks / pixels. Li teaches further refinements and details of Wang’s algorithm with additional offset including fractional offset considerations and teachings regarding the maximum number of iterations. Kang teaches using the same affine model (e.g. by estimating the parameters) to use for MV refinement / CPMV refinement for the affine models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with Li’s teachings of maximum number of iterations and the use of searching with integer and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations using the same model / estimated models as taught by Kang. The combination teaches
one or more processors [Wang Figure 1 (see at least reference characters 20 and 30) as well as Paragraphs 33 and 96 (various processor implementations of the encoder / decoder)], and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium communicatively coupled to the one or more processors, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions executable by the one or more processors that, when executed by the one or more processors, perform associated operations comprising [Wang Figure 1 (see at least reference characters 20 and 30) as well as Paragraphs 8, 33 (non-transitory computer media examples) and 96 (various processor implementations of the encoder / decoder and in Paragraph 96 the obvious variant “computer-readable storage media” stores programs / has instructions to run on a processor as obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art)]:
performing a search for a refined motion vector (MV) for a control point motion vector (CPMV) of a coding block (CB) coded by an affine model, while parameters of the affine model are not refined, to output a refined MV of the affine model [Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 44 and 74 – 78 (inter predicted block using translational / affine motion models in inter prediction / motion compensated prediction in which CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV) in which the refinement is taught by Kang and Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14 – combinable with Kang), 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and fractional offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216 after studying integer offsets – combinable with Kang), 250 – 256 and 261 – 264 (refinement of the MV from the CPMV in the reference lists and then refinement / modification of the affine model parameters (see also Paragraphs 222 and 242 to refine affine model parameters where refining the affine model is refining the predicted MV) where the delta values are the MV refinements in an iterative search); Kang Figures 6 – 8 and 16 – 17 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 8 – 10 (MBM – multi-pass / iterative MV search technique), 52 and 225 – 230 (rendering obvious estimating the affine model parameters (model parameters) and then searching / refining the MV / CPMV search based on the estimated affine model)];
refining the parameters of the affine model while an MV of the affine model is not refined [See previous limitation and additionally Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14 – combinable with Kang), 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and fractional offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216 after studying integer offsets – combinable with Kang), 250 – 256 and 261 – 264 (refinement of the MV from the CPMV in the reference lists and then refinement / modification of the affine model parameters where refinements (“delta affine parameters” – see also Li Paragraphs 222 and 242) are based on the CPMV / MV to predict in an iterative search); Kang Figures 6 – 8 and 16 – 17 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 8 – 10 (MBM – multi-pass / iterative MV search technique), 52 and 225 – 230 (rendering obvious estimating the affine model parameters (model parameters) and then searching / refining the MV / CPMV search based on the estimated affine model)]; and
coding the CB by the affine model, wherein the affine model comprises the refined MV output by the search [Wang Figures 1 – 3, 5A – 5C and 5F (see last step in the flowcharts and at least reference characters 22, 42, and 590) as well as Paragraphs 40 (output MV with refined precision information combinable with Paragraphs 77 – 81 (refinement of MV searched of affine predicted inter predicted block)), 41 – 44 (motion compensation unit for inter prediction which includes use of affine models in Paragraphs 74 – 78 and 79 – 84 where the block is coded using the affine model and CPMVs determined in combination with Li and Kang (see previous limitation for citations of Li and Kang where at least Li Paragraphs 250 – 256 and 261 – 264 output the refined MV from the affine motion model to the decoder to use to recreate the parameters for the affine model to use in the decoder for prediction))].
The motivation to combine Li with Wang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding [Li Paragraphs 2 – 10 and 17 – 19] in order to improve compression efficiency including improving search for motion vector information / determinations of motion vectors [Li Paragraphs 4 – 6 and 17 – 19 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Kang with Li and Wang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of inter prediction during video coding [Kang Paragraphs 2 – 4] in order to improve video coding efficiency during motion vector consideration for inter prediction [Kang Paragraphs 4, 6 and 10 – 11].
This is the motivation to combine Wang, Li, and Kang which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches a search for MVs (motion vectors) for affine control points based on neighboring blocks / pixels. Li teaches further refinements and details of Wang’s algorithm with additional offset including fractional offset considerations and teachings regarding the maximum number of iterations. Kang teaches using the same affine model (e.g. by estimating the parameters) to use for MV refinement / CPMV refinement for the affine models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with Li’s teachings of maximum number of iterations and the use of searching with integer and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations using the same model / estimated models as taught by Kang. The combination teaches
outputting, by a plurality of searches, a plurality of respective refined MVs of a plurality of CPMVs of the CB [See claim 1 for citations of Wang, Li (such as Figure 16 and Paragraphs 250 – 256 and 261 – 264), and Kang regarding the search process (“performing a search …” limitation) and “refining” limitations and additionally Wang Figures 1 – 3, 5 – 6 (see last step in the flowcharts and at least reference character 22 and 42 where 5D and 5E are CPs for MV determination rendering obvious the CPMV) as well as Paragraphs 40 (output MV with refined precision information combinable with Paragraphs 77 – 81 (refinement of MV searched of affine predicted inter predicted block)), 41 – 44 (motion compensation unit for inter prediction which includes use of affine models in Paragraphs 74 – 82 with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset and combinable with Kang’s estimated affine model to search refinements for CPMV in at least Paragraphs 225 – 230) where the plurality is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as Wang, Li, and Kang teach repeatable search processes on CPMV testing various refined MV precisions in further view of MPEP2144.04 IV B (Duplication of Parts)];
wherein each refined MV of the plurality of refined MVs is derived from a same MV refinement offset applied to a respective initial CPMV [See claim 1 for citations of Wang, Li (such as Figure 16 and Paragraphs 250 – 256 and 261 – 264), and Kang regarding the search process (“performing a search …” limitation) and “refining” limitations and additionally Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 44 and 74 – 78 (inter predicted block using translational / affine motion models in inter prediction / motion compensated prediction in which CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset (see Paragraph 82)) in which the refinement is taught by Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14), 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and fractional offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216 to combine with the multiple loop searching in Wang Paragraph 82 and Figure 6), 250 – 256 and 261 – 264 (searching for delta values for MV for affine model)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Li, and Kang.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches a search for MVs (motion vectors) for affine control points based on neighboring blocks / pixels. Li teaches further refinements and details of Wang’s algorithm with additional offset including fractional offset considerations and teachings regarding the maximum number of iterations. Kang teaches using the same affine model (e.g. by estimating the parameters) to use for MV refinement / CPMV refinement for the affine models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with Li’s teachings of maximum number of iterations and the use of searching with integer and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations using the same model / estimated models as taught by Kang. The combination teaches
performing the search further comprises performing a plurality of search iterations of an integer sample offset search at a plurality of search points about a search center to output an integer-distance refined MV [Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 44 and 74 – 78 (inter predicted block using translational / affine motion models in inter prediction / motion compensated prediction in which CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset (see Paragraphs 82 – 83) at integer precision in Paragraph 81) in which the refinement is taught by Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14 in which integer precision is initially used in the search and then fractional pel precisions), 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and integer offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216 (and output results in Paragraph 214) and 250 – 256 to combine with the multiple loop searching with a maximum number of iterations in Wang Paragraph 82 – 83 (Wang Paragraph 83 renders obvious search patterns) and Figure 6 as also taught in Li Figure 16); Kang Paragraphs 182 – 187 (integer and then fractional offsets are determined)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Li, and Kang.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches a search for MVs (motion vectors) for affine control points based on neighboring blocks / pixels. Li teaches further refinements and details of Wang’s algorithm with additional offset including fractional offset considerations and teachings regarding the maximum number of iterations. Kang teaches using the same affine model (e.g. by estimating the parameters) to use for MV refinement / CPMV refinement for the affine models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with Li’s teachings of maximum number of iterations and the use of searching with integer and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations using the same model / estimated models as taught by Kang. The combination teaches
outputting by a plurality of searches, a plurality of respective refined MVs of a plurality of CPMVs of the CB [See claim 1 for citations of Wang, Li (such as Figure 16 and Paragraphs 250 – 256 and 261 – 264 (plurality of delta MV values for MVs / CPMVs considered)), and Kang regarding the search process (“performing a search …” limitation) and “refining” limitations and additionally Wang Figures 1 – 3, 5 – 6 (see last step in the flowcharts and at least reference character 22 and 42 where 5D and 5E are CPs for MV determination rendering obvious the CPMV) as well as Paragraphs 40 (output MV with refined precision information combinable with Paragraphs 77 – 81 (refinement of MV searched of affine predicted inter predicted block)), 41 – 44 (motion compensation unit for inter prediction which includes use of affine models in Paragraphs 74 – 82 with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset) where the plurality is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as Wang, Li, and Kang teach repeatable search processes on CPMV testing various refined MV precisions in further view of MPEP2144.04 IV B (Duplication of Parts];
wherein each refined MV of the plurality of refined MVs is derived from a different MV refinement offset applied to a respective initial CPMV [See claim 1 for citations of Wang, Li (such as Figure 16 and Paragraphs 250 – 256 and 261 – 264 (plurality of delta MV values for MVs / CPMVs considered)), and Kang regarding the search process (“performing a search …” limitation) and “refining” limitations and additionally Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 44 and 74 – 78 (inter predicted block using translational / affine motion models in inter prediction / motion compensated prediction in which CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset (see Paragraph 82)) in which the refinement is taught by Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14) and 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and fractional offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216, 222, 242, and 250 – 256 to combine with the multiple loop searching in Wang Paragraph 82 and Figure 6 in which offsets / precisions are varied in the search to refine the optimal refined MV offset / precision)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Li, and Kang.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches a search for MVs (motion vectors) for affine control points based on neighboring blocks / pixels. Li teaches further refinements and details of Wang’s algorithm with additional offset including fractional offset considerations and teachings regarding the maximum number of iterations. Kang teaches using the same affine model (e.g. by estimating the parameters) to use for MV refinement / CPMV refinement for the affine models.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with Li’s teachings of maximum number of iterations and the use of searching with integer and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations using the same model / estimated models as taught by Kang. The combination teaches
performing a plurality of search iterations of an integer sample offset search at a plurality of search points about a search center to output an integer-distance refined MV [Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations and a center point) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 44 (full / integer and fractional accuracy / refinements made to MVs) and 74 – 78 (CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset (see Paragraph 82) including at integer precisions in Paragraphs 87 – 90) in which the refinement is taught by Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14), 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and integer and fractional offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216 to combine with the multiple loop searching where integer sample search from the control point / center is performed (combinable with Wang)); Kang Paragraphs 182 – 192 (integer and further refinements made)]; and
applying fractional sample refinement to the integer-distance refined MV to output a subpixel-accurate refined delta MV [Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations and a center point) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 44 (full / integer and fractional accuracy / refinements made to MVs) and 74 – 78 (CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points at a given offset (see Paragraphs 81 – 82 in which fractional offsets are used – modified by Li) including at integer precisions in Paragraphs 87 – 90) in which the refinement is taught by Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) and Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14) and 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and fractional offsets after searching integer offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216 are used after the integer offsets are searched (a refined search in which the delta MV is determined (e.g. Paragraphs 216 – 217 and 177 – 179 (determine delta MV for output – also combinable with Li Paragraphs 37 and 172) (combinable with Wang)); Kang Paragraphs 182 – 192 (integer and further refinements made)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Li, and Kang.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Li, and Kang, and further in view of Li, et al. (WO2023/149972 A1 referred to “Li 72” throughout in which citations will come from the WIPO document in lieu of enabling US Provisional Applications) [First Cited in the Office Action mailed November 4th, 2025].
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a search for MVs (motion vectors) for affine control points based on neighboring blocks / pixels. Li teaches further refinements and details of Wang’s algorithm with additional offset including fractional offset considerations and teachings regarding the maximum number of iterations. Kang teaches using the same affine model (e.g. by estimating the parameters) to use for MV refinement / CPMV refinement for the affine models. Li 72 renders obvious adjusting the number of iterations for the CPMV search of Wang and Li in view of the precision / fractional offset.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang with Li’s teachings of maximum number of iterations and the use of searching with integer and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations using the same model / estimated models as taught by Kang; and fractional offsets in conducting the search iterations with adjustments to the number of iterations used as taught by Li 72. The combination teaches
wherein performing the search further comprises performing a plurality of search iterations at a plurality of search points about a search center up to a maximum search iteration threshold [Wang Figures 5 (all subfigures included where Figures 5C and 5F show flowcharts and 5D and 5E show refined searches based on control points for MV determinations and a center point) as well as Paragraphs 74 – 78 (CPMVs are refined) and 79 – 84 (search algorithm for refining the control point MV with search of CPMV in which 2 loops are ran where the inner loop is going through points up to a maximum number of iterations in Paragraph 83) in which the refinement and loop / iteration considerations are taught by Li Figures 12 and 14 – 16 (see the flow chart for updated / refined MV search with a maximum number of iterations in Figure 16 and searching control points in Figure 14 (see at least reference characters 1406 and 1408)) as well as Paragraphs 163 – 168 (refinement in equations 7 and 12 for affine models and search in Figure 14), 172 and 177 – 180 (maximum number of iteration to use for the loop searching), 201 – 216 (refinement search range in Paragraph 213 using DMVR and fractional offsets in Paragraphs 214 – 216) and 250 – 256 which is combinable with Wang)],
wherein respective maximum search iteration thresholds are smaller for each subsequent refined MV search [See previous limitation for citations and additionally Li 72 Figure 16 as well as Paragraphs 187 – 193 (reduced number of iterations based on the precision being searched for CPMV determination), 215, and 233 – 240 (reducing the number of iterations based on refined / reduced precision CPMV search)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Wang, Li, and Kang.
The motivation to combine Li 72 with Kang, Li, and Wang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding [Li 72 Paragraphs 2 – 5] in order to improve efficiency of the codec and improve accuracy of MVs predicted [Li 72 Paragraphs 5 – 7 and 16 – 19 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Steger (US PG PUB 2002/0057838 A1 referred to as “Steger” throughout) teaches techniques in using a fixed / estimated affine model in processing nodes to determine the full description of the affine model in image processing (see Figures 1 and 4).
References which may raise ODP issues based on amendments made to the claims: Chen, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0113053 A1 referred to as “Chen” throughout).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487