DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the accommodating groove A as described in the specification. Instead, fig. 2 has accommodating groove A depicted as smooth cylindrical surface, particularly one with the same diameter as the connecting pipe. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the bonding member of claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COOLED WELDING DEVICE
Claim Objections
Claims 1–14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2, should be amended to recite “a laser.”
Claim 6 recites “the limit assembly,” which should be “the limiting assembly” to comport with earlier presentations of the limitation.
Claims 2–5 and 7–14 are objected to due to dependency upon an objected-to claim.
Claim Interpretation
Comment: Although the “cooling mechanism” of claim 1 is formulated as a limitation to be interpreted under § 112(f), it is not, since one of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand it to be a refrigerant, a heat pump, or the like. See MPEP § 2181.I.C.: “Examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to a claim limitation that uses the term ‘means’ or generic placeholder associated with functional language, unless that term is (1) preceded by a structural modifier, defined in the specification as a particular structure or known by one skilled in the art, that denotes the type of structural device (e.g., ‘filters’), or (2) otherwise modified by sufficient structure or material for achieving the claimed function.”
The same applies to the “limiting assembly” of claim 3 (which is merely a structure), and the “bonding member” of claim 13 (which one of ordinary skill in the art would understand to be an adhesive or the like).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 108311802 A, cited by the Office).
Claim 1: Li discloses a welding device, comprising:
a laser welding head (1, 10, 40), provided with a channel for laser to pass through (claim 1, “through light pipe shell (1)”); and
a cooling mechanism (11), arranged on a side wall of the laser welding head (see fig. 3) and configured to cool the laser welding head;
wherein the laser welding head comprises a nozzle (40) and a connecting pipe (1, 10), and the cooling mechanism is sleeved on an outer periphery of the connecting pipe (see fig. 3).
Claim 7: Liu discloses that the connecting pipe and the nozzle are made of thermally conductive materials (broadly speaking, any material is thermally conductive (see also MPEP § 2173.04); even still, that Li discloses that its cooling pipe 11 cools the laser welding head, broadly, suggests that the laser welding head is made of material that is thermally conductive).
Claim 10: Liu discloses that the cooling mechanism comprises a cooling pipe (11) for transporting a cooling medium (abstract, “water”).
Claim 12: Liu discloses that the cooling pipe is fitted to and spirally wound around the connecting pipe (see fig. 3).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Malcosky et al. (US Pat. 3,875,759).
Claim 2: Li does not disclose all of that the connecting pipe comprises an outer wall surface and an accommodating groove formed by the outer wall surface recessed inwards, and at least part of the cooling mechanism is located in the accommodating groove.
However, within the field of heat exchange (pertinent to Applicant’s problem of improving the cooling via a cooling tube), grooves of this sort are well-known.
Malcosky teaches an accommodating groove (formed via 130) formed on an outer wall surface of an element analogous to the pipe of Liu (122) and recessed inwards (see the figure), and at least part of a similar heat exchange tube (144) is located in the accommodating groove (see the figure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the accommodating groove taught by Malcosky onto the outer wall surface of the connecting pipe of Li to improve the heat exchange between the connecting pipe and the cooling mechanism (see this improve heat exchange effect explained in col. 3, ll. 34–38).
Claim 3: Li modified by Malcosky discloses a limiting assembly (20) arranged at a side of the cooling mechanism away from the accommodating groove (appreciable from figs. 1–4).
Li does not disclose any details about the limiting assembly being connected to the connecting pipe.
However, Malcosky discloses its own analogous limiting assembly (vessel wall 120) contacting its own element analogous to the connecting pipe (122, via 134, see the figure).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adopt Malcosky into Li such that Li’s limiting assembly contacted its connecting pipe (via vanes forming its accommodating groove taught by Malcosky) to further confine and insulate the spaces formed by the accommodating groove to improve the heat exchange between the cooling pipe and the connecting pipe.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Malcosky as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kite et al. (US Pub. 2006/0124285).
Li does not disclose that the limiting assembly and the accommodating groove clamp the cooling mechanism.
However, like Malcosky, Kite discloses a heat exchange apparatus and provides useful teachings. Kite discloses its own element similar to a limiting assembly (8) and an accommodating groove (5A) clamping a cooling mechanism (6; ¶ 34, “The tube 6 is also provided so as to be a close fit against the housing 8, again preventing vibrations and possible unwinding”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to structure the limiting assembly and cooling mechanism of Li modified by Malcosky such that the limiting assembly clamped the cooling mechanism, as taught by Kite, to prevent vibrations and possible unwinding.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Miyazaki et al. (US Pub. 2010/0187209).
Li does not disclose either of that a thermal conductivity A of the thermally conductive material satisfies 500 W/m∙K≥A≥200 W/m∙K, or that the thermally conductive material comprises at least one of copper and aluminum.
However, Miyazaki disclose a laser head, and discloses it comprising copper (¶ 30, “copper”) with a thermal conductivity of 354 W/m∙K (¶ 31).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the connecting pipe and nozzle of Li out of the copper taught by Miyazaki for its benefit of thermal diffusivity (see ¶ 26 of Miyazaki).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (CN 107255422 A).
Li does not disclose that the cooling pipe is one of a plurality of cooling pipes of the welding device arranged side by side in an extending direction of the connecting pipe.
However, it is already known in the art that heat exchange parts can be divided to increase the heat capacity. Wu discloses a generally-tubular heat exchanger with two heat exchange portions side-by-side in an extending direction (8, 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to split the heat exchange tube of Li from one into two, as broadly suggested by Wu, to increase the heat capacity of the tube.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Dillon et al. (US Pat. 6,802,366).
Claim 13: Li does not disclose a bonding member sandwiched between the cooling pipe and the connecting pipe to fix the cooling pipe and the connecting pipe.
However, Dillon discloses an apparatus with pertinent heat exchange teachings, and discloses a bonding member (604, see col. 7, ll. 11–23) sandwiched between a cooling pipe (602) and a component analogous to a connecting pipe (300).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the bonding member taught by Dillon between the cooling pipe and connecting pipe of Li to improve heat transfer.
Claim 14: Modified as per claim 13 above, Dillon discloses that the bonding member comprises a thermally conductive adhesive (col. 7, l. 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the claim requires a plurality of limiting assemblies arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the connecting pipe. While it may have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to divide singular limiting assembly of Li into a plurality of longitudinally-extending assemblies, this would still not meet the claim because there would be no intervals (i.e. spaces) between the assemblies. In general, it would seem inadvisable to create intervals between sections of the limiting assembly as this would reduce insulation and lead to cooling energy loss to the atmosphere, though other constructions are possible under the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, while Kite discloses the specific limitations of the claim, this part of Kite’s structure is incompatible with the limitations of claim 3 requiring that the limiting assembly be connected to the connecting pipe, which is made clear when reviewing the Office’s rationale for finding claim 3 obvious in view of Malcosky.
Liu (CN 113263264 A, cited by the Office), Sun (CN 213827598 U, cited by Applicant), and Peng (CN 212311178 U, cited by Applicant) are about as relevant as Li to the overall invention claimed.
Harris (US Pat. 2,146,141), Tawney et al. (US Pat. 6,293,335), Dienhart et al. (US Pat. 6,298,687), Gordon et al. (US Pat. 4,902,476), and Nagai et al. (US Pub. 2005/0061788) offer relevant teachings on heat exchange.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761