DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 7/4/23, 5/20/24, and 5/27/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the material attribute" and “the preset ratio range” in the preamble. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, does not recite a material attribute or a preset ratio range. The claim will be interpreted as being dependent from claim 4, which does provide antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2023/0127402).
Lee teaches an apparatus for detecting a qualified rate, or dryness, of a battery sheet, comprising:
a collection module, or web gauge ([0111],[0113]);
a processing module, or oven (11) and measuring unit (12), which can be the web gauge to measure the weight after drying ([0112]-[0113]; and
a determination module, or determination unit (13) (Figure 1).
Regarding the functions of the modules, the examiner finds that, since Lee teaches the apparatus of the claims, and since the manner of operating those apparatuses is not found impart structural limitations, the teachings of Lee inherently anticipate the claimed invention. MPEP 2114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Kim et al. (US 2024/0116011).
The teachings of Lee as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a method for detecting a qualified rate of a battery electrode sheet (based on the description of a qualified rate of [0008] of the instant published specification), comprising:
collecting a first weight corresponding to a to-be detected electrode sheet, i.e. the electrode after coating the electrode slurry ([0110]);
drying the to-be-detected sheet, or electrode, in a drying apparatus, or oven (11), for a preset time, or time determined by the specifications of the electrode ([0078]), and collecting a second weight corresponding to the dried to-be-detected electrode sheet ([0111]); and
determining a detection result, or content of the residual solid, derived from the two weights collected as discussed above ([0113]).
Lee fails to teach specifically how the detection result is derived.
Kim teaches a method of calculating the content of solvent in an electrode slurry, wherein the calculation is: ((weight measured before sample is dried)-(weight measured after sample is dried))/(weight before sample is dried) ([0045]). The examiner notes that the denominator in the equation is the weight before the sample is dried, but that the person having ordinary skill in the art will understand that the information in the equation of Kim is essentially the same as the equation of claim 1, and the person having ordinary skill in the art can use either weight in the calculation in order to determine the content of residual solid.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to use the equation as suggested by Kim in the method of Lee and the results, i.e. deriving the content of the residual solid, would have been predictable, particularly in light of the teachings of Lee at [0116] that those skilled in the art may make various modifications and variations without departing from the essential characteristics of the invention.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches determining a material attribute, or color coordinate value, and selecting a preset ratio range, or reference value, matching the material attribute; and determining the detection result based on a size relationship between the ratio of the drying difference and the preset ratio range (Figures 4-6, [0093]).
As for claim 5, Lee teaches the method of claim 4 including determining historical storage information, or color coordinate value according to solvent content, in a graph converted to a database ([0093]). While Lee does not specifically teach that the database, which is an historical storage environment, comprises a historical data storage duration, the examiner finds that a database necessarily stores information for a duration.
As for claim 6, Lee teaches that the detection result is used to determine whether or not the electrode sheet is qualified ([0096]).
With regard to claim 8, Lee teaches a measuring unit including an image sensor for taking an image of the surface of the electrode material layer, wherein color information from the image is converted into color coordinates ([0014], [0023]). It is seen in Figure 4 that Lee acquires the color coordinates (L*) prior to drying, i.e. at the start of the data. The examiner finds that the selection of the order of the steps of when the weight and the color coordinates is prima facie obviousness and can be selected by the skilled artisan based on whether one step is simpler to carry out first. It has been held that the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04 IV C
Further regarding claim 8, Lee teaches that the color coordinates include both color and brightness (lightness) ([0058]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, since Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 12 and method of claims 1, 4-6, and 8, which includes executable instructions and processing instructions to implement a method as discussed above, the examiner finds that the apparatus of Lee inherently includes an electronic device with memory storing executable instructions, a processor, and a computer-readable storage medium. MPEP 2112
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the subject matter of the claims.
Specifically, regarding claims 2-3 and 7, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the method of acquiring a preset drying time association table and selecting the preset duration matching the first weight, i.e. setting the drying time based on the first weight.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the method of claim 1 further establishing a mapping relationship between the electrode sheet, detection result, and a corresponding separator identifier.
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729