DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The recitation of “a molding-mark recess” (claims 1 and 19) is considered to be new matter. The originally filed specification, claims, and drawings have support for a recess, but do not teach the a molding-mark recess. As such, the limitations are deemed to be new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tien et al. US 2007/0242437 Al in view of Degner US 8976528 B2.
Re claim 1, Tien et al. teach a heat dissipation structure, comprising: an accommodation portion comprising a cover part (annotated fig) and two sidewall parts (annotated fig),
and the cover part located between and connected to the two sidewall parts;
and two mount portions (annotated fig), wherein the cover part is located between and connected to the two mount portions via the two sidewall parts, and each of the two sidewall parts has a solid body located between opposite ends of the cover part (fig 2, noting the two sidewall parts are disposed in between two longitudinal ends of the cover part),
wherein each of the two mount portions has a mount surface (inner surfaces) configured to face toward or contact a PCB (para 26, lines 7-8; noting surfaces face down towards), each of the two sidewall parts has a sidewall surface configured to face toward or contact a heat pipe (nothing inner surfaces naturally face towards the heat pipe in which is contacted by the surfaces),
a molding-mark recess (annotated fig) is formed at a junction (junction where two legs meet main base which has two sidewall parts) between one of the two mount portions and one of the two sidewall parts on a side opposite to the mount surface of the one of the two mount portions and the sidewall surface of the one of the two sidewall parts (figs).
Tien et al. teach a circuit board but fail to explicitly teach a PCB .
Degner teach a PCB (208) to stack a heat generating CPU 202 on a PCB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a PCB as taught by Degner in the Tien et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for laptop construction.
Re claim 2, Tien et al. teach wherein the cover part has a solid body located between the opposite ends of the cover part (fig 2).
Re claim 3, Tien et al. teach wherein a section of each of the two sidewall parts located between the opposite ends of the cover part is absent of any holes
Re claim 4, Tien et al. teach wherein the cover part is absent of any holes
Re claim 19, Tien et al. teach a heat dissipation assembly, comprising: a heat dissipation structure comprising: an accommodation portion comprising a cover part (annotated fig) and two sidewall parts (annotated fig),
and the cover part located between and connected to the two sidewall parts;
and two mount portions (annotated fig), wherein the cover part is located between and connected to the two mount portions via the two sidewall parts, and a section of each of the two sidewall parts located between opposite ends of the cover part is absent of any holes, and the cover part is absent of any holes (fig 2); a heat pipe (2) partially disposed in the accommodation portion of the heat dissipation structure and in thermal contact with the cover part and the two sidewall parts; and a heat sink (1) in thermal contact with the heat pipe (also see the rejection of claim 1),
wherein each of the two mount portions has a mount surface (inner surfaces) configured to face toward or contact a PCB (para 26, lines 7-8; noting surfaces face down towards), each of the two sidewall parts has a sidewall surface configured to face toward or contact the heat pipe (nothing inner surfaces naturally face towards the heat pipe in which is contacted by the surfaces),
a molding-mark recess (annotated fig, see the rejection of claim 1) is formed at a junction between one of the two mount portions and one of the two sidewall parts on a side opposite to the mount surface of the one of the two mount portions and the sidewall surface of the one of the two sidewall parts (figs).
Tien et al. teach a circuit board but fail to explicitly teach a PCB .
Degner teach a PCB (208) to stack a heat generating CPU 202 on a PCB.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a PCB as taught by Degner in the Tien et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for laptop construction.
Re claim 20, Tien et al. teach wherein the accommodation portion and the heat sink are located on opposite ends of the heat pipe, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The scope of the independent claims has been changed in the latest reply and therefore the examiner is now relying on a new rejection of record to teach the newly recited scope (see detailed rejection above). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim(s) are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 19 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763