DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. After further consideration, Choi et al. 20220310970 discloses the amended claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. 20220310970.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 3-4 of Choi discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel 10 including a display area DA and a bending area BA which is spaced apart from the display area and at which the display panel is bendable to define a bent portion; and
a cover window CW which is in the bending area (see CW overlapping BA) and covers the display panel,
wherein the display panel which is bent includes an adjacent portion (as labeled by examiner above) of the bending which is closer to the cover window than the bent portion, overlaps the bent portion and is unbent (as labeled by examiner above).
Regarding claim 2, fig. 4 of Choi discloses wherein the display panel which is bent further includes the bent portion under the adjacent portion and further from the cover window than the adjacent portion.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 4 of Choi discloses wherein the display panel which is bent further includes an entirety of the bent portion within a planar area of the adjacent portion (see bottom portion of BA which is within orthogonal projection region of OA).
Regarding claim 4, fig. 4 of Choi discloses wherein the display panel which is bent includes the adjacent portion DISL separated from the bent portion along a thickness direction.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 4 of Choi discloses further comprising a separation layer (PL1a nad PL2) between the adjacent portion and the bent portion along a thickness direction.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 4 of Choi discloses wherein the display panel which is bent includes the separation layer Pl1a in contact with the adjacent portion and spaced apart from the bent portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 recites “wherein the adjacent portion includes the pixel-defining layer and the encapsulation layer on the separation layer, and the bent portion includes the insulating layer under the separation layer, and the display panel which is bent includes the insulating layer of the bent portion spaced apart from the separation layer” is not taught by the references of record.
Claims 9-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893