DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi (JP58162466, cited in IDS, with reference to translation) in view of Fontana (U.S. Patent 6,145,780) or alternatively Qiao et al. (CN113942875).
Claim 1: Higuchi discloses a chain-install apparatus (Figs. 1-2 - intended use, see below), comprising: a support structure (1, 2); a first hub assembly (4) coupled to the support structure, the first hub assembly including a shaft (3), a first guard (one of the side walls of the hub 4 evident in Fig. 1) coupled to the shaft, and a second guard (the other of the side walls) coupled to the shaft, the first guard spaced apart laterally from the second guard and defining a first pocket therebetween (evident in Fig. 1); a first brake assembly (5/6, 9/10, 11, 11a) operably coupled to the first hub assembly, wherein the first brake assembly is a reverse brake assembly configured to transition between a default state that supplies a maximum braking force to the first hub assembly to a released state that supplies no braking force to the first hub assembly and allows the first hub assembly to spin freely (the spring 11a applies a continuous braking force in a default state, and would implicitly be configured to be released upon application of an opposing force – page 1, lines 18-24), and wherein the first brake assembly includes a spring (11) extending from a first end to a second end, the first end operably coupled to the support structure (ultimately to the base of the structure via turnbuckle 11a and chain) and the second end operably coupled to the first brake assembly (band 9/10) , the spring biasing the first brake assembly toward the default state (as cited above).
It is noted that when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “chain-install” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02. It is also noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the apparatus of Higuchi could be used as a chain-install apparatus if used in conjunction with chain.
Higuchi discloses an apparatus substantially as claimed except for an attachment arrangement coupled to the support structure and configured to form a suspension arrangement in response to being coupled to a below the hook lifting device, wherein the attachment arrangement comprises a plurality of lifting lugs coupled to a top surface of the support structure and is further configured to facilitate transitioning of the chain-install apparatus from a fixed state on a ground surface to a lifted state above the ground surface. However, Fontana discloses a similar apparatus having a plurality of lifting lugs (14’) coupled to a top side of a frame of a support structure. Alternatively, Qiao et al. discloses a similar apparatus having a plurality of lifting lugs (18) coupled to a top side of a frame of a support structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided lifting lugs as claimed for the purpose of improving the portability of the apparatus. It is noted that in either case, a similar lug implemented appropriately on the Higuchi device would be “configured to form a suspension arrangement in response to being coupled to a below the hook lifting device” (i.e. it would be presumed capable of being suspended via any lifting device) and would be “configured to facilitate transitioning of the chain-install apparatus from a fixed state on a ground surface to a lifted state above the ground surface” (i.e. applying some amount of lifting force to the lugs would “facilitate” or ease its lifting to some degree).
Claim 10: Referring to Higuchi, the support structure includes a base (generally the lower/horizontal part of the support) and a frame (the remainder of the support, e.g. uprights 1/2); the first hub assembly (4) is coupled to the frame of the support structure (Figs. 1-2); and the attachment arrangement (as modified) is configured to form a suspension arrangement in response to being coupled to a crane (if some part of the frame, acting as the “attachment arrangement”, were coupled to a crane, then it could equally serve as a “suspension arrangement”). It is noted that neither “attachment arrangement” nor “suspension arrangement” have any particular structural denotation.
Claim 13: Referring to Higuchi, the first brake assembly further comprises a brake input (turnbuckle 11a) configured to control a braking force of a brake of the first brake assembly, the brake input coupled to the base (a turnbuckle is understood as a device used to adjust tension, and would implicitly be capable of adjusting brake force in this context).
Claim 15: Referring to Higuchi, the first brake assembly comprises: a brake input (11a); a brake (9/10); and a brake drum (5/6) configured to spin with the shaft, the brake drum operably coupled to the brake page 1, lines 15-19), the brake input configured to vary a braking force between the maximum braking force and no braking force applied by the brake to the brake drum (implied by a turnbuckle as discussed above).
Claims 2-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi and Fontana/ Qiao et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Antrag auf Nichtnennung (DE102010006917, cited in IDS, hereafter Antrag) or alternatively Mio et al. (U.S. Patent 6,276,631).
Claim 2: Higuchi and Fontana/Qiao et al. teach an apparatus substantially as claimed except for a chain that is winded around the first hub assembly within the first pocket, the chain extending from a first end to a second end, the first end coupled to the shaft. The Higuchi apparatus is instead used for a cable or the like. However, Antrag and Mio each teach that similar apparatus may be used to wind chain. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the Higuchi apparatus for a chain rather than a cable for the purpose of similarly storing and paying-off a length chain with braking functionality if a chain were desired for a given application. In the case of Antrag, the chain may also serve to protect the cables. The examiner further notes that while not explicitly shown in Higuchi, a strand of material wound around a drum is typically attached to the shaft portion in some manner to allow the drum to wind in material and/or prevent it from entirely releasing, and so it would have been obvious for the first end to be coupled to the shaft. The term “coupled” is also broad, and merely winding the first end one or more times about the shaft may constitute coupling it thereto.
Claim 3: With further reference to Antrag, a first guard and a second guard (5) are spaced apart laterally by a first lateral distance (evident in Fig. 1), the chain includes a second lateral distance from a first lateral side of the chain to a second lateral side of the chain (the width of the chain as evident). The first lateral distance appears to be between 1.01 times and 2 times the second lateral distance (a single width of the chain generally fits with little clearance between the guards as shown). Antrag further discloses that the width between guards may be adjusted according to the width of the chain and to withstand different levels of stress (e.g. paragraphs 7, 10, and 12), and is thus a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the relative widths as claimed as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Please also note that in the instant application, paragraph 72, Applicant has not disclosed nay criticality for the claimed limitation.
Claim 12: In response to winding the chain in the first pocket of the first hub assembly, an outer surface of the chain would be expected to be spaced apart vertically from a radially outer edge of the first guard (again, this would depend, for example, on the chain, its thickness, and the extent to which it is wound, but the guards of Higuchi are substantially taller than the cable which is wound thereon, and a similar configuration is known from Antrag and/or Mio).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, Fontana/Qiao et al., and Antrag/Mio et al. as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Johnson (U.S. Patent 2,177,128).
Claim 5: Both Antrag and Mio further teach that the chain comprises a plurality of chain link segments, each chain link segment coupled to an adjacent chain link segment in the plurality of chain link segments (Antrag, paragraph 2; eident in Fig. 4 of Mio). The examiner also notes that this would be understood alone from “chain” in the claimed context. The chain does not necessarily comprise a set of attachment chain link segments, each attachment chain link segment in the set of attachment chain link segments including an attachment protrusion extending upward from a body of the attachment chain link segment. However, Johnson teaches a chain (e.g. similar to an energy chain as in Antrag) comprising a set of attachment chain link segments (any of 10), each attachment chain link segment in the set of attachment chain link segments including an attachment protrusion (11 or 12) extending upward from a body of the attachment chain link segment (evident in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the chain with attachment chain link segments as claimed in order to have supported a hose therein, for example).
Claim 7: Each attachment chain link segment (which may be any of the links 10) is separated from an adjacent attachment chain link segment by a set of chain link segments in the plurality of chain link segments (any arbitrary link 10 is separated from another one by several more of the chain links as shown).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi, Fontana/Qiao et al., Antrag/Mio et al., and Johnson as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Oishi et al. (U.S. Patent 7,325,391).
Claim 8: The previously applied prior art teach an apparatus substantially as claimed except for wherein the plurality of chain link segments includes a set of inner chain link segments and a set of outer chain link segments, and a first inner chain link segment in the set of inner chain link segments configured to couple to a first outer chain link segment in the set of outer chain link segments at a first longitudinal end and a second outer chain link segment in the set of outer chain link segments at a second longitudinal end. However, Oishi teaches a chain (e.g. similar to a basic chain as in Mio) wherein the plurality of chain link segments includes a set of inner chain link segments (38) and a set of outer chain link segments (37), and a first inner chain link segment in the set of inner chain link segments configured to couple to a first outer chain link segment in the set of outer chain link segments at a first longitudinal end and a second outer chain link segment in the set of outer chain link segments at a second longitudinal end (e.g. Fig. 3; column 6, line 60 - column 7, line 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have structured the chain as taught by Oishi since it is considered conventional (Id.).
Claim 9: Higuchi, Antrag or Mio, and Johnson teach an apparatus substantially as claimed except for wherein each chain link segment includes one of a hollow bearing pin chain, a solid bearing pin chain, and a deep link chain. However, Oishi further teaches that each chain link segment includes one of a hollow bearing pin chain, a solid bearing pin chain, and a deep link chain (column 7, lines 7-14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have structured the chain as taught by Oishi since it is considered well-known, and the structures of the pins can be varied as needed or desired (Id.).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi and Fontana/Qiao et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ji et al. (CN113148778, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 14: Higuchi further discloses the base includes a first lateral side (e.g. 1) spaced apart from a second lateral side (e.g. 2, evident in Fig. 1), and a handle is coupled to the first lateral side of the base (any of the pieces of the base, could serve as a “handle”). Higuchi does not disclose the brake input is a lever, and the lever is coupled to a top side of the base and spaced apart longitudinally from the handle. However, Ji et al. teaches a similar apparatus wherein the brake input is a lever (evident in Figs. 1 and 3; also referred to as a “handle”, e.g. paragraph 29), and the lever is coupled to a top side of the base (301, on an upper side of the lower region of the support structure) and spaced apart longitudinally from the handle (304 would be spaced from frame elements 22-24, for example). Because both Higuchi and Ji teach means for adjusting a strap-type brake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one for the other to achieve the predictable result of adjusting the brake tension (MPEP 2143 I. B.).
Claim 16: Higuchi does not disclose the first brake assembly includes a brake linkage operably coupling the brake input to the brake, and wherein the brake input is a lever. However, Ji teaches a similar apparatus wherein the first brake assembly includes a brake linkage (301, 61/62 – paragraphs 22 and 28-29) operably coupling the brake input (304) to the brake, and wherein the brake input is a lever (as discussed above). Because both Higuchi and Ji teach means for adjusting a strap-type brake, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one for the other to achieve the predictable result of adjusting the brake tension (MPEP 2143 I. B.).
Claims 17-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higuchi and Fontana/Qiao et al. as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Shin (KR101937952, cited in IDS, with reference to translation).
Claim 17: Higuchi and Fontana/Qiao et al. teach an apparatus substantially as claimed except for a second hub assembly coupled to the frame of the support structure, the second hub assembly including a second shaft, a third guard coupled to the second shaft, and a fourth guard coupled to the shaft, the fourth guard spaced apart laterally from the third guard and defining a second pocket therebetween. However, Shin teaches a similar apparatus having multiple hub assemblies (21 - Fig. 3) coupled to a frame of a support structure (12), a second hub assembly (as well as additional ones each) including a second shaft (15), a third guard coupled to the second shaft, and a fourth guard coupled to the shaft (25 on either side), the fourth guard spaced apart laterally from the third guard and defining a second pocket therebetween (evident in Figs. 1 and 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a second hub assembly in order to have handled multiple types of wound articles (paragraph 24).
Claim 18: Referring to Shin, the first hub assembly is configured to rotate independently of the second hub assembly (evident in Fig. 3, e.g. each has its own shaft and brake system).
Claim 21: Referring to Shin, a second brake assembly is operably coupled to the second hub assembly (each hub assembly is associated with a respective brake assembly (30, 40, 42, 50, 51).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments essentially rely on amendments to the claims to overcome the prior art of record. The arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or teach the brake linkage comprising a push-pull control cable as described in claim 23. Higuchi and Ji both rely on purely tensile forces to actuate or deactivate the brake.
Claim 24 depends from claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 558988 teaches a similar apparatus which uses a spring actuated lever to tension a strap-style brake.
US 5053586 teaches a cable drum which allows a power cord for a hand tool to pay out and stay in place, until an operator places the tool back on the storage hook, which depresses lever 16 and releases the brake to allow the drum to rewind the cable. The mechanism operates by pure tensile cables acting in tension in their respective roles.
Neither of the above cure the deficiencies discussed above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726